STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SOCIETY OF MANUFACTURING ENGINEERS: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SOCIETY OF MANUFACTURING ENGINEERS (EIN 38-0298770)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-10-28
IRS object ID
201533019349301308
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-10-28T13:35:24-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GRANT THORNTON LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1171 N CLARK ST SUITE 200AddressLine1Txt
CityCHICAGOCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60601ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN380298770EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Society of Manufacturing EngineersBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% JULIE DUFFInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlSOCIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3134253000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One SME DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityDearbornCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP481282408ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJEFFREY KRAUSEPersonNm
Person TitleDirector and CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3134253000PhoneNum
Signature2015-10-27SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonBridget T RochePreparerPersonNm
PTINP00666837PTIN
Phone3128560200PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-04-25 22:37:26ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJeffrey M KrausePrincipalOfficerNm
Gross Receipts$49,019,396GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.sme.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1932FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionInspire, prepare & support our stakeholders through manufacturing education & the advancement of scientific knowledge via member programs,publications,expos & trainingActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body13VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee216TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1000TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$4,091,198TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$344,830NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$41,619PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$108,791CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$51,786,269PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$42,307,890CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,375,023PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,639,156CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$869,216PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$640,027CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$55,072,127PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$44,695,864CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$438,418PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$421,734CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,146,907PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,725,347CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$33,322,628PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,712,272CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$51,907,953PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$45,859,353CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,164,174PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,163,489CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$67,148,888TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$64,306,657TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$25,232,719TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$26,448,640TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$41,916,169NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$37,858,017NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSME'S MISSION IS TO INSPIRE, PREPARE AND SUPPORT OUR STAKEHOLDERS IN THE ADVANCEMENT OF MANUFACTURING. SME'S VISION IS TO ENHANCE PROGRESS, PROSPERITY AND STRONG COMMUNITIES THROUGH MANUFACTURING. SME'S PURPOSE IS TO ADVANCE MANUFACTURING AND ATTRACT FUTURE GENERATIONS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$21,090,626ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,087GrantAmt
Revenue$24,548,850RevenueAmt
DescExpositions & Conferences- Expositions provide opportunities for manufacturing professionals to expand their knowledge by witnessing the latest technology and production methods in action, networking with industry experts and learning about emerging technologies and industries. Manufacturers from around the world come to find solutions that improve processes, increase quality and explore new technologies. The total attendance at Society of Manufacturing Engineers ("SME") expositions and conferences in 2014 was 53,404.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$8,668,933ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$10,891,563RevenueAmt
DescTraining & Development- Certifications, Assessments, Training, Books & Videos -- SME offers a number of industry recognized certifications that document knowledge, skills and abilities within specific job categories or manufacturing processes. Our certification programs provided certifications for 11,512 manufacturing professionals that serve to showcase their accomplishments. In addition, SME also offers assessment opportunities for the manufacturing engineer to gauge their progress. On-site, on-line, and other hybrid training opportunities offer flexibility and convenience for today's engineer. Tooling University, LLC has an extensive catalog of manufacturing specific content and innovative learning tools, including hundreds of on-line training classes written for metal manufacturers, welders, assemblers, and maintenance professionals. Tooling University's classes are delivered through their custom learning management system which provides extensive tracking and reporting capabilities. Tooling University's competence tie the on-line curriculum to the hands-on tasks that put the theory to practice and offers customization tools, content-development services and multi-language support to ensure that every person has access to relevant manufacturing training that meets their specific needs. In addition, SME offers approximately 500 books, CD's and DVD's that educate the professional manufacturer on many topics within the field.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,054,881ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$5,461,188RevenueAmt
DescPublications- SME incorporates education & training into everything it does. ME magazine's editorial content calendar schedules a theme for each issue which is selected to enhance knowledge in a particular engineering discipline. The schedule of issue themes correlates as appropriate with upcoming trade shows and conferences and rounds out the education. For each theme, the editor and staff of ME magazine interview organizations with products, services & new technologies that help advance the featured engineering discipline. Some of these organizations will be included in the editorial content of the magazine, others will be invited to place an advertisement, meeting certain specifications designed to enhance the educational experience of the readers with respect to the featured editorial content. When there is an upcoming trade show, the ME Magazine editorial content is linked to the trade show/conference theme in anticipation of the trade show & conferences & to promote the trade show and conferences. ME Magazine and its yearbook provide timely information about emerging technologies & industries via its educational content & advertisements. The magazine furthers SME's exempt purpose by providing education in support of SME's expositions and other educational events. The total circulation of our Manufacturing Engineering magazine in 2014 was 1,212,882. SME also distributes four monthly newsletters which focus on the areas of Aerospace & Defense, Energy Manufacturing, Lean Directions and Quality in Manufacturing. The magazine and other ME Media content is delivered through a fully integrated media portfolio, which makes information available in print, online, through email, mobile apps, social media networks, webinars & downloads. In addition, SME publishes three scholarly, peer-reviewed journals on manufacturing systems, pioneering processes & research innovation and maintains an archive of more than 16,000 technical papers.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (2 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtGrantGrantAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$2,087,115$34,647$1,406,289Membership Programs
$385,000$385,000$0Engineering Education Grants
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$2,472,115TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$419,647TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$1,406,289TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$36,286,555TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document149IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee216EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCAForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members13GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJULIE DUFFPersonNm
Phone3134253000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1ONE SME DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDearbornCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48128ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Joseph J Beaman
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edye S Buchanan
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas R Kurfess
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark L Michalski
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert R Nesbitt
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael D Packer
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ralph L Resnick
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan M Smyth
Director5.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael F Molnar
President10.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Wayne F Frost
President Elect & Interim CEO25.00.0Yes (X)$123,109$0$3,692Yes (X)
Dean L Bartles
Vice-President10.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Sandra L Bouckley
Secretary/Treasurer10.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dennis S Bray
Director & Interim CEO16.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jeffrey M Krause
Exec Dir/CEO as of Dec 201450.00.0$6,019$0$0Yes (X)
Julie Duff
Senior Controller/CFO50.00.0$130,285$0$10,986Yes (X)
Deborah Holton
Director, Events/Strategic Dev50.00.0$230,033$0$31,967Yes (X)
Jeannine A Kunz
Director, Tooling U - SME50.00.0$259,152$0$26,655Yes (X)
Stavros Prahalis
Director, Bus Dev & Innovation50.00.0$245,955$0$20,861Yes (X)
Daniel Sloan
Enterprise Sales Executive50.00.0$271,373$0$21,381Yes (X)
Toni L Neary
Bus Dev, Gov't & Education50.00.0$253,135$0$23,437Yes (X)
Leonard Scaffidi
Enterprise Sales Executive50.00.0$206,695$0$18,835Yes (X)
Chad H Schron
Division MGR, Tooling U-sme50.00.0$194,900$0$26,658Yes (X)
Erica Ciupak
Director, IT50.00.0$166,259$0$6,145Yes (X)
Bart Aslin
Former Foundation Officer0.00.0$103,488$0$7,044Yes (X)
Greg Sheremet
Former Key Employee50.00.0$163,760$0$28,728Yes (X)
Mark Tomlinson
Former Exec Director/CEO0.00.0$382,498$0$18,543Yes (X)
Timothy A Fausch
Former Key Employee50.00.0$140,739$0$10,509Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,877,400TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$255,441TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K31IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Freeman
PO Box 650036DALLASTX75205Conf & Exhibit Svcs$840,037
Quadgraphics
N63 W23075 State Highway 74SUSSEXWI53089Publishing$837,957
Proximity Marketing
2947 Industrial ParkwayBRUNSWICKOH44212Electronic Promotion$257,424
DBL Associates
33 W 266 Ashley LnWAYNEIL60184Sales Commisison$238,271
All Covered
PO Box 39000SAN FRANCISCOCA94139Computer Services$231,482
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K23CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$71,936GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$36,855AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$108,791TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
EXPOSITIONS AND CONFERENCES541300$24,548,850$977,671$23,571,179
TRAINING AND DEVELOPMENT611600$10,891,563$10,891,563
PUBLICATIONS SUBSCRIPTIONS & ADVERTISING511130$5,461,188$1,369,990$4,091,198
MEMBERSHIPS541900$1,406,289$1,406,289
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$42,307,890TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$724,232TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$724,232ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$577,189TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$390,139RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$187,050ExclusionAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,290,000SecuritiesAmt
Other$661OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,345,403SecuritiesAmt
Other$30,334OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$944,597SecuritiesAmt
Other-$29,673OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$914,924TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$914,924ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$1,010,633GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$947,795CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$62,838TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$62,838RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$44,695,864TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$15,098,490RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$4,091,198UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$25,397,385ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$418,840TotalAmt
Program Services$418,840ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,894TotalAmt
Program Services$2,894ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,130,152TotalAmt
Program Services$833,918ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$296,234ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,164,493TotalAmt
Program Services$9,159,681ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,004,812ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$473,847TotalAmt
Program Services$329,490ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$144,357ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$888,379TotalAmt
Program Services$621,079ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$267,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,068,476TotalAmt
Program Services$746,987ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$321,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,244TotalAmt
Program Services$36,987ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$58,257ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$140,524TotalAmt
Program Services$28,919ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$111,605ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$60,947TotalAmt
Management And General$60,947ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,884,508TotalAmt
Program Services$2,261,679ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$622,829ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,126,021TotalAmt
Program Services$3,485,105ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$640,916ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,103,044TotalAmt
Program Services$706,709ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$396,335ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$398,853TotalAmt
Program Services$94,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,405ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,178,730TotalAmt
Program Services$466,887ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$711,843ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,672,828TotalAmt
Program Services$1,461,302ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$211,526ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,619,704TotalAmt
Program Services$13,558,882ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$60,822ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,973TotalAmt
Program Services$2ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,971ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,123,759TotalAmt
Program Services$52,455ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,071,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,061TotalAmt
Program Services$88,618ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$99,443ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PRINT AND PUBLISHING$1,001,814$1,001,814
DEVELOPMENT COSTS$493,069$493,069
BAD DEBTS$386,344$386,344
TAXES$138,374$4,256$134,118

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,475TotalAmt
Program Services$46,190ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,285ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,859,353TotalAmt
Program Services$36,286,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,572,798ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,355,152BOYAmt
EOY$5,461,233EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,701,531BOYAmt
EOY$2,339,677EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$222,134BOYAmt
EOY$213,291EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$443,258BOYAmt
EOY$744,150EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$10,346,660LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$6,803,815LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,663,224BOYAmt
EOY$3,542,845EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,773,367BOYAmt
EOY$40,899,214EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,797,666BOYAmt
EOY$11,106,247EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$192,556BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,148,888BOYAmt
EOY$64,306,657EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,881,489BOYAmt
EOY$8,373,808EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,355,577BOYAmt
EOY$8,285,159EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,500,000BOYAmt
EOY$2,500,000EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,495,653BOYAmt
EOY$7,289,673EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,232,719BOYAmt
EOY$26,448,640EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,916,169BOYAmt
EOY$37,858,017EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,916,169BOYAmt
EOY$37,858,017EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$67,148,888BOYAmt
EOY$64,306,657EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,163,489ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$246,456NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$3,141,119OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,518,148CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,687,741CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,561,693CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,783,222CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,515,080CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,065,884TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,612,387CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$40,459,377CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$33,778,104CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$48,020,571CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$38,211,175CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$183,081,614TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$24,130,535CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$42,147,118CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$35,339,797CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$49,803,793CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$39,726,255CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$191,147,498TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year$1,812CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,812TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year$118,786CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$118,786TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year$120,598CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$120,598TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$191,026,900PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,028,648CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,537,684CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,516,838CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,081,015CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$911,282CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,075,467TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$28,550CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$126,818CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$227,588CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$382,956TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,028,648CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,537,684CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,545,388CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,207,833CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,138,870CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$7,458,423TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$26,159,183CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$43,684,802CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$36,885,185CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$51,011,626CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$40,865,125CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$198,605,921TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.96184PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.94672PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.03755InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.05328InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
LandLandGrp
BuildingsBuildingsGrp

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$201,829OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$195,231DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,598BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,844,513OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,539,234DepreciationAmt
Book Value$305,279BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,300,318OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,069,350DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,230,968BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,542,845TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
PENSION & POSTRETIREMENT LIABILITY$7,194,730
DUE TO SME EDUCATION FOUNDATION$94,943
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$7,289,673TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$45,736,816TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$246,456NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$978,129OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,224,585RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$44,512,231RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$60,947InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$122,686OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$183,633RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$44,695,864TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$49,794,968TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$4,119,248OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$4,119,248ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$45,675,720ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$60,947InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$122,686OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$183,633ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$45,859,353TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2LIABILITY FOR UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION (ASC 740) SME and SME Education Foundation ("SME-EF") have received favorable determination letters from the Internal Revenue Service stating that they are exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501 (a) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 ("IRC") as organizations described in Section 501(c)(3), except for income taxes pertaining to unrelated business income. The Financial Accounting Standards Board issued guidance that requires tax effects from uncertain tax positions to be recognized in financial statements only if the position is more likely than not to be sustained if the position were to be challenged by a taxing authority. Management has determined that there are no material uncertain tax positions that require recognition in the financial statements. Additionally, no provision for income taxes is reflected in these financial statements, and there is no interest or penalties recognized in the statement of activities or financial position. The tax years ended 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 are still open to audit for both federal and state purposes.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2dAMOUNTS INCLUDED ON LINE 1, NOT ON FORM 990 COST OF GOODS SOLD 947,795 Foreign Currency Loss 30,334 ---------- Total 978,129
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bAMOUNTS INCLUDED ON FORM 990, NOT ON LINE 1 contribution revenue 108,791 product development & misc revenue 13,895 ---------- Total 122,686
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2dAMOUNTS INCLUDED ON LINE 1, NOT ON FORM 990 change in unfunded pension 3,055,739 cost of goods sold 947,795 remeasurement loss 85,380 foreign currency loss 30,334 ----------- Total 4,119,248
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bAMOUNTS INCLUDED ON FORM 990, NOT ON LINE 1 contribution revenue 108,791 product development & misc revenue 13,895 ---------- Total 122,686

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionNorth AmericaRegionTxt
Offices1OfficesCnt
Employee10EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedProgram ServicesTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedExpositionsSpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$3,048,461RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices1SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees10SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office1TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee10TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$3,048,461SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$3,048,461TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPROCEDURE FOR MONITORING USE OF GRANT FUNDS OUTSIDE U.S. SME provides assistance to its US and foreign chapters. The amount of the assistance is calculated based on membership renewals from that chapter. Payments are made semi-annually and compliance with requirements is monitored at regular intervals throughout the year.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SME Education FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One SME DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityDearbornCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48128ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN382746841RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$385,000CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantEducationPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPROCEDURE FOR MONITORING USE OF GRANT FUNDS INSIDE U.S. SME provides grants to SME Education Foundation. This organization furthers manufacturing engineering education through youth programs, scholarships to selected students, & grants to colleges & universities. SME's management participates in the budget setting process of SME EF, attends SME EF board meetings, and reviews financial information allowing oversight over the grants by SME.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgYes (true)CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Deborah Holton
Director, Events/Strategic Dev$162,438$0$67,207$0$388$0$14,340$0$18,041$0$262,414$0$0
Jeannine A Kunz
Director, Tooling U - SME$166,441$0$92,442$0$269$0$9,888$0$22,061$0$291,101$0$0
Stavros Prahalis
Director, Bus Dev & Innovation$185,897$0$59,669$0$389$0$882$0$20,419$0$267,256$0$0
Daniel Sloan
Enterprise Sales Executive$63,446$0$207,898$0$29$0$1,402$0$20,065$0$292,840$0$0
Toni L Neary
Bus Dev, Gov't & Education$48,538$0$204,592$0$5$0$2,179$0$21,310$0$276,624$0$0
Leonard Scaffidi
Enterprise Sales Executive$65,413$0$141,128$0$154$0$2,764$0$16,285$0$225,744$0$0
Chad H Schron
Division MGR, Tooling U-sme$162,329$0$32,448$0$123$0$6,679$0$20,158$0$221,737$0$0
Erica Ciupak
Director, IT$153,624$0$11,801$0$834$0$6,145$0$156$0$172,560$0$0
Bart Aslin
Former Foundation Officer$0$0$0$103,488$0$0$0$7,044$0$110,532$0$0
Greg Sheremet
Former Key Employee$144,246$0$18,709$0$805$0$6,063$0$22,906$0$192,729$0$0$0
Mark Tomlinson
Former Exec Director/CEO$7,740$0$0$0$374,758$0$0$0$18,543$0$401,041$0$0$0
Timothy A Fausch
Former Key Employee$99,806$0$40,581$0$352$0$3,416$0$7,462$0$151,617$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4aSEVERANCE PAYMENT Mark Tomlinson's term as Executive Director/CEO ended December 31, 2013. He received severance payments of $374,758 during 2014. Bart Aslin's term as CEO ended November 11, 2013. He received severance payments of $103,488 during 2014. Severance amounts are reported in Schedule J, Part II, Column B(iii).
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 5ACompensation contingent on revenue - organization SME paid bonuses to its management. The bonuses were partly based on the achievement of specific project management goals and partly upon the revenues of SME. No portion was contingent upon the net earnings of SME or any related organization.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonChad SchronPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionFamily Member of FormerRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$206,411TransactionAmt
TransactionCompensation Paid to TU MgrTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART IV, LINE 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBusiness Transaction Involving Interested Person Chad Schron is a family member of a former board member and received compensation of $206,411 from Tooling University, LLC, which is a disregarded entity of SME.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, Line 4dProgram Service Membership Programs- SME's 18,122 members keep up to date on technical and process improvements within the manufacturing field. This is accomplished via local communities where they attend plant tours, conferences, networking and other opportunities to gain leadership skills. SME's technical communities provide a means for members to solve technical and business challenges. SME focuses on the eight technical communities of Automated Manufacturing & Assembly, Forming & Fabricating, Industrial Laser, Machining & Material Removal, Manufacturing Education & Research, Plastics Composites & Coatings, Product & Process Design and Management, and Rapid Technologies & Additive Manufacturing. SME's 130 chapters provide members with opportunities to learn about new trends & processes, get assistance with manufacturing related problems, expand networks and enhance leadership skills. The chapter meetings provide a forum for members to discuss technical issues and exchange ideas. Engineering Education Grants- Through its SME EF and other grants, SME inspires youth to pursue careers in manufacturing, support students studying for a career in an engineering related field through its hands-on programs, college scholarships, and an interactive web site where students can explore manufacturing careers.
Form 990, Part VI, Lines 6, 7a, & 7bMEMBERS OR STOCKHOLDERS SME has two distinct classes of members; senior members and student members. The senior members have voting rights to elect the governing body and to make any changes to SME's constitution. Student members do not have any voting rights, except the right to elect their own officers within their own student chapter.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11Form 990 Review Process A detailed review of the Federal Form 990 was performed by the Senior Controller, the Chief Financial Officer of SME. When the return was finalized, it was presented to the Chief Executive Officer, for discussion and review, where all comments were addressed. The return was then presented to the audit committee of the Board of Directors, whose responsibility it is to review the return on behalf of the Board. Comments were received & addressed and then the completed return was signed by the CEO. The signed return was then sent to all the voting members of the Board of Directors prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12cCONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY MONITORING & ENFORCEMENT SME maintains a written conflict of interest policy for the officers, directors, volunteers and employees. The policy requires the annual disclosures by officers and directors, of interest that could give rise to conflicts. Exceptions, if any, are evaluated by the Executive Compensation Committee of the Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Lines 15a & 15bPROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMPENSATION Benchmark studies have been performed when determining the compensation to be paid to the CEO/Executive Director and all top management. A third party performed an independent assessment using multiple local and national surveys. Target compensation is based on these benchmark studies. The Executive Compensation Committee conducts an annual performance review for the CEO/Executive Director against previously set objectives. The CEO/Executive Director conducts an annual performance review of all top management against previously set objectives. Merit increases are awarded annually by the Executive Compensation Committee for the CEO/Executive Director and all top management, based on performance reviews. Executive incentives are awarded based on the Executive Incentive Plan.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19HOW DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC The organization makes its Governance Document (which includes SME's Constitution, By-laws and SME Procedures), conflict of interest policy and financial information available to its members.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Other Changes in Net Assets Change in unfunded pension (3,055,739) remeasurement loss (85,380) ------------ Total Other Changes (3,141,119)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Tooling University LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13615 Superior Ave Suite 4406CAddressLine1Txt
CityClevelandCityNm
State AbbreviationOHStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP44114ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN043592513EIN
Primary ActivitiesEducationPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateOHLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$9,332,455TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$21,000,618EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SMEBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SME Education FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One SME DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityDearbornCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48128ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN382746841EIN
Primary ActivitiesCharitablePrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status07PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SMEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SME Education Foundation
b$385,000Cash
SME Education Foundation
d$94,943Cash
SME Education Foundation
n$73,500Cash
SME Education Foundation
o$555,959Cash
SME Education Foundation
q$381,924Cash