STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CREDIT UNIONS IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON (EIN 91-0683062)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-05-05
IRS object ID
201541259349300244
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-05-05T12:58:09-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ORTH CHAKLER MURNANE AND CO CPAsBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line112060 SW 129 COURT SUITE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityMIAMICityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP33186ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN910683062EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WASHINGTON STATE EMPLOYEES CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWASHBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3609437911PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX WSECUAddressLine1Txt
CityOLYMPIACityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP985070099ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKEVIN S FOSTER-KEDDIEPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENTCEOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2015-05-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDOUGLAS ORTHPreparerPersonNm
Phone3052328272PhoneNum
Preparation2015-05-05PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-04-25 22:37:26ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKEVIN FOSTER-KEDDIEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX WSECUAddressLine1Txt
CityOLYMPIACityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP985070099ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$320,210,554GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1269GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.WSECU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization OtherYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationOtherInd
Other Organization DscCREDIT UNIONOtherOrganizationDsc
Formation1957FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE SERVICES TO MEMBERS WHICH ARE MANDATED IN THE CREDIT UNION ACT TO CHARTERS AND TO PROVIDE A MEANS WHEREBY MEMBERS CAN PROVIDE EACH OTHER WITH NEEDED FINANCIAL SERVICES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee664TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers37TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$707,983TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$1,129,047NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$106,788,430PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$124,267,161CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$5,646,647PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,838,828CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$2,020,430PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$510,306CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$114,455,507PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$129,616,295CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$42,765,810PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$42,743,189CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$51,871,490PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$65,117,961CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$94,637,300PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$107,861,150CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$19,818,207PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$21,755,145CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,922,282,964TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,217,436,663TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,719,276,556TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,988,596,022TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$203,006,408NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$228,840,641NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE SERVICES TO MEMBERS WHICH ARE MANDATED IN THE CREDIT UNION ACT TO CHARTERS AND TO PROVIDE A MEANS WHEREBY MEMBERS CAN PROVIDE EACH OTHER WITH NEEDED FINANCIAL SERVICES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescSAVINGS AND CHECKING WE KNOW DIFFERENT MEMBERS HAVE DIFFERENT NEEDS FROM THEIR CHECKING AND SAVINGS ACCOUNTS. THATS WHY WE OFFER VARIETY. WSECU CAN HELP YOU MAKE MANAGING YOUR BUDGET SIMPLER AS YOU WORK TOWARD YOUR FINANCIAL GOALS. CHOOSE FROM OUR DIFFERENT CHECKING OPTIONS, ALL OF WHICH COME WITH NO MAINTENANCE FEES AND NO PER-CHECK CHARGES. ACCESS YOUR ACCOUNTS ANYTIME OF THE DAY OR NIGHT WITH YOUR DEBIT OR ATM CARD. WSECU IS A PROUD PARTNER OF THE CO-OP NETWORK, OFFERING YOU FREE ACCESS TO 25,000 ATMS ACROSS THE UNITED STATES. COMPLETE DETAILS AND CURRENT RATES ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document47000IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee664EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWASHINGTON STATE EMPLOYEES CREDIT UPersonNm
Phone3609437911PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX WSECUAddressLine1Txt
CityOLYMPIACityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98507ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
FRED OLSON
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,254$0$0
GINNY DALE
BOD/V. CHAIR001.00001.00Yes (X)$653$0$0
CAROLE WASHBURN
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,920$0$0
RITA KOONTZ
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,660$0$0
MARCUS GLASPER
BOD/SECRETARY001.00001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUG MAH
BOD/CHAIR001.00001.00Yes (X)$786$0$0
MIKE STEVENSON
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,041$0$0
TRACY GUERIN
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDY HODGINS
BOD MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
YOLANDA WILSON
SUPERVISORY COMM./MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$875$0$0
JEFF DOYLE
SUPERVISORY COMM./MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,570$0$0
SCOTT HENDERSON
SUPERVISORY COMM./CHAIR001.00001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WENDY WEEKS
SUPERVISORY COMM./MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID KUHN
SUPERVISORY COMM./MEMBER001.00001.00Yes (X)$1,678$0$0
KEVIN S FOSTER-KEDDIE
PRESIDENT/CEO040.00040.00$984,086$0$35,377Yes (X)
RANDY GUNDERSON
CFO040.00040.00$282,259$0$59,924Yes (X)
MARK ALLEN
CHIEF CREDIT OFFICER/CEO OWF040.00040.00$277,505$0$52,205Yes (X)
LINDA HOLLEN
CHIEF BRAND OFFICER040.00040.00$462,248$0$35,389Yes (X)
BENJAMIN MORALES
CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OPERATIONS OFFICER040.00040.00$283,000$0$59,775Yes (X)
GARY R SWINDLER
CHIEF MEMBER OFFICER040.00040.00$229,199$0$47,551Yes (X)
SHARON L WHITEHEAD
CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER040.00040.00$264,746$0$48,354Yes (X)
RICHARD LADD
VP COMMERCIAL LENDING040.00040.00$173,122$0$35,220Yes (X)
TERRYL HANSON
COMMERCIAL LOAN OFFICER040.00040.00$193,612$0$20,414Yes (X)
SID SCHROADER
FINANCIAL INVESTMENT REPRESENTATIVE040.00040.00$182,624$0$25,924Yes (X)
DAVID LUCHTEL
VP IT INFRASTRUCTURE OPERATIONS040.00040.00$189,723$0$31,318Yes (X)
JEFF REESE
FINANCIAL INVESTMENT REPRESENTATIVE040.00040.00$165,978$0$26,525Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,699,539TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$477,976TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K47IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
KIDDER MATHEWS FUNDING INV ONLY
330 UNION AVE SEOLYMPIAWA98501PROPERTY MANAGEMENT$2,877,118
CHARLES SCHWAB TRUST ACCOUNT
PO BOX 202770AUSTINTX78720EMPLOYEE BENEFITS- 401K$4,034,275
SCHOOL EMPLOYEES CREDIT UNION
325 EASTLAKE AVE ESEATTLEWA98109LOAN PARTICIPATION SALES$2,999,433
KAYE SMITH
PO BOX 956RENTONWA980570956STATEMENTS/FORMS PRINTER AND MAILER$2,422,915
BALFOUR BEATTY CONSTRUCTION LLC
415 1ST AVE N SUITE 400SEATTLEWA98109BRANCH CONSTRUCTION$1,744,025
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K85CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS TO MEMBERS522100$83,050,887$83,043,037$7,850
SERVICE FEES/CHARGES522100$38,426,001$37,871,205$554,796
MORTGAGE LENDING522100$2,790,273$2,644,936$145,337
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$124,267,161TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,464,761TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,464,761RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$477,643RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$477,643RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$477,643TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$477,643RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$189,671,714SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,296,612OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$189,336,907SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,257,352OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$334,807SecuritiesAmt
Other$39,260OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$374,067TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$374,067RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business522100BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$32,663TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$32,663RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$32,663OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$129,616,295TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$128,908,312RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$707,983UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,133,055TotalAmt
Program Services$3,133,055ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,589,541TotalAmt
Program Services$27,589,541ProgramServicesAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,552,505TotalAmt
Program Services$2,552,505ProgramServicesAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,784,874TotalAmt
Program Services$6,784,874ProgramServicesAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,683,214TotalAmt
Program Services$2,683,214ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,229TotalAmt
Program Services$475,229ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$103,791TotalAmt
Program Services$103,791ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fees For Services Prof FundraisingFeesForServicesProfFundraising

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,993,971TotalAmt
Program Services$4,993,971ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,152,959TotalAmt
Program Services$2,152,959ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,548,119TotalAmt
Program Services$5,548,119ProgramServicesAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,879,559TotalAmt
Program Services$2,879,559ProgramServicesAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,079,661TotalAmt
Program Services$4,079,661ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$303,352TotalAmt
Program Services$303,352ProgramServicesAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$379,578TotalAmt
Program Services$379,578ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,251,080TotalAmt
Program Services$5,251,080ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,911,127TotalAmt
Program Services$6,911,127ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$457,759TotalAmt
Program Services$457,759ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSEE SCHEDULE ATTACHEDDesc
Total$31,581,776TotalAmt
Program Services$31,581,776ProgramServicesAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,861,150TotalAmt
Program Services$107,861,150ProgramServicesAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,131,953BOYAmt
EOY$17,428,077EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,951,675BOYAmt
EOY$13,667,768EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,648,148BOYAmt
EOY$6,364,398EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,255,942,768BOYAmt
EOY$1,720,234,387EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,222,981BOYAmt
EOY$38,581,799EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$127,107,000LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$47,034,961LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,434,627BOYAmt
EOY$80,072,039EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$407,860,108BOYAmt
EOY$203,599,891EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,535,189BOYAmt
EOY$118,799,722EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,555,515BOYAmt
EOY$18,688,582EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,922,282,964BOYAmt
EOY$2,217,436,663EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,042,266BOYAmt
EOY$33,586,341EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$131,850,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,687,234,290BOYAmt
EOY$1,823,159,681EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,719,276,556BOYAmt
EOY$1,988,596,022EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$203,006,408BOYAmt
EOY$228,840,641EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$203,006,408BOYAmt
EOY$228,840,641EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,922,282,964BOYAmt
EOY$2,217,436,663EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$21,755,145ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$4,334,639NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$255,551OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,110,766OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$14,110,766BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$70,463,863OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,906,139DepreciationAmt
Book Value$54,557,724BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,065,108OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,072,201DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,992,907BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$34,956,023OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,748,380DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,207,643BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$511,240OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$308,241DepreciationAmt
Book Value$202,999BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$80,072,039TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests
OTHER$118,799,722F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$118,799,722TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal income taxes
SHARE DRAFT ACCOUNTS$379,348,509
SHARE ACCOUNTS$797,966,051
MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS$276,335,403
IRA SHARE ACCOUNTS$31,451,645
SHARE AND IRA CERTIFICATES$338,058,073
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,823,159,681TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$129,492,290TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Subtotal$129,492,290RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$124,005OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$124,005RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$129,616,295TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$107,737,145TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$124,005OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$124,005ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$107,861,150ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$107,861,150TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceX 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM MOST FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL TAXES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND STATE TAX LAWS. THE INCOME TAXES TOPIC OF THE FASB ASC CLARIFIES ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES REPORTED IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE INTERPRETATION PROVIDES CRITERIA FOR ASSESSMENT OF INDIVIDUAL TAX POSITIONS AND A PROCESS FOR RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. TAX POSITIONS ARE EVALUATED ON WHETHER THEY MEET THE MORE LIKELY THAN NOT STANDARD FOR SUSTAINABILITY UPON EXAMINATION BY TAX AUTHORITIES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION AS DEFINED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE IRC SECTION 501C14. AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES DIRECTLY RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME UBI DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. BEGINNING IN MARCH 2008, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE IRS RELEASED TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDUMS TAMs TO SPECIFIC STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS SPECIFYING THE REVENUE SOURCES SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX UBIT. UBI MAY ALSO BE SUBJECT TO TAX IN CERTAIN STATES. MANAGEMENT HAS ASSESSED THE CREDIT UNIONS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY AND DETERMINED THAT THE CREDIT UNION HAS NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ADDITIONALLY, NO INTEREST AND PENALTIES HAVE BEEN RECORDED IN THE ACCOMPANYING CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS RELATED TO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. CURRENTLY, THE 2013, 2012, AND 2011 FEDERAL INCOME TAX RETURNS ARE OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS. THE FILING YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE STATE, IF APPLICABLE, MAY BE EQUAL TO, GREATER THAN OR LESS THAN THE YEARS OPEN FOR EXAMINATION BY THE IRS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
KEVIN S FOSTER-KEDDIE
PRESIDENT/CEO$528,301$389,737$66,048$22,100$13,277$1,019,463
RANDY GUNDERSON
CFO$223,266$57,615$1,378$39,365$20,559$342,183
MARK ALLEN
CHIEF CREDIT OFFICER/CEO OWF$221,872$54,184$1,449$38,921$13,284$329,710
LINDA HOLLEN
CHIEF BRAND OFFICER$211,990$61,393$188,865$22,100$13,289$497,637
BENJAMIN MORALES
CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OPERATIONS OFFICER$225,648$56,196$1,156$39,273$20,502$342,775
GARY R SWINDLER
CHIEF MEMBER OFFICER$181,219$46,867$1,113$33,869$13,682$276,750
SHARON L WHITEHEAD
CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER$212,044$52,241$461$38,204$10,150$313,100
RICHARD LADD
VP COMMERCIAL LENDING$142,797$21,617$8,708$14,671$20,549$208,342
TERRYL HANSON
COMMERCIAL LOAN OFFICER$98,391$95,221$20,414$214,026
SID SCHROADER
FINANCIAL INVESTMENT REPRESENTATIVE$20,499$162,125$15,748$10,176$208,548
DAVID LUCHTEL
VP IT INFRASTRUCTURE OPERATIONS$164,334$21,908$3,481$10,767$20,551$221,041
JEFF REESE
FINANCIAL INVESTMENT REPRESENTATIVE$24,102$141,876$14,126$12,399$192,503

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 4bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationLINDA HOLLEN RECEIVED A 457F PAYOUT OF 184,871 DURING 2014.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6THE CREDIT UNIONS MEMBERS HAVE RIGHTS TO ELECT THE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THE CREDIT UNIONS MEMBERS ALSO RECEIVE A SHARE OF THE ORGANIZATIONS PROFITS IN THE FORM OF CASH DIVIDENDS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7AMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATIONS GOVERNING BODY, WHETHER PERIODICALLY, OR AS VACANCIES ARISE, OR OTHERWISE.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7BMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODYS ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11BWSECU ACTIVELY MONITORS OUR TAX POSITION THROUGHOUT THE YEAR. UPON 990 FILING, WSECU REVIEWS THE FORMS FOR ACCURACY TO OUR INTERNAL REPORTS AND MAKES ADJUSTMENTS AS NECESSARY UNDER THE GUIDANCE OF OUR TAX ACCOUNTANTS. THE TAX FORMS ARE REVIEWED BY OUR CEO PRIOR TO SIGNING OF THE FINAL DRAFT. THE RETURN IS AVAILABLE TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR REVIEW.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12CWE SEND OUT AN ANNUAL HR POLICIES ACKNOWLEDGMENT TO ALL STAFF AND REQUIRE ACKNOWLEDGMENT FROM EACH PERSON EACH YEAR AS WELL AS UPON HIRE. THIS POLICIES ACKNOWLEDGMENT INCLUDES THE WSECU CODE OF CONDUCT, WHICH COVERS OUR CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. WE ENFORCE THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IN VARIOUS WAYS, DEPENDING ON THE PARTICULAR CONFLICT. FOR EMPLOYMENT CONFLICTS, WE REQUIRE A NOTIFICATION TO HR OF ANY SECOND JOBS AND APPROVAL BY THE EMPLOYEES LEADER. FOR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF EMPLOYEES WORKING WITH RELATIVES, WE REQUIRE A SENIOR MANAGEMENT APPROVAL BEFORE WE HIRE, PROMOTE, OR TRANSFER ANYONE WHO MIGHT BE WORKING WITH A RELATIVE OF WSECU EMPLOYEE. IF WE ARE NOTIFIED OF OTHER TYPES OF CONFLICTS, WE DEAL WITH THEM AS THEY ARISE, INVOLVING COMPANY LEADERSHIP. OUR POLICY HAS ASSISTED US TO PROHIBIT CONFLICTS BEFORE THEY IMPACT THE COMPANY.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15BWSECU USES A THIRD PARTY, OUTSIDE CONSULTANT TO EVALUATE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION. THE REVIEW THAT THE CONSULTANT COMPLETES INCLUDES A REASONABLENESS TEST, MARKET COMPARABLE DATA FOR THE FINANCIAL SERVICES/CREDIT UNION INDUSTRY AND THE GEOGRAPHIC AREA, AND INCLUDES THE ENTIRE SALARY AND BENEFITS PACKAGE. PERIODICALLY, HUMAN RESOURCES USES INDUSTRY AND REGIONAL EXECUTIVE SALARY SURVEYS TO VERIFY EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION. THE CEO CONTRACT, INCLUDING COMPENSATION, IS REVIEWED BY THE WSECU BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICY ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC ON THE NCUA WEBSITE VIA THE 5300 FILING.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9GAINS FROM THE SALE OF INVESTMENTS 268,539 LESS BUSINESS MERGER 12,988.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ONE WASHINGTON FINANCIAL LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX WSECUAddressLine1Txt
CityOLYMPIACityNm
State AbbreviationWAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP98507ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN753134955EIN
Primary ActivitiesLOAN SERVICINGPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateWALegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$3,133,501TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$10,989,620EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1WASHINGTON STATE EMPLOYEES CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt