STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 48-0499309)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-11-13
IRS object ID
201543179349308544
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-11-13T16:13:42-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480499309EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE VICTORY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlVICTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSHANE LAWSPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6202272139PhoneNum
Signature2015-11-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMATT R WILLISPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00419741PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2015-11-13PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-04-25 22:37:26ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSHANE LAWSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1335AddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678011335ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$82,673,570GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.VICTORYELECTRIC.NETWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1945FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE QUALITY AND RELIABLE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee100TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$73TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$32,090NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$66,328,918PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$79,633,902CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$58,028PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$80,199CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,461,073PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$110,093CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$67,848,019PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$79,443,610CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$41,919CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$4,695,337PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$9,140,792CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,538,308PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,007,488CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$59,614,370PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$65,253,411CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$67,848,015PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$79,443,610CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$125,277,821TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$138,748,429TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$97,297,174TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$102,107,763TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$27,980,647NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$36,640,666NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO PROVIDE A SAFE, RELIABLE SERVICE AT A COMPETITIVE RATE, PROVIDE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT OPPORTUNITIES AND SERVICES FOR OUR MEMBERS, AND TO ENSURE THE FINANCIAL STABILITY OF THE COOPERATIVE THROUGH THE USE OF PRUDENT BUSINESS PRACTICES AND THE LATEST TECHNOLOGY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 19,610 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END WERE PROVIDED ELECTRICITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document29IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee100EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$73,942,884MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$6,821,102OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHANE LAWSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6202272139PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13230 N 14TH AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityDODGE CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNY WEHKAMP
PRESIDENT12.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$26,864$0$0
JOHN LEIS
VICE PRESIDENT7.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$34,750$0$0
PATRICK MORSE
SECRETARY/TREASURER2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,746$0$0
RANDY QUINT
DIRECTOR6.00Yes (X)$27,146$0$0
JIM IMEL
DIRECTOR7.00Yes (X)$24,446$0$0
KENNETH SCHULTE
DIRECTOR3.00Yes (X)$9,439$0$0
GARY GILLESPIE
DIRECTOR5.00Yes (X)$24,164$0$0
RICHARD LIGHTNER
DIRECTOR5.10Yes (X)$13,872$0$0
JAMES DARYL TIEBEN
DIRECTOR5.20Yes (X)$33,868$0$0
CEDRIC DREWES
DIRECTOR6.00Yes (X)$30,267$0$0
TERRI LARSON
DIRECTOR7.90Yes (X)$39,267$0$0
JAMES L OCHS
DIRECTOR11.00Yes (X)$30,867$0$0
SHANE LAWS
CEO50.00Yes (X)$197,412$0$57,890
KARLA S DURANT
CFO48.00Yes (X)$124,594$0$30,765
THOMAS LOWERY
DIRECTOR OF OPS45.00$129,157$0$64,772Yes (X)
RYAN MILLER
SUPERVISOR OF OPS48.00$120,639$0$73,479Yes (X)
GREG UNDERWOOD
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING44.00$118,831$0$68,316Yes (X)
DAVID MASDEN
CREW CHIEF51.00$109,216$0$46,478Yes (X)
PATRICK DEAVER
CREW CHIEF50.00$104,689$0$40,664Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,224,234TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$382,364TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ELECTRICOMM INC
PO BOX 8324TOPEKAKS66608MATERIAL CONTRACTORS/PROVIDERS$816,473
ELECTRICAL SOLUTIONS CO
1262 S YUCCA DRIVEGARDEN CITYKS67846MATERIAL CONTRACTORS/PROVIDERS$437,057
NISC
PO BOX 728MANDANND58554SOFTWARE SUPPORT$386,453
WESKAN ELECTRIC LLC
207 LEIGH CIRWESKANKS67762MATERIAL CONTRACTORS/PROVIDERS$259,023
MID-KANSAS ELECTRIC CO LLC
PO BOX 980HAYSKS67601MATERIAL CONTRACTORS/PROVIDERS$154,167
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$72,536,451$72,536,451
MKEC PARTNERSHIP INCOME221000$3,566,875$3,566,875
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$1,935,745$1,935,745
ELECTRICIAN REVENUE221000$1,011,831$1,011,831
TRANSMISSION/WHEELING221000$583,000$583,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$79,633,902TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$347,761TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$347,761ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$779PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Personal$779PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$779TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$537RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$242ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,416,091SecuritiesAmt
Other$232,483OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,936,087SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,140,447OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$480,004SecuritiesAmt
Other-$907,964OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$427,960TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$427,960ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$42,627GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$153,426CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$110,799TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$110,799RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINTERNET REVENUEDesc
Business517000BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column-$73TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$73UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total-$73OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$79,443,610TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$79,523,640RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$73UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$79,957ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,919TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,140,792TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$730,357TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,445,467TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$784,465TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$819,677TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$227,522TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,658,287TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,172,596TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$51,905,327
ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENE$2,614,582
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$2,248,524
CUSTOMER SERVICE$626,621

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,474TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$79,443,610TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,031,954BOYAmt
EOY$1,479,675EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$3,667,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,232,900BOYAmt
EOY$6,494,564EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$286,415EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,706,151BOYAmt
EOY$1,243,753EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,020,505BOYAmt
EOY$3,611,758EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$149,569,805LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$46,758,352LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$95,788,113BOYAmt
EOY$102,811,453EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,656,799BOYAmt
EOY$945,651EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,841,399BOYAmt
EOY$18,178,747EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$29,413EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,277,821BOYAmt
EOY$138,748,429EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,445,545BOYAmt
EOY$5,970,750EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,748BOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,586,194BOYAmt
EOY$93,468,122EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,000,687BOYAmt
EOY$2,668,891EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,297,174BOYAmt
EOY$102,107,763EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$660BOYAmt
EOY$660EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,979,987BOYAmt
EOY$36,640,006EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,980,647BOYAmt
EOY$36,640,666EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,277,821BOYAmt
EOY$138,748,429EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$426,725NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$9,086,744OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$819,656OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$819,656BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,363,090OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,150,249DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,212,841BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$125,376,498OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$45,608,103DepreciationAmt
Book Value$79,768,395BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,010,561OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$16,010,561BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$102,811,453TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (12 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CFC MEMBER CAPITAL SECURITIES$100,000C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRUCFC$262,274C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NISC$87,588C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - NRTC$37,148C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - KEPCO$4,698,030C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEPC$2,154,482C
INVESTMENT IN ASSOC - MKEC$9,943,127C
INVESTMENT IN CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATE$310,274C
SUNFLOWER INVESTMENT/RAIL ROAD$90,000C
INVESTMENT IN COBANK$29,008C
OTHER INVESTMENTS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$280,226C
OTHER INVESTMENT$186,590C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$18,178,747TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$785,776
ACCRUED TAXES$1,359,584
ACCRUED INTEREST$23,610
ACCRUED EMPLOYEE COMPENSATED ABSCENCES$386,959
OTHER CURRENT AND ACCRUED LIABILITIES$1,680
DEFERRED CREDITS$111,282
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,668,891TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$77,482,513TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue-$1,961,097OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,961,097RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$79,443,610RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$79,443,610TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$68,341,721TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$1,961,097OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$1,961,097ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$70,302,818ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,140,792OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,140,792ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$79,443,610TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE UTILIZES THE "UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS" PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT ITS TAX POSITION WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NONOPERATING EXPENSES RECLASSED TO FORM 990 PART IX -1,961,097.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NONOPERATING EXPENSES RECLASSED TO FORM 990 PART IX -1,961,097.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 9,140,792.
SCHEDULE DPART IX: THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5 PERCENT OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK. SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4B: PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE - $9,140,792 FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALL GRANTS, SPONSORSHIPS AND DONATIONS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT AND CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA. ALL DONATIONS ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
SHANE LAWS
CEO$196,297$0$0$0$1,115$0$37,276$0$20,614$0$255,302$0$0$0
KARLA S DURANT
CFO$121,775$0$0$0$2,819$0$16,985$0$13,780$0$155,359$0$0$0
THOMAS LOWERY
DIRECTOR OF OPS$126,027$0$0$0$3,130$0$50,992$0$13,780$0$193,929$0$0$0
RYAN MILLER
SUPERVISOR OF OPS$119,805$0$0$0$834$0$52,865$0$20,614$0$194,118$0$0$0
GREG UNDERWOOD
MANAGER OF ENGINEERING$116,565$0$0$0$2,266$0$47,702$0$20,614$0$187,147$0$0$0
DAVID MASDEN
CREW CHIEF$107,094$0$0$0$2,122$0$32,698$0$13,780$0$155,694$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, PART II, COLUMN CFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationINCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. SHANE LAWS ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 24,138 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 13,138 TOTAL COLUMN C: 37,276 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (24,138) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 53,203 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 66,341 KARLA DURRANT ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 8,639 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 8,346 TOTAL COLUMN C: 16,985 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (8,639) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 34,637 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 42,983 THOMAS LOWERY ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 42,187 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 8,805 TOTAL COLUMN C: 50,992 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (42,187) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 36,543 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 45,348 RYAN MILLER ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 45,136 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 7,729 TOTAL COLUMN C: 52,865 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (45,136) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 32,076 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 39,805 GREG UNDERWOOD ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 39,708 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 7,994 TOTAL COLUMN C: 47,702 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (39,708) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 33,088 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 41,082 DAVID MASDEN ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 27,209 401(K) EMPLOYER MATCH 5,489 TOTAL COLUMN C: 32,698 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: (27,209) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTION TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN: 22,307 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 27,796ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (19 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2JIM IMEL (DIRECTOR), SHANE LAWS (CEO) AND KENNY WEHKAMP (BOARD PRESIDENT) HAVE A BUSINESSS RELATIONSHIP. ALL 3 SERVE ON THE BOARD OF SUNFLOWER ELECTRIC POWER CORPORATION (SEPC) AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE. SHANE LAWS (CEO) AND KENNY WEHKAMP (BOARD PRESIDENT) HAVE A BUSINESSS RELATIONSHIP. BOTH SERVE ON THE BOARD OF MID-KANSAS ELECTRIC COMPANY, LLC (MKEC) AT THE REQUEST OF AND FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4ARTICLE IV, SECTION 4 OF THE BY-LAWS WAS AMENDED TO UPDATE THE QUALIFICATIONS REQUIRED TO BE A DIRECTOR OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE; 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION; 3. THE DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS; 4. THE AMENDMENT TO THE COOPERATIVES ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION; 5. THE AMENDMENT TO THE COOPERATIVES BYLAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BFROM TIME TO TIME THE ENTIRE BOARD WILL GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION FOR DISCUSSING ITEMS OF A SENSITIVE AND CONFIDENTIAL NATURE. WHEN THIS OCCURS MANAGEMENT AND OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE ARE REMOVED FROM THE MEETING ROOM. ITEMS DISCUSSED IN EXECUTIVE SESSION ARE NOT DOCUMENTED. HOWEVER, ACTIONS TAKEN BY THE BOARD AFTER EXECUTIVE SESSIONS ARE ADJOURNED ARE FULLY DOCUMENTED IN THE WRITTEN MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11AFTER THE RETURN HAS BEEN FILED MANAGEMENT WILL PRESENT A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND REVIEW.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUAL REVIEW OF ALL AFFECTED PARTIES AND ANY CONFLICT IS REPORTED TO THE CEO AND BOARD PRESIDENT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT, THE FORM 990 OF OTHER COOPERATIVES AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR GENERAL MANAGERS FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN KANSAS AND THE NATION. THE BOARD AND GENERAL MANAGER USE THE EXPERTISE OF AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT AND A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S OTHER EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES, IF ANY. THE SURVEY INCLUDES SALARIES FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES THROUGHOUT KANSAS AND THE NATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ANNUALLY THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES A COPY OF THE UNAUDITED BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH THE ANNUAL REPORT. FINALLY, THE ANNUAL REPORT AND BYLAWS CAN BE FOUND ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 1THE COOPERATIVE HAS 12 BOARD MEMBERS; ALL 12 ARE ALLOWED TO VOTE, HOWEVER THE BOARD PRESIDENT VOTES ONLY IN THE CASE OF A TIE.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN FIN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. AS PART OF THE PLAN DOCUMENT, THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES CONTRIBUTIONS BASED UPON A MATCHING OF EMPLOYEE'S PARTICIPCATION OF UP 2% OF A PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEE'S ANNUAL COMPENSATION. ADDITIONALLY THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMIATION OF THE PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF THE PLAN. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS, THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICER IS COMPRISED OF THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED TO THE PENSION PLANS AND THE INSURANCE PREMIUMS PAID FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE OFFICER.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IXTHE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS (USOA) AS PRESCRIBED BY RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT WILL BE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24THE FOLLOWING IS A BREAKDOWN OF THE EXPENSES REPORTED AS ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24. OFFICE SUPPLIES EXPENSE $ 153,605 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL EXPENSE 5,757 OTHER INSURANCE 75,416 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 118,471 REGULATORY COMMISSION EXPENSE 59,972 MEMBER MEETING EXPENSE 216,384 ADVERTISING EXPENSE 23,880 NONOPERATING EXPENSES - ELECTRICIAN AND INTERNET 1,961,097 TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL EXPENSE PER 990 $2,614,582
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7RECONCILIATION OF WAGES PER RETURN TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID. SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO THE TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $3,175,824 LESS DIRECTORS FEES REPORTED ON 1099-MISC (319,696) LESS EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (88,655) PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES ALLOCATED TO NONOPERATING MARGINS 118,192 PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 2,068,735 PLUS SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING & OTHER ACCOUNTS 858,722 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $5,813,122
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS SPECIFICALLY STATE THAT THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS MEMBERS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS MEMBERS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS MEMBERS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR MEMBERS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE BASIS ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS AND IS SUMMARIZED AS FOLLOWS: (A) IN ORDER TO INDUCE PATRONAGE AND TO ASSURE THAT THE COOPERATIVE WILL OPERATE ON A NONPROFIT BASIS, THE COOPERATIVE IS OBLIGATED TO ACCOUNT ON A PATRONAGE BASIS TO ALL ITS MEMBERS FOR ALL AMOUNTS RECEIVED AND RECEIVABLE FROM THE FURNISHING OF ELECTRIC ENERGY IN EXCESS OF OPERATING COSTS AND EXPENSES PROPERLY CHARGEABLE AGAINST SUCH SERVICES (I.E. MARGINS FROM THE PROVISION OF ELECTRIC ENERGY). (B) THE MARGINS FROM THE PROVISION OF ELECTRIC ENERGY ARE RECEIVED WITH THE UNDERSTANDING THAT THEY ARE FURNISHED BY THE MEMBERS AS CAPITAL. (C) THE COOPERATIVE IS OBLIGATED TO PAY BY CREDITS TO A CAPITAL ACCOUNT FOR EACH MEMBER FOR ALL SUCH MARGINS. AND (D) ALL SUCH AMOUNTS CREDITED TO THE CAPITAL ACCOUNT OF ANY MEMBER SHALL HAVE THE SAME STATUS AS THOUGH THEY HAD BEEN PAID TO THE MEMBER IN CASH IN PURSUANCE OF A LEGAL OBLIGATION TO DO SO AND THE MEMBER HAD THEN FURNISHED TO THE COOPERATIVE CORRESPONDING AMOUNTS OF CAPITAL. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2014 CALENDAR YEAR. AS NOTED ABOVE, SUCH AMOUNTS ARE ALLOCATED SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). THE AMOUNTS ALLOCATED ARE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE MARGINS FROM THE PROVISION OF ELECTRIC ENERGY TO THE MEMBERS AND ARE DONE PURSUANT TO THE OBLIGATION THAT EXISTED IN THE BYLAWS PRIOR TO THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDING ELECTRICITY TO ITS MEMBERS. THEREFORE, THESE AMOUNTS MEET THE DEFINITION OF THE TERM "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID". PLEASE NOTE, HOWEVER, THAT BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS MEMBERS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED THE AMOUNT OF ITS 2014 MARGIN THAT HAS BEEN OR IS TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END. SUCH AMOUNTS ARE AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING AND IS NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:GAIN/(LOSS) ON RETIRED CAPITAL CREDITS -37. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED -54,011. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 9,140,792.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAVE ASSIGNED MEMBERS TO AN AUDIT COMMITTEE TO OVERSEE THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND TO RECOMMEND TO THE BOARD AN INDEPENDENT CPA FIRM TO PERFORM THE AUDIT.