STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

KANSAS CITY HOSPICE INC: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
KANSAS CITY HOSPICE INC (EIN 43-1209344)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-11-05
IRS object ID
201403099349301090
Schema version
2013v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-11-05T11:43:45-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BKD LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11201 Walnut Suite 1700AddressLine1
CityKansas CityCity
StateMOState
ZIP Code641062246ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431209344EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kansas City Hospice IncBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% BILL DICHISERInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlKANSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8163632600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11500 MEADOW LAKE PARKWAYAddressLine1
Address Line2Suite STE 200AddressLine2
CityKANSAS CITYCity
StateMOState
ZIP Code64114ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBILL DICHISERPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone8163632600PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichael J EnglePreparerPersonNm
PTINP00482834PTIN
Phone8163632600PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address ChangeYes (X)AddressChangeInd
Principal OfficerELAINE MCINTOSHPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11500 MEADOW LAKE PKWY STE 200AddressLine1
CityKANSAS CITYCity
StateMOState
ZIP Code64114ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$22,637,770GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KANSASCITYHOSPICE.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1980FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO BRING EXPERT CARE, PEACE OF MIND, COMFORT, GUIDANCE AND HOPE TO PEOPLE WHO ARE AFFECTED BY LIFE-THREATENING AND LIFE-LIMITING ILLNESS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body21VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent20VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee384TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers485TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,787,926PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,281,380CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$20,024,584PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$20,343,706CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$284PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,946CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$74,400PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$9,738CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$22,887,194PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$22,637,770CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,916,213PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,030,756CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,970,697PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,604,068CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,886,910PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$22,634,824CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$284PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,946CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$17,255,174TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$16,133,332TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$7,887,825TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$7,241,722TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$9,367,349NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$8,891,610NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO BRING EXPERT CARE, PEACE OF MIND, COMFORT, GUIDANCE AND HOPE TO PEOPLE WHO ARE AFFECTED BY LIFE-THREATENING AND LIFE-LIMITING ILLNESS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,261,529ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$20,343,706RevenueAmt
DescSEE SCHEDULE ODesc
Total Program Service Expenses$18,261,529TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document103IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee384EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members21GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member20IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBILL DICHISERPersonNm
Phone8162762611PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11500 MEADOW LAKE PARKWAY SUITE 200AddressLine1
CityKANSAS CITYCity
StateMOState
ZIP Code64114ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
LYNNE BROWN
CHAIRMAN1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
MICHELLE STARK KAUFMAN
SECRETARY1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
ROBERT HILL
TREASURER1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
ELAINE MCINTOSH
PRESIDENT/CEO40.0Yes (X)Yes (X)1.0$240,085$0$21,688
NANCY DEBASIO
VICE CHAIR1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
ALFRED BIGGS
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR1.0Yes (X)
STEVE JONES
VICE CHAIR1.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
KEITH ASHCRAFT
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)1.0
SHERRY AINSWORTH
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
FRAN MARTINSEN
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)1.0
FREDA MENDEZ-SMITH
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
MIKE O'FLAHERTY
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)1.0
LEE STANFORD
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)1.0
SHERMAN STEINZEIG
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
WILLIAM TAMMEUS
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
BILL INTRATER
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
ROBERT WOOD
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
BARBARA LUKERT
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
SUSAN PINGLETON
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
DONNA PAYNE
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
DAVID WILEY
BOARD MEMBER1.0Yes (X)
RAY LETOURNEAU JR
CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER40.0Yes (X)$104,020$5,334
BILL DICHISER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.0Yes (X)$39,207$22
ANN ALLEGRE
DIR OF MEDICAL PROGRAM32.0$144,418$0$11,877Yes (X)
PAMELA HARRIS
MEDICAL DIRECTOR40.0$127,683$29,541Yes (X)
JAY RISEMAN
MEDICAL DIRECTOR40.0$163,733$0$22,236Yes (X)
STEVE COHN
MEDICAL DIRECTOR40.0$135,472$889Yes (X)
TERRIE MYERS
VP CLINICAL SERVICES40.0$103,993$15,284Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,058,611TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$106,871TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

ServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
WARD PARKWAY CS LLC
OFFICE RENTAL$393,786
TRUMAN MEDICAL CENTER
PATIENT ROOM & BOARD$273,451
ENTERPRISE FLEET MANAGEMENT
CAR LEASING PROGRAM$236,714
HMP DME SERVICES
PATIENT DME RENTALS$201,481
FASONE PARTNERS INC
ADVERTISING$175,130
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Related Organizations$2,271,239RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$10,141GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$2,281,380TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE621300$19,310,172$19,310,172
NURSING HOME SUPPORT621300$1,033,534$1,033,534
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$20,343,706TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,946TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,946ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUS REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$9,738TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$9,738ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$9,738OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$22,637,770TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$20,343,706RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$12,684ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$405,904TotalAmt
Program Services$342,509ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$63,395ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,159,931TotalAmt
Program Services$10,260,773ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,899,158ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$188,672TotalAmt
Program Services$126,099ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$62,573ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,398,430TotalAmt
Program Services$1,030,538ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$367,892ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$877,819TotalAmt
Program Services$747,145ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$130,674ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,388TotalAmt
Management And General$41,388ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,451TotalAmt
Management And General$29,451ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$870,637TotalAmt
Program Services$425,626ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$445,011ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,497TotalAmt
Program Services$183,487ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,010ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$875,481TotalAmt
Program Services$714,390ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$161,091ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$197,529TotalAmt
Program Services$149,636ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,893ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$901,065TotalAmt
Program Services$277,066ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$623,999ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$251,708TotalAmt
Program Services$223,524ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,184ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,503TotalAmt
Management And General$9,503ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,204TotalAmt
Program Services$5,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,928ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$127,274TotalAmt
Program Services$12,745ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$114,529ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$853,610TotalAmt
Program Services$698,534ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$155,076ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$401,914TotalAmt
Program Services$336,058ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$65,856ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
MEDICARE ROOM & BOARD$1,053,043$1,053,043
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$153,683$153,683
PATIENT TRANSPORTATION$93,479$93,479
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$328,988$328,988

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,173,614TotalAmt
Program Services$1,098,930ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$74,684ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,634,824TotalAmt
Program Services$18,261,529ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,373,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$922,926BOYAmt
EOY$543,408EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,110BOYAmt
EOY$5,858EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,619,456BOYAmt
EOY$2,248,116EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$211,670BOYAmt
EOY$248,588EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$19,813,080LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,004,030LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,235,703BOYAmt
EOY$12,809,050EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$197,821BOYAmt
EOY$223,414EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,488BOYAmt
EOY$54,898EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,255,174BOYAmt
EOY$16,133,332EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,801,952BOYAmt
EOY$1,593,977EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,888,052BOYAmt
EOY$5,424,331EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$197,821BOYAmt
EOY$223,414EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,887,825BOYAmt
EOY$7,241,722EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,336,587BOYAmt
EOY$8,858,471EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,762BOYAmt
EOY$33,139EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,367,349BOYAmt
EOY$8,891,610EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,255,174BOYAmt
EOY$16,133,332EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,946ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$478,685OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,468,275CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,905,018CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,541,632CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,787,926CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,281,380CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,984,231TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$19,794,945CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$20,637,001CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$19,670,337CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$20,024,584CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$20,343,706CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$100,470,573TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$23,263,220CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$22,542,019CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$22,211,969CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$22,812,510CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$22,625,086CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$113,454,804TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$113,454,804PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,607CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$445CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$423CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$284CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,946CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,705TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,607CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$445CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$423CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$284CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,946CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$5,705TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$28,556CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$74,530CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$65,577CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$74,400CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,738CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$252,801TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$23,293,383CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$22,616,994CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$22,277,969CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$22,887,194CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$22,637,770CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$113,713,310TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.99773PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99670PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00005InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00012InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,285,488BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$232,007InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$187,589OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$6,547AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,323,359EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,130,348BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$102,060ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$163,938InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$110,858OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,285,488EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,128,922BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,426InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,130,348EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,112,921BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$9,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,001InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,128,922EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,049,519BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$45,667ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$17,735InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,112,921EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.13640BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.86360PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (true)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,571,077OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,571,077BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,023,818OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,180,344DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,843,474BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,689OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,581DepreciationAmt
Book Value$108BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,342,448OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,312,591DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,029,857BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$859,048OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$494,514DepreciationAmt
Book Value$364,534BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$12,809,050TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
life insurance payable$187,052
capital accumulation liability$36,362
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$223,414TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,350,544TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$2,712,774OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,712,774RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$22,637,770RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$22,637,770TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,567,349TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$932,525OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$932,525ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$22,634,824ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$22,634,824TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE REPORTED AS PERMANENTLY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OF KANSAS CITY HOSPICE FOUNDATION. THE ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF 2 DONOR RESTRICTED FUNDS. NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH THE ENDOWMENT FUND ARE CLASSIFIED AND REPORTED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS. DONOR RESTRICTIONS CONFORM TO THE ORGANIZATION'S MISSION. THE POLSKY FAMILY SUPPORTING FOUNDATION ENDOWMENT, A DONOR RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT, OPERATES UNDER THE FOLLOWING GUIDELINES. THE PURPOSE OF THE ENDOWMENT IS TO PROVIDE FUNDS TO: 1) TEACH MEMBERS/OFFICERS/TRUSTEES/STAFF PRINCIPLES OF PRUDENT INVESTING AND BY RECEIVING AND CONSIDERING PERIODIC INVESTMENT RECOMMENDATIONS FROM NORMAN POLSKY OR HIS SUCCESSOR, AND/OR 2) FOSTER STAFF DEVELOPMENT THROUGH FORMAL EDUCATION, REGULAR TRAINING, ATTENDANCE AT INDUSTRY CONFERENCES AND EVENTS, AND WHATEVER OTHER STAFF PROGRAMS THE KCHF BOARD DETERMINES TO BE APPROPRIATE, AND/OR 3) FOSTER AND ENCOURAGE FUND RAISING BY HIRING A SUCCESSFUL PROFESSIONAL FUND RAISER CAPABLE OF TEACHING THE STAFF AND THE PROFESSIONAL VOLUNTEER OFFICERS OF KCH, AND/OR 4) FOSTER IMPROVED PUBLIC RELATIONS FOR KCH BY HIRING A PROFESSIONAL TO TEACH THE STAFF AND OFFICERS AND/OR 5) ENCOURAGE RESEARCH AND EDUCATION, EDUCATIONAL ACCREDITATION AND OTHER SIMILAR ACTIVITIES, AND/OR 6) ESTABLISH AN ARCHIVE OF KCHF TO PRESERVE THE HISTORY, AND/OR 7) ESTABLISH A PROGRAM RECOGNIZING AND UTILIZING MORE OF THE PAST OFFICERS, BOARD MEMBERS AND STAFF, AND/OR 8) CARRY ON ANY OTHER ACTIVITIES CONSISTENT WITH KCH TAX-EXEMPT STATUS AND AS DETERMINED BY KCH BOARD OF DIRECTORS, EXCEPT THAT NO PART OF THE ENDOWMENT PRINCIPAL MAY BE USED TO DEFRAY OPERATING EXPENSES SUCH AS, WITHOUT LIMITATION, RENT, PAYROLL, EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PROGRAMS, EQUIPMENT PURCHASES, LEASES, AND SUPPLIES-UNLESS SPECIFICALLY APPROVED IN WRITING IN ADVANCE BY PFSF. THE SECOND ENDOWMENT, THE COMMUNITY HEALTH GROUP ENDOWMENT, OPERATES UNDER THE FOLLOWING GUIDELINES: 1) TO ESTABLISH, OPERATE, SUPPORT, PROVIDE THE CAPITAL REQUIREMENTS OF, AND MAINTAIN HOSPITALS, INPATIENT FACILITIES, CLINICS, LABORATORIES, OFFICE BUILDINGS, PHARMACIES, AND ALL MEASURE OF FACILITIES AND PROGRAMS FOR OR RELATING TO, THE STUDY OR CARE OF THE HUMAN MIND AND BODY OR ANY PART THEREOF, AND 2) TO FOSTER THE HEALTH OF THE COMMUNITY AND TO ENGAGE IN EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES, RESEARCH AND OPERATIONS RELATED THERETO.
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DRELATED ORGANIZATION REVENUE $ 4,984,013 ELIMINATIONS $(4,905,478) CHANGE IN BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN FOUNDATION NET ASSETS $ 2,634,239 ----------- $ 2,712,774
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DRELATED ORGANIZATION EXPENSE $ 3,203,764 ELIMINATIONS $(2,271,239) ----------- $ 932,525

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ELAINE MCINTOSH
PRESIDENT/CEO$199,746$0$0$0$40,339$0$4,978$0$16,710$0$261,773$0$13,934$0
ANN ALLEGRE
DIR OF MEDICAL PROGRAM$144,418$0$0$0$0$0$3,425$0$8,452$0$156,295$0$0$0
PAMELA HARRIS
MEDICAL DIRECTOR$127,683$0$0$1,625$27,916$157,224$0
JAY RISEMAN
MEDICAL DIRECTOR$163,733$0$0$0$0$0$4,922$0$17,314$0$185,969$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4BELAINE MCINTOSH, CEO, IS AWARDED BENEFITS INCLUDING THE CHOICE OF MUTUAL FUNDS, LIFE INSURANCE, AND OTHER SIMILAR ASSETS FOR 2013, AMOUNTS RELATING TO THIS PLAN WERE CREDITED TO A CAPITAL ACCUMULATION ACCOUNT. CONTRIBUTIONS MADE PRIOR TO 2013 CARRIED A 2-YEAR VESTING PERIOD. DURING 2013, SHE VESTED AND RECEIVED $13,934 THAT RELATES TO THE AMOUNTS CREDITED TO HER CAPITAL ACCUMULATION ACCOUNT IN 2011. IN ADDITION, $26,405 WAS CREDITED TO HER CAPITAL ACCUMULATION ACCOUNT FOR THE 2013 PLAN YEAR.
SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN FCOMPENSATION IS REPORTED ON THE FORM 990 IN THE YEAR THAT THE COMPENSATION IS EARNED BY OR AWARDED TO AN INDIVIDUAL, EVEN IF THE COMPENSATION IS NOT PAID TO THE INDIVIDUAL, IS NOT FULLY VESTED, OR IS SUBJECT TO SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF FORFEITURE. IF COMPENSATION IS EARNED OR AWARDED IN ONE YEAR BUT PAID IN A LATER YEAR, THEN THE COMPENSATION IS GENERALLY REPORTED A SECOND TIME ON THE FORM 990 IN THE YEAR THE COMPENSATION IS PAID TO THE INDIVIDUAL. AS A RESULT OF THE REPORTING REQUIREMENT, AN ORGANIZATION IS REQUIRED TO REPORT THE SAME COMPENSATION AMOUNTS ON THE FORM 990 IN TWO SEPARATE YEARS. ONCE WHEN AWARDED AND ONCE WHEN PAID. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED IN COLUMN F INCLUDE AMOUNTS WHICH WERE REPORTED IN PREVIOUS 990S.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART III, LINE 4AKANSAS CITY HOSPICE, INC IS A NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION OFFERING A RANGE OF SERVICES FOR PEOPLE OF ALL AGES AND AT ANY STAGE OF SERIOUS ILLNESS. WE'VE BEEN PROVIDING COMFORT AND CARE TO THE SERIOUSLY ILL AND THEIR FAMILIES IN THE GREATER KANSAS CITY AREA SINCE 1980. a) KANSAS CITY HOSPICE HOMECARE PROGRAM - KANSAS CITY HOSPICE PROVIDES IN HOME (WHETHER IT BE A HOME, LONG TERM CARE FACILITY, ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY OR OTHER TYPE OF HOME) CARE TO PATIENTS RESIDING IN 9 COUNTIES. IN THE KANSAS CITY METROPOLITAN AREA SPECIALLY TRAINED STAFF, OF MULTIPLE DISCIPLINES, HELPS PATIENTS AND THEIR LOVED ONES WITH THE CHALLENGES OF LIFE-THREATENING ILLNESSES. WE HAD 1,386 ADMISSIONS AND 76,539 TOTAL CARE DAYS IN THIS YEAR. b) INPATIENT FACILITY HOSPICE HOUSE - IN APRIL OF 2006, KANSAS CITY HOSPICE OPENED THE FIRST INPATIENT HOSPICE FACILITY IN THE KANSAS CITY METROPOLITAN AREA. THE KANSAS CITY HOSPICE HOUSE PROVIDES THE COMFORTS OF HOME COUPLED WITH THE ADDITION OF EXPERTS AT THE PATIENT'S SIDE. THE 32-BED FACILITY ADDRESSES NOT ONLY MEDICAL AND NURSING CARE FOR PATIENTS FACING ADVANCED ILLNESSES, BUT ALSO EMOTIONAL AND SPIRITUAL SUPPORT FOR PATIENTS AND THEIR FAMILIES. THIS PROGRAM IS A SUPPLEMENT TO OUR HOMECARE PROGRAM IN THAT IT IS USED WHEN MEDICAL PROBLEMS ARE TOO SERIOUS TO MANAGE IN THE HOME SETTING. WE HAD 1,190 ADMISSIONS AND 9,177 CARE DAYS IN THIS YEAR. c) KANSAS CITY HOSPICE PALLIATIVE HOME CARE PROGRAM - THE PALLIATIVE HOME CARE PROGRAM IS LIKE OUR HOSPICE PROGRAM. AN INTERDISCIPLINARY TEAM FOCUSES ON SPECIALIZED MANAGEMENT OF PAIN AND OTHER SYMPTOMS. THE TEAM ADDRESSES EMOTIONAL NEEDS OF THE PATIENT AND FAMILY. ITS GOAL IS TO MAKE THE MOST OF THE REMAINING LIFE OF THE PATIENT. THE PROGRAM SERVES PEOPLE WHO HAVE LIFE-THREATENING ILLNESSES, BUT WHO WANT TO CONTINUE SEEKING CURATIVE TREATMENT OR WHO DO NOT WISH TO ELECT HOSPICE CARE. KANSAS CITY HOSPICE ALSO HAS A PALLIATIVE MEDICINE PROGRAM WHICH IS A PHYSICIAN SERVICE FOCUSING ON IMPROVING THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR PATIENTS FACING LIFE-LIMITING ILLNESSES. THE PROGRAM ALSO ASSISTS PATIENTS' FAMILIES. CARE IS CONCENTRATED ON PREVENTING AND RELIEVING SUFFERING THROUGH TREATING PAIN AND SYMPTOMS AS WELL AS BY PROVIDING EMOTIONAL AND SPIRITUAL SUPPORT. WE HAD 259 ADMISSIONS AND 14,295 CARE DAYS IN THIS YEAR. d) CAROUSEL PROGRAM - WE HAVE A PEDIATRIC PROGRAM. OUR TEAM OF PROFESSIONALS PROVIDES SUPPORT TO FAMILIES. WHEN HOME IS NOT THE IDEAL SETTING OUR HOSPICE HOUSE IS AVAILABLE. WE CARED FOR 35 FAMILIES IN 2013. ADDITIONAL SERVICES TO CHILDREN INCLUDES GRIEF SUPPORT GROUP AND INDIVIDUAL COUNSELING PROGRAMS CALLED SOLACE HOUSE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE RETURN WAS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT WITH ASSISTANCE AND OVERSIGHT BY MANAGEMENT OF KANSAS CITY HOSPICE, INC. THE KANSAS CITY HOSPICE BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWED THE 990 IN DETAIL WITH THE PREPARER PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS. THE KANSAS CITY HOSPICE, INC BOARD MEMBERS ARE PROVIDED A COPY OF THE KANSAS CITY HOSPICE, INC'S FORM 990 FOR PERSONAL REVIEW PRIOR TO SUBMISSION WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CBOARD MEMBERS AND OFFICERS ARE ASKED TO COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM ANNUALLY. THE KCH BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE REVIEWS ALL FORMS WITH CONFLICTS. BOARD MEMBERS WILL ABSTAIN FROM PARTICIPATION IN PERTINENT DISCUSSION IF APPLICABLE WHEN CONFLICT OF INTEREST SITUATIONS ARISE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST FORM IS COMPLETED ANNUALLY BY ALL ONGOING BOARD MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINES 15A & 15BTHE CEO'S SALARY IS REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITIEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. AN OUTSIDE COMPENSATION CONSULTANT'S COMPENSATION REVIEW IS RETAINED APPROXIMATELY EVERY THREE YEARS. THE CEO AND DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES DETERMINE THE COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS AND KEY MANAGEMENT PERSONNEL (WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CEO POSITION ITSELF). THREE SOURCES OF MARKET DATA ARE USED WHICH SPECIALIZE IN THE HOSPICE AND HEALTHCARE INDUSTRY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18PHOTOCOPIES OF THE FORM 990 ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST AT THE ORGANIZATION'S ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE. IN ADDITION, RECENT FILINGS OF THE FORM 990 ARE AVAILABLE ONLINE AT WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION ON FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, AND THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE EVALUATED ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS BY THE ORGANIZATION'S MANAGEMENT.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9NET ASSETS TRANSFERRED TO FOUNDATION $ (481,062) CHANGE IN TEMPORARILY RESTRICTED NET ASSETS $ 2,377 ----------- $ (478,685)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KANSAS CITY HOSPICE FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11500 MEADOW LAKE PKWY STE 200AddressLine1
CityKANSAS CITYCity
StateMOState
ZIP Code64114ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431724085EIN
Primary ActivitiesSUPPORTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status11APublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KC HOSPICEBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
KANSAS CITY HOSPICE FOUNDATION
C$2,271,239FMV
KANSAS CITY HOSPICE FOUNDATION
R$481,062FMV