STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY MEDICAL CORPORATION (EIN 55-0492006)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-11-14
IRS object ID
201403189349301820
Schema version
2013v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-11-14T09:50:31-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN550492006EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1West Virginia University Medical CorporationBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlWESTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3042857124PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 897AddressLine1
CityMorgantownCity
StateWVState
ZIP Code265070897ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJudie F Charlton MDPersonNm
Person TitleCMOPersonTitleTxt
Phone3045984408PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerfalseDiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1University Health AssociatesBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJudie Charlton MDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 8059AddressLine1
CityMorgantownCity
StateWVState
ZIP Code26506ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$263,352,952GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1971FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateWVLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo support the West Virginia University School of Medicine in the furtherance of its charitable, scientific, and educational purposes.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent0VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1402TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$263,260,746PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$262,094,019CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$644,691PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,230,419CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$8,090PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$28,514CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$263,913,527PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$263,352,952CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$17,407,682PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$16,750,577CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$187,711,782PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$197,254,616CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$51,739,173PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$40,501,508CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$256,858,637PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$254,506,701CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$7,054,890PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$8,846,251CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$90,443,585TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$102,361,845TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$35,561,539TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$36,666,152TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$54,882,046NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$65,695,693NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTo support the West Virginia University School of Medicine in the furtherance of its charitable, scientific, and educational purposes by serving as its faculty practice plan and providing a full range of business management services to its faculty in support of their clinical practices.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$234,516,023ExpenseAmt
Grant$16,750,577GrantAmt
Revenue$262,122,533RevenueAmt
DescThe Corporation supported faculty physicians of the West Virginia School of Medicine in their provision of medical services with approximately 551,884 patient visits during 2013. The Corporation continuously meets its exempt purpose by providing funds to the state-supported West Virginia University School of Medicine. By providing these funds, the Corporation has both lessened the burdens to government and advanced graduate medical education in West Virginia. As part of its mission to support the School of Medicine, the Corporation incurred expenditures for professional liability premiums on behalf of the the faculty physicians of the School of Medicine. The Corporation has also lessened the burdens on government by relieving poverty in West Virginia by supporting the faculty physicians in their provision of charity care.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$234,516,023TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document158IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1402EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member0IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyfalseDocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMelissa McCoyPersonNm
Phone3045984554PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 8059AddressLine1
CityMorgantownCity
StateWVState
ZIP Code26506ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Todd Crocco MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$360,706$0$20,731
Sandford Emery MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$558,825$0$18,181
Michael Hurst MD
Chairman040.00Yes (X)$323,058$0$24,831
Alison Wilson MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$412,617$0$20,731
John Parker MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$308,345$0$16,994
Ronald Pellegrino MD
Director/Associate CMO040.00Yes (X)$234,803$0$14,034Yes (X)
Larry Rhodes MD
Director040.00Yes (X)$316,406$0$21,450
Arthur Ross MD
Director/Dean WVU SOM040.00Yes (X)$444,915$0$14,966
Judie F Charlton MD
CMO040.00$304,517$0$28,343Yes (X)
Matthew Loos MD
VP Med Staff Affairs040.00$344,890$0$15,631Yes (X)
Mary Jo Shahan
VP/CFO015.00$0$409,520$836Yes (X)035.00
Mitchell Harris
VP CAOO040.00$0$183,068$6,473Yes (X)
Mathis Frick MD
Chair Radiology Department040.00$627,107$0$25,831Yes (X)
James Brick MD
Professor, Chairman of Medicine040.00$358,101$0$25,830Yes (X)
Charles Rosen MD
Physician040.00$815,257$0$20,731Yes (X)
Robert Gustafson MD
Physician040.00$588,235$0$21,956Yes (X)
Bill D Underwood
Physician040.00$623,900$0$16,350Yes (X)
Wissam Gharib MD
Physician040.00$615,037$0$18,900Yes (X)
Ronald Hargraves MD
Physician040.00$642,859$0$18,900Yes (X)
David A Brisell
Former EVP/Legal Counsel$119,040$0$9,467Yes (X)
Robert Schreiber
Former$203,497$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$8,202,115TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$592,588TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$361,166TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K457IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Phillips Medical Capital
PO Box 92449WaynePA19087Equipment Lease$1,700,120
Siemens Financial Services
170 Wood Ave SIselinNJ08830Equipment Lease$740,936
McKesson Specialty Care Distribution
401 Mason RoadLavergneTN37088Medical Supplies$450,272
Claimlogic
3535 NW 58 ST STE 1010Oklahoma CityOK73132Electronic Claim Submission$185,413
Escribes Management Services LLC
469 McLaws CircleWilliamsburgVA23185Online Transcription Services$556,883
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Direct Patient Care621110$184,599,964$184,599,964
Other Health Care621110$58,578,410$58,578,410
Expense Reimbursement621110$17,677,498$17,677,498
Rent - Physicians Office531120$1,238,147$1,238,147
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$262,094,019TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,230,419TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,230,419ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition900099$15,920$15,920
Cash Discounts900099$12,594$12,594
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$28,514OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$263,352,952TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$262,122,533RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,230,419ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,750,577TotalAmt
Program Services$16,750,577ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,841,841TotalAmt
Program Services$3,111,592ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,730,249ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$166,941,343TotalAmt
Program Services$155,470,553ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,470,790ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,532,071TotalAmt
Program Services$7,026,334ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$505,737ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,901,899TotalAmt
Program Services$9,144,497ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$757,402ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,037,462TotalAmt
Program Services$7,419,806ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$617,656ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$171,144TotalAmt
Program Services$20ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$171,124ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,256TotalAmt
Management And General$87,256ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fees For Services Prof FundraisingFeesForServicesProfFundraising

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,748,342TotalAmt
Program Services$735,462ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,012,880ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$135,542TotalAmt
Program Services$77,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,577ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,175,589TotalAmt
Program Services$3,389,505ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$786,084ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$146,263TotalAmt
Program Services$111,968ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,373,570TotalAmt
Program Services$1,284,630ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$88,940ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,488,728TotalAmt
Program Services$2,288,347ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$200,381ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,228,426TotalAmt
Program Services$871,040ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$357,386ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$235,734TotalAmt
Program Services$235,734ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,534,019TotalAmt
Management And General$1,534,019ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,756,526TotalAmt
Program Services$4,756,526ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,893,068TotalAmt
Program Services$4,893,038ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Provision for doubtful accounts$13,631,247$13,631,247
Medical Supplies Pharmaceuticals$2,140,530$2,140,530
Dues, Membership, Licenses$662,546$490,756$171,790
Recruitment$622,019$528,577$93,442

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$470,959TotalAmt
Program Services$157,319ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$313,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$254,506,701TotalAmt
Program Services$234,516,023ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$19,990,678ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,138BOYAmt
EOY$7,947EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,566,351BOYAmt
EOY$11,517,995EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,681,242BOYAmt
EOY$17,209,756EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,866BOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$345,361BOYAmt
EOY$353,122EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$70,616,645LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$48,704,940LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,941,326BOYAmt
EOY$21,911,705EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,553,661BOYAmt
EOY$40,190,090EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,340,640BOYAmt
EOY$11,171,230EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,443,585BOYAmt
EOY$102,361,845EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,190,405BOYAmt
EOY$25,128,476EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,512,868BOYAmt
EOY$10,743,325EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,858,266BOYAmt
EOY$794,351EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,561,539BOYAmt
EOY$36,666,152EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,882,046BOYAmt
EOY$65,695,693EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,882,046BOYAmt
EOY$65,695,693EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$90,443,585BOYAmt
EOY$102,361,845EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$8,846,251ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,967,396NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd
Public Support CY1700.00000PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support CY5090.00000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00000InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Facts And Circumstances TestPart I Line 3 Although the organization qualifies as a hospital under IRC Section 170b1Aiii as shown on Schedule A item 3, the organization does not qualify as a hospital for Schedule H or State of West Virginia purposes.FactsAndCircumstancesTestTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,804,057OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,804,057BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$36,756,959OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,001,654DepreciationAmt
Book Value$14,755,305BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$31,852,048OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$26,632,587DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,219,461BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$203,581OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$70,699DepreciationAmt
Book Value$132,882BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$21,911,705TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDesc
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (9 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Unamortized Borrowing Costs$69,969
Deferred Compensation$57,163
Student Loan Receivable$229,961
Due from Related Org - Accr$1,463,310
Other Curr Rec - Accr$1,096,112
Other to/from IC WVUPC$85,373
Other Current Receivable$4,189,352
Current Rec - WVU HC WVUH$3,971,965
A/R Cash Received Not Applied$8,025
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$11,171,230TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal income taxes
Other Accrued Expenses - Current$487,059
Other Current Liabilities$105,119
Deferred Compensation$57,163
Other Non-Current Liabilities$145,010
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$794,351TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$233,999,008TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,967,395NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$31,321,339OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$29,353,944RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$263,352,952RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$263,352,952TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$221,651,341TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included-$17,677,498OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported-$17,677,498ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$239,328,839ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$15,177,862OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$15,177,862ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$254,506,701TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
X 2The Corporation accounts for uncertainty in income taxes using a recognition threshold of more-likely-than-not to be sustained upon examination by the appropriate taxing authority. Measurement of the tax uncertainty occurs if the recognition threshold is met. Management determined there were not tax uncertainties that met the recognition threshold in 2013 and 2012.
XI 2dThe amount reported on line 2d consists of 13,631,247 of Allowance for Doubtful Accounts, Expense Reimbursements of 17,677,498 and Cash Discounts reported as an offset to expense on the Financial Statements of 12,594.
XII 2dThe amount reported on line 2d consists of Expense Reimbursements of 17,677,498 which were reported as an offest to revenue on the audited financial statements.
XII 4bThe amount reported on line 4b consists of 13,631,247 of Allowance for Doubtful Accounts, Payments made to Affiliates of 1,534,019 recorded in equity and Cash Discounts reported as an offset to expense on the Financial Statements of 12,594 and 2 rounding.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1West Virginia UniversityBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11150 HSN PO Box 9100AddressLine1
CityMorgantownCity
StateWVState
ZIP Code26506ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN556000842RecipientEIN
IRC Section501c3IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$16,750,577CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantSupportPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Corporation contributes to WVU Health Sciences Center to support the mission of the School of Medicine and to support the WVU School of Medicine Academic Enrichment Fund.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (true)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsYes (true)CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Todd Crocco MD
Director$330,034$30,612$60$20,400$331$381,437
Sandford Emery MD
Director$520,091$36,892$1,842$17,850$331$577,006
Michael Hurst MD
Chairman$245,000$74,494$3,564$24,500$331$347,889
Alison Wilson MD
Director$379,226$33,263$128$20,400$331$433,348
John Parker MD
Director$192,903$111,878$3,564$16,663$331$325,339
Ronald Pellegrino MD
Director/Associate CMO$196,289$38,080$434$13,740$294$248,837
Larry Rhodes MD
Director$257,161$46,930$12,315$20,400$1,050$337,856
Arthur Ross MD
Director/Dean WVU SOM$288,260$153,091$3,564$14,635$331$459,881
Judie F Charlton MD
CMO$249,561$54,480$476$25,233$3,110$332,860
Matthew Loos MD
VP Med Staff Affairs$314,147$30,003$740$15,300$331$360,521
Mathis Frick MD
Chair Radiology Department$425,757$195,992$5,358$25,500$331$652,938
James Brick MD
Professor, Chairman of Medicine$325,459$31,132$1,510$25,500$330$383,931
Charles Rosen MD
Physician$636,481$178,506$270$20,400$331$835,988
Robert Gustafson MD
Physician$537,500$47,402$3,333$19,125$2,831$610,191
Bill D Underwood
Physician$622,949$951$15,300$1,050$640,250
Wissam Gharib MD
Physician$481,703$108,052$25,282$17,850$1,050$633,937
Ronald Hargraves MD
Physician$639,295$3,564$17,850$1,050$661,759
David A Brisell
Former EVP/Legal Counsel$117,544$1,496$9,467$128,507
Mary Jo Shahan
VP/CFO$321,331$40,951$47,238$836$410,356$18,137
Mitchell Harris
VP CAOO$137,249$42,124$3,695$6,473$189,541
Robert Schreiber
Former$180,930$22,047$520$203,497

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I Line 4aDavid Brisell and Robert Schrieber received severance payments in 2013.
Part I Line 4bMary Jo Shahan and Mitchell Harris deferred compensation through a CAA plan in 2013.
Part I Line 6Year-end incentives for management are based on the bottom line performance of the organization as a whole.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
City Of Ranson
A5560008802011-02-03$1,800,000Medical Office Buildingfalsefalsefalse
West Virginia Hospital Finance Authority
B6212569102011-06-30$8,815,000Refund 1992 Bond - Physicians Office Centerfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmt
A$105,527$1,465,348$1,465,3482011falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$1,405,000$8,815,0002011Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)$89,364$8,725,636

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
AfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
AfalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)
BfalsefalseYes (true)falsefalsefalsefalsefalseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart IV Line 2bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationRebate calculations are not yet required for 2011 bond issuances, however both issuances are expected to meet the exception for rebate.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6Membership in the Corporation is limited to physicians and surgeons licensed to practice medicine in West Virginia. Corporation members are Clinical Department physician faculty members of the West Virginia University School of Medicine. Each member occupies one of the following categories 1 Voting Full-time faculty members, 2 Non-voting Part-time faculty members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7aThere are eight voting and two non-voting members of the Corporations board of directors. Seven are elected from and by the full-time physician faculty members of the Corporation. The eighth is the Dean of the West Virginia University School of Medicine, who is an ex-officio voting member. The CMO and Chancellor of WVU SOM serve as non-voting ex-officio members of the board of directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7bProposed revisions to the by-laws are subject to approval by majority vote of the Board. Such revisions are then subject to approval by two thirds 2/3 of the full faculty members present in person or by written proxy at a regular or duly called special meeting of the Corporation, and shall be effective when approved by the President of West Virginia University.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bForm 990 is prepared by the tax accountant of West Virginia University Hospitals, Inc. with assistance from the Corporations accounting manager. Before the 990 is filed with the IRS, the CFO and tax accountant review the 990 with the Finance Committee and Board members to ensure they have an understanding of the information provided in the form.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cAnnually, employees and physicians are required to answer questions regarding any potential conflicts of interest. The Corporate Compliance and Legal departments review the reports for any discrepancies and follows up as necessary.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15A compensation committee reviews performance, goals, and comparable market data to determine compensation for the officers and key employees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 18The organizations Form 1023 and Form 990 are available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements available to the public upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
West Virginia University School of Medicine
PO Box 9100MorgantownWV26056556000842Medical EducationWV501c32N/Afalse
West Virginia University Dental Corporation
PO Box 1587MorgantownWV26507550524309Dental ServicesWV501c32N/Afalse
West Virginia University Hospitals Inc
PO Box 8034MorgantownWV26506550643304HospitalWV501c33N/Afalse
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd