STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR CHARTERED PROPERTY CASUALTY UNDERWRITERS: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR CHARTERED PROPERTY CASUALTY UNDERWRITERS (EIN 23-1352012)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-11-07
IRS object ID
201423119349301477
Schema version
2013v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-11-07T13:55:06-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12001 MARKET ST SUITE 1700AddressLine1
CityPHILADELPHIACity
StatePAState
ZIP Code19103ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN231352012EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR CHARTERED PROPERTYBusinessNameLine1
Business Name Line2CASUALTY UNDERWRITERSBusinessNameLine2
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% JEFFREY SCHEIDTInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlAMERBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6106442100PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 PROVIDENCE ROADAddressLine1
Address Line2SuiteAddressLine2
CityMALVERNCity
StatePAState
ZIP Code193550716ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJEFFREY A SCHEIDTPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6102512731PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonERIC M MCNEILPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00460263PTIN
Phone6102512731PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPETER L MILLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 PROVIDENCE ROADAddressLine1
CityMALVERNCity
StatePAState
ZIP Code193550716ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$171,455,461GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.theinstitutes.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1942FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionEDUCATIONAL PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO THE RISK MANAGEMENT AND INSURANCE INDUSTRY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body46VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee186TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$328,603PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,719,764CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$29,669,913PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$34,006,252CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$5,457,037PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$12,483,620CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,913,552PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$7,531,907CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$42,369,105PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$55,741,543CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$189,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,208,431PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,736,428CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$26,378CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,495,687PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$20,790,596CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$32,704,118PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$37,716,024CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$9,664,987PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$18,025,519CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$180,046,374TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$204,877,034TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,733,044TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$11,535,609TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$171,313,330NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$193,341,425NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionAs the industry's trusted knowledge leader, The Institutes are committed to meeting the evolving educational needs of the risk management and insurance community. We prepare people to fulfill their professional and ethical responsibilities by offering customer-focused and innovative educational solutions.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$32,355,130ExpenseAmt
Revenue$40,845,957RevenueAmt
DescEducational expenditures related to providing high quality educational products and services to the risk management and insurance community.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$524,546ExpenseAmt
DescOffice and administrationDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$393,336ExpenseAmt
Revenue$504,277RevenueAmt
DescTesting servicesDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$33,273,012TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document77IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee186EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members46GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJEFFREY SCHEIDTPersonNm
Phone6106442100PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 PROVIDENCE ROADAddressLine1
CityMALVERNCity
StatePAState
ZIP Code193550716ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (58 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
PETER MILLER
PRESIDENT/CEO45.04.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$842,495$0$60,910
H WADE REECE
CHAIRMAN2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY J KUCZINSKI
VICE CHAIRMAN2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANICE M ABRAHAM
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAJ AHLMANN
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC J ANDERSEN
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN BERGNER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
W ROBERT BERKLEY JR
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
L KEITH BIRKHEAD
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY T BOWMAN
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
J ERIC BROSIUS
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL L BROWNE
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANTHONY P BURGER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAN R CARMICHAEL
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TERRENCE W CAVANUAGH
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES R CLAY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALBERT R COUNSELMAN
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN DOWD
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAREN K FARRIS
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
J PATRICK GALLAGHER JR
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANIEL S GLASER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN GRESSIER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANET S KATZ
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE G KELLEY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES J KENNEDY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL J KRUMP
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENISE I LYNCH
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
H ELIZABETH MITCHELL
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANKLIN MONTROSS IV
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS F MOTAMED
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS F MULLIGAN
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
OLZA M NICELY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SANDRA G PARRILLO
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT P RESTREPO JR
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERRY S ROSENBLOOM
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH R SHUTTS
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOREEN SPADORCIA
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GEORGE A STEADMAN III
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH W STECHER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARIO P VITALE
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
KIRT A WALKER
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIKE WEY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARITA ZURAITIS
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
NORMAN A BAGLINI
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYNTHIA A BAROWAY
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN J BISHOP
BOARD OF TRUSTEE2.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY SCHEIDT
TREASURER45.04.0Yes (X)$230,661$0$41,530
ELIZABETH SPRINKEL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT45.04.0Yes (X)$293,261$0$45,411
ANITA BOURKE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$447,873$0$50,750Yes (X)
SAUL SWARTOUT
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$400,665$0$63,410Yes (X)
P KENDRICK MILLS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$208,945$0$41,569Yes (X)
ALEXANDER VANDEVERE
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$267,040$0$48,649Yes (X)
KEVIN BROWN
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$199,798$0$28,007Yes (X)
EVERETT RANDALL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$191,043$0$39,085Yes (X)
MARYANN COOK
VICE PRESIDENT45.00.0$187,895$0$30,799Yes (X)
SUSAN KEARNEY
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES45.00.0$174,000$0$37,254Yes (X)
ARTHUR FLITNER
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES45.00.0$173,353$0$28,900Yes (X)
MICHAEL ELLIOTT
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES45.00.0$171,465$0$36,244Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,788,494TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$552,518TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K32IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
TEKSYSTEMS
PO BOX 198568ATLANTAGA30384IT CONSULTING$1,718,856
JACQUETTE CONSULTING
710 PROVIDENCE ROADMALVERNPA19355IT CONSULTING$1,600,103
SAPIENT GOVERNMENT SVCS
PO BOX 414715BOSTONMA02241CONSULTING$1,493,315
DOUBLE PRIME
33 W LANCASTER AVE 201ARDMOREPA19002IT CONSULTING$1,215,340
AAVALAR
649 SWEDESFORD ROADMALVERNPA19355CONSULTING$871,731
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$1,719,764AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,719,764TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Examination611600$17,037,466$17,037,466
Study materials611600$16,464,509$16,464,509
Testing services611600$504,277$504,277
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$34,006,252TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,780,099TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,780,099ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$187,925RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$187,925RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$187,925TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$187,925ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$123,960,217SecuritiesAmt
Other$457,222OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$115,713,918SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$8,246,299SecuritiesAmt
Other$457,222OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,703,521TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$8,703,521ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Other revenue900099$293,982$293,982
Management fees900099$7,050,000$7,050,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$7,343,982OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$55,741,543TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$41,350,234RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$12,671,545ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$125,000TotalAmt
Program Services$125,000ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,000TotalAmt
Program Services$64,000ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,854,450TotalAmt
Program Services$3,792,779ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$57,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,854FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,048,032TotalAmt
Program Services$9,887,264ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$150,720ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,048FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,396,255TotalAmt
Program Services$1,373,915ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,944ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,396FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$595,056TotalAmt
Program Services$585,535ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,926ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$595FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$842,635TotalAmt
Program Services$829,152ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,640ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$843FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,172,153TotalAmt
Program Services$1,153,399ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,582ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,172FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$120,758TotalAmt
Program Services$118,826ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,811ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$121FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$176,526TotalAmt
Program Services$173,701ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,648ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$177FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$420,998TotalAmt
Program Services$414,262ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,315ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$421FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,646,525TotalAmt
Program Services$1,620,183ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$24,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,644FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,246TotalAmt
Program Services$120,290ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,834ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$122FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$854,106TotalAmt
Program Services$840,440ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,812ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$854FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,477,388TotalAmt
Program Services$1,453,750ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,477FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$704,676TotalAmt
Program Services$693,401ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,570ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$705FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,066,710TotalAmt
Program Services$2,033,642ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,001ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,067FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,473,006TotalAmt
Program Services$1,576,475ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,896,531ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$349,089TotalAmt
Program Services$343,504ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,236ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$349FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Educational related$5,274,862$5,274,862
Office and administrative$344,075$335,546$7,996$533
Testing services$393,336$393,336
Research$69,750$69,750

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,124,392TotalAmt
Management And General$2,124,392ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,716,024TotalAmt
Program Services$33,273,012ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,416,634ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,378FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$658,725BOYAmt
EOY$1,782,510EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,823,342BOYAmt
EOY$5,475,654EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,861,245BOYAmt
EOY$3,990,576EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$198,455BOYAmt
EOY$248,100EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$670,916BOYAmt
EOY$368,051EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$52,076,413LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$22,546,767LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,225,844BOYAmt
EOY$29,529,646EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,078,762BOYAmt
EOY$160,137,713EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,981,654BOYAmt
EOY$2,888,584EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$547,431BOYAmt
EOY$456,200EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$180,046,374BOYAmt
EOY$204,877,034EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,470,413BOYAmt
EOY$8,078,590EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,378,506BOYAmt
EOY$2,744,465EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$884,125BOYAmt
EOY$712,554EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,733,044BOYAmt
EOY$11,535,609EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$171,313,330BOYAmt
EOY$193,341,425EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$171,313,330BOYAmt
EOY$193,341,425EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$180,046,374BOYAmt
EOY$204,877,034EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$18,025,519ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$4,943,845NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$941,269OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$584,747CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$383,684CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$583,317CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$328,603CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,719,764CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,600,115TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$18,229,099CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$26,978,626CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$27,582,158CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$36,314,373CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$41,350,234CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$150,454,490TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$18,813,846CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$27,362,310CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$28,165,475CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$36,642,976CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$43,069,998CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$154,054,605TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,910,860CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,770,096CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,355,167CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,805,735CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,389,763CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$31,231,621TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,910,860CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,770,096CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,355,167CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,805,735CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$11,389,763CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$31,231,621TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$122,822,984PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,565,540CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,424,963CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,372,364CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,033,733CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,968,024CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$20,364,624TotalAmt

Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,565,540CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,424,963CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,372,364CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,033,733CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,968,024CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$20,364,624TotalAmt

Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,379,386CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$31,787,273CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$32,537,839CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$40,676,709CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$47,038,022CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$174,419,229TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.70418PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.72561PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.11676InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.12925InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
LandLandGrp

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,190,095OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,948,087DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,242,008BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$644,261OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$65,299DepreciationAmt
Book Value$578,962BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$34,242,058OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,533,382DepreciationAmt
Book Value$20,708,676BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$29,529,646TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescACC. RETIREE HEALTH BENEFITSDesc
Amt$712,554Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$712,554TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$60,076,739TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$4,943,845NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$6,441,351OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$11,385,196RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$48,691,543RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$7,050,000OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$7,050,000RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$55,741,543TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,733,263TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$17,239OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$17,239ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$37,716,024ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$37,716,024TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4DManagement income 7,050,000
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DREVENUES FROM AFFILIATE 6,441,351 FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2D EXPENSES FROM AFFILIATE 17,239

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FAMEBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1701 PENN AVE NW SUITE 750AddressLine1
CityWASHINGTONCity
StateDCState
ZIP Code20004ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN521811691RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(c)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$125,000CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantSCHOLARSHIP FUNDPurposeOfGrantTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
ADJUNCT PROFESSORSHIPS TO FURTHER STUDY OF RMI4$40,000
COLLEGE SCHOLARSHIPS TO STUDY RISK MGMT & INS.17$24,000

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Institutes makes grants only to charitable organizations in furtherance of its tax-exempt purposes. The Institutes also provides scholarships and grants for adjunct professorships to further the study of risk management and insurance.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
PETER MILLER
PRESIDENT/CEO$541,667$0$300,000$0$828$0$48,100$0$12,810$0$903,405$0$0$0
JEFFREY SCHEIDT
TREASURER$180,833$0$49,000$0$828$0$26,220$0$15,310$0$272,191$0$0$0
ELIZABETH SPRINKEL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$222,433$0$70,000$0$828$0$34,255$0$11,156$0$338,672$0$0$0
ANITA BOURKE
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT$324,850$0$120,000$0$3,023$0$40,600$0$10,150$0$498,623$0$0$0
SAUL SWARTOUT
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT$292,117$0$107,000$0$1,548$0$48,100$0$15,310$0$464,075$0$0$0
P KENDRICK MILLS
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$164,117$0$44,000$0$828$0$26,259$0$15,310$0$250,514$0$0$0
ALEXANDER VANDEVERE
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$209,500$0$57,000$0$540$0$32,813$0$15,836$0$315,689$0$0$0
KEVIN BROWN
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$170,833$0$27,417$0$1,548$0$15,167$0$12,840$0$227,805$0$0$0
EVERETT RANDALL
SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT$164,217$0$24,450$0$2,376$0$26,275$0$12,810$0$230,128$0$0$0
MARYANN COOK
VICE PRESIDENT$162,537$0$24,530$0$828$0$26,006$0$4,793$0$218,694$0$0$0
SUSAN KEARNEY
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES$149,480$0$23,980$0$540$0$23,917$0$13,337$0$211,254$0$0$0
ARTHUR FLITNER
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES$147,317$0$23,660$0$2,376$0$23,570$0$5,330$0$202,253$0$0$0
MICHAEL ELLIOTT
SR. DIR. OF KNOW. RESOURCES$146,407$0$23,510$0$1,548$0$23,434$0$12,810$0$207,709$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1ATravel for companions is allowed to board meetings twice a year. SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 3 The Institutes' Board of Trustees utilizes the following process: The compensation arrangement must be approved by the approval body of The Institutes composed entirely of individuals who don't have a conflict of interest with respect to the compensation arrangement. It also must rely on comparability data that demonstrates the fair market value of the compensation in question. The approval body must document how it reached its decisions including the data on which it relied.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4Peter Miller - $7,300 employer contribution Anita Bourke - $3,625 employer contribution Saul Swartout - $7,300 employer contribution Alexander Vandevere - $7,656 employer contribution
FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 7The organization accrues pay for performance expense and the amounts are determined based on the performance reviews related to meeting certain goals of The Institutes (including revenues).

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$0TotalBalanceDueAmt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (15 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
STATE FARM MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANI
SEE PART V$5,760,048EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
USAA
SEE PART V$441,914EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
ACE LIMITED
SEE PART V$408,746EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
GEICO
SEE PART V$394,579EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
NATIONWIDE
SEE PART V$367,953EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
CINCINNATI FINANCIAL CORP
SEE PART V$367,407EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
TRAVELERS COMPANIES INC
SEE PART V$309,318EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
MUNICH REINSURANCE AMERICA
SEE PART V$191,551EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
ERIE INSURANCE GROUP
SEE PART V$164,735EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
STATE AUTO INSURANCE COMPANIES
SEE PART V$158,532EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
CHUBB CORPORATION
SEE PART V$155,174EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
AON RISK SERVICES INC
SEE PART V$154,687EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
CRAWFORD COMPANY
SEE PART V$141,052EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
ARTHUR J GALLAGHER RISK MGMT
SEE PART V$131,038EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse
CNA FINANCIAL CORPORATION
SEE PART V$101,483EDUCATIONAL MATERIALS/EXAMSfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE L, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFor the reported business transactions with interested persons, in each case, an institutes' trustee is an officer of the listed interested person.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, PART VI, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Board of Trustees shall function between meetings through an Executive committee which shall have the full powers of the Board between meetings except that the executive committee shall not have the powers: 1) To fill vacancies in the Board of Trustees; 2) To adopt, amend, or appeal the articles of incorporation or bylaws; or 3) amend or repeal a resolution of the entire board. FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 11B THE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY A THIRD-PARTY ACCOUNTING FIRM AND REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT. THE FORM 990 WAS PROVIDED TO THE AUDIT AND ORGANIZATION AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL BEFORE FILING. FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 12C AN ANNUAL FORM IS SUBMITTED BY ALL TRUSTEES AND REVIEWED BY THE CORPORATE SECRETARY FOR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. FORM 990, PART VI, LINES 15A AND 15B THE INSTITUTES' BOARD OF TRUSTEES UTILIZES THE FOLLOWING PROCESS: THE COMPENSATION ARRANGEMENT MUST BE APPROVED BY THE APPROVAL BODY OF THE INSTITUTES COMPOSED ENTIRELY OF INDIVIDUALS WHO DON'T HAVE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST WITH RESPECT TO THE COMPENSATION ARRANGEMENT. IT ALSO MUST RELY ON COMPARABILITY DATA THAT DEMONSTRATES THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE COMPENSATION IN QUESTION. THE APPROVAL BODY MUST DOCUMENT HOW IT REACHED ITS DECISIONS INCLUDING THE DATA ON WHICH IT RELIED. FORM 990, PART VI, LINE 19 The organization's governing documents, conflicts of interest policy, and financial statements are available upon written request. FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 POST-RETIREMENT HEALTHCARE PLAN (941,269) FORM 990, HEADING BOX C FICTITIOUS NAME REGISTRATIONS: THE INSTITUTES, AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR CPCU, AICPCU, INSURANCE INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, IIA, INSURANCE INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, INC., AMERICAN INSTITUTE FOR PROPERTY & LIABILITY UNDERWRITERS, INC., CEU.COM, CPCU - LOMAN EDUCATION FOUNDATION, LOMAN FOUNDATIONExplanationTxt

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SUGARTOWN HOLDINGS LLCBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1720 PROVIDENCE ROADAddressLine1
CityMALVERNCity
StatePAState
ZIP Code19355ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN201997621EIN
Primary ActivitiesHOLDING CO.PrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$246,092EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AICPCUBusinessNameLine1

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
SOCIETY OF CHARTERED PROPERTY & CASUALTY
720 PROVIDENCE ROADMALVERNPA19355231552247MEMBER ASSOCIPA501(C) (6)N/AAICPCUYes (true)
GRIFFITH INSURANCE EDUCATION FOUNDATION
720 PROVIDENCE ROADMALVERNPA19355316052801EDUCATIONAL AOH501(C)(3)9AICPCUYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (true)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SOCIETY OF CHARTERED PROPERTY AND CASUALTY UN
S$6,000,000FMV
GRIFFITH INSURANCE EDUCATION FOUNDATION
S$1,050,000FMV