STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION (EIN 58-6033837)
Tax period
2013-07-01 to 2014-06-30
Filed
2014-11-14
IRS object ID
201423189349308347
Schema version
2013v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-11-14T16:29:03-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1300 North Greene Street Suite 400AddressLine1
CityGreensboroCity
StateNCState
ZIP Code27401ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN586033837EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% CYNTHIA COYLEInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7065426677PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 SOUTH MILLEDGE AVENUEAddressLine1
Address Line2Suite 100AddressLine2
CityATHENSCity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30602ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA COYLEPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTORPersonTitleTxt
Phone7065426677PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonALLISON H FRANKLINPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00448640PTIN
Phone7065426677PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCYNTHIA COYLEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 MILLEDGE AVENUE SUITE 100AddressLine1
CityATHENSCity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30602ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$269,795,245GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.UGAFOUNDATION.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO SUPPORT THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIAActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body47VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent44VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers49TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$601,577TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$639,384NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$60,835,966PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$61,801,918CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$582,322PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$783,995CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$31,648,769PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$41,386,057CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$11,539,089PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$6,069,633CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$104,606,146PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$110,041,603CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$55,506,790PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$35,873,114CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,577CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,471,080CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$15,003,609PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$14,724,529CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$70,510,399PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$50,617,220CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$34,095,747PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$59,424,383CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$866,242,907TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,016,279,551TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$57,068,748TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$73,047,972TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$809,174,159NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$943,231,579NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO SUPPORT THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIAMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$46,514,379ExpenseAmt
Grant$35,873,114GrantAmt
Revenue$3,721,614RevenueAmt
DescThe University of Georgia Foundation ("The Foundation") was chartered in 1937 to establish and maintain endowments for the support of the academic programs of the University of Georgia. The Foundation manages funds established with the Foundation in accordance with the instructions of the donor and provides financial support upon request to the University of Georgia for scholarships, faculty salary supplement, awards and lectureships and operating programs involving fundraising and constituent relations.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$46,514,379TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsYes (true)ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (true)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (true)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document318IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCSForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members47GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member44IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA COYLEPersonNm
Phone7065426677PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1394 MILLEDGE AVENUE SUITE 100AddressLine1
CityATHENSCity
StateGAState
ZIP Code30602ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (48 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
John P Spalding
Chair8.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Kenneth G Jackson
Vice-Chair5.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Andrew Head
Secretary2.0Yes (X)Yes (X)
William Douglas
Treasurer3.5Yes (X)Yes (X)
Daniel P Amos
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Kathryn L Ash
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Nelson E Bowers II
Trustee0.5Yes (X)
Gary Bridgeman
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Terry S Brown
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Victor Corrigan
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
John H Crawford IV
Trustee2.5Yes (X)
Darren W DeVore
Trustee2.5Yes (X)
Joseph C Frierson Jr
Trustee3.0Yes (X)
Sylvia Q Giraudo
Ex-officio Trustee0.5Yes (X)$0$104,825$29,624
Michael H Godwin
Trustee0.5Yes (X)
Henry D Gregory Jr
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
C William Griffin
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Samuel D Holmes
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Gail J Hunnicutt
Trustee2.5Yes (X)
Sarah C Irby
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Stephen Joiner
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Steve C Jones
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Timothy Keadle
Ex-officio Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Jefferson B A Knox
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
John O Knox Jr
Trustee2.5Yes (X)
Tom S Landrum
Ex-Officio Trustee3.0Yes (X)$0$270,047$41,989
Emily D Lawson
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Russell C Lindner
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Keith W Mason
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
James McCurry
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
John F McMullan
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Jere W Morehead
Ex-officio Trustee3.0Yes (X)$0$407,111$89,139
C Read Morton Jr
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
John S Neel Jr
Trustee0.5Yes (X)
Thomas H Paris III
Trustee5.0Yes (X)
Neal J Quirk
Trustee5.0Yes (X)
William N Searcy
Trustee1.5Yes (X)
Swann Seiler
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Stanley W Shelton
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Stephen W Smith
Trustee0.5Yes (X)
Robert H Stolz
Trustee4.0Yes (X)
Barry Storey
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Mary Lou C Swift
Trustee2.0Yes (X)
Brenda A Thompson
Trustee1.0Yes (X)
Susan C Waltman
Trustee3.0Yes (X)
Charles S Williams Jr
TRUSTEE2.0Yes (X)
William Young
Trustee5.0Yes (X)
Cynthia G Coyle
Executive Director & CFO40.0Yes (X)$0$216,432$42,653
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$998,415TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$203,405TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
BLACKBAUD
2000 DANIEL ISLAND DRIVECHARLESTONSC29492SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT$1,118,196
PRIME BUCHHOLZ ASSOCIATES INC
25 CHESTNUT STREETPORTSMOUTHNH03801INVESTING SERVICES$349,621
TRUMPS CATERING
247 E WASHINGTON STREETATHENSGA30601CATERING SERVICES$272,481
KPMG LLP
Dept 0608 PO Box 120608DALLASTX75312AUDIT SERVICES$219,110
GRUBB ELLIS REALTY INVESTORS
1551 NORTH TUSTIN AVENUESANTA ANACA29705REAL ESTATE SERVICES$191,394
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K11CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$640,265FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$4,009,400RelatedOrganizationsAmt
All Other Contributions$57,152,253AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$7,743,292NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$61,801,918TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RENTS FROM STUDY ABROAD531110$585,262$585,262
INVESTMENT FEE FROM RELATED ORGANIZATIONS525990$198,733$198,733
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$783,995TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,092,298TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$601,577UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$9,693,875ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,059,535TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,059,535ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$155,940RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$103,755RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$52,185RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$52,185TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$52,185ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$191,237,358SecuritiesAmt
Other$307,477OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$158,941,311SecuritiesAmt
Other$309,765OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$32,296,047SecuritiesAmt
Other-$2,288OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$32,293,759TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$32,293,759ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$419,105FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$640,265ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$398,811FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$20,294TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$20,294ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
COURT SETTLEMENT PROCEEDS900099$475,000$475,000
EVENT REGISTRATIONS900099$349,409$349,409
LICENSE PLATE REVENUE900099$586,250$586,250

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,526,960TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,526,960RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,937,619OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$110,041,603TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,721,614RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$601,577UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$45,119,648ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,646,484TotalAmt
Program Services$35,646,484ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$226,630TotalAmt
Program Services$226,630ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,577TotalAmt
Program Services$19,577ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,394TotalAmt
Program Services$39,584ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,810ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$228,304TotalAmt
Program Services$18,749ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$209,555ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$623,405TotalAmt
Management And General$623,405ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$648,191TotalAmt
Program Services$497,606ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$71,782ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$78,803FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$880,166TotalAmt
Program Services$700,247ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,978ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$124,941FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$962,943TotalAmt
Program Services$701,723ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$106,956ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$154,264FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,718TotalAmt
Program Services$6,118ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$56,600FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$278,178TotalAmt
Program Services$203,954ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37,019ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,205FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,344,881TotalAmt
Program Services$1,157,373ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$62,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$124,810FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,826,079TotalAmt
Program Services$4,075,822ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$311,280ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$438,977FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$336,102TotalAmt
Program Services$336,102ProgramServicesAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$895,974TotalAmt
Program Services$295,048ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$600,926FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,661TotalAmt
Program Services$56,057ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,421ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$183FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
TRANSFERS & DISTRIBUTIONS$1,594,348$1,594,348
PROFESSIONAL DUES/MEMBERSHIPS$228,586$142,666$29,073$56,847
MONETARY AWARDS$222,729$222,729
OTHER EXPENSES$1,400,870$573,562$29,784$797,524

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,617,220TotalAmt
Program Services$46,514,379ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,631,761ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,471,080FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,813,272BOYAmt
EOY$9,912,474EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,846,972BOYAmt
EOY$79,238,688EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,510,876BOYAmt
EOY$45,696,357EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$963,895BOYAmt
EOY$1,330,725EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$515,381BOYAmt
EOY$638,101EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$201,264BOYAmt
EOY$238,110EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$39,476,440LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$3,472,947LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,969,028BOYAmt
EOY$36,003,493EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$316,170,499BOYAmt
EOY$366,147,316EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$391,767,512BOYAmt
EOY$472,517,288EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,484,208BOYAmt
EOY$4,556,999EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$866,242,907BOYAmt
EOY$1,016,279,551EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,794,264BOYAmt
EOY$4,388,190EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,697,543BOYAmt
EOY$5,589,967EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,576,941BOYAmt
EOY$63,069,815EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,068,748BOYAmt
EOY$73,047,972EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,115,733BOYAmt
EOY$91,032,619EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$345,125,294BOYAmt
EOY$430,372,477EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$395,933,132BOYAmt
EOY$421,826,483EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$809,174,159BOYAmt
EOY$943,231,579EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$866,242,907BOYAmt
EOY$1,016,279,551EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$59,424,383ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$74,553,815NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$79,222OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
College OrganizationYes (X)CollegeOrganizationInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$12,334,256CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$15,382,754CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$36,456,143CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$60,835,966CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$61,801,918CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$186,811,037TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$12,334,256CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$15,382,754CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$36,456,143CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$60,835,966CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$61,801,918CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$186,811,037TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$5,861,310SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$180,949,727PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,196,944CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,336,855CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,465,284CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$8,902,295CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,092,298CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$34,993,676TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,786,214CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$8,287,933CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,379,722CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,042,031CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,937,619CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$26,433,519TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$248,238,232TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.72894PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.66611PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Protection Natural HabitatYes (X)ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd
Total Easements1TotalEasementsCnt
Total Acreage111.58TotalAcreageCnt
Historic Structure Easements1HistoricStructureEasementsCnt
States Easements Held1StatesEasementsHeldCnt
Written Policy MonitoringfalseWrittenPolicyMonitoringInd

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$2,319,408AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets SalefalseSolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$668,945,744BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$35,115,851ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$110,322,009InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$25,036,489OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$789,347,115EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$586,470,032BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$24,633,626ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$77,031,040InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$19,188,954OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$668,945,744EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$598,438,386BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$15,964,667ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$9,076,686InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$18,856,335OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$586,470,032EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$450,987,974BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,371,493ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$90,571,298InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$12,736,828OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$539,193,937EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$406,415,826BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,925,378ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$48,166,906InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$10,520,136OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$450,987,974EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.08886BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.50191PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.40923TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,709,628OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$21,709,628BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,117,520OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,153,713DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,963,807BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,931,780OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,319,234DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,612,546BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$717,512OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$717,512BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$36,003,493TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$2,474,626BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
CASH & SHORT-TERM INVESTMENTS$7,193,282F
MARKETABLE ALTERNATIVES$303,975,596F
NON-MARKETABLE ALTERNATIVES$95,503,643F
SPLIT INTEREST INVESTMENTS$22,435,076F
COMMINGLED FIXED INCOME$36,267,227F
BENEFICIAL INT IN PERP TRUST$4,667,838F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$472,517,288TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
FUNDS HELD FOR OTHERS$44,722,145
OBLIGATIONS RELATED TO DEFERRED GIFTS$10,639,825
DERIVATIVE FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT$1,842,358
LINE OF CREDIT$5,640,613
DEFERRED AFFINITY CONTRACT OBLIGATIONS$224,874
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$63,069,815TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$186,776,020TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$74,553,815NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$979,151DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$1,734,357OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$77,267,323RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$109,508,697RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$532,906InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$532,906RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$110,041,603TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$52,718,600TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$979,151DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$1,655,135OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$2,634,286ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$50,084,314ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$532,906InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$532,906ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$50,617,220TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART II, LINE 9The Foundation holds one conservation easement. The perpetual conservation easement consists of 111.584 acres located in Madison County, Georgia. The purposes of the conservation easement are to preserve and protect the conservation values of the property and to maintain permanently the dominant woodland, scenic, open and natural character of the property, including land and water resources; to protect plants and animals and plant and animal communities on or affected by the property's management; and to prevent any use of the property that will significantly impair or interfere with the conservation values or interests of the property.
ORGANIZATION'S ART COLLECTIONSWorks of Art recorded on the UGA Foundation's balance sheet are maintained by the University of Georgia's, Georgia Museum of Art, the official collector and keeper of important works of art for the University, to care and use the work for museum purposes. The museum maintains and manages a permanent collection of art. Works not meeting Museum standards may still be determined of value to the University for decorative, instructional or resale purposes. All works of Art are held for further benefit of the University.
PART V, LINE 4The Endowments are maintained to support the academic purposes of the University of Georgia, including scholarships, fellowships, awards, lectureships, research, training and professorships.
FIN 48 (ASC 740) DISCLOSUREThe Foundation is exempt from federal income taxes under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 501(a) as a nonprofit organization described in IRC Section 501(c)(3). The Internal Revenue Service has determined that the Foundation is not a private foundation under Section 509(a) of the IRC. The Foundation is subject to federal income tax on unrelated business income. The Foundation does not have any material unrecognized tax positions that should be recognized in the consolidated financial statements for 2014 and 2013.
PART XI, LINE 2DCHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITIES (481,854) CHANGE IN CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE 104,976 CHANGE IN FAIR VALUE OF DERIVATIVES (5,532) CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUST 351,469 FUNDRAISING EXPENSES RECLASS 398,811 RENTAL EXPENSE RECLASS 103,755 INCOME FROM SUBSIDIARY 1,262,732 TOTAL 1,734,357
PART XII, LINE 2DEXPENSE FROM SUBSIDIARY 1,152,569 FUNDRAISING EXPENSE RECLASS 398,811 RENTAL EXPENSE RECLASS 103,755 TOTAL 1,655,135

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean131Program ServicesSUPPORT ACADEMIC PRGMS$1,152,569
Central America and the Caribbean131Investments$135,400
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices1SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees31SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office2TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee62TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,287,969SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,287,969TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Purpose Of GrantSEE PART VPurposeOfGrantTxt
Cash Grant$226,630CashGrantAmt
Manner Of Cash DisbursementWIRE TRANSFEMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
Description Of Non Cash AsstN/ADescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2THE GRANT MADE BY THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION WAS MADE TO UGA ECOLODGE AND RESEARCH STATION, S.A., A WHOLLY OWNED FOREIGN CORPORATION. THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION EXPECTS THE FUNDS TO BE USED FOR THE UNIVERSITY'S STUDY ABROAD PROGRAM, AND AS SUCH, SUBSEQUENTLY MONITORS THE GRANT.
PART II, LINE 1, COLUMN DTO SUPPORT STUDY ABROAD FACILITIES OF WHOLLY OWNED COSTA RICAN CORPORATION.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1GALANameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$444,936GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$212,613CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$232,323GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$31,838RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$164,397OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Name Of Event2BALLNameOfEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Event2$300,927GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$239,265CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$61,662GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$123,291OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total12OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$313,507GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$188,387CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$125,120GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Other Events$9,179RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$70,106OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$1,059,370GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$640,265CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$419,105GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$41,017RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$357,794OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$398,811DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$20,294NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
BROAD STREETATHENSGA30602586001998GOV'T$27,306,415N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS & OTHER SUPPORT
NATIONAL MERIT SCHOLARSHIP
PO BOX 99389CHICAGOIL60693362307745501(C)(3)$87,250N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
1 SELIG CIRCLE BUTTS MEHRE BUILDINATHENSGA30602580652581501(C)(3)$3,160,292N/AN/ASCHOLARSHIPS & CONSTRUCTION
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
1280 SOUTH LUMPKIN STREETATHENSGA30602582491922501(C)(3)$5,022,840N/AN/ACONSTRUCTION PROJECTS
UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
324 BUSINESS SERVICES 456 EAST BROAATHENSGA30602581353149501(C)(3)$69,687N/AN/AGENERAL SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org5Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, SCHEDULE I, PART I, QUESTION 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe grants made by the University of Georgia Foundation were made to the University of Georgia, related organizations and public charities for use in their exempt mission. Accordingly, the University of Georgia Foundation expects the recipients to use the funds for proper purposes, and as such, does not subsequently monitor the grants.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Cynthia G Coyle
Executive Director & CFO$0$216,288$0$0$0$144$0$26,651$0$16,002$0$259,085$0$0
Tom S Landrum
Ex-Officio Trustee$0$267,910$0$0$0$2,137$0$31,271$0$10,718$0$312,036$0$0
Jere W Morehead
Ex-officio Trustee$0$383,310$0$0$0$23,801$0$80,921$0$8,218$0$496,250$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1AHEALTH OR SOCIAL CLUB DUES THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION PROVIDES CERTAIN EXECUTIVES WITH TAXABLE COMPENSATION TO REIMBURSE THE EXPENSE OF MEMBERSHIP DUES AND APPROPRIATE INITIATION FEES FOR A SOCIAL OR COUNTRY CLUB USED FOR THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA FOUNDATION BUSINESS ENTERTAINMENT PURPOSES.
SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4BSUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN JERE MOREHEAD RECEIVED $50,000 FROM A SUPPLEMENTAL NON QUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN, PAID BY THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA, A RELATED ORGANIZATION.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution158ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$6,985,238NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescHORSESDesc
Contribution9ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$758,054NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAPPRAISALMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE M, LINE 31The organization has a gift acceptance committee and policy. The committee reviews any non-standard contribution that the organization accepts.
SCHEDULE M, LINE 32BThe University of Georgia Foundation utilizes Merrill Lynch as a broker to sell publicly traded securities.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11A copy of the finalized Form 990 was submitted to each member of the governing body via secure email for their review before filing.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12COfficers, Directors and Trustees must fill out an annual disclosure of interests which is reviewed by the University of Georgia Foundation Audit Committee.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15The University of Georgia Foundation does not have any employees. There is an administrative services agreement between the University of Georgia and The University of Georgia Foundation. Individuals who provide services to the Foundation are employees of the University of Georgia. The University of Georgia reviews performance and establishes compensation that follows University policies.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19Organization documents are available on the website and upon request.
OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETSCHANGE IN VALUE OF ANNUITIES (481,854) CHANGE IN CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF LIFE INSURANCE 104,976 CHANGE IN VALUE OF BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN PERPETUAL TRUST 351,469 CHANGE IN FMV OF DERIVATIVE FINANCIAL INSTRUMENT (5,532) NET INCOME OF SUBSIDIARY 110,163 TOTAL 79,222

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt
THE UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
BROAD STREETATHENSGA30602586001998PUBLIC UNIVERGANAfalse
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
1 SELIG CIRCLEATHENSGA30602580652518SUPPORT UGAGAUGAfalse501(C)(3)5
UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
200 DW BROOKS DRIVEATHENSGA30602581353149SUPPORT UGAGANAfalse501(C)(3)7
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
229 COLLEGE AVE SUITE 200ATHENSGA30601582491922SUPPORT UGAGAUGA RESEARCHfalse501(C)(3)11e
THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA FDN
270 WASHINGTON STREETATLANTAGA30334586333106SUPPORTGANAfalse501(C)(3)5

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UGA ECOLODGE AND RESEARCH STATION SABusinessNameLine1

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1SANTA ELENA DE MONTEVERDEAddressLine1
CityPUNTARENASCity
Province Or StateCOSTA RICAProvinceOrState
CountryCSCountry
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesSEE PART VIIPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile Foreign CountryCSLegalDomicileForeignCountryCd

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UGA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Entity TypeC CORPEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$110,163ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$2,766,804ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (11 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
B$27,306,415CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
B$3,160,292CASH
UGA RESEARCH FOUNDATION
B$69,687CASH
UGA REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION
B$5,022,840CASH
UGA ECOLODGE & RESEARCH STATION SA
B$91,230CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
C$4,009,400CASH
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
J$585,262RENT REVENUE
UNIVERSITY OF GEORGIA
Q$117,987CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
Q$329,964CASH
UGA ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION
R$2,053,304CASH & PROPERTY
USG FOUNDATION
R$6,540CASH

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePRIMARY ACTIVITYFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMANAGE COSTA RICA STUDY ABROAD PROGRAM & SUPPORT RESEARCH.ExplanationTxt