STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

UNION COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNION COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 46-0200495)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-07-22
IRS object ID
201432039349300103
Schema version
2013v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-07-22T08:17:18-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 EAST 10TH ST PO BOX 5125AddressLine1
CitySIOUX FALLSCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code571175125ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460200495EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNION COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6053563395PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 459AddressLine1
CityELK POINTCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code570250459ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRALPH MORSEPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6053563395PhoneNum
Signature2014-07-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2014-07-14PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRALPH MORSEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 459AddressLine1
CityELK POINTCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code570250459ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$3,716,776GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.UNIONCOUNTY.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDING HIGH VALUE ENERGY TO MEMBERS - ELECTRIC DISTRIBUTION UTILITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body5VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent5VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee14TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$3,498,892PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$3,674,662CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$12,285PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$10,505CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,301PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$267CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$3,512,478PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$3,684,900CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$208,448PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$223,628CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$716,421PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$734,585CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,587,609PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,726,687CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,512,478PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,684,900CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$9,532,253TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$10,197,391TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$6,114,737TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$6,661,822TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$3,417,516NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$3,535,569NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionUNION COUNTY ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE EXISTS TO PROVIDE HIGH VALUE ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS BY FOCUSING ON DELIVERING SAFE, RELIABLE, ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY ELECTRICITY WHILE PROMOTING ENERGY EFFICIENCY THROUGH EDUCATION.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDED ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 1,124 MEMBERS AND ADDED/REPLACED/RETIRED 5.96 MILES OF LINES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document39IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee14EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$3,671,523MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$75,877OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members5GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member5IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOANNE LIMOGESPersonNm
Phone6053563395PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1122 WEST MAIN STREETAddressLine1
CityELK POINTCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code570250459ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
RICHARD DAILEY
PRESIDENT3.30Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,125$0$0
NORMAN SHEDD
VICE-PRESIDENT1.90Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,563$0$0
EDWARD DONNELLY
SECRETARY1.40Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,900$0$0
DON SCHURDEVIN
TREASURER4.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$5,138$0$0
DONALD GRAY
ASSISTANT SECRETARY3.70Yes (X)Yes (X)$5,438$0$0
RALPH MORSE
GENERAL MANAGER50.00Yes (X)$88,066$0$36,287
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$108,230TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$36,287TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALE OF POWER221000$3,497,174$3,497,174
CAPITAL CREDITS221000$123,776$123,776
OTHER OPERATING221000$53,712$53,712
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$3,674,662TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,505TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,505ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$31,609GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$31,876CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$267TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$267RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,684,900TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$3,674,395RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$10,505ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$223,628TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$144,388TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$473,276TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,978TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,943TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$224,180TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$265,212TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$1,913,649
ADMIN & GENERAL$404,143
DISTRIBUTION-OPERATIONS$211,667
DISTRIBUTION-MAINTENANC$208,150

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$500,314TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,684,900TotalAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$672,501BOYAmt
EOY$546,601EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,765BOYAmt
EOY$77,133EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,454BOYAmt
EOY$40,641EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$171,697BOYAmt
EOY$253,609EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,914BOYAmt
EOY$360,141EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$10,209,956LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$3,337,751LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,670,745BOYAmt
EOY$6,872,205EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$358,000BOYAmt
EOY$426,000EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,501,177BOYAmt
EOY$1,621,061EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,532,253BOYAmt
EOY$10,197,391EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$228,538BOYAmt
EOY$386,865EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,323,075BOYAmt
EOY$5,737,833EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$563,124BOYAmt
EOY$537,124EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,114,737BOYAmt
EOY$6,661,822EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,417,516BOYAmt
EOY$3,535,569EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,417,516BOYAmt
EOY$3,535,569EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,532,253BOYAmt
EOY$10,197,391EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$118,053OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$29,474OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$29,474BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$219,912OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$147,484DepreciationAmt
Book Value$72,428BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,960,570OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,190,267DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,770,303BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$6,872,205TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
EAST RIVER ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE, INC.$1,388,511C
RURAL ELECTRIC SUPPLY COOPERATIVE$100C
NATIONAL RURAL UTILITIES COOPERATIVE FINANCE CORPORATION$190,262C
FEDERATED RURAL ELECTRIC INSURANCE EXCHANGE$21,988C
RURAL ELECTRIC ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT, INC.$19,000C
MEMBERSHIPS$1,200C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$1,621,061TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$460,078
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$77,046
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$537,124TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,684,900TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$3,684,900RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$3,684,900TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,461,272TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$3,461,272ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$223,628OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$223,628ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,684,900TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE EVALUATES ITS INCOME TAX POSITION ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. MANAGEMENT HAS DETERMINED THAT THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS AT DECEMBER 31, 2013 AND 2012 THAT MEET THE CRITERIA FOR RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COOPERATIVE WOULD RECOGNIZE FUTURE ACCRUED INTEREST AND PENALTIES RELATED TO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IF INCURRED. THE COOPERATIVE IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO FEDERAL OR STATE TAX EXAMINATIONS BY TAX AUTHORITIES FOR YEARS BEFORE 2010.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 223,628.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERS ARE ALL OF THE SAME CLASS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER IS OF THE SAME CLASS AND HAS ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE COOPERATIVE MAY NOT SELL, LEASE, OR OTHERWISE DISPOSE OF ALL OR A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF ITS PROPERTY, UNLESS SUCH SALE, LEASE OR OTHER DISPOSAL IS AUTHORIZED BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF NOT LESS THAN A MAJORITY OF ALL MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE ORGANIZATION HAS NO COMMITTEES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE GENERAL MANAGER AND BOARD OF DIRECTORS WILL REVIEW THE FORM 990 AT A REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CEMPLOYEES AND DIRECTORS ARE COVERED BY THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE PROCESS IS LEFT UP TO THE DIRECTORS & MANAGER TO MONITOR. ANY CONFLICTS WOULD BE REVIEWED. TERMINATION OR EXPULSION WOULD BE IMPOSED ON A DIRECTOR AND TERMINATION ON AN EMPLOYEE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ADURING 2013, WAGES WERE COMPARED TO OTHER COOPERATIVES OF SIMILAR SIZE USING THE WAGE AND SALARY REPORT PREPARED BY SOUTH DAKOTA RURAL ELECTRIC ASSOCIATION (SDREA).
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THIS INFORMATION IS PROVIDED TO MEMBERS IN THE ANNUAL REPORT. AT OTHER TIMES, THIS INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:RETIREMENT OF CAPITAL CREDITS -114,029. CHANGE IN OTHER EQUITIES 8,473. ALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 223,628. CHANGE IN MEMBERSHIPS -19.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE ENTIRE BOARD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THE SELECTION AND OVERSIGHT OF THE INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F, OTHER COMPENSATION:INCLUDED IN OTHER COMPENSATION IS THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE GENERAL MANAGER. THE CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE DOES NOT REPRESENT CURRENT YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN. RATHER, IT IS AN ESTIMATE OF THE INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLAN AS CALCULATED BY THE PLAN ADMINISTRATOR.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES:ALLOCATED AND OTHER EXPENSE: THE LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES REPORTED ON LINES 6-10 ARE INCLUDED IN DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE, ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE AND CUSTOMER EXPENSE. THEREFORE, LABOR, PENSION AND PAYROLL TAXES ARE SHOWN AS A REDUCTION TO OTHER EXPENSES ON LINE 24E.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS:THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PART IX, LINE 4, TO MEAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED FOR THE YEAR, RATHER THAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH THE BY-LAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE.