STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-1250516)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-10-10
IRS object ID
201432839349301108
Schema version
2013v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-10-10T13:17:17-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN381357951PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PLANTE & MORAN PLLCBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12601 CAMBRIDGE CT SUITE 500AddressLine1
CityAUBURN HILLSCity
StateMIState
ZIP Code48326ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN381250516EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OFBusinessNameLine1
Business Name Line2222 LAKE TRUST CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine2
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCREDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5172677200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17927 NEMCO WAY NO 100AddressLine1
CityBRIGHTONCity
StateMIState
ZIP Code48116ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBRIAN MCVEIGHPersonNm
Person TitleSENIOR VP & CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5172677200PhoneNum
Signature2014-10-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLYNNE M HUISMANNPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00053811PTIN
Phone2483757100PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LAKE TRUST CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDAVID SNODGRASSPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17927 NEMCO WAY NO 100AddressLine1
CityBRIGHTONCity
StateMIState
ZIP Code48116ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$220,128,044GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1359GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.LAKETRUST.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1943FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionMEMBERS WILL UNDERSTAND AND EXPERIENCE THE BENEFITS OF A CREDIT UNION RELATIONSHIP AT A COST JUSTIFIED BY THE RESULTS. MEMBERS HAVE THE CAPABILITY TO EXERCISE CONTROL OVER THEIR FINANCIAL LIVES WHILE SHARING IN THE SUCCESS OF THE ORGANIZATION. MEMBERS EXPERIENCE REWARDS OF A MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL RELATIONSHIP BASED ON ADVOCACY AND TRUST RESULTING IN TRUST AND LOYALTY. MEMBERS VALUE THE LINK BETWEEN THEIR BENEFITS AND THEIR OWNERSHIP.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee483TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers12TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$413,793TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$325,271NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$76,523,136PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$73,961,923CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,718,806PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,565,269CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$809,537PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,044,879CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$82,051,479PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$81,572,071CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,296,220PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$25,751,499CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$51,419,848PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$46,452,732CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$77,716,068PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$72,204,231CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,335,411PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$9,367,840CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$1,562,253,286TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$1,587,017,315TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,409,974,035TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,430,461,836TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$152,279,251NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$156,555,479NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionMEMBERS WILL UNDERSTAND AND EXPERIENCE THE BENEFITS OF A CREDIT UNION RELATIONSHIP AT A COST JUSTIFIED BY THE RESULTS. MEMBERS HAVE THE CAPABILITY TO EXERCISE CONTROL OVER THEIR FINANCIAL LIVES WHILE SHARING IN THE SUCCESS OF THE ORGANIZATION. MEMBERS EXPERIENCE REWARDS OF A MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL RELATIONSHIP BASED ON ADVOCACY AND TRUST RESULTING IN TRUST AND LOYALTY. MEMBERS VALUE THE LINK BETWEEN THEIR BENEFITS AND THEIR OWNERSHIP.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROMOTED THRIFT TO 162,793 MEMBERS BY OFFERING LOANS, DEPOSITS, AND OTHER FINANCIAL PRODUCTS.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document38676IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee483EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower Policy0WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBRIAN MCVEIGHPersonNm
Phone5172677218PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17927 NEMCO WAYAddressLine1
CityBRIGHTONCity
StateMIState
ZIP Code48116ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
LAWRENCE LEHMAN
DIRECTOR10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,790$0$0
SHANE LOVELETTE
CHAIRPERSON5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$2,005$0$0
JAMES BONNER
VICE CHAIRPERSON5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,556$0$0
RAY SEIDL
TREASURER10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$932$0$0
JAMES BARNES
SECRETARY4.00Yes (X)$724$0$0
KIMBERLY BISHOP
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PHILIP CZECH
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$2,777$0$0
RICK LABER
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$3,779$0$0
ROBERT PEPLOWSKI
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$342
BERNICE SULLIVAN
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$0$0$533
DENNIS TOCHMAN
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$1,497$0$0
FREDA VELZEN
DIRECTOR4.00Yes (X)$897$0$0
DAVID SNODGRASS
CEO AND PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$504,402$0$40,322
BRIAN MCVEIGH
SR VP, ADMIN, FIN+INTEL/CFO40.00Yes (X)$241,444$0$33,034
JANE KILE
SR VP, STRATEGIC SVCS40.00$221,770$0$18,603Yes (X)
RAYNOR ZILLGITT
VP, GENERAL COUNSEL40.00$187,339$0$28,689Yes (X)
KEVIN NEUGENT
VP, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$184,185$0$12,954Yes (X)
CHARLES HENSLEY
VP, LENDING40.00$183,480$0$15,227Yes (X)
SHEILA COLLINS
VP, RETAIL DELIVERY40.00$170,433$0$23,333Yes (X)
SMARAGDA MOSS
VP, HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$167,901$0$19,243Yes (X)
STEPHEN WINNINGER
FORMER CEO0.00$111,425$0$54Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,989,336TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$192,334TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K21IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PSCU
560 CARILLON PARKWAYST PETERSBURGFL33716CREDIT, DEBIT & ATM CARD SERVICES$3,645,657
OPEN SOLUTIONS
PO BOX 416564BOSTONMA02241CORE SYSTEM PROVIDER$1,179,934
CU COOPERATIVE SYSTEMS
9692 HAVEN AVENUERANCHO CUCAMONGACA91730SERVICE CENTER & DR/ATM CARD TRANSACTION$917,607
THE CHRISTMAN COMPANY
208 N CAPITAL AVENUELANSINGMI48933CONTRACTORS/CONSULTANTS$782,624
PWB MARKETING COMMUNICATIONS
2723 SOUTH STATE STREETANN ARBORMI48104MARKETING SERVICES$542,295
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K25CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
MEMBER LOAN INCOME522100$55,377,885$55,377,885
FEE INCOME522100$18,584,038$18,584,038
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$73,961,923TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,186,597TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,186,597RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$130,105RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$83,495RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$46,610RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,610TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$46,610ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$133,867,000SecuritiesAmt
Other$5,984,150OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$134,179,331SecuritiesAmt
Other$4,293,147OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$312,331SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,691,003OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,378,672TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,378,672ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INSURANCE INCOME525990$688,577$487,137$201,440
NON-MEMBER ATM INCOME525990$212,353$212,353
MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE525990$97,339$97,339
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$998,269OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$81,572,071TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$79,732,996RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$413,793UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,425,282ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,156,187TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,447,717TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$824,075TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,617,748TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,705,772TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$343,856TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$100,003TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,063TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,448,581TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,633,545TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,273,058TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,170,310TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,910,162TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$763,039TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$519,699TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,141,524TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$7,214,056
DIVIDENDS AND INTEREST$6,139,738
LOAN SERVICING$3,458,038
NCUSIF PREMIUM$1,086,946

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,146,114TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,204,231TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,110,998BOYAmt
EOY$13,360,095EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,633,933BOYAmt
EOY$79,322,078EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,089,240BOYAmt
EOY$7,911,579EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,006,037,603BOYAmt
EOY$1,099,281,333EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,470,399BOYAmt
EOY$1,584,156EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$56,865,972LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$17,749,793LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,374,869BOYAmt
EOY$39,116,179EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,123,865BOYAmt
EOY$61,234,473EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,117,156BOYAmt
EOY$186,346,616EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$60,779,814BOYAmt
EOY$57,275,636EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,515,409BOYAmt
EOY$41,585,170EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,562,253,286BOYAmt
EOY$1,587,017,315EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,989,605BOYAmt
EOY$10,026,817EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$709,014BOYAmt
EOY$304,570EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,176,622BOYAmt
EOY$8,054,716EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,381,098,794BOYAmt
EOY$1,412,075,733EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,409,974,035BOYAmt
EOY$1,430,461,836EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,560,477BOYAmt
EOY$16,560,477EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$135,718,774BOYAmt
EOY$139,995,002EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$152,279,251BOYAmt
EOY$156,555,479EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,562,253,286BOYAmt
EOY$1,587,017,315EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$9,367,840ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$5,982,764NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$891,152OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$10,305,034InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,305,034BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$28,359,357InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,723,252DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,636,105BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$333,343InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$60,486DepreciationAmt
Book Value$272,857BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$17,868,238InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$10,966,055DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,902,183BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$39,116,179TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK STOCK$5,963,800F
MORTGAGE BASED SECURITIES$131,164,029F
BANK CDS$10,032,243F
US GOVERNMENT & FEDERAL AGENCY SECURITIES$39,186,544F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$186,346,616TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARES AND SAVINGS ACCOUNTSDesc
Amt$1,412,075,733Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,412,075,733TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$81,558,234TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$83,502OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$83,502RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$81,474,732RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$97,339OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$97,339RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$81,572,071TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$72,190,394TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$83,502OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$83,502ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$72,106,892ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$97,339OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$97,339ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$72,204,231TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:CUSTODIAL ACCOUNTS ARE MAINTAINED FOR MORTGAGES PREVIOUSLY SOLD TO FREDDIE MAC OR FANNIE MAE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES 83,495. ROUNDING 7.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SERP ACCRUED INTEREST 97,339.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENT EXPENSE 83,495. ROUNDING 7.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SERP ACCRUED INTEREST 97,339.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DAVID SNODGRASS
CEO AND PRESIDENT$482,900$0$38$0$21,464$0$21,825$0$18,497$0$544,724$0$0$0
BRIAN MCVEIGH
SR VP, ADMIN, FIN+INTEL/CFO$225,140$0$6,600$0$9,704$0$11,841$0$21,193$0$274,478$0$0$0
JANE KILE
SR VP, STRATEGIC SVCS$205,548$0$5,941$0$10,281$0$9,647$0$8,956$0$240,373$0$0$0
RAYNOR ZILLGITT
VP, GENERAL COUNSEL$180,611$0$5,423$0$1,305$0$9,511$0$19,178$0$216,028$0$0$0
KEVIN NEUGENT
VP, INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$178,239$0$5,400$0$546$0$4,650$0$8,304$0$197,139$0$0$0
CHARLES HENSLEY
VP, LENDING$177,090$0$5,100$0$1,290$0$8,846$0$6,381$0$198,707$0$0$0
SHEILA COLLINS
VP, RETAIL DELIVERY$165,083$0$4,886$0$464$0$7,292$0$16,041$0$193,766$0$0$0
SMARAGDA MOSS
VP, HUMAN RESOURCES$160,729$0$4,350$0$2,822$0$5,591$0$13,652$0$187,144$0$0$0
STEPHEN WINNINGER
FORMER CEO$110,511$0$0$0$914$0$0$0$54$0$111,479$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1ABOARD MEMBERS ARE ALLOWED TO HAVE THEIR SPOUSE ATTEND A CONFERENCE WITH THEM. A 1099-MISC IS ISSUED FOR EXPENSES INCURRED.
PART I, LINES 4A-BPART I, LINES 4A-B: SEVERANCE PAYMENTS: KEVIN NEUGENT - $86,815 SMARAGDA MOSS - $40,247 DISTRIBUTIONS FROM EXECUTIVE SERP PLANS: STEPHEN L. WINNINGER - $75,000

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
DAVID SNODGRASS
PRESIDENT & CEOEXECUTIVE SERP LOANYes (X)$3,928,234$4,025,5730Yes (1)Yes (1)
BRIAN MCVEIGH
SR VP, ADMIN, FIN + INTEL/CFOEXECUTIVE SERP LOANYes (X)$1,326,006$1,326,0060Yes (1)Yes (1)
STEPHEN WINNINGER
FORMER OFFICEREXECUTIVE SERP LOANYes (X)$2,560,000$2,560,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$7,911,579TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ALL ACCOUNT HOLDERS ARE REFERRED TO AS MEMBERS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS ELECT THE GOVERNING BODY
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BONLY DECISIONS SPECIFIED IN THE BYLAWS ARE REQUIRED TO BE APPROVED BY MEMBERS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY VP OF FINANCE, SENIOR VP ADMINISTRATION, FINANCE + INTELLIGENCE & CFO, AND THE BOARD TREASURER/AUDIT COMMITTEE CHAIR, PRIOR TO FILING THE RETURN.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CDIRECTORS ANNUALLY COMPLETE CONFLICT OF INTEREST DOCUMENTS. EMPLOYEES MONITORED THROUGHOUT POLICY COMPLIANCE BY SUPERVISOR. DIRECTORS EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM VOTING IF THERE IS A CONFLICT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE APPROVES COMPENSATION FOR CEO. CEO APPROVES COMPENSATION FOR SVPS AND SVPS APPROVE COMPENSATION FOR VPS, WITH REVIEW BY HUMAN RESOURCES. COMPENSATION CONSULTANT PERFORMS COMPETITIVE MARKET SURVEYS (LAST UPDATE WAS IN JULY 2011). ALSO PERFORMANCE EVALUATION COMPLETED BY BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR CEO AND BY CEO FOR SVPS AND BY SVPS FOR VPS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET CHANGE IN PENSION & POST RETIREMENT HEALTH 891,152.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHERE WERE NO CHANGES TO THE OVERSIGHT OR SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEMBERS FINANCIAL SERVICES LLCBusinessNameLine1

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line115800 NORTH HAGGERTYAddressLine1
CityPLYMOUTHCity
StateMIState
ZIP Code48170ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN364516718EIN
Primary ActivitiesINSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICESPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$9,477TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$126,925EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LAKE TRUST CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1