STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CONNEXUS ENERGY: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CONNEXUS ENERGY (EIN 41-0128105)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-10-27
IRS object ID
201443009349300704
Schema version
2013v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-10-27T08:11:03-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1200 EAST 10TH ST PO BOX 5125AddressLine1
CitySIOUX FALLSCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code571175125ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN410128105EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CONNEXUS ENERGYBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCONNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7633232600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114601 RAMSEY BOULEVARDAddressLine1
CityRAMSEYCity
StateMNState
ZIP Code55303ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL BASHPersonNm
Person TitleVICE PRESIDENT / CFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7633232600PhoneNum
Signature2014-10-23SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLAURIE HANSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00851848PTIN
Phone6053391999PhoneNum
Preparation2014-10-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMIKE RAJALAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114601 RAMSEY BOULEVARDAddressLine1
CityRAMSEYCity
StateMNState
ZIP Code55303ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$258,845,776GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CONNEXUSENERGY.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1937FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDING UTILITY SERVICES TO MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent6VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee281TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$2,222,381TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$55,947NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$253,889,722PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$257,413,417CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$767,815PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$849,249CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$338,497PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$449,270CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$254,996,034PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$258,711,936CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$437,514PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$426,285CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$12,078,722PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$10,002,595CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,891,445PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$25,530,923CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$218,588,353PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$222,752,133CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$254,996,034PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$258,711,936CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$0CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$352,302,341TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$357,557,329TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$199,856,989TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$200,481,235TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$152,445,352NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$157,076,094NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionCONNEXUS ENERGY IS A LOCAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE PROVIDING HIGH QUALITY, COST COMPETITIVE, AND RELIABLE SERVICE THAT CONSISTENTLY DEMONSTRATES THE VALUE OF MEMBER OWNERSHIP.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescCONNEXUS ENERGY PROVIDED UTILITY SERVICES TO APPROXIMATELY 128,000 MEMBERS IN SEVEN COUNTIES IN THE NORTH SUBURBAN AREA OF MINNEAPOLIS AND ST. PAUL, MN.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document166IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee281EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$247,410,038MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$4,311,664OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member6IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressYes (1)OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (1)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or Procedure0WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NANCY BASARABusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7633232731PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line114601 RAMSEY BOULEVARDAddressLine1
CityRAMSEYCity
StateMNState
ZIP Code55303ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
PETER WOJCIECHOWSKI
CHAIR22.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$51,899$0$50
KEN FIERECK
VICE CHAIR12.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$46,581$0$50
FRAN BATOR
SECRETARY/TREASURER15.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$46,821$0$50
MICHAEL KERR
ASST. SECRETARY/TREASURER12.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$46,581$0$50
JIM LEROUX
DIRECTOR18.00Yes (X)$46,581$0$50
GORDON WESTERLIND
DIRECTOR15.00Yes (X)$23,581$0$23,050
DONALD HOLL
DIRECTOR16.00Yes (X)$39,081$0$7,550
MARK ETHEN
DIRECTOR12.00Yes (X)$46,601$0$50
MIKE RAJALA
PRESIDENT / CEO40.00Yes (X)$658,948$0$181,279
MICHAEL BASH
VP / CFO40.00Yes (X)$435,357$0$89,181
MATT YSETH
VP, ELECTRIC OPERATIONS40.00Yes (X)$326,278$0$62,687
JOHN GASAL
VP, POWER SUPPLY40.00Yes (X)$324,212$0$78,000
PETER MILLER
VP, HUMAN RESOURCES40.00Yes (X)$325,124$0$58,164
DON HALLER
VP, MEMBER AND COMMUNITY40.00Yes (X)$259,069$0$57,122
GREG GROENJES
MGR., CONSTRUCTION & MAINTENANCE40.00$177,308$0$5,813Yes (X)
NANCY BASARA
CONTROLLER40.00$204,156$0$48,444Yes (X)
LARRY NELSON
ELEC OPS - PROJECT MGR40.00$174,580$0$42,880Yes (X)
JEFF HENDRICKSON
MANAGER - CUSTOMER OPERATIONS40.00$167,591$0$35,605Yes (X)
MARK KOPLIN
MANAGER - INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY40.00$263,667$0$28,248Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,664,016TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$718,323TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K77IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
RP SCHROEDER CONSTRUCTION
18329 263RD AVEBIG LAKEMN55309CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$1,276,979
ASPLUNDH
708 BLAIR MILL ROADWILLOW GROVEPA190901784TREE TRIMMING SERVICES$1,248,723
WRIGHT TREE SERVICE
PO BOX 1718DES MOINESIA50306TREE TRIMMING SERVICES$691,106
CARR'S TREE SERVICE INC
PO BOX 250OTTERTAILMN56571TREE TRIMMING SERVICES$610,450
CENTRAL APPLICATORS
PO BOX 279FOLEYMN56329VEGETATION MANAGEMENT$385,425
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
SALE OF ELECTRICITY221000$245,140,988$245,092,559$48,429
GEN & TRANS CAP CREDIT221000$9,321,735$9,321,735
UTILITY/RETAIL/FLEET221000$2,174,541$344$2,174,197
OTHER221000$776,153$776,153
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$257,413,417TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$859,352TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$859,352ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$340,146RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$340,146RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$340,146TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$340,146ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$123,737OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$133,840OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$10,103OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$10,103TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$10,103ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISC OTHER REVENUEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$109,124TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$109,369RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$245UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$109,124OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$258,711,936TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$255,300,160RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$2,222,381UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,189,395ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$426,285TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,002,595TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,882,266TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,871,383TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,876,022TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,512,242TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,389,010TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,139TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,512TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$649,008TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$321,089TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,008,057TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,416,599TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$685,786TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$315,459TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,773TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,526,797TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,468,072TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$675,394TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
COST OF POWER$189,517,700
ELECTRIC OPERATIONS$3,735,800
PROP. & REAL ESTATE TAX$3,708,885
CONTRACT LABOR$459,187

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,991,876TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$258,711,936TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,187BOYAmt
EOY$4,596EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,715BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,325,529BOYAmt
EOY$31,040,373EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,991,830BOYAmt
EOY$2,700,230EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$852,180BOYAmt
EOY$498,710EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$314,065,563LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$118,509,533LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$194,205,796BOYAmt
EOY$195,556,030EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,602,849BOYAmt
EOY$9,397,969EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,086,037BOYAmt
EOY$108,800,959EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$941BOYAmt
EOY$941EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,213,277BOYAmt
EOY$9,557,521EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$352,302,341BOYAmt
EOY$357,557,329EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,963,543BOYAmt
EOY$16,780,603EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$134,321,880BOYAmt
EOY$131,708,556EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,380,000BOYAmt
EOY$14,048,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,191,566BOYAmt
EOY$37,944,076EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$199,856,989BOYAmt
EOY$200,481,235EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$152,445,352BOYAmt
EOY$157,076,094EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$152,445,352BOYAmt
EOY$157,076,094EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$352,302,341BOYAmt
EOY$357,557,329EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$0ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$4,630,742OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,134,393OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,134,393BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,257,906OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,201,176DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,056,730BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$293,278,516OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$113,308,357DepreciationAmt
Book Value$179,970,159BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,394,748OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$4,394,748BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$195,556,030TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
GREAT RIVER ENERGY$104,217,508C
OTHER ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$4,583,451C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$108,800,959TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CUSTOMER DEPOSITS$1,046,880
DEFERRED CREDITS$1,861,676
PAYABLE TO GREAT RIVER ENERGY$29,373,729
UNFUNDED PENSION LIABILITY$2,451,927
OTHER LIABILITIES$1,452,407
DEFERRED COMP$1,757,457
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$37,944,076TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$258,711,936TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$258,711,936RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$258,711,936TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$248,709,341TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$248,709,341ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,002,595OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$10,002,595ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$258,711,936TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 10,002,595.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (17 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1CityUSAddress/CityStateUSAddress/StateZIP CodeUSAddress/ZIPCodeRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc
ANOKA TECHNICAL COLLEGE FOUNDATION
1355 WEST HWY 10ANOKAMN55303416008267501(C)(3)$12,500DONATION TO FOUNDATION - GENERAL
INITIATIVE FOUNDATION
405 FIRST ST SELITTLE FALLSMN56345363451562501(C)(3)$10,000DONATION TO FOUNDATION - GENERAL
MERCYUNITY HOSPITAL FOUNDATION
550 OSBORNE RDFRIDLEYMN55432363261413501(C)(3)$48,700DONATION TO FOUNDATION - GENERAL
GREATER TWIN CITIES UNITED WAY
404 S 8TH STREETMINNEAPOLISMN55404411973442501(C)(3)$14,845MATCH EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTIONS
NATIONAL SPORTS CENTER
1700 105TH AVENUE NEBLAINEMN55449411646516501(C)(3)GENERAL DONATION$80,000OTHERIN-KIND ELECTRICITY
ANOKA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PARKS AND RECREATION
550 BUNKER LAKE BLVDANDOVERMN55304416005752501(C)(3)$30,500ACTIVITIES GUIDE, BUNKER BEACH, KIDS FISHING CLINIC, TANK RESTORATION. WILDLIFE OUTREACH & HERITAGE LAB FUNDING.
ALEXANDRA HOUSE
PO BOX 49030BLAINEMN55449411309977501(C)(3)$20,000GENERAL DONATION
CITY OF ANOKA - CASTLE FIELD ASSOCIATION
2015 FIRST AVEANOKAMN55303416004936501(C)(3)$10,000GENERAL DONATION
SCR INC FOR PRINCETON PANTRY AND BIG LAKE FOOD SHELVES
604 LINCOLN AVE NEST CLOUDMN56304410802798501(C)(3)$24,299PURCHASE WALK-IN FREEZER'S.
ANOKA RAMSEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE FOUNDATION
11200 MISSISSIPPI BLVDCOON RAPIDSMN55433411574797501(C)(3)$10,500SCHOLARSHIP
AMERICAN RED CROSS
1201 W RIVERY PKWYMINNEAPOLISMN55454030585610501(C)(3)$10,000GENERAL DONATION
MN MILITARY FAMILY FOUNDATION
620 MENDELSSOHN AVE NGOLDEN VALLEYMN55427010937392501(C)(3)$5,000GENERAL DONATION
ANOKA COUNTY CHILD ABUSE PREVENTION COUNCIL
2100 3RD AVEANOKAMN55304416048575501(C)(3)$5,000DONATION TO FOUNDATION. - GENERAL
GREAT RIVER GREENING
35 W WATER STREET 201ST PAULMN55107411940024501(C)(3)$5,000GENERAL DONATION
SALVATION ARMY HEATSHARE
2445 PRIOR AVEROSEVILLEMN55113410698597501(C)(3)$30,000GENERAL DONATION
TREE TRUST
2231 EDGEWOOD AVE SST LOUIS PARKMN55426411291626501(C)(3)$10,000GENERAL DONATION
HOPE 4 YOUTH
2665 4TH AVE N 40ANOKAMN55303461626500501(C)(3)$10,156NEW APPLIANCES
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org18Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE TOTAL AMOUNT OF CONTRIBUTIONS PLANNED FOR A YEAR IS APPROVED BY THE BOARD AS A PART OF OUR ANNUAL PROFIT PLANNING PROCESS. INDIVIDUAL CONTRIBUTIONS ARE APPROVED AND SUBSTANTIATED FOLLOWING OUR NORMAL PAYMENT APPROVAL PROCESS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
MIKE RAJALA
PRESIDENT / CEO$405,126$0$229,583$0$24,239$0$164,756$0$17,760$0$841,464$0$0$0
MICHAEL BASH
VP / CFO$294,932$0$113,456$0$26,969$0$68,840$0$21,246$0$525,443$0$0$0
MATT YSETH
VP, ELECTRIC OPERATIONS$220,894$0$84,841$0$20,543$0$40,971$0$22,401$0$389,650$0$0$0
JOHN GASAL
VP, POWER SUPPLY$218,417$0$84,293$0$21,502$0$58,866$0$19,807$0$402,885$0$0$0
PETER MILLER
VP, HUMAN RESOURCES$219,067$0$85,363$0$20,694$0$39,332$0$19,506$0$383,962$0$0$0
DON HALLER
VP, MEMBER AND COMMUNITY$180,944$0$68,125$0$10,000$0$39,562$0$18,110$0$316,741$0$0$0
GREG GROENJES
MGR., CONSTRUCTION & MAINTENANCE$123,801$0$6,153$0$47,354$0$3,405$0$2,791$0$183,504$0$0$0
NANCY BASARA
CONTROLLER$152,298$0$50,316$0$1,542$0$28,966$0$19,957$0$253,079$0$0$0
LARRY NELSON
ELEC OPS - PROJECT MGR$130,225$0$42,822$0$1,533$0$33,817$0$9,467$0$217,864$0$0$0
JEFF HENDRICKSON
MANAGER - CUSTOMER OPERATIONS$111,891$0$54,870$0$830$0$16,503$0$19,456$0$203,550$0$0$0
MARK KOPLIN
MANAGER - INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$151,182$0$67,367$0$45,118$0$12,343$0$16,370$0$292,380$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AOUR POLICY IS TO GROSS UP ALL RECOGNITION PAYMENTS $50 AND LESS. THIS APPLIES TO ALL EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING EXECUTIVES.
PART I, LINE 4BTHE FOLLOWING OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, AND HIGHEST COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATED IN A NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN: MICHAEL BASH JOHN GASAL NO DISBURSEMENTS WERE MADE FROM THE PLAN IN 2013. THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN BALANCES ARE PAYABLE ON DEMAND, IN FULL, BUT THE BALANCES ARE SUBJECT TO RISK OF FORFEITURE UNTIL FULLY DISTRIBUTED.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
FEDAC
MIKE RAJALA- DIRECTOR OF FEDAC & CARR'S TREE SERV. & CEO OF CONNEXUS ENERGY$610,450CARR'S TREE SERVICE PROVIDES TREE TRIMMING SERVICES TO THE COOPERATIVE. FEDAC IS THE 100% OWNER OF CARR'S TREE SERVICE.0
GREAT RIVER ENERGY
DON HOLL IS A DIRECTOR FOR GREAT RIVER ENERGY AND CONNEXUS ENERGY$189,517,700CONNEXUS ENERGY PURCHASES POWER FROM GREAT RIVER ENERGY AND IS A MEMBER.0
GREAT RIVER ENERGY
JIM LEROUX IS A DIRECTOR FOR GREAT RIVER ENERGY AND CONNEXUS ENERGY$189,517,700CONNEXUS ENERGY PURCHASES POWER FROM GREAT RIVER ENERGY AND IS A MEMBER.0
MINNESOTA RURAL ELECTRIC TRUST (MRET)
MICHAEL BASH IS A DIRECTOR FOR MRET AND VP/CFO FOR CONNEXUS ENERGY$333,253MRET IS CONNEXUS ENERGY'S WORK COMP PROVIDER.0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (14 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2DON HOLL AND JIM LEROUX HAVE A BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP AS THEY BOTH REPRESENT CONNEXUS ENERGY ON THE GREAT RIVER ENERGY BOARD. GREAT RIVER ENERGY IS OUR POWER SUPPLIER AND CONNEXUS ENERGY, AS ONE OF ITS MEMBERS, OWNS APPROXIMATELY 20% OF GRE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6CUSTOMERS WHO PURCHASE ELECTRICITY FROM THE ORGANIZATION ARE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE. THERE IS ONLY ONE MEMBER CLASS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AEACH MEMBER HAS ONE VOTE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MAY SELL THE PROPERTY OF THE COOPERATIVE UPON SUCH TERMS AND CONDITIONS AS IT DEEMS APPROPRIATE AND IN THE BEST INTEREST OF THE COOPERATIVE. NO SALE OF MORE THAN TWENTY-FIVE (25%) PERCENT OF THE PROPERTY OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE EFFECTIVE, HOWEVER, UNLESS AUTHORIZED AT A REGULAR OR SPECIAL MEETING BY THE AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF TWO-THIRDS (2/3) OF THE TOTAL NUMBER OF MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BNO COMMITTEES ARE AUTHORIZED TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE 990 INFORMATION RETURN IS MAILED TO BOARD MEMBERS A WEEK BEFORE THE BOARD MEETING. IT IS REVIEWED WITH THE ENTIRE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND SENIOR STAFF AT THE BOARD MEETING, PRIOR TO ISSUANCE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE COVERED BY THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. ANNUALLY, BOARD MEMBERS SIGN A CERTIFICATION THAT THEY MEET THE QUALIFICATIONS OF A BOARD MEMBER. THIS CERTIFICATION INCLUDES CONFLICT OF INTEREST LANGUAGE. IF A BOARD MEMBER STATES ON THE CERTIFICATION THAT THERE IS A CONFLICT, THE ENTIRE BOARD WILL REVIEW THE CONFLICT AT THAT TIME. RESTRICTIONS IMPOSED ON A PERSON WITH A CONFLICT WOULD BE DEPENDENT UPON THE SPECIFIC SITUATION, AND MAY INCLUDE ABSTAINING FROM DISCUSSIONS AND VOTING AND/OR A REQUEST FOR RESIGNATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15COMPENSATION IS BASED ON MARKET DATA FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS AT COMPARABLE COMPANIES. A MARKET STUDY WAS COMPLETED IN 2013 FOR THE CEO AND FOR OTHER COOPERATIVE OFFICERS. THE BOARD REVIEWS AND APPROVES THE COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PREVIOUS 5 YEARS ARE AVAILABLE ON OUR WEBSITE. ALL OTHER DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F, OTHER COMPENSATION:INCLUDED IN OTHER COMPENSATION IS THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE OR DECREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE EMPLOYEES OF THE COOPERATIVE WHO ARE COVERED BY THE PENSION PLAN.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN D, REPORTABLE COMPENSATION:MOVING EXPENSES HAVE BEEN INCLUDED IN COMPENSATION FOR MARK KOPLIN AND GREG GROENJES OF $43,574 AND $45,994, RESPECTIVELY.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4, BENEFITS PAID TO OR FOR MEMBERS:THE COOPERATIVE HAS INTERPRETED THE INSTRUCTIONS TO PART IX, LINE 4, TO MEAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL ALLOCATED FOR THE YEAR, RATHER THAN PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED. THIS IS CONSISTENT WITH THE BY-LAWS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CAPITAL CREDITS RETIRED -5,667,130. APPROPRIATED MARGIN 295,277. ALLOCATION OF 2013 MARGINS TO MEMBERS IN 2014 10,002,595.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 9:BOARD MEMBER JIM LEROUX PASSED AWAY IN JUNE OF 2014.