FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2024
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC (EIN 59-3211153)
- Tax period
- 2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
- Filed
- 2026-04-09
- IRS object ID
- 202620999349302022
- Schema version
- 2024v5.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2026-04-09T20:42:33+00:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2025-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 350921680 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CROWE LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 401 East Las Olas Blvd Suite 1100 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Fort Lauderdale | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 333014230 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2024-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 593211153 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION INC | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | FLOR | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 8506448650 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 2000 LEVY AVE 351 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TALLAHASSEE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 323105792 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | STACEY PATTERSON | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Signature | 2026-04-10 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (true) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Brittney Kocaj | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P01320603 | PTIN |
| Phone | 9542028600 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2026-04-10 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2024 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FSU Research Foundation | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Stacey Patterson | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 2000 LEVY AVE 351 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TALLAHASSEE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 323105792 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $48,153,757 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | www.reserach.fsu.edu | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1993 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | FL | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | TO PROMOTE, ENCOURAGE, AND ASSIST THE RESEARCH AND TRAINING IN ACTIVITIES OF FACULTY, STAFF, AND STUDENTS OF FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY (FSU) THROUGH INCOME FROM CONTRACTS, GRANTS, AND OTHER SOURCES. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 3 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 3 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $15,496,932 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $17,477,864 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $3,114,628 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $6,390,527 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $345,507 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $384,145 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $18,957,067 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $24,252,536 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $42,339,504 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $30,282,071 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $958,973 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,001,116 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $7,537,837 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $7,353,419 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $50,836,314 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $38,636,606 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$31,879,247 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$14,384,070 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $224,086,083 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $218,801,229 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $66,841,634 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $64,598,051 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $157,244,449 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $154,203,178 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | TO PROMOTE, ENCOURAGE AND FACILITATE THE RESEARCH AND TRAINING ACTIVITIES OF FACULTY, STAFF AND STUDENTS OF THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY THROUGH INCOME FROM CONTRACTS, GRANTS AND OTHER SOURCES. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $30,282,071 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $30,282,071 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $13,979,043 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION ACCEPTS AND ADMINISTERS CONTRACTS AND GRANTS FROM PRIVATE SOURCES, (I.E. NON-U.S. FEDERAL, STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES), WHICH ARE USED IN SUPPORT OF RESEARCH AT THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY. THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION PROCESSED 270 PROPOSALS AND 173 AWARDS IN THE CURRENT YEAR. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,658,178 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $3,498,821 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION OPERATES SEVEN BUILDINGS WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF PROVIDING RESEARCH FACILITIES FOR FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY TENANTS TO PERFORM RESEARCH. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,366,876 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $381,932 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | ADMINISTERING INCOME FROM RESEARCH/ROYALTY CONTRACTS RECEIVED BY UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENTS AND LICENSING OR OTHER CONTRACTUAL ARRANGEMENTS RELATED TO PATENTABLE PRODUCTS DEVELOPED BY FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY FACULTY, STAFF, AND STUDENTS. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Expenses | $33,307,125 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | false | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (true) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (true) | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Invest Tax Exempt Bonds | false | InvestTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Escrow Account | false | EscrowAccountInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | false | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | false | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 84 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 3 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Policies Reference Chapters | false | PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | false | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | false | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Written Policy Or Procedure | false | WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | JENNY BUCIOR | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 8506459848 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 2000 LEVY AVENUE BLDG A SUITE 351 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TALLAHASSEE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32310 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Former Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STACEY PATTERSON | ||||||||
| FSU VP FOR RESEARCH, FSURF PRESIDENT | 10.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $484,232 | $140,265 | |
| DR JAMES CLARK | ||||||||
| FSU PROVOST | 1.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $571,167 | $60,755 | ||
| DR SAM HUCKABA | ||||||||
| FSU DEAN OF ARTS & SCIENCES | 1.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $392,944 | $62,709 | ||
| JOSEPH W LANDERS | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KAY STEPHENSON | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KYLE CLARK | ||||||||
| FSU VP FOR FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION | 1.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $573,511 | $59,089 | ||
| RICARDO SCHNEIDER | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RICHARD MCCULLOUGH | ||||||||
| FSU PRESIDENT & CHAIR | 1.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $1,558,470 | $136,117 | ||
| VALERIE MCDEVITT | ||||||||
| FSU AVP, FSU Strategic Partnerships and Innovation (BEGAN JUL. 2024) | 1.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $296,689 | $121,898 | ||
| HEATHER CAVE | ||||||||
| EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | 40.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $105,571 | $33,264 | ||
| KELLY STARKE | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 5.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $83,434 | $35,988 | ||
| KERRY PELUSO | ||||||||
| TREASURER | 5.0 | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $254,853 | $113,228 | ||
| GARY K OSTRANDER | ||||||||
| FORMER PRESIDENT | 0.0 | 40.0 | $0 | $371,446 | $58,365 | Yes (X) | ||
| MARK RILEY | ||||||||
| FORMER INTERIM PRESIDENT | 0.0 | 40.0 | $0 | $234,803 | $49,213 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $0 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $4,927,120 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $870,891 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 0 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | Yes (true) | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| John A Hopkins | |||||
| 11230 Hatteras Drive | Knoxville | TN | 37934 | Contractual Services | $222,000 |
| Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP | |||||
| 999 Peachtree St NE STE 2300 | Atlanta | GA | 30309 | Legal-Patent and Copyright | $203,914 |
| Meunier Carlin & Curfman LLC | |||||
| 999 PEACHTREE ST NE STE 1300 | Atlanta | GA | 30309 | Legal-Patent and Copyright | $172,970 |
| Van Scoyoc Associates | |||||
| 800 Maine Avenue SW Suite 800 | Washington | DC | 20024 | Contractual Services | $156,000 |
| American Defense International Inc | |||||
| 1101 K Street NW Suite 850 | Washington | DC | 20005 | Contractual Services | $150,000 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Total Contributions | $0 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| CONTRACT RESEARCH REVENUE | 900099 | $13,979,043 | $13,979,043 |
| RENTAL REVENUE | 532000 | $3,498,821 | $3,498,821 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $17,477,864 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $381,932 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $381,932 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $30,291,748 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $23,901,221 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,390,527 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $6,390,527 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $6,390,527 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $2,213 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $2,213 | ExclusionAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $2,213 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $24,252,536 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $17,859,796 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $6,392,740 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,282,071 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $30,282,071 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $141,450 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $141,450 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $859,666 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $859,666 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $35,125 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $35,125 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,337,055 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $3,337,055 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $278,102 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $278,102 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $425,831 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $425,831 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $956,185 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $956,185 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,232,347 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,232,347 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| PATENT & LICENSING COST | $1,084,350 | $1,084,350 |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES | $4,424 | $4,424 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,636,606 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $33,307,125 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $5,329,481 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $46,773,224 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $48,718,371 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,301,202 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,893,679 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $608,558 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,270,482 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $15,255,196 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,000,000 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $94,020 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $147,959 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $2,822,385 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $203,565 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,618,820 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,618,820 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,313,515 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $158,600 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,791,037 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,558,690 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $145,330,511 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $150,434,628 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $224,086,083 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $218,801,229 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $256,492 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $251,129 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,848,378 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,260,370 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,865,731 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,104,912 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $38,095,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $35,335,000 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $10,776,033 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $11,646,640 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $66,841,634 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $64,598,051 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $149,842,974 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $147,130,580 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,401,475 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,072,598 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $157,244,449 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $154,203,178 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $224,086,083 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $218,801,229 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$14,384,070 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $11,221,037 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $121,762 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supporting Organization509a3 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrganization509a3Ind |
| Supporting Org Type1 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrgType1Ind |
| Supported Organizations | 1 | SupportedOrganizationsCnt |
Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp
Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 591961248 | EIN |
| Organization Type | 2 | OrganizationTypeCd |
| Governing Document Listed | Yes (true) | GoverningDocumentListedInd |
| Support | $30,282,071 | SupportAmt |
| Other Support | $3,025,054 | OtherSupportAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supported Organizations Total | 1 | SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt |
| Support Sum | $30,282,071 | SupportSumAmt |
| Other Support Sum | $3,025,054 | OtherSupportSumAmt |
Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed By Name Governing Doc | Yes (true) | ListedByNameGoverningDocInd |
| Suprt Org No IRS Determination | false | SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd |
| Supported Org Section C456 | false | SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind |
| Supported Org Not Organized US | false | SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd |
| Organization Change Suprt Org | false | OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd |
| Support Non Supported Org | false | SupportNonSupportedOrgInd |
| Payment Substantial Contribtr | false | PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd |
| Loan Disqualified Person | false | LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd |
| Controlled Disqualified Prsn | false | ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Controll Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd |
| Excess Business Holdings Rules | false | ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd |
| Contribution Controller | false | ContributionControllerInd |
| Contribution Family | false | ContributionFamilyInd |
| Contribution35 Controlled | false | Contribution35ControlledInd |
Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Power Appoint Majority Dir Trst | Yes (true) | PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd |
| Operate Benefit Non Suprt Org | false | OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,618,820 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $2,618,820 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $123,907 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $123,907 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $79,658 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $79,658 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $2,618,820 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| DEPPOSIT HELD WITH FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | $700,854 |
| INVESTMENTS HELD BY FSU FOUNDATION | $149,417,526 |
| LICENSE FEES & ROYALTIES RECEIVABLE | $316,248 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $150,434,628 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Federal Income Taxes | |
| DUE TO FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | $9,688,737 |
| GIFT ANNUITY OBLIGATION | |
| Royalty Allocation PAYABLE | $262,250 |
| DEPARTMENTAL ROYALTY ALLOCATIONS | $1,695,653 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $11,646,640 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $35,595,335 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $11,221,037 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | $121,762 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $11,342,799 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $24,252,536 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $0 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $24,252,536 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $38,636,606 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $0 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $38,636,606 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $0 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $38,636,606 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnote | Pursuant to a determination letter received from the Internal Revenue Service, the Research Foundation is exempt from federal income tax under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, and as such is liable for tax only on business income unrelated to the purpose for which it is exempt. No provision for income tax expense or liability has been made in either year presented. There are currently no Internal Revenue Service audits in progress for any tax periods, and no significant nonfederal tax jurisdictions. The Research Foundation's income tax returns for the past three years remain subject to examination. |
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990 | CHANGE IN ANNUITY VALUE - 121762 |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable
Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 600 W COLLEGE AVENUE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | TALLAHASSEE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | FL | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 32306 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Recipient EIN | 591961248 | RecipientEIN |
| IRC Section | 501(c)(3) | IRCSectionDesc |
| Cash Grant | $30,282,071 | CashGrantAmt |
| Purpose Of Grant | RESEARCH | PurposeOfGrantTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 1 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY RESEARCH FOUNDATION HAS AN INTERNAL GRANTS DEPARTMENT THAT REVIEWS THE CONTRACTS AND GRANTS FOR COMPLIANCE WITH THE ORGANIZATION'S POLICIES AND PROCEDURES AND SPONSOR GUIDELINES. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| STACEY PATTERSON | ||||||||||||||
| FSU VP FOR RESEARCH, FSURF PRESIDENT | $0 | $454,232 | $0 | $30,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $117,884 | $0 | $22,381 | $0 | $624,497 | $0 | $0 |
| RICHARD MCCULLOUGH | ||||||||||||||
| FSU PRESIDENT & CHAIR | $0 | $1,028,639 | $0 | $320,000 | $0 | $209,831 | $0 | $103,466 | $0 | $32,651 | $0 | $1,694,587 | $0 | $0 |
| DR JAMES CLARK | ||||||||||||||
| FSU PROVOST | $0 | $551,167 | $0 | $20,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $34,118 | $0 | $26,637 | $0 | $631,922 | $0 | $0 |
| KYLE CLARK | ||||||||||||||
| FSU VP FOR FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION | $0 | $514,811 | $0 | $50,000 | $0 | $8,700 | $0 | $35,384 | $0 | $23,705 | $0 | $632,600 | $0 | $0 |
| DR SAM HUCKABA | ||||||||||||||
| FSU DEAN OF ARTS & SCIENCES | $0 | $392,944 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $39,510 | $0 | $23,199 | $0 | $455,653 | $0 | $0 |
| VALERIE MCDEVITT | ||||||||||||||
| FSU AVP, FSU Strategic Partnerships and Innovation (BEGAN JUL. 2024) | $0 | $257,689 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $39,000 | $0 | $93,382 | $0 | $28,516 | $0 | $418,587 | $0 | $0 |
| GARY K OSTRANDER | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER PRESIDENT | $0 | $371,446 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $33,421 | $0 | $24,944 | $0 | $429,811 | $0 | $0 |
| MARK RILEY | ||||||||||||||
| FORMER INTERIM PRESIDENT | $0 | $234,803 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $23,964 | $0 | $25,249 | $0 | $284,016 | $0 | $0 |
| KERRY PELUSO | ||||||||||||||
| TREASURER | $0 | $254,853 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $88,889 | $0 | $24,339 | $0 | $368,081 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule J, Part I, Line 3 Establishing compensation of the organization's President | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Compensation is reviewed and set by the President of Florida State University, a related organization, or designee, in accordance with the University's policies. These policies require that comparable data be used to determine that compensation is fair and competitive when compared to similar roles in other Foundations nationally. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK
Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
Issuer Name IssuerName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | State of Florida | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Issuer EIN | 593211153 | BondIssuerEIN |
| Bond Issued | 2013-01-01 | BondIssuedDt |
| Issue Price | $11,920,000 | IssuePriceAmt |
| Purpose | Research | PurposeDesc |
| Defeased | false | DefeasedInd |
| On Behalf Of Issuer | false | OnBehalfOfIssuerInd |
| Pool Financing | false | PoolFinancingInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Retired | $6,815,088 | RetiredAmt |
| Total Proceeds | $11,920,000 | TotalProceedsAmt |
| Other Spent Proceeds | $11,920,000 | OtherSpentProceedsAmt |
| Substantial Completion | 2013 | SubstantialCompletionYr |
| Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds | Yes (true) | RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd |
| Refunding Taxable Bonds | false | RefundingTaxableBondsInd |
| Final Allocation Made | Yes (true) | FinalAllocationMadeInd |
| Adequate Books And Rec Maint | Yes (true) | AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Owning Bond Financed Property | false | OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd |
| Any Lease Arrangements | false | AnyLeaseArrangementsInd |
| Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop | false | MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd |
| Engage Bond Counsel Contracts | false | EngageBondCounselContractsInd |
| Any Research Agreements | Yes (true) | AnyResearchAgreementsInd |
| Engage Bond Counsel Research | Yes (true) | EngageBondCounselResearchInd |
| Private Bus Use By Others | 0 | PrivateBusUseByOthersPct |
| Private Bus Concerning UBI | 0.0261 | PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct |
| Total Private Business Use | 0.0261 | TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct |
| Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test | false | BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd |
| Change In Use Bond Financed Prop | false | ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd |
| Change In Use Bond Financed Prop | 0 | ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropPct |
| Remedial Action Taken | false | RemedialActionTakenInd |
| Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd | false | ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd |
Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Form8038 T Filed | false | Form8038TFiledInd |
| Rebate Not Due Yet | false | RebateNotDueYetInd |
| Exception To Rebate | Yes (true) | ExceptionToRebateInd |
| No Rebate Due | false | NoRebateDueInd |
| Variable Rate Issue | false | VariableRateIssueInd |
| Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec | false | HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd |
| Term Of Hedge | 0 | TermOfHedgePct |
| Superintegrated Hedge | false | SuperintegratedHedgeInd |
| Hedge Terminated | false | HedgeTerminatedInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC | false | GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd |
| Term Of GIC | 0 | TermOfGICPct |
| Regulatory Safe Harbor Stsfd | false | RegulatorySafeHarborStsfdInd |
| Gross Proceeds Invested | false | GrossProceedsInvestedInd |
| Written Proc To Monitor Reqs | false | WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd |
Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Bond Reference | A | BondReferenceCd |
| Procedures Corrective Action | false | ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part I, Line 5 and Part V, Lines 2A and 2B | All employees of the Florida State University Research Foundation are employees of Florida State University, a related organization. During calendar year 2024 there were 10 employees primarily dedicated to working for the Florida State University Research Foundation. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15 PROCESS TO ESTABLISH COMPENSATION | Compensation is reviewed and set by the President of Florida State University, a related organization, or designee, in accordance with the University's policies. These policies require that comparable data be used to determine that compensation is fair and competitive when compared to similar roles in other Foundations nationally. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing body | THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL CONSIST OF UP TO NINE VOTING MEMBERS. THE PRESIDENT OF THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY, THE PROVOST/VICE PRESIDENT FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS, THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR RESEARCH, THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION, AND THE DEAN OF ARTS & SCIENCES SHALL BE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE SIXTH MEMBER SHALL BE APPOINTED BY THE CHAIRMAN OF THE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE REMAINING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL BE APPOINTED BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholders | Per the Florida excellence in higher education act of 2018, signed into law on March 11, 2018, the University Board of Trustees shall approve Board appointments to the Florida State University Research Foundation. The annual budget and any amendments to the Research Foundation's Bylaws are also subject to the approval of the University Board of Trustees. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing body | FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE DIRECTOR AND ASSISTANT DIRECTOR. ANY ISSUES OR QUESTIONS ARE RESOLVED WITH THE INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM THAT PREPARES THE FORMS. UPON THE APPROVAL OF DIRECTOR, THE RETURN IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD BEFORE THE RETURN IS FILED WITH THE IRS. DISTRIBUTION TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS MAY BE IN THE FORM OF ELECTRONIC MAIL, NOTIFICATION OF A LINK TO A WEBSITE OR ACTUAL MAILING OF THE DOCUMENT. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policy | Annually, all directors are required to complete and sign a Conflict of Interest Form. The Research Foundation's secretary monitors the process to ensure that completed forms are returned by all members, with individual follow-up when necessary. Copies of all forms are retained. The Board Chair is informed of any existing conflicts to ensure that affected directors recuse themselves from discussions and any actions, including votes, involving a conflict of interest. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the public | THE ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, BYLAWS AND ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION ARE AVAIALBLE ON THE WEBSITE. OTHER GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Line 2 Number of employees >$100,000 | DURING CALENDAR YEAR 2024, THERE WAS 1 EMPLOYEE OF THE FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY, A RELATED ORGANIZATION, PRIMARILY DEDICATED TO WORKING FOR THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION WHO RECEIVED MORE THAN $100,000 OF REPORTABLE COMPENSATION. |
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 Other changes in net assets or fund balances | CHANGE IN ANNUITY VALUE - 121762; Total - 121762; |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (14 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | Address Line2USAddress/AddressLine2Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Business Name Line2DisregardedEntityName/BusinessNameLine2Txt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||||||||||||
| 282 CHAMPION WAY | UCA 2200 | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32306 | 591961248 | EDUCATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 2 | false | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION INC | ||||||||||||
| 1030 W TENNESSEE STREET | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32304 | 590705420 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 7 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION INC | ||||||||||||
| 200 W COLLEGE AVENUE | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32301 | 452337977 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| Florida State University Foundation Inc | ||||||||||||
| 325 W College Ave | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32301 | 596152180 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 5 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| SEMINOLE BOOSTERS INC | ||||||||||||
| PO BOX 1353 | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 323021353 | 591561180 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 7 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS ASSOC INC | ||||||||||||
| PO BOX 3062420 | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 323062420 | 593153341 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY SCHOOLS INC | ||||||||||||
| 3000 SCHOOL HOUSE ROAD | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32311 | 593726188 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 2 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| THE JOHN AND MABLE RINGLING MUSEUM OF ART FOUNDATION INC | ||||||||||||
| 5401 BAY SHORE ROAD | SARASOTA | FL | 34243 | 596214423 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FLORIDA MEDICAL PRACTICE PLAN INC | ||||||||||||
| 1115 WEST CALL STREET | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 323064300 | 571234883 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY MAGNET RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT INC | ||||||||||||
| 109 WESTCOTT BUILDING | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 323061330 | 134356799 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| FSU COLLEGE OF BUSINESS STUDENT INVESTMENT FUND | ||||||||||||
| 821 ACADEMIC WAY | 509 RBA | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 323061110 | 264028305 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 5 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | |
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS ASSOCIATION INC | ||||||||||||
| 403 STADIUM DRIVE WEST | TALLAHASSEE | FL | 32306 | 813227626 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | Type I | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | ||
| BOSWORTH EDUC FDFLORIDA TW | ||||||||||||
| 4900 TIEDEMAN ROAD | OH-01-49-0381 | BROOKLYN | OH | 44144 | 346776855 | Nonexempt charitable trust | OH | 4947 (a)(1) | Yes (true) | FSU Foundation | ||
| FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY PANAMA CITY DEVELOPMENTAL LABORATORY CHARTER SCHOO | ||||||||||||
| 2430 ST ANDREWS BLVD | PANAMA CITY | FL | 32405 | 320783410 | DIRECT SUPPORT ORGANIZATION | FL | 501(c)(3) | 2 | false | FLORIDA STATE UNIVERSITY | L INC | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | Yes (true) | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | Yes (true) | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | Yes (true) | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | false | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (true) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | Yes (true) | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | Yes (true) | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |