STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS (EIN 44-0536051)
Tax period
2024-06-01 to 2025-05-31
Filed
2026-04-14
IRS object ID
202621049349301822
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-04-14T20:53:12+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN440160260PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Forvis Mazars LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11248 O Street Ste 1040AddressLine1Txt
CityLincolnCityNm
State AbbreviationNEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP685081461ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN440536051EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAMERBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9139066000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityLEAWOODCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP662112672ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCharlotte KernerPersonNm
Person TitleCFO / SVPPersonTitleTxt
Phone9139066000PhoneNum
Signature2026-04-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKristin TynonPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01063388PTIN
Phone4024737600PhoneNum
Preparation2026-04-15PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1R SHAWN MARTINBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityLEAWOODCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP662112672ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$91,636,813GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption1077GroupExemptionNum
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.AAFP.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1947FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE MISSION OF AAFP IS TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH OF PATIENTS, FAMILIES, AND COMMUNITIES BY SERVING THE NEEDS OF MEMBERS WITH PROFESSIONALISM AND CREATIVITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee376TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$4,501,458TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$33,349,079PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$33,889,013CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$42,025,464PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$40,428,830CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,374,565PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$8,986,313CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$3,439,283PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$8,125,101CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$83,188,391PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$91,429,257CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$427,652PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$429,640CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$48,226,052PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$48,664,938CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$41,997,149PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$45,622,165CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$90,650,853PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$94,716,743CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$7,462,462PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,287,486CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$93,969,142TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$87,261,584TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$53,451,516TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$51,476,987TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$40,517,626NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$35,784,597NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE MISSION OF THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS IS TO IMPROVE THE HEALTH OF PATIENTS, FAMILIES, AND COMMUNITIES BY SERVING THE NEEDS OF MEMBERS WITH PROFSSIONALISM AND CREATIVITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescTHE PROMOTION OF COMMON BUSINESS INTEREST OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS THROUGH CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS, CONFERENCES, AND OTHER METHODS OF ENHANCING THE PRACTICE OF FAMILY MEDICINE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$0TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (true)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxYes (true)SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpYes (true)ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document805IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee376EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsYes (true)NondeductibleContributionsInd
Nondeductible Contri DisclYes (true)NondeductibleContriDisclInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JENNY CLEMONSBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9139066000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityLEAWOODCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66211ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DARON GERSCH
VICE SPEAKER15.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$19,751$0$0
JENNIFER BRULL
PRESIDENT, BEGIN 9/2440.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$314,625$0$0
RUSSELL KOHL
SPEAKER18.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$23,111$0$0
SARAH NOSAL
PRESIDENT-ELECT, BEGIN 9/2424.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$92,864$0$0
Steve Furr
BOARD CHAIR, BEGIN 9/2427.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$340,549$0$0
TOCHI IROKU-MALIZE
BOARD CHAIR, END 9/2427.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$225,345$0$0
Aerial Petty
DIRECTOR, BEGIN 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$10,156$0$0
Cynthia Chen-Joea
DIRECTOR, BEGIN 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$9,592$0$0
Elisabeth Mock
DIRECTOR, BEGIN 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
GAIL GUERRERO-TUCKER
DIRECTOR, END 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$6,680$0$0
JANET NWAUKONI
DIRECTOR, END 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$20,909$0$0
JAY LEE
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$3,350$0$0
JEFFREY ZAVALA
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$17,997$0$0
KAREN SMITH
DIRECTOR, END 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$20,000$0$0
Kathleen Mueller
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$8,916$0$0
KISHA DAVIS
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$18,094$0$0
MATTHEW ADKINS
DIRECTOR, END 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$10,700$0$0
Mikala Cessac
DIRECTOR, BEGIN 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$6,692$0$0
PATRICK BRENT SMITH
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$10,500$0$0
SARAH SAMS
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$22,942$0$0
Shannon Dowler
DIRECTOR, BEGIN 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$8,630$0$0
TAREE CHADWICK
DIRECTOR, END 9/2415.00.0Yes (X)$18,774$0$0
TERESA LOVINS
DIRECTOR15.00.0Yes (X)$5,000$0$0
CHARLOTTE KERNER
CFO/SVP40.01.0Yes (X)$368,511$0$92,503
HEATHER LEITH
SVP40.01.0Yes (X)$348,880$0$98,353
PAULA MATTHEWS
CAO/SVP40.01.0Yes (X)$369,122$0$96,549
R SHAWN MARTIN
CEO/EVP40.01.0Yes (X)$822,129$0$81,795
JULIE WOOD
SVP, RESIGNED 5/2540.00.0$386,233$0$95,480Yes (X)
MARGOT SAVOY
SVP40.00.0$394,499$0$75,030Yes (X)
MICHELLE EMERSON
SVP, BEGIN 10/2340.00.0$311,097$0$34,691Yes (X)
STEPHANIE QUINN
SVP40.00.0$379,610$0$101,325Yes (X)
HEATHER PALMER
VP40.00.0$278,070$0$90,677Yes (X)
KAREN JOHNSON
VP40.00.0$277,461$0$63,529Yes (X)
KAREN MITCHELL
VP40.00.0$307,574$0$88,609Yes (X)
STEVEN WALDREN
VP40.00.0$314,651$0$87,862Yes (X)
YALDA JABBARPOUR
DIRECTOR40.00.0$308,890$0$55,277Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$6,081,904TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,061,680TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K108IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
FREEMAN
PO BOX 734596DALLASTX75373CONVENTION SERVICES$3,041,181
DANIEL J EDELMAN INC
111 N CANAL STCHICAGOIL60606PR SERVICES$1,565,910STE 1100
ON SERVICES
PO BOX 74007063CHICAGOIL60674MEDIA SERVICES$1,256,990
QUADGRAPHICS
500 1ST AVEPITTSBURGHPA15264PRINTING SERVICES$1,218,654
AVENTURA CATERING COMPANY
100 North 3rd StreetPhoenixAZ85004CATERING SERVICES$925,387
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K52CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Membership Dues$33,357,698MembershipDuesAmt
Related Organizations$531,315RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Total Contributions$33,889,013TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Publications541800$7,341,990$2,951,159$4,390,831
Subscription Income561499$3,214,015$3,214,015
Courses & Program561499$14,907,503$14,907,503
Meeting561499$662,305$662,305
Exhibit Income561499$3,948,963$3,948,963

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,354,054TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$10,354,054RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$40,428,830TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,783,884TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,783,884ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,741,998TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$110,627UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,631,371ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$186,827RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$186,827RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$186,827TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$186,827ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,372,764SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$101,461SecuritiesAmt
Other$68,874OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,271,303SecuritiesAmt
Other-$68,874OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,202,429TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,202,429ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$87,745GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$37,221CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$50,524TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$50,524RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Miscellaneous Revenue900099$120,165$120,165
Employee Retention Credit900099$5,025,587$5,025,587

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$5,145,752OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$91,429,257TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$36,088,523RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$4,501,458UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$16,950,263ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$429,640TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,961,081TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,915,972TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,728,057TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,595,411TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,464,417TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,732TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,201TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,463,780TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$101,461TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,763,431TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,328,550TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,488,024TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,588,276TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,406,095TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,858,374TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,700,447TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$251,604TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$864,914TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$330,936TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
Production$3,776,879
Dues$830,008
Gifts & Contributions$350,769
Repairs & Maintenance$282,233

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,451TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$94,716,743TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,870,853BOYAmt
EOY$11,095,341EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,778BOYAmt
EOY$22,778EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,643,388BOYAmt
EOY$4,814,515EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,395,030BOYAmt
EOY$4,189,237EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$22,235,301LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$20,088,084LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,746,151BOYAmt
EOY$2,147,217EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,200,270BOYAmt
EOY$20,177,362EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,846,443BOYAmt
EOY$37,178,180EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$550,000BOYAmt
EOY$550,000EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,694,229BOYAmt
EOY$7,086,954EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,969,142BOYAmt
EOY$87,261,584EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,640,806BOYAmt
EOY$15,154,159EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,798,761BOYAmt
EOY$31,662,046EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,011,949BOYAmt
EOY$4,660,782EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,451,516BOYAmt
EOY$51,476,987EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,368,803BOYAmt
EOY$35,510,478EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$148,823BOYAmt
EOY$274,119EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,517,626BOYAmt
EOY$35,784,597EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,969,142BOYAmt
EOY$87,261,584EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$3,287,486ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,445,557NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$14OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Exempt Function Expend$0TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AAFP PACBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11133 CONNECTICUT SUITE 1100AddressLine1Txt
CityWASHINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationDCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP20036ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN562512251EIN
Paid Internal Funds$0PaidInternalFundsAmt
Contributions Rcvd Dlvr$0ContributionsRcvdDlvrAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantially All Dues NondedfalseSubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd
Only In House LobbyingfalseOnlyInHouseLobbyingInd
Agree Carryover Prior YearYes (true)AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd
Dues Assessments$33,357,698DuesAssessmentsAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl CY$3,463,780NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclCYAmt
Non Deductible Lbbyng Pltcl Tot$3,463,780NonDeductibleLbbyngPltclTotAmt
Aggregate Reported Dues Ntc$4,308,703AggregateReportedDuesNtcAmt
Taxable-$844,923TaxableAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$584,017OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$462,247DepreciationAmt
Book Value$121,770BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$21,651,284OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,625,837DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,025,447BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,147,217TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Closely-held equity interests
Financial derivatives
INVESTMENT IN POOLED FUND$37,178,180F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$37,178,180TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
RIGHT OF USE LEASE ASSET$2,056,141
DEFERRED COMP PLAN (457)$2,510,171
DUE FROM ACADEMY 1740$2,520,642
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$7,086,954TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal Income Taxes
RIGHT OF USE LEASE LIABILITY$2,150,611
DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN 457$2,510,171
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,660,782TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$92,743,067TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,445,557NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$2,860,828OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,415,271RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$91,327,796RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$101,461InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$101,461RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$91,429,257TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$95,367,440TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$752,158OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$752,158ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$94,615,282ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$101,461InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$101,461ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$94,716,743TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteMANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990RELATED ORGANIZATION REVENUE - 6023280 COST OF GOODS SOLD - 37221 ELIMINATIONS - -3199688 VARIANCE IN NET ASSET ROLLFORWARD - 15
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2(d) Other expenses in audited financial statements not in form 990Related organization expenses - 3914624 Cost of Goods Sold - 37221 ELIMINATIONS - -3199688 VARIANCE IN NET ASSET ROLLFORWARD - 1

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (3 entries)

RegionRegionTxtType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
North America (Canada & Mexico only)Program ServicesConferences, Conventions, and Meetings Fees for Services - Other Information Technology Employee benefit payments Education/Development Other Expenses - Production.$122,260
Central America and the CaribbeanProgram ServicesOrganizational Dues$279,313
Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland)Program ServicesConferences, Conventions, and Meetings Fees for Services - Other Information Technology Other Expenses - Production$48,580
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$450,153SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$450,153TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part I, Line 3 Method used to account for expenditures on org's financial statementsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN-Cash; EUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND AND GREENLAND)-Cash; NORTH AMERICA (CANADA & MEXICO ONLY)-CashExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (5 entries)

Recipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS FND
446013671501(C)3$73,500SUPPORT - CHFM & MATCHING CONTRIBUTION
ANNALS OF FAMILY MEDICINE
010576305501(C)3$241,640SUPPORT
NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES
530196932501(C)3$75,000SUPPORT - PRIMARY CARE
DARTNET INSTITUTE
453988852501(C)3$10,000SUPPORT
PHARMACY OF GRACE
825372375501(C)3$10,000SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org5Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant fundsFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE AAFP PROVIDES SUPPORT AND GRANTS TO ORGANIZATIONS WHICH ARE RECOGNIZED PUBLIC CHARITIES AND RECOGNIZED PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS PRIMARILY ASSOCIATED WITH THE FAMILY MEDICINE DISCIPLINE, MEDICAL AND HEALTH CARE FIELD THAT THE AAFP MAINTAINS CONTACT WITH THE GRANTEES THROUGH ITS EXEMPT ACTIVITIES PERFORMANCE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Steve Furr
BOARD CHAIR, BEGIN 9/24$340,549$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$340,549$0$0$0
JENNIFER BRULL
PRESIDENT, BEGIN 9/24$314,625$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$314,625$0$0$0
TOCHI IROKU-MALIZE
BOARD CHAIR, END 9/24$225,345$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$225,345$0$0$0
R SHAWN MARTIN
CEO/EVP$706,948$0$90,000$0$25,181$0$77,634$0$4,161$0$903,924$0$21,248$0
CHARLOTTE KERNER
CFO/SVP$363,649$0$250$0$4,612$0$63,541$0$28,962$0$461,014$0$1,580$0
PAULA MATTHEWS
CAO/SVP$366,800$0$0$0$2,322$0$58,484$0$38,065$0$465,671$0$0$0
HEATHER LEITH
SVP$345,557$0$0$0$3,323$0$62,151$0$36,202$0$447,233$0$1,001$0
JULIE WOOD
SVP, RESIGNED 5/25$377,990$0$0$0$8,243$0$64,685$0$30,795$0$481,713$0$3,785$0
MARGOT SAVOY
SVP$391,151$0$0$0$3,348$0$64,060$0$10,970$0$469,529$0$2,538$0
STEPHANIE QUINN
SVP$376,522$0$250$0$2,838$0$63,704$0$37,621$0$480,935$0$2,028$0
MICHELLE EMERSON
SVP, BEGIN 10/23$308,775$0$0$0$2,322$0$3,120$0$31,571$0$345,788$0$0$0
STEVEN WALDREN
VP$312,409$0$1,000$0$1,242$0$57,827$0$30,035$0$402,513$0$0$0
YALDA JABBARPOUR
DIRECTOR$308,080$0$0$0$810$0$55,277$0$0$0$364,167$0$0$0
KAREN MITCHELL
VP$304,010$0$0$0$3,564$0$57,814$0$30,795$0$396,183$0$0$0
HEATHER PALMER
VP$275,748$0$0$0$2,322$0$54,606$0$36,071$0$368,747$0$0$0
KAREN JOHNSON
VP$273,897$0$0$0$3,564$0$53,351$0$10,178$0$340,990$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a First-class or charter travelTHE OFFICERS ARE PROVIDED FIRST-CLASS TRAVEL. THE AMOUNT IS NOT INCLUDED AS REPORTABLE COMPENSATION ON THE DIRECTOR'S FORM 1099 NOR THE OFFICER'S FORM W-2.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1a Travel for companionsTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, OFFICERS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE PROVIDED COMPANION TRAVEL. THE AMOUNT IS INCLUDED AS REPORTABLE COMPENSATION ON THE DIRECTOR'S FORM 1099 AND THE OFFICER'S AND KEY EMPLOYEE'S FORM W-2.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planR SHAWN MARTIN REPORTABLE - $21,248 DEFERRED - $23,461 CHARLOTTE KERNER REPORTABLE - $1,580 DEFERRED - $2,753 PAULA MATTHEWS REPORTABLE - $0 DEFERRED - $3,152 HEATHER LEITH REPORTABLE - $1,001 DEFERRED - $1,211 JULIE WOOD REPORTABLE - $3,785 DEFERRED - $4,060 MARGOT SAVOY REPORTABLE - $2,538 DEFERRED - $4,435 STEPHANIE QUINN REPORTABLE - $2,028 DEFERRED - $4,009 THE SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN IS A NONQUALIFIED PLAN FOR THOSE WHO EXCEED THE IRS MAXIMUM RETIREMENT COMPENSATION. THE INTENT IS TO MATCH THE RETIREMENT CONTRIBUTIONS HAD THE MAXIMUMS NOT BEEN IN PLACE. SECTION 457F COMPENSATION IS TAXED IN THE YEAR OF THE VESTING, BUT THE RECIPIENT CANNOT ACCESS THE FUNDS UNTIL RETIREMENT.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a & 15BPROCESS TO ESTABLISH COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEES THE ORGANIZATION HAS A POLICY ON THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION. THE POLICY COVERS THE EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, OFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION, AND KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE ORGANIZATION. IT CONTAINS A SEPARATE REVIEW AND APPROVAL PROCESS, USE OF DATA AS TO COMPARABLE COMPENSATION, AND CONTEMPORANEOUS DOCUMENTATION AND RECORDKEEPING FOR EACH PERSON COVERED BY THE POLICY. EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED ANNUALLY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 4 Significant changes to organizational documentsEFFECTIVE DATE OF MOST RECENT BYLAWS: 9/24/2024. The bylaws were amended to extend the sunset date for designated Member Constituency delegate and alternate delegate seats at the Congress of Delegates from 2025 to 2030.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersTHE ORGANIZATION IS A MEMBERSHIP ASSOCIATION OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS. THE CLASSES OF MEMBERSHIP INCLUDE ACTIVE, INACTIVE, LIFE, HONORARY, RESIDENT, STUDENT, SUPPORTING, INTERNATIONAL AND TRANSITIONAL.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyTHE ORGANIZATION HAS MEMBERS WHO MAY ELECT ONE OR MORE MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyTHE 990 IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING (CPA) FIRM AND REVIEWED BY THE CFO OR ITS DESIGNEE. ANY QUESTIONS ARE ADDRESSED AND CORRECTIONS MADE, IF NECESSARY. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE COMMISSION ON FINANCE AND INSURANCE PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyTHE ORGANIZATION REGULARLY AND CONSISTENTLY MONITORS AND ENFORCES COMPLIANCE WITH THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY BY PROVIDING A COPY OF THE POLICY TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS, OFFICERS, MEMBER REPRESENTATIVES AND EMPLOYEES. THE ABOVE MENTIONED INDIVIDUALS ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE AND SIGN THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT AND THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE INFORMATION FORM. IF THE BOARD DETERMINES THAT AN INTERESTED PERSON HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE AN ACTUAL OR POSSIBLE PERSONAL OR PRIVATE INTEREST OR ENGAGED IN A PROHIBITED ACTION, THE BOARD MAY DO ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING: COUNSEL THE INTERESTED PERSON, EXCLUDE THE INTERESTED PERSON FROM FURTHER DISCUSSIONS AND VOTING ON THE MATTER, AND SUCH OTHER ACTIONS NOT INCONSISTENT WITH THE ACADEMY BY-LAWS AND AS DETERMINED BY THE BOARD.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicTHE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 2f Other Program Service RevenueAll other program service revenue - Total Revenue: 10354054, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 10354054, Unrelated Business Revenue: , Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: ;
Form 990, Part IX, Line 11g Other FeesProfessional & Outside Services - Total Expense: 9190474, Program Service Expense: , Management and General Expenses: , Fundraising Expenses: ; General & Administration - Total Expense: 1572957, Program Service Expense: , Management and General Expenses: , Fundraising Expenses: ;
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 Other changes in net assets or fund balancesVARIANCE IN NET ASSET ROLLFORWARD - 14; Total - 14;
Schedule F, Part I, Line 2 FOREIGN EXPENSE CLASSIFICATIONACTIVITIES CONDUCTED OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES ARE TO SUPPORT PROGRAM SERVICES AND ARE NOT CONSIDERED GRANT FUNDS. ACTIVITIES ARE GENERALLY MILESTONE RELATED, PER A CONTRACT OR FEE FOR SERVICES.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt
ACADEMY 1740 INC
11400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYLEAWOODKS66211431485548TITLE HOLDINGMO501(c)(2)AAFPYes (true)
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYS FDN
446013671GRANTSKS501(c)(3)AAFPYes (true)7
AMER ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS PAC
1133 CONNECTICUT NW STE 1100WASHINGTONDC20036562512251PACIL527AAFPYes (true)

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AAFP POOLED INV FDBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityLEAWOODCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66211ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431695097EIN
Primary ActivitiesASSET MGMTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Share Of Total Income$5,531,614ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$22,036,057ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Disproportionate AllocationsfalseDisproportionateAllocationsInd
General Or Managing PartnerYes (true)GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
Ownership0.33984OwnershipPct

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AAFP INSURANCE SERVICESBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111400 TOMAHAWK CREEK PARKWAYAddressLine1Txt
CityLEAWOODCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66211ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN431226253EIN
Primary ActivitiesINSURANCE ADMINPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Entity TypeC CorporationEntityTypeTxt
Controlled OrganizationYes (true)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (true)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (7 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS FDN
C$531,315FMV
ACADEMY 1740 INC
D$9,035,920FMV
AAFP POOLED INVESTMENT FUND
A$1,135,054FMV
AAFP POOLED INVESTMENT FUND
S$22,000,000FMV
AAFP INSURANCE SERVICES
A$110,627FMV
ACADEMY 1740 INC
K$3,044,914FMV
AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS FND
Q$1,774,073FMV