BAYFIELD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE: Form 990, tax year 2025
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- BAYFIELD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE (EIN 39-0154234)
- Tax period
- 2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
- Filed
- 2026-05-07
- IRS object ID
- 202601279349303615
- Schema version
- 2025v4.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2026-05-07T16:50:11-07:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2025-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2025-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 390154234 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | BAYFIELD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | BAYF | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7153724287 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO BOX 68 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | IRON RIVER | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 54847 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Sara Anderson | PersonNm |
| Person Title | Chief Financial Officer | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 7153724287 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2026-05-07 | SignatureDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2025 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Return | Yes (X) | InitialReturnInd |
| Principal Officer | Sara Anderspm | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | PO Box 68 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Iron River | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 54849 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $16,084,959 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | www.bayfieldelectric.com | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1940 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | WI | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Electric Energy Distribution | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 19 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 9 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $14,939,458 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $15,610,031 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $17,390 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $16,720 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $524,832 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $458,208 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $15,481,680 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $16,084,959 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $504,147 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $431,650 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,318,081 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $3,183,746 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $12,345,792 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $11,833,523 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $15,168,020 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $15,448,919 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $313,660 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $636,040 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $41,132,999 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $39,921,769 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $26,781,794 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $25,478,885 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $14,351,205 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $14,442,884 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | Committed to provide safe, reliable, and affordable electricity to rural areas through superior customer service. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $15,448,919 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $16,084,959 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | To provide electrical energy to its members | Desc |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $0 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Grant | $0 | TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue | $0 | TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $15,448,919 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | 0 | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (1) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | 0 | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 18 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | 0 | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 19 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Members And Shr Gross Income | $15,907,693 | MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt |
| Other Sources Gross Income | $177,267 | OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (1) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | WI | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | Sara Anderson | PersonNm |
| Phone | 7153724287 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 68460 District Street | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Iron River | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | WI | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 54847 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Kopel | |||||||||
| CEO | 40 | 0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $249,848 | $0 | $93,429 | |
| Robert Lahti | |||||||||
| Operations Manager | 40 | 0 | Yes (X) | $135,753 | $0 | $64,151 | |||
| Sara Anderson | |||||||||
| CFO | 40 | 0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $135,077 | $0 | $64,046 | ||
| Amanda Kavajecz | |||||||||
| Biling Specialist | 51.75 | 0 | Yes (X) | $127,215 | $0 | $50,313 | |||
| Matthew Tarasewicz | |||||||||
| Lineman | 46.59 | 0 | Yes (X) | $128,167 | $0 | $31,914 | |||
| Braden Stegmann | |||||||||
| Lineman | 51.26 | 0 | Yes (X) | $141,705 | $0 | $16,590 | |||
| Troy Seeger | |||||||||
| Line Foreman | 46.07 | 0 | Yes (X) | $136,250 | $0 | $20,263 | |||
| Mark Santikko | |||||||||
| President | 5.81 | 0 | Yes (X) | $9,300 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Curtis Berweger | |||||||||
| Secretary/Treasurer | 4.29 | 0 | Yes (X) | $7,700 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| Russell Bailey | |||||||||
| Vice President | 4.96 | 0 | Yes (X) | $7,700 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| James Kinzie | |||||||||
| Director | 5.38 | 0 | $7,450 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Barry Radloff | |||||||||
| Director | 4.17 | 0 | $7,450 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Carl Schutte | |||||||||
| Director | 4.58 | 0 | $7,450 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Roy Settgas | |||||||||
| Director | 3.31 | 0 | $5,950 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Michael Neslon | |||||||||
| Director | 2.62 | 0 | $5,200 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Robert Kretzschmar | |||||||||
| Director | 2.52 | 0 | $4,950 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,117,165 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $340,706 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 14 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | Yes (1) | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zielie's Tree Service | |||||
| 28190 State Hwy 137 | Ashland | WI | 54806 | Right-away clearing | $776,370 |
| NISC | |||||
| PO BOX 1147 | MANDAN | ND | 58554 | Computer Software & Bill Processing | $176,645 |
| A-1 Power | |||||
| PO Box 90 | Bloomer | WI | 54724 | Utility Contractor | $182,245 |
| Power Systems Engineering Inc | |||||
| 2424 Rimrock Rd Suite 300 | Madison | WI | 53713 | Engineering Services | $119,837 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Federated Campaigns | $0 | FederatedCampaignsAmt |
| Membership Dues | $0 | MembershipDuesAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
| Related Organizations | $0 | RelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Government Grants | $0 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $0 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $0 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $0 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Operating Revenue | Desc |
| Business | 221122 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $15,610,031 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $15,610,031 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $15,610,031 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $16,720 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,720 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $0 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $0 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt | ExclusionExclusionAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Non-operating Revenue | 221122 | $15,333 | $15,333 | $0 | $0 |
| Capital Credit Patronage | 221122 | $442,875 | $442,875 | $0 | $0 |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $458,208 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $16,084,959 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $16,084,959 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $431,650 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $431,650 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $605,550 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $605,550 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,760,833 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,760,833 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $656,709 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $656,709 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $160,654 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $160,654 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $38,607 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $38,607 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $42,725 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $42,725 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $25,341 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $25,341 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $999,625 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $999,625 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,733,606 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,733,606 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Revenue Tax | $240,467 | $240,467 | $0 | $0 |
| Cost of Power | $7,307,645 | $7,307,645 | $0 | $0 |
| Dues to Member Organizations | $60,496 | $60,496 | $0 | $0 |
| Other Administrative & Operational Expenses | $1,385,011 | $1,385,011 | $0 | $0 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,448,919 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $15,448,919 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,655,052 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $930,011 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,859 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,879 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,874,329 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,020,592 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,627,783 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,247,156 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $113,897 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $127,399 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $63,486,834 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $35,315,457 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,802,966 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $28,171,377 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $7,051,113 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,416,355 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,132,999 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,921,769 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $847,892 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $930,256 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $24,335,112 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $20,748,210 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,598,790 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,800,419 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $26,781,794 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $25,478,885 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Org Does Not Follow FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind |
Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $42,740 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,945 | EOYAmt |
Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,308,465 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,399,939 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $14,351,205 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,442,884 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $41,132,999 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $39,921,769 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $636,040 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $0 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $0 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Investment Expense | $0 | InvestmentExpenseAmt |
| Prior Period Adjustments | $0 | PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | -$544,361 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | Yes (1) | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
| Audit Committee | 0 | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | 0 | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $130,282 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $130,282 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $5,517,539 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,140,928 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,376,611 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $0 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $0 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $51,884,094 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $32,519,485 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $19,364,609 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Investment Cost Or Other Basis | $5,954,919 | InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $0 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,655,044 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $4,299,875 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $28,171,377 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| Non-utility Property | $133,753 |
| Investments in Associated Organizations Patronage Capital | $6,317,320 |
| Investments in Associated Organizations - Other Non-General Funds | $537,158 |
| Other Investments | $263,676 |
| Deferred Debits - Preliminary Survey Charges | $164,448 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $7,416,355 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| Consumer Deposits | $62,515 |
| Accumulated Employee Benefits | $287,584 |
| Other Current and Accrued Liabilities | $581,907 |
| Other Deferred Member Credit Balances | $108,290 |
| Other Deferred Credits | $2,760,123 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $3,800,419 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $15,610,031 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $0 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $0 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Recoveries Prior Year Grants | $0 | RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt |
| Other Revenue | $0 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $15,610,031 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $0 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $474,928 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $474,928 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $16,084,959 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $15,448,919 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $0 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Prior Year Adjustments | $0 | PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt |
| Losses Reported | $0 | LossesReportedAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $0 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $15,448,919 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $0 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $0 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $15,448,919 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 | The cooperative has evaluated its income tax position and determined that they have no uncertain tax positions that need to be recorded or reported in the financial statements as of December 31, 202 and 2025. |
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4b | Capital Credits $442,875 plus Non-operating Margins of Interest Income $16,720 plus other non-operating Income of $15,333 for a total of $474,928. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Kopel | ||||||||||||||
| CEO | $249,848 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $59,939 | $0 | $33,490 | $0 | $343,277 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Amanda Kavajecz | ||||||||||||||
| Biling Specialist | $127,215 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $22,353 | $0 | $27,959 | $0 | $177,527 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Robert Lahti | ||||||||||||||
| Operations Manager | $135,753 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $35,514 | $0 | $28,637 | $0 | $199,904 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Sara Anderson | ||||||||||||||
| CFO | $135,077 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $35,412 | $0 | $28,634 | $0 | $199,123 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Matthew Tarasewicz | ||||||||||||||
| Lineman | $128,167 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $18,606 | $0 | $13,308 | $0 | $160,081 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Braden Stegmann | ||||||||||||||
| Lineman | $141,705 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $16,065 | $0 | $525 | $0 | $158,295 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Troy Seeger | ||||||||||||||
| Line Foreman | $136,250 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,617 | $0 | $646 | $0 | $156,513 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule J, Part I, Line 3 | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The board of directors determine the wages of the CEO with the guidance of the labor attorney. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6 | The organization is a cooperative and has memberships. The cooperative association is organized without capital stock and is only one class of members with respect to voting districts. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7a | The members from each district of the cooperative shall elect a director to serve a three-year term commencing at the date of the annual meeting of the members. Each year three of the nine districts are up for re-election. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 7b | Each active membership shall be entitled to one vote for the voting needs at the member's annual meeting held with the guidelines of the bylaws each year. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11b | The process used by the organization to review the Form 990 occurs annually, at a board meeting with the entire board will review and discuss the return. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12c | The written conflict of interest policy is reviewed annually at a board meeting. If any board members have a conflict throughout the year, it is their duty to abstain from voting on a matter and notify the board it is due to a conflict. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15 | The process used to determine compensation of the top official and officers is to review the compensation and goals met by personnel and discuss in an executive session of the board. At this time the current board only reviews the CEO compensation. The CEO determines the wages of all other non-union staff. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19 | The organization makes its governing documents, conflicts of interest policy and financial statements available upon request. |
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 | Includes a total of retirement of patronage capital of -$411,702 a change in memberships of $205 and a change in other comprehensive margins of -132,866 for a total change of -$544,363.00. |