STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH SYSTEM INC: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH SYSTEM INC (EIN 52-1398513)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2026-05-12
IRS object ID
202601329349305330
Schema version
2024v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-05-12T14:24:36+00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN346565596PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ernst & Young US LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12005 Market Street Ste 700AddressLine1Txt
CityPhiladelphiaCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN521398513EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health System IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4436431000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1520 Upper Chesapeake Dr Suite 405AddressLine1Txt
CityBel AirCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21014ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMarco PrioloPersonNm
Person TitleSVP, FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone4436433340PhoneNum
Signature2026-05-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLauren E BennettPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01787029PTIN
Phone2154485000PhoneNum
Preparation2026-05-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ELIZABETH WISEBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1520 Upper Chesapeake Dr Suite 405AddressLine1Txt
CityBel AirCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21014ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$17,823,209GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.umms.org/uchWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1984FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO ASSIST IN THE MANAGEMENT OF AND TO PROVIDE SERVICES TO RELATED HEALTHCARE AFFILIATES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body21VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee106TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers17TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$32,520PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$118,917CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$14,895,682PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$15,252,588CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$220,113PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$0CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$8,050PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,393,686CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$15,156,365PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$16,765,191CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$15,000PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$10,941,613PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,232,627CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$5,128,056PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$5,670,465CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$16,084,669PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$17,903,092CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$928,304PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,137,901CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$50,474,423TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$47,994,845TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$57,041TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$10,014TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$50,417,382NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$47,984,831NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO ASSIST IN THE MANAGEMENT OF AND TO PROVIDE SERVICES TO RELATED HEALTHCARE AFFILIATES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$17,903,092ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$15,252,588RevenueAmt
DescIN DECEMBER 2013, UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH SYSTEM FORMALLY MERGED INTO THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL SYSTEM IN ORDER TO CONTINUE ITS COMMITMENT TO THE GROWING NORTHEAST MARYLAND AREA WITH EXPANDED CLINICAL SERVICE, PROGRAMS AND FACILITIES, AND PHYSICIAN RECRUITMENT. THE HEALTH SYSTEM INCLUDES ONE ACUTE CARE, NOT-FOR-PROFIT HOSPITAL, UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL CENTER IN BEL AIR, MD. THE MISSION OF THE HEALTH SYSTEM IS DEDICATION TO MAINTAINING AND IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE IN ITS COMMUNITIES THROUGH AN INTEGRATED HEALTH DELIVERY SYSTEM THAT PROVIDES HIGH QUALITY CARE TO ALL. HEALTH SYSTEM CURRENT STATISTICS: 2,668 EMPLOYEES 528 PHYSICIANS IN 39 SPECIALTIES INFORMATION FOR UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL CENTER: 257 TOTAL LICENSED BEDS 14,768 TOTAL ADMISSIONS 1,242 DELIVERIES 77,402 EMERGENCY DEPARTMENT VISITS 91,147 OUTPATIENT VISITS 6,435 SAME-DAY SURGICAL PROCEDURES 2,793 INPATIENT SURGICAL PROCEDURESDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$17,903,092TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document0IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee106EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtYes (true)SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members21GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersfalsePoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (true)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedurefalseWrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JENINE WARNKEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4434625811PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1900 ELKRIDGE LANDING ROAD - 3 EASTAddressLine1Txt
CityLINTHICUMCityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP21090ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
BRYAN E KELLY
CHAIRMAN1.06.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENNIS KURGANSKY MD
SECRETARY1.06.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH WISE
PRESIDENT/CEO, UCHS40.09.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$719,937$0$131,887
JAMES M HARKINS
VICE CHAIRMAN1.08.5Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL F ALLEN
TREASURER1.05.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ADELE A WILZACK RN MS
DIRECTOR1.06.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALBERT JA YOUNG ESQ
DIRECTOR1.05.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
ALICIA L CUNNINGHAM
DIRECTOR1.042.0Yes (X)$0$611,951$43,530
CHARLES E ALEXANDER
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES C RICHARDSON MD
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA THOMAS MD
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELINDA L CRAIG
DIRECTOR1.06.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MOHAN SUNTHA MD
PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMMS1.060.0Yes (X)$0$3,870,578$70,039
R BRYAN KILBY
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD P STREETT JR VMD
DIRECTOR1.06.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
RYAN D JOHN
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SANJEEV KUMAR MD
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHARON M LIPFORD
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
THERESA B FELDER
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOBIAS MUSSER
DIRECTOR1.04.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
V DIXON KING MD
DIRECTOR1.03.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARCO PRIOLO
SVP, Finance40.08.0Yes (X)$398,161$0$89,335
COLIN P WARD
SVP/COO40.00$457,676$0$52,904Yes (X)
FERMIN BARRUETO JR MD
SVP MED AFFAIRS/CMO40.01.0$748,653$0$49,551Yes (X)
KENNETH M FERRARA
VP/EXECUTIVE DIR-FOUNDATION40.01.0$406,015$0$51,676Yes (X)
ANTONIO DEPAOLO
VP TRANSFORMATION40.00$384,030$0$34,835Yes (X)
FAHEEM YOUNUS
CHIEF QUALITY OFFICER40.00$505,303$0$54,949Yes (X)
MARK SHAVER
SVP Strategy and Business Development40.02.0$419,522$0$101,870Yes (X)
MICHELLE DALESSANDRO
SVP PCS and CNO40.00$312,548$0$79,557Yes (X)
MUHAMMAD JOKHADAR MD
PHYSICIAN40.00$562,687$0$56,088Yes (X)
AARON J RABINOWITZ
Former Officer0.040.0$0$1,002,676$57,439Yes (X)
LISA C ROWEN RN
FORMER CHIEF NURSE EXECUTIVE, UMMS0.00.0$0$589,226$27,889Yes (X)
ROBIN LUXON
Former Key Employee0.040.0$0$606,553$36,900Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$4,914,532TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$6,680,984TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$938,449TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K30IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
innovative health services
29516 Canvasback DrSte 100EastonMD21601consulting services$167,817
STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIP
1600 Duke StreetAlexandriaVA22314Consulting services$117,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$118,917GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$0AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$118,917TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
MANAGEMENT FEES561499$15,252,588$15,252,588$0$0
$0$0$0$0
$0$0$0$0
$0$0$0$0
$0$0$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$15,252,588TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$2,451,704RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,058,018RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,393,686RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,393,686TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,393,686ExclusionAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,765,191TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$15,252,588RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,393,686ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,105,795TotalAmt
Program Services$3,105,795ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,654,965TotalAmt
Program Services$7,654,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$231,008TotalAmt
Program Services$231,008ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$732,508TotalAmt
Program Services$732,508ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$508,351TotalAmt
Program Services$508,351ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$69,857TotalAmt
Program Services$69,857ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,262TotalAmt
Program Services$19,262ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,306TotalAmt
Program Services$37,306ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$367,085TotalAmt
Program Services$367,085ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$82,997TotalAmt
Program Services$82,997ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,857TotalAmt
Program Services$89,857ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,551,643TotalAmt
Program Services$1,551,643ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,136,897TotalAmt
Program Services$2,136,897ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Purchased Services$1,294,881$1,294,881$0$0
Medical Supplies$20,680$20,680$0$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,903,092TotalAmt
Program Services$17,903,092ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$14,924EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,613BOYAmt
EOY$19,987EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$56,294,277LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$8,475,490LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,425,290BOYAmt
EOY$47,818,787EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,520BOYAmt
EOY$141,147EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,474,423BOYAmt
EOY$47,994,845EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,041BOYAmt
EOY$10,014EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,041BOYAmt
EOY$10,014EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,608,907BOYAmt
EOY$47,176,356EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$808,475BOYAmt
EOY$808,475EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,417,382BOYAmt
EOY$47,984,831EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,474,423BOYAmt
EOY$47,994,845EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,137,901ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$1,294,650OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type3 Func IntYes (X)SupportingOrgType3FuncIntInd
IRS Written DeterminationYes (X)IRSWrittenDeterminationInd
Supported Organizations5SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (5 entries)

EINEINOrganization TypeOrganizationTypeCdGoverning Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedIndSupportSupportAmtOther SupportOtherSupportAmt
HARFORD MEMORIAL HOSPITAL
5213985073Yes (true)$0$0
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL SERVICES INC
5215017349Yes (true)$0$1,441,913
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL CENTER INC
5212539203Yes (true)$0$13,838,993
UPPER CHESAPEAKE RESIDENTIAL HOSPICE HOUSE INC
2647370287Yes (true)$0$0
Harford Crisis Center Inc
5212297429Yes (true)$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total5SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$0SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$15,280,906OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (true)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Sprt Org All Form990SchAType3SprtOrgAllGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Timely Provided DocumentsYes (true)TimelyProvidedDocumentsInd
Officers Close RelationshipYes (true)OfficersCloseRelationshipInd
Supported Org Voice InvestmentYes (true)SupportedOrgVoiceInvestmentInd

Form990 Sch A Type3 Func Int Form990SchAType3FuncIntGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Parent Supported OrgYes (X)ParentSupportedOrgInd
Appoint Elect Majority OfficerYes (true)AppointElectMajorityOfficerInd
Exercise Direction PoliciesYes (true)ExerciseDirectionPoliciesInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule A, Part I, Line 12g(vi) Amount of other supportThese amounts represent management services provided.
Schedule A, Part IV, Section D, Line 3 Supp. Org. Have Significant Voice In Investment PoliciesBoth the organization and the supported organizations have the same management and leadership team resulting in the supported organizations having a significant voice in the operations of the supporting organization.
Schedule A, Part IV, Section E, Line 3a Organization have the power to regularly appoint or elect aPER THE BYLAWS FOR EACH SUPPORTED ORGANIZATION, THE FILING ORGANIZATION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS THE POWER TO REGULARLY APPOINT OR ELECT A MAJORITY OF THE OFFICERS AND DIRECTORS OF EACH OF ITS SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS. DUE TO THE STRUCTURE OF THE INTEGRATED HEALTH SYSTEM AND THE EXISTENCE OF SIGNIFICANT BOARD OVERLAP, THE FILING ORGANIZATION EXERCISES A SUBSTANTIAL DEGREE OF DIRECTION OVER THE POLICIES, PROGRAMS, AND ACTIVITIES OF EACH OF ITS SUPPORTED ORGANIZATIONS.

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,060,306OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,060,306BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$38,729,640OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,462,065DepreciationAmt
Book Value$35,267,575BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,320,558OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$895,732DepreciationAmt
Book Value$424,826BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,183,773OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,117,693DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,066,080BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$47,818,787TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDesc
Federal Income Taxes
Other Liabilities
Due to affiliates
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$0TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$0RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$0TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$0ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$0TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION IS A SUBSIDIARY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL SYSTEM CORPORATION (THE CORPORATION). THE CORPORATION ADOPTED THE PROVISIONS OF ASC 740, ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN THE INCOME TAXES (FIN 48) ON JULY 1, 2007. THE FOOTNOTE RELATED TO ASC 740 IN THE CORPORATION'S AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS AS FOLLOWS: THE CORPORATION FOLLOWS A THRESHOLD OF MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT FOR RECOGNITION AND DERECOGNITION OF TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. MANAGEMENT DOES NOT BELIEVE THAT THERE ARE ANY UNRECOGNIZED TAX LIABILITIES OR BENEFITS THAT SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
ELIZABETH WISE
PRESIDENT/CEO, UCHS$525,332$0$166,901$0$27,704$0$101,081$0$30,806$0$851,824$0$0$0
LISA C ROWEN RN
FORMER CHIEF NURSE EXECUTIVE, UMMS$0$349,861$0$170,104$0$69,261$0$13,800$0$14,089$0$617,115$0$0
ALICIA L CUNNINGHAM
DIRECTOR$0$388,456$0$146,459$0$77,036$0$13,800$0$29,730$0$655,481$0$0
MOHAN SUNTHA MD
PRESIDENT AND CEO, UMMS$0$2,035,925$0$1,438,800$0$395,853$0$13,800$0$56,239$0$3,940,617$0$0
AARON J RABINOWITZ
Former Officer$0$675,600$0$217,759$0$109,317$0$13,800$0$43,639$0$1,060,115$0$0
MARCO PRIOLO
SVP, Finance$292,953$0$81,565$0$23,643$0$50,325$0$39,010$0$487,496$0$0$0
ROBIN LUXON
Former Key Employee$0$424,922$0$123,242$0$58,389$0$13,800$0$23,100$0$643,453$0$0
FERMIN BARRUETO JR MD
SVP MED AFFAIRS/CMO$501,256$0$167,558$0$79,839$0$13,800$0$35,751$0$798,204$0$0$0
KENNETH M FERRARA
VP/EXECUTIVE DIR-FOUNDATION$273,991$0$86,070$0$45,954$0$11,396$0$40,280$0$457,691$0$0$0
COLIN P WARD
SVP/COO$338,129$0$76,447$0$43,100$0$13,779$0$39,125$0$510,580$0$0$0
MICHELLE DALESSANDRO
SVP PCS and CNO$248,380$0$61,590$0$2,578$0$40,980$0$38,577$0$392,105$0$0$0
ANTONIO DEPAOLO
VP TRANSFORMATION$211,647$0$42,380$0$130,003$0$8,952$0$25,883$0$418,865$0$97,670$0
MUHAMMAD JOKHADAR MD
PHYSICIAN$343,099$0$71,866$0$147,722$0$15,110$0$40,978$0$618,775$0$83,327$0
MARK SHAVER
SVP Strategy and Business Development$305,025$0$84,840$0$29,657$0$54,504$0$47,366$0$521,392$0$0$0
FAHEEM YOUNUS
CHIEF QUALITY OFFICER$364,159$0$76,673$0$64,471$0$15,792$0$39,157$0$560,252$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planDURING THE FISCAL YEAR- ENDED JUNE 30, 2025, CERTAIN OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATED IN THE UMMS SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN. THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED BELOW HAVE NOT VESTED IN THE PLAN THEREFORE THE ACCRUED CONTRIBUTION TO THE PLAN FOR THE FISCAL YEAR IS REPORTED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN C, RETIREMENT AND OTHER DEFERRED COMPENSATION: ELIZABETH WISE MARCO PRIOLO MARK SHAVER MICHELLE DALESSANDRO DURING THE FISCAL YEAR-ENDED JUNE 30, 2025, CERTAIN OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATED IN THE UMMS SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN. THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED BELOW HAVE VESTED IN THE PLAN IN THE REPORTING TAX YEAR, THEREFORE THE FULL VALUE OF THE PLAN, INCLUDING ANY CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN FOR THE CURRENT FISCAL YEAR ARE REPORTED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION AND REPORTED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, LINE B(III), OTHER REPORTABLE COMPENSATION. PRIOR YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN WERE PREVIOUSLY REPORTED ON FORM 990 AND ARE INDICATED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN (F). Antonio DePaolo, $126,325 Muhammad Jokhadar, MD, $113,516 DURING THE FISCAL YEAR-ENDED JUNE 30, 2025, CERTAIN OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES PARTICIPATED IN THE UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL SYSTEM (UMMS) SUPPLEMENTAL NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN. THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED BELOW HAVE VESTED IN THE PLAN IN A PRIOR YEAR, THEREFORE THE CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ARE REPORTED AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION AND REPORTED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, LINE B (III), OTHER REPORTABLE MOHAN SUNTHA, MD, $374,969 KENNETH M FERRARA, $34,187 COLIN P WARD, $41,336 FERMIN BARRUETO JR, MD, $54,517 AARON RABINOWITZ, $85,195 ROBIN LUXON, $51,740 ALICIA CUNNINGHAM, $50,130 LISA ROWEN, RN, $44,328 FAHEEM YOUNUS, $41,454
Schedule J, Part I, Line 7 Non-fixed paymentsBONUSES PAID ARE BASED ON A NUMBER OF VARIABLES INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO INDIVIDUAL GOAL ACHIEVEMENTS AS WELL AS ORGANIZATION OPERATION ACHIEVEMENTS. THE FINAL DETERMINATION OF THE BONUS AMOUNT IS DETERMINED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD AS PART OF THE OVERALL COMPENSATION REVIEW OF THE OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersUNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL SYSTEM CORPORATION (UMMS) IS THE SOLE MEMBER OF UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH SYSTEM.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodyUMMS MAY ELECT ONE OR MORE BOARD MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersThe following decisions of the governing body are among those subject to the approval of the member: amendment of charter documents; dissolution of the organization; strategic plans; participation in joint ventures; leases or intercompany transfers of assets, subject to certain dollar thresholds; annual operating and capital budgets; acquisition or disposition of an entity or substantially all assets; merger or consolidation of entity; mortgage, pledge or disposition of property; and incurrence of debt or real property, subject to certain dollar thresholds.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyThe University of Maryland Medical System ("UMMS") prepares the IRS Form 990 for UMMS and its affiliates. Information needed to complete the return is gathered by accounting personnel in the Finance Shared Services department under the supervision of the UMMS Tax Director. Draft returns are prepared using IRS-approved tax software. Once a draft return is prepared, it undergoes multiple levels of review both internally by UMMS tax & finance personnel, and externally by Ernst & Young LLP. Following any necessary changes to the return, a final draft is reviewed by each affiliate's vice president of finance and/or CFO. Prior to filing the IRS Form 990, the organization's board chairman, treasurer, governance committee, finance committee or other member(s) of the board with similar authority will review the IRS Form 990. All board members are provided with a copy of the final IRS Form 990 before filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyThe filing organization follows the University of Maryland Medical System (UMMS) Conflicts of Interest Policy, which requires that all Covered Persons disclose conflicts of interest or potential conflicts of interest between their personal interests and the interests of the organization, or any entity controlled by or owned in substantial part by the organization. Covered Persons means any member of the organization's Board of Directors, a member of a committee of the Board, an officer, or an employee of organization (including subsidiaries) at the VP level or above. The organization (or its sole member) is responsible for administering and enforcing the Conflicts of Interest Policy (Policy). The Governance Committee (or other Board committee having similar authority) reviews any and all conflicts, shall report annually to the full Board on the administration, infractions, and enforcement of the Policy and shall report at the earliest opportunity all matters of concern to the full Board in executive session while interested parties are recused. The organization or its sole member's Compliance Officer is the responsible administrative authority to assist the Board in administering and enforcing the Conflicts of Interest Policy and bringing concerns to the oversight committee. A questionnaire which discloses potential conflicts of interest is distributed annually to Covered Persons. The Chief Compliance Officer of the University of Maryland Medical System Corporation (UMMS) distributes and collects the responses for UMMS and other affiliates, and may be called for consult when potential conflicts are disclosed. If the oversight Committee determines that a Conflict of Interest exists, the Committee shall notify the Covered Person and the organization's Board Chair, and further will notify the full Board at its next meeting. Furthermore, in the event the Committee determines that an actual or perceived Conflict of Interest exists, the Committee shall decide how to address the Conflict of Interest. If the Committee determines that a Conflict of Interest exists but that the organization may enter into the subject transaction or arrangement, the interested Covered Person shall be recused from all deliberations and decisions concerning said transaction or arrangement, any arrangements with that entity, and compensation or benefits for officers, directors, and trustees. Furthermore, the Chair of the Board and the Chairs of the oversight Committee and the Audit and Compliance Committee shall not have any Business Transactions with UMMS, nor shall their Family Members. If the oversight Committee determines that a Covered Person has used their position to accrue Excess Benefits or to knowingly assist others in accruing Excess Benefits in any way at the expense of the organization, the Committee shall recommend to the Executive Committee appropriate corrective action to be taken.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management officialTHE ORGANIZATION DETERMINES THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PAID TO ITS EXECUTIVES IN THE FOLLOWING MANNER PRESCRIBED IN THE IRS REGULATIONS: EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PACKAGES ARE DETERMINED BY A COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD THAT IS COMPOSED ENTIRELY OF BOARD MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE COMMITTEE ACQUIRES CREDIBLE COMPARABILITY MARKET DATA CONCERNING THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES OF SIMILARLY SITUATED EXECUTIVES. THE COMMITTEE CAREFULLY REVIEWS THAT DATA, THE EXECUTIVE'S PERFORMANCE AND THE PROPOSED COMPENSATION PACKAGES DURING THE DECISION MAKING PROCESS. THE COMMITTEE MEMORIALIZES ITS DELIBERATIONS IN DETAILED MINUTES REVIEWED AND ADOPTED AT THE NEXT-FOLLOWING MEETING. THE COMMITTEE SEEKS AN OPINION OF COUNSEL THAT IT HAS MET THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE IRS INTERMEDIATE SANCTIONS REGULATIONS. THIS PROCESS IS USED TO DETERMINE THE COMPENSATION PACKAGES FOR ALL MANAGEMENT EMPLOYEES FROM THE VICE PRESIDENT LEVEL AND UP.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicTHE ORGANIZATION'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE MADE PUBLICLY AVAILABLE THROUGH THE STATE OF MARYLAND VIA THE SECRETARY OF STATE'S OFFICE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS GENERALLY AVAILABLE ON THE ORGANIZATION'S OR AFFILIATE'S WEBSITE. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE MADE PUBLICLY AVAILABLE ON A QUARTERLY BASIS THROUGH FILINGS ON THE ELECTRONIC MUNICIPAL MARKET ACCESS ("EMMA") SYSTEM.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 Other changes in net assets or fund balancesCapital Transfers from Affiliates - 20755813; CIP Clearing - -22050463; Total - -1294650;

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
HOSPICE OF HARFORD COUNTY LLC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRIVEBEL AIRMD21014521398513HOSPICEMD$0$0UCUMV
UCHSUMMS VENTURE LLC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRIVEBEL AIRMD21014522178070HEALTHCAREMD$0$0UMUCHS

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (36 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
BALTIMORE WASHINGTON EMERGENCY PHYS INC
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061521756326HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IBWHSfalse
BALTIMORE WASHINGTON HEALTHCARE SERVICES
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061521830243HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IUMBWMSfalse
BALTIMORE WASHINGTON MEDICAL CENTER INC
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061520689917HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMBWMSfalse
UM BALTIMORE WASHINGTON MEDICAL SYSTEM
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061521830242HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IUMMSCfalse
NORTH ARUNDEL DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061521318404REAL ESTATEMD501(c)(2)NCCfalse
NORTH COUNTY CORPORATION
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061521591355REAL ESTATEMD501(c)(2)UMBWMSfalse
CHESTER RIVER HEALTH FOUNDATION INC
100 BROWN STREETCHESTERTOWNMD21620521338861FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)8UMSRHfalse
UNIV OF MD SHORE REGIONAL HEALTH INC
219 SOUTH WASHINGTON STREETEASTONMD21601522046500HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IUMMSCfalse
CHESTER RIVER HOSPITAL CENTER
100 BROWN STREETCHESTERTOWNMD21620520679694HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMSRHfalse
CHESTER RIVER MANOR INC
100 BROWN STREETCHESTERTOWNMD21620526070333HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)10UMSRHfalse
MARYLAND GENERAL CLINICAL PRACTICE GROUP
827 LINDEN AVENUEBALTIMOREMD21201521566211HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IIUMMTHfalse
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MIDTOWN HEALTH INC
827 LINDEN AVENUEBALTIMOREMD21201521175337HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IIUMMSCfalse
MARYLAND GENERAL HOSPITAL INC
827 LINDEN AVENUEBALTIMOREMD21201520591667HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMMTHfalse
CARE HEALTH SERVICES INC
219 SOUTH WASHINGTON STREETEASTONMD21601521510269HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)10SHSfalse
MEMORIAL HOSPITAL FOUNDATION INC
219 SOUTH WASHINGTON STREETEASTONMD21601521282080FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type ISHSfalse
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND COMMUNITY MEDICAL
219 South Washington StreetEastonMD21601521874111HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMSRHfalse
SHORE HEALTH SYSTEM INC
219 SOUTH WASHINGTON STREETEASTONMD21601520610538HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMSRHfalse
JAMES LAWRENCE KERNAN HOSPITAL INC
2200 KERNAN DRIVEBALTIMOREMD21207520591639HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMMSCfalse
UMMS FOUNDATION INC
22 SOUTH GREENE STREETBALTIMOREMD21201522238893FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type IUMMSCfalse
UNIVERSITY OF MD MEDICAL SYSTEM CORP
22 SOUTH GREENE STREETBALTIMOREMD21201521362793HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3NAfalse
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CHARLES REGIONAL
PO BOX 1070LA PLATAMD20646522155576HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type III-FIUMMSCfalse
CIVISTA MEDICAL CENTER INC
PO BOX 1070LA PLATAMD20646520445374HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMCRHfalse
CHARLES REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER FOUNDATION
PO BOX 1070LA PLATAMD20646521414564FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type IUMCRHfalse
UNIV OF MD ST JOSEPH FOUNDATION INC
7601 OSLER DRIVETOWSONMD21204521681044FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type IUMSJHSfalse
UMSJ HEALTH SYSTEM LLC
7601 OSLER DRIVETOWSONMD21204462097818HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMMSCfalse
HARFORD MEMORIAL HOSPITAL INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014520591484HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMUCHSYes (true)
UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH FOUNDATION INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014521398507FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type IUMUCHSYes (true)
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL CENTER INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014521253920HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMUCHSYes (true)
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL SERVICES INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014521501734HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)10UMUCHSYes (true)
UPPER CHESAPEAKE PROPERTIES INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014521907237REAL ESTATEMD501(c)(2)UMUCHSYes (true)
UPPER CHES RESIDENTIAL HOSPICE HOUSE INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014264737028HOSPICEMD501(c)(3)10UMUCHSYes (true)
HARFORD CRISIS CENTER INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014521229742HOME CAREMD501(c)(3)Type IIUMUCHSYes (true)
UM CAPITAL REGION HEALTH INC
250 W PRATT ST STE 2400BALTIMOREMD21201823596114HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IUMMSCfalse
DIMENSIONS HEALTH CORPORATION
901 HARRY S TRUMAN DR NUPPER MARLBOROMD20785521289729HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)3UMMSCfalse
DIMENSIONS HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES
901 HARRY S TRUMAN DRIVE NUPPER MARLBOROMD20785521902711HEALTHCAREMD501(c)(3)Type IUMCAPRHfalse
UCH LEGACY FUNDING CORPORATION
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014520882914FUNDRAISINGMD501(c)(3)Type IINAfalse

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (9 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxtDisproportionate AllocationsDisproportionateAllocationsIndGeneral Or Managing PartnerGeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
BALTIMORE WASHINGTON IMAGING
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061200806027HEALTHCAREMDUMBWMSN/Afalsefalse
UNIVERSITYCARE LLC
419 W REDWOOD ST STE 220BALTIMOREMD21201521914892HEALTHCAREMDUMMSCN/Afalsefalse
O'DEA MEDICAL ARTS LIMITED PAR
7601 OSLER DRIVETOWSONMD21204521682964RENTALMDSJMC PROPN/Afalsefalse
ADVANCED IMAGING AT ST JOSEPH
7601 OSLER DRIVETOWSONMD21204521958002HEALTHCAREMDUMSJMCN/Afalsefalse
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND CHARLES
PO BOX 1070LAPLATAMD20646300956382HEALTHCAREMDUMCRCPN/Afalsefalse
BALTIMORE ASC VENTURES LLC
7620 YORK ROADTOWSONMD21204824133899HEALTHCAREDEUMSJMCN/Afalsefalse
UCHSUMMS REAL ESTATE TRUST
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRIVEBEL AIRMD21014276803540HOLDING COMDUMMSCN/Afalsefalse
UM CHESAPEAKE SURGERY CENTER LLC
515 SOUTH TOLLGATE ROADBEL AIRMD21014873038857HEALTHCAREMDUCHVN/Afalsefalse
RUXTON SURGICENTER LLC
1122 KENILWORTH DRIVETOWSONMD21014522095835HEALTHCAREMDUMSJMCN/Afalsefalse

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (13 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndEINEINShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
NA EXECUTIVE BUILDING CONDO ASSN INC
301 HOSPITAL DRIVEGLEN BURNIEMD21061REAL ESTATEMDNAC Corporationfalse
UM CHARLES REGIONAL CARE PARTNERS
PO BOX 1070LA PLATAMD20646HEALTHCAREMDNAC Corporationfalse522176314
UNIVERSITY MIDTOWN PROF CENTER
827 LINDEN AVENUEBALTIMOREMD21201REAL ESTATEMDNAC Corporationfalse521891126
UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND MEDICAL SYSTEM HE
900 Elkridge Landing RdLinthicumMD21090INSURANCEMDNAC Corporationfalse452815722
UPPER CHESAPEAKE HEALTH VENTURES INC
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014HEALTHCAREMDNAC CorporationYes (true)522031264$0
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL CENTER LAND CON
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014REAL ESTATEMDNAC CorporationYes (true)770674478
UPPER CHESAPEAKE MEDICAL OFFICE BUILDING
520 UPPER CHESAPEAKE DRBEL AIRMD21014REAL ESTATEMDNAC CorporationYes (true)521946829
SHORE ORTHOPEDICS INC
219 S WASHINGTON STREETEASTONMD21601HEALTHCAREMDNAC Corporationfalse371817262
MADISON MANOR INC
5801 42ND AVEHYATTSVILLEMD20781HEALTHCAREMDNAC Corporationfalse521269059
AFFILIATED ENTERPRISES INC
901 HARRY S TRUMAN DR NUPPER MARLBOROMD20785HEALTHCAREMDNAC Corporationfalse521542144
RIVERSIDE HEALTH OF DELAWARE INC
900 ELKRIDGE LANDING RDLINTHICUMMD21090HEALTHCAREDENAC Corporationfalse463205820
RIVERSIDE HEALTH OF DC INC
900 ELKRIDGE LANDING RDLINTHICUMMD21090HEALTHCAREDCNAC Corporationfalse461411713
GALLION HEALTH INC
250 W PRATT STREETBALTIMOREMD21201TECHNOLOGYDENAC Corporationfalse332918646
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (true)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Upper Chesapeake Medical Center Inc
L$13,838,993Cost
Upper Chesapeake Medical Services Inc
L$1,441,913cost
Upper Chesapeake Health Foundation Inc
O$416,264cost
Upper Chesapeake Medical Services Inc
O$317,412cost