STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2025

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION (EIN 36-3047069)
Tax period
2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31
Filed
2026-05-07
IRS object ID
202631279349303463
Schema version
2025v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-05-07T14:24:24-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN350921680PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CROWE LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1575 MARKET STREET SUITE 3300AddressLine1Txt
CitySAN FRANCISCOCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP941055829ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2025-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363047069EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHEALBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6302765555PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3053AddressLine1Txt
CityNAPERVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60566ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOSEPH J KREGULPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone6302765555PhoneNum
Signature2026-05-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonDIANE KIRMACIPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01578407PTIN
Phone4155761100PhoneNum
Preparation2026-04-22PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2025TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOSEPH J KREGULPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3053AddressLine1Txt
CityNAPERVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60566ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$29,026,970GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.HACU.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1979FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION'S MISSION IS TO ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG ITS MEMBERS AND CREATE A SOURCE OF REASONABLE CREDIT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee74TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$56,548TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$2,618NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,054,863PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$24,035,166CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,367,171PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,980,488CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$13,383PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$11,316CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$28,435,417PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$29,026,970CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$5,346,401PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$6,244,918CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,172,504PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,258,821CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$12,534,265PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$13,339,174CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$25,053,170PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$26,842,913CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,382,247PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,184,057CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$464,792,724TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$479,437,833TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$414,130,808TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$420,854,064TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$50,661,916NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$58,583,769NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE MISSION OF HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION IS TO ENCOURAGE THRIFT AMONG ITS MEMBERS AND CREATE A SOURCE OF REASONABLE CREDIT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescLOANS ARE GRANTED TO INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MEMBERS THAT ARE IN GOOD STANDING WITH THE CREDIT UNION AND WHO QUALIFY FOR SUCH LOANS. LOANS PROVIDED CONSIST OF HOME EQUITY, CREDIT CARD, AND VEHICLE LOANS. ALSO, SHAREDRAFT ACCOUNTS ARE OFFERED AT A NO-MONTHLY FEE BASIS TO THOSE MEMBERS WHO APPLY AND ARE IN GOOD STANDING WITH THE CREDIT UNION. AS WELL AS, ATM/DEBIT CARDS AND CHECKCARDS ARE AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS WHO APPLY FOR ELECTRONIC ACCESS TO THEIR ACCOUNTS FOR DEPOSIT AND WITHDRAWAL OF FUNDS AND ACCOUNT INFORMATION.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyYes (1)PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document10131IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee74EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ADAM DUMOULINBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone6302765555PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3053AddressLine1Txt
CityNAPERVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60566ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DAYLA L RANDOLPH
VICE CHAIR (THROUGH 2/25)/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES MARSEILLE
DIRECTOR (THROUGH 6/25)1.00Yes (X)$2,700$0$0
EDWARD HOLZHAUER
VICE CHAIRMAN (FROM 2/25)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$3,600$0$0
DEAN COMBER
DIRECTOR (FROM 2/25)1.00Yes (X)$3,900$0$0
SAMEER SHAH
DIRECTOR (FROM 2/25)1.00Yes (X)$3,900$0$0
WILLIAM J HUFF
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$4,700$0$0
LUCY ZIELINSKI
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$4,700$0$0
KENNETH C ROBBINS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$5,300$0$0
KENNETH J ROJEK
TREAS./SEC.(THROUGH 2/25)/DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$6,800$0$0
VINCE D KEENAN
TREASURER/SECRETARY (FROM 2/25)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,100$0$0
JACK A GILBERT
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$10,300$0$0
JOSEPH J KREGUL
PRESIDENT/CEO50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$468,896$0$61,248
ADAM T DUMOULIN
SVP/CFO50.00Yes (X)$239,885$0$89,673
TODD NIEDERMEIER
SVP/COO50.00Yes (X)$300,233$0$73,659
JORDAN CSEPREGI
VP MARKETING40.00$195,013$0$21,186Yes (X)
ELIAN M CABAN
VP MEMBER SERVICES55.00$201,589$0$24,821Yes (X)
JASON BADE
VP INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY50.00$246,865$0$23,220Yes (X)
NICHOLAS SPALO
ACCOUNTING MANAGER40.00$115,772$0$34,226Yes (X)
SHEENA GIGANTE
VP BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT40.00$134,496$0$13,075Yes (X)
JEAN MORRIS
VP LENDING40.00$145,364$0$39,723Yes (X)
GEORGE DETTLOFF
COMPLIANCE MANAGER40.00$101,776$0$32,799Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,202,889TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$413,630TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JACK HENRY & ASSOCIATES INC
663 W HWY 60MONETTMO65708CORE DATA PROCESSING SYSTEM SERVICES$1,418,511
DEVELOPMENT SOLUTIONS INC
1900 SPRING ROAD SUITE 510OAK BROOKIL60523OFFICE CONSTRUCTION$1,215,457
ALKAMI TECHNOLOGY
5601 GRANTITE PARKWAY STE 120PLANOTX75024WEBSITE AND INTERNET BANKING SERVICES$681,297
BDO DIGITAL
PO BOX 642743PITTSBURGHPA152642743IT CONSULTING$642,561
HENRICKSON
1101 W THORNDALEITASCAIL60143OFFICE FURNITURE SOLUTIONS$301,466
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K21CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
MEMBER LOANS522100$19,749,493$19,749,493
SHARE/CHECK PROGRAM522100$2,226,380$2,191,099$35,281
ATM/DEBIT CARD SERVICES522100$1,052,930$1,033,103$19,827
CREDIT CARD PROGRAM522100$775,266$775,266
INSURANCE PROGRAM522100$231,097$231,097
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$24,035,166TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,980,488TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,980,488ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
SALLIE MAE REFERRAL FEES900099$9,876$9,876
ILLINOIS VEHICLE REGISTRATION FEE561990$1,440$1,440
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$11,316OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$29,026,970TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$23,989,934RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$56,548UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,980,488ExclusionAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,244,918TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,999,287TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,513,158TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$373,425TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$968,994TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$403,957TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,541TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$246,201TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,849,253TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$807,626TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$642,647TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,039,529TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$875,380TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$225,035TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,106,309TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$525,518TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,597TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
ATM/INTERNET BRANCH EXP$1,922,066
LOAN LOSS PROVISION$1,590,899
LOAN EXPENSES$802,784

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$561,789TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,842,913TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$744,725BOYAmt
EOY$817,455EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,795,537BOYAmt
EOY$25,786,341EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,259,499BOYAmt
EOY$5,580,036EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$321,149,310BOYAmt
EOY$333,336,546EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$287,134BOYAmt
EOY$372,036EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$10,227,501LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$7,463,094LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$765,111BOYAmt
EOY$2,764,407EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,043,388BOYAmt
EOY$100,486,059EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,748,020BOYAmt
EOY$10,294,953EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$464,792,724BOYAmt
EOY$479,437,833EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,124,618BOYAmt
EOY$8,653,608EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,865BOYAmt
EOY$82,576EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$596,186BOYAmt
EOY$863,345EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$15,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$394,368,139BOYAmt
EOY$396,254,535EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$414,130,808BOYAmt
EOY$420,854,064EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,661,916BOYAmt
EOY$58,583,769EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,661,916BOYAmt
EOY$58,583,769EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$464,792,724BOYAmt
EOY$479,437,833EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,184,057ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,309,432NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$428,364OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expended527 Activities$0Expended527ActivitiesAmt
Internal Funds Contributed$12,440InternalFundsContributedAmt
Total Exempt Function Expend$12,440TotalExemptFunctionExpendAmt
Form1120 POL FiledYes (1)Form1120POLFiledInd

Section527 Political Org Section527PoliticalOrgGrp

Organization Business Name OrganizationBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CUPACBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11807 W DIEHL RDAddressLine1Txt
CityNAPERVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60563ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363092340EIN
Paid Internal Funds$12,440PaidInternalFundsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE C, PART I-A, LINE 1 - DESCRIPTION OF POLITICAL ACTIVITIESFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION CONTRIBUTED INTO A PAC WITH CUPAC FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR. A SEPERATE FORM 1120-POL WAS FILED TO PAY THE REQUIRED TAX ON THE AMOUNT.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,240,705OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,794,905DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,445,800BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,073,524OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,872,206DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,201,318BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,913,272OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,795,983DepreciationAmt
Book Value$117,289BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,764,407TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescGOVERNMENT FEDERAL AGENCY SECURITIESDesc
Book Value$100,486,059BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$100,486,059TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARE ACCOUNTSDesc
Amt$396,254,535Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$396,254,535TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$34,764,766TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,309,432NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$428,364OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,737,796RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$29,026,970RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$29,026,970TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,842,913TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$26,842,913ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$26,842,913TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:MEMBERS' ESCROWED FUNDS ARE HELD IN A SHARE ACCOUNT UNTIL ESCROW PAYMENTS ARE DISBURSED.
PART X, LINE 2:THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE ("IRS") AND CERTAIN STATE TAXING AUTHORITIES ARE EVALUATING WHAT, IF ANY, PRODUCTS AND SERVICES PROVIDED BY STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS OR THEIR CREDIT UNION SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS ARE SUBJECT TO UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX ("UBIT"). THERE IS CURRENTLY VERY LITTLE GUIDANCE IN THE IRS CODE ON WHAT ACTIVITIES SHOULD BE SUBJECT TO UBIT. THE IRS HAS ISSUED CERTAIN TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDUMS IDENTIFYING CERTAIN ACTIVITIES AS BEING SUBJECT TO UBIT. AS A RESULT, AT THIS TIME THERE IS UNCERTAINTY REGARDING WHETHER STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS SHOULD PAY INCOME TAX ON CERTAIN TYPES OF NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES THAT MAY BE CONSIDERED BY TAXING AUTHORITIES AS UNRELATED TO THE PURPOSE FOR WHICH CREDIT UNIONS WERE GRANTED NON-TAXABLE STATUS. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY RESULTING FROM TAXING AUTHORITIES IMPOSING INCOME TAXES ON THE NET TAXABLE INCOME FROM ACTIVITIES DEEMED UNRELATED TO THE CREDIT UNION'S NON-TAXABLE STATUS IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON FINANCIAL POSITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. A TAX POSITION IS RECOGNIZED AS A BENEFIT ONLY IF IT IS "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" THAT THE TAX POSITION WOULD BE SUSTAINED IN A TAX EXAMINATION, WITH A TAX EXAMINATION BEING PRESUMED TO OCCUR. THE AMOUNT RECOGNIZED IS THE LARGEST AMOUNT OF TAX BENEFIT THAT IS GREATER THAN 50% LIKELY OF BEING REALIZED ON EXAMINATION. FOR TAX POSITIONS NOT MEETING THE "MORE LIKELY THAN NOT" TEST, NO TAX BENEFIT IS RECORDED. THERE WAS NO ACCRUAL NECESSARY AT YEAR-END 2025 AND 2024. THE CREDIT UNION RECOGNIZES INTEREST AND/OR PENALTIES RELATED TO INCOME TAX MATTERS IN THE OPERATIONS SECTION OF THE STATEMENT OF INCOME. THE CREDIT UNION PAID $3 IN UBIT IN 2025 AND $4 IN 2024. NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES WERE INCURRED DURING 2025 AND 2024.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:ERC REFUND

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JOSEPH J KREGUL
PRESIDENT/CEO$381,378$0$52,579$0$34,939$0$29,750$0$31,498$0$530,144$0$0$0
TODD NIEDERMEIER
SVP/COO$220,965$0$20,652$0$58,616$0$47,695$0$25,964$0$373,892$0$31,452$0
ADAM T DUMOULIN
SVP/CFO$217,293$0$21,250$0$1,342$0$43,800$0$45,873$0$329,558$0$0$0
JASON BADE
VP INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$206,423$0$39,000$0$1,442$0$20,869$0$2,351$0$270,085$0$0$0
ELIAN M CABAN
VP MEMBER SERVICES$185,467$0$12,100$0$4,022$0$8,027$0$16,794$0$226,410$0$0$0
JORDAN CSEPREGI
VP MARKETING$182,473$0$11,800$0$740$0$16,606$0$4,580$0$216,199$0$0$0
JEAN MORRIS
VP LENDING$136,876$0$5,253$0$3,235$0$12,721$0$27,002$0$185,087$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AFOR CALENDAR YEAR 2025, HACU PROVIDED REIMBURSEMENT OF UP TO $100 PER EMPLOYEE PER CALENDAR YEAR FOR ELIGIBLE GYM MEMBERSHIP FEES. THE BENEFIT WAS AVAILABLE TO EMPLOYEES WHO SUBMITTED RECEIPTS THROUGH THE ORGANIZATION'S EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT PROCESS. UNUSED AMOUNTS WERE FORFEITED AT YEAR END AND WERE NOT CARRIED OVER. THE ORGANIZATION MAINTAINED A WRITTEN POLICY FOR THIS BENEFIT IN ITS EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK. REIMBURSEMENTS WERE MADE ONLY AFTER SUBSTANTIATION THROUGH SUBMITTED RECEIPTS. AMOUNTS REIMBURSED TO ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES WERE TREATED AS TAXABLE FRINGE BENEFITS.
PART I, LINE 4BTHE FOLLOWING 457(F) CONTRIBUTIONS AND PAYMENTS, RESPECTIVELY, WERE MADE DURING 2025 AND ARE INCLUDED IN THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMNS B(III), (C), OR (F): TODD NIEDERMEIER: $24,657 / $31,452 ADAM T DUMOULIN $22,500 / $0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6HEALTHCARE ASSOCIATES CREDIT UNION IS A MEMBER OWNED COOPERATIVE NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION GOVERNED BY A BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE BOARD IS COMPRISED OF ACTIVE MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION WHO ARE APPOINTED BY THE MEMBERSHIP THROUGH A DEMOCRATIC ELECTION PROCESS. MEMBERSHIP INCLUDES EMPLOYEES AND THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS OF THE ILLINOIS HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION (IHA) AND ITS SUBSIDIARIES, ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE MEMBERS OF THE IHA AND PEOPLE RESIDING OR WORKING IN CERTAIN GEOGRAPHICAL LIMITS OF COOK AND DUPAGE COUNTIES OF ILLINOIS. FOR ALL DECISIONS OUTSIDE THE ELECTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, EACH MEMBER IS GIVEN ONE VOTE TO CAST ON THE ISSUE AT HAND.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS HAVE THE RIGHT TO ELECT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE ORGANIZATION. ALL VOTING ON THE ELECTION OF DIRECTORS SHALL BE BY BALLOT. EVERY MEMBER HAS THE RIGHT TO VOTE THE NUMBER OF SHARES THEY OWN FOR AS MANY PERSONS AS THERE ARE DIRECTORS TO BE ELECTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BAT ANY MEMBERSHIP MEETING, A MAJORITY OF THE MEMBERS PRESENT MAY DIRECT THE BOARD TO CONSIDER POLICIES PROPOSED BY THE MEMBERS, OR RECONSIDER ANY DECISION OF THE DIRECTORS OR COMMITTEES. FURTHERMORE, THE MEMBERS MUST APPROVE OF ANY CONSOLIDATIONS OR MERGERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS THOROUGHLY REVIEWED BY THE CFO AND THE CEO. EACH BOARD MEMBER RECEIVES A COPY OF THE RETURN FOR THEIR REVIEW, WITH ANY QUESTIONS ADDRESSED DURING A REGULARLY SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING, PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUALLY ALL INTERESTED PERSONS, INCLUDING THE FULL GOVERNING BODY, SIGN A STATEMENT OF DISCLOSURE OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE TO DISCLOSE POTENTIAL CONFLICTS BETWEEN THEMSELVES AND THE CREDIT UNION. INTERNAL MANAGEMENT REVIEWS THE QUESTIONNAIRES AND MONITORS AND ENFORCES COMPLIANCE OF THIS POLICY AT ITS ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING. IF A CONFLICT IS PRESENT, THE BOARD MEMBER WITH THE CONFLICT ABSTAINS FROM VOTING ON THE PARTICULAR ISSUE IN QUESTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES ARE NOT REQUIRED DISCLOSURES PURSUANT TO INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 6104. THESE DOCUMENTS ARE NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC AT THIS TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI SECTION B, LINE 15A:THE CEO'S COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. EVERY 2-3 YEARS, COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED BY AN INDEPENDENT 3RD PARTY WHERE SALARY IS COMPARED TO OTHER CREDIT UNIONS OF SIMILAR SIZE. ONCE THE BOARD APPROVES THE COMPENSATION THIS DECISION IS DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD MINUTES. THE LAST THIRD PARTY REVIEW TOOK PLACE IN 2024.
FORM 990, PART VI SECTION B, LINE 15B:THE PRESIDENT REVIEWS AND APPROVES THE COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS REPORTED IN PART VII. SALARY COMPARISONS ARE PERFORMED AGAINST OTHER CREDIT UNIONS OF SIMILAR SIZE. THIS PROCESS IS PERFORMED ANNUALLY FOR THE CEO AND SVP AND EVERY 2-3 YEARS FOR ALL OTHER POSITIONS BELOW SVP. THE LAST THIRD PARTY REVIEW TOOK PLACE IN 2024.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:ERC REFUND 428,364.