AMERICAN LEGION
Cite this
Plain text AMERICAN LEGION. Strategy Studio, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2011–2024. https://strategystudio.org/org/116105102. Retrieved 2026-10-18.
APA Strategy Studio. (n.d.). AMERICAN LEGION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2011–2024]. Retrieved October 18, 2026, from https://strategystudio.org/org/116105102
MLA “AMERICAN LEGION.” Strategy Studio, tax years 2011–2024, https://strategystudio.org/org/116105102. Accessed 18 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-18; covers tax years 2011–2024. Data: Strategy Studio, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $148K · expenses $149K · assets $70K
- EIN
- 11-6105102
- Address
- 340 UNION BLVD, WEST ISLIP, NY 11795-3102
- NTEE code
- -
- Subsection
- 501(c)(19)
- Ruling year
- 1946
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
TO SERVE VETERANS OF FOREIGN WARS AND THEIR FAMILIES
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
No one listed on these returns was paid.
Unpaid officers and directors · 23 people
| Name | Latest title | Years | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gregory Buck | COMMANDER | 2011-2024 | 1 |
| Kevin Crumlish | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 2011-2024 | 1 |
| Philip R Bruckner | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 2013-2024 | 1 |
| Ken Moses | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 2017-2024 | 1 |
| Jerry Moses | ADJUNTANT | 2017-2024 | 1 |
| Bartolo Veruso | CHAPLIN | 2017-2024 | 1 |
| Robert Stephans | SERVIE OFFICER | 2017-2024 | 1 |
| William Pyszczymuka | TREASURER | 2023-2024 | 1 |
| Lawrence Donohue (former) | TREASURER | 2013-2022 | 1 |
| Francis Mcnamee (former) | Finance Officer | 2012-2016 | 1 |
| Kenneth Moses (former) | Adjutant | 2013-2016 | 1 |
| Bartolo Viruso (former) | Chaplin | 2013-2016 | 1 |
| Paul Soyak (former) | SGT. of Arms | 2015-2016 | 1 |
| Arthur Laufer (former) | Judge Advocate | 2013-2016 | 1 |
| Robert Stephens (former) | Service Officer | 2013-2016 | 1 |
| Thaddedys Gladkowski (former) | Adjutant | 2013-2014 | 1 |
| Bob Stephens (former) | 2nd Vice Commander | 2011-2012 | 1 |
| Ted Gladkowski (former) | 3rd Vice Commander | 2011 | 1 |
| Frank Larkin (former) | Adjudant | 2011 | 1 |
| Dave Young (former) | Sgt at Arms | 2011 | 1 |
| Tom Colgan (former) | Service Officer | 2011 | 1 |
| Arthur Laufler (former) | Judge Advocate | 2011 | 1 |
| Frank McNamee (former) | Finance Officer | 2011 | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| WILLIAM PYSZCZYMUKA | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| WILLIAM PYSZCZYMUKA | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2019 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 8 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVIE OFFICER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2018 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | COMMANDER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1ST VICE COM | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2ND VICE COM | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3RD VICE COM | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | ADJUNTANT | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | CHAPLIN | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | SERVICE OFFI | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | TREASURER | 10 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2017 · 8 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEN MOSES | 3rd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| JERRY MOSES | Adjutant | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VERUSO | Chaplin | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHANS | Service Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | Treasurer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2016 · 9 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FRANCIS MCNAMEE | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KENNETH MOSES | Adjutant | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VIRUSO | Chaplin | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PAUL SOYAK | SGT. of Arms | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ARTHUR LAUFER | Judge Advocate | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHENS | Service Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2015 · 10 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP R BRUCKNER | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FRANCIS MCNAMEE | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KENNETH MOSES | 3rd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VIRUSO | Chaplin | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | Historian | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PAUL SOYAK | SGT. of Arms | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ARTHUR LAUFER | Judge Advocate | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHENS | Service Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2014 · 10 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHENS | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FRANCIS MCNAMEE | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP BRUCKNER | 3rd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| THADDEDYS GLADKOWSKI | Adjutant | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VIRUSO | Chaplin | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | Historian | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KENNETH W MOSES | SGT. of Arms | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ARTHUR LAUFER | Judge Advocate | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2013 · 10 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ROBERT STEPHENS | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FRANCIS MCNAMEE | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| PHILIP BRUCKNER | 3rd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| THADDEDYS GLADKOWSKI | Adjutant | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BARTOLO VIRUSO | Chaplin | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| LAWRENCE DONOHUE | Historian | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KENNETH W MOSES | SGT. of Arms | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| ARTHUR LAUFER | Judge Advocate | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2012 · 4 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GREGORY BUCK | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| KEVIN CRUMLISH | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| BOB STEPHENS | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| FRANCIS MCNAMEE | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
2011 · 9 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gregory Buck | Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Kevin Crumlish | 1st Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Bob Stephens | 2nd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Ted Gladkowski | 3rd Vice Commander | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Frank Larkin | Adjudant | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Dave Young | Sgt at Arms | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Tom Colgan | Service Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Arthur Laufler | Judge Advocate | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Frank McNamee | Finance Officer | 10 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $147,764 | $148,863 | $70,339 | $70,339 | $38,313 | $104,818 | - | 0 | 8 |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $141,319 | $141,226 | $71,438 | $71,438 | $30,935 | $106,609 | - | 0 | 8 |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $101,002 | $113,236 | $71,345 | $71,345 | $94,567 | $0 | - | 0 | 8 |
| 2021 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $51,982 | $58,426 | $83,579 | $83,579 | $50,732 | $0 | - | 0 | 8 |
| 2020 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $45,466 | $54,186 | $90,023 | $90,023 | $44,123 | $0 | $0 | 0 | 8 |
| 2019 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $110,553 | $60,503 | $98,743 | $98,743 | $106,299 | $0 | $0 | 0 | 8 |
| 2018 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $91,146 | $66,571 | $48,693 | $48,693 | $91,142 | $0 | - | 0 | - |
| 2017 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $63,171 | $60,875 | $24,118 | $24,118 | $14,756 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $67,364 | $79,313 | $21,822 | $21,822 | $18,791 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2015 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $73,567 | $67,618 | $33,771 | $33,771 | $25,497 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2014 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $36,593 | $52,016 | $27,822 | $27,822 | $8,740 | $4,309 | - | - | - |
| 2013 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $57,325 | $56,583 | $43,245 | $43,245 | $9,133 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2012 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $48,949 | $40,767 | $42,503 | $42,503 | $8,178 | $0 | - | - | - |
| 2011 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $63,465 | $63,011 | $34,321 | $34,321 | $12,230 | - | - | - | - |
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $246,734 | $222,165 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $260,577 | $269,439 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $75,416 | $34,263 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $77,282 | $60,169 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $171,428 | $142,633 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $92,754 | $83,579 | Trustee | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $85,371 | $74,569 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $77,331 | $109,209 | 1st Vice Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $204,400 | $139,825 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | NY | Not reported | $152,191 | $97,389 | Adjutant | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION INC | NY | Not reported | $113,092 | $111,360 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION POST 1276 | NY | Not reported | $105,331 | $129,263 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| AMERICAN LEGION | FL | W30 | $229,086 | $233,733 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | WA | Not reported | $225,810 | $196,759 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | PA | Not reported | $107,023 | $67,960 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | AZ | Not reported | $100,991 | $67,803 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | MI | Not reported | $164,344 | $188,794 | FINANCE OFFICER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | MO | Not reported | $123,339 | $122,588 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | PA | Not reported | $123,111 | $95,240 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | OH | Not reported | $118,347 | $91,444 | COMMANDER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | CA | Not reported | $137,455 | $175,767 | CFO | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | WI | Not reported | $276,304 | $35,795 | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | TX | Not reported | $189,813 | $169,857 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission |
| AMERICAN LEGION | MO | Not reported | $137,992 | $82,621 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| AMERICAN LEGION | WV | Not reported | $91,312 | $119,841 | Commander | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
| Grantor | Type | Total given | Grants | Organizations funded | Years | Which ones |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PARK COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | $59,545 | 5 | 1 | 2020–2024 | AMERICAN LEGION |
| H W WILSON FOUNDATION INC | Private foundation | $25,000 | 1 | 1 | 2024–2024 | AMERICAN LEGION POST 1276 |
| BERRIEN COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC | DAF sponsor | $22,400 | 2 | 1 | 2023–2025 | AMERICAN LEGION |
| ATHENS COUNTY FOUNDATION | DAF sponsor | $5,362 | 1 | 1 | 2016–2016 | AMERICAN LEGION |
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $148,863 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $4,237
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $69,716 | $69,716 | $0 | $0 | 46.8% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $20,859 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 14.0% | |
| Insurance | $13,744 | $0 | $13,744 | $0 | 9.2% | |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $12,693 | $12,693 | $0 | $0 | 8.5% |
| All other expenses | $11,111 | $5,506 | $5,605 | $0 | 7.5% | |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $10,961 | $10,961 | $0 | $0 | 7.4% |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $9,254 | $9,254 | $0 | $0 | 6.2% |
| Fees: accounting | $525 | $0 | $525 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $8,870 | $4,237 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $148,863 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990 · $141,226 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $3,310
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $66,578 | $66,578 | $0 | $0 | 47.1% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $23,427 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 16.6% | |
| All other expenses | $12,864 | $10,130 | $2,734 | $0 | 9.1% | |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $12,237 | $12,237 | $0 | $0 | 8.7% |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $11,373 | $0 | $11,373 | $0 | 8.1% |
| Insurance | $7,304 | $0 | $7,304 | $0 | 5.2% | |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $6,858 | $6,858 | $0 | $0 | 4.9% |
| Fees: accounting | $525 | $0 | $525 | $0 | 0.4% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $60 | $0 | $60 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $7,085 | $3,310 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $141,226 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990 · $113,236 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $5,790
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Depreciation and depletion | $46,140 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 40.7% | |
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $21,316 | $21,316 | $0 | $0 | 18.8% |
| All other expenses | $10,398 | $3,885 | $6,513 | $0 | 9.2% | |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $9,831 | $0 | $9,831 | $0 | 8.7% |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $8,980 | $0 | $8,980 | $0 | 7.9% |
| Insurance | $8,198 | $0 | $8,198 | $0 | 7.2% | |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $7,533 | $7,533 | $0 | $0 | 6.7% |
| Fees: accounting | $525 | $0 | $525 | $0 | 0.5% | |
| Office expenses | $315 | $315 | $0 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $12,225 | $5,790 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $113,236 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990 · $58,426 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $5,582
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $12,472 | $0 | $12,472 | $0 | 21.3% |
| All other expenses | $12,059 | $8,715 | $3,344 | $0 | 20.6% | |
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $11,992 | $11,992 | $0 | $0 | 20.5% |
| Insurance | $9,367 | $0 | $9,367 | $0 | 16.0% | |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $5,781 | $0 | $5,781 | $0 | 9.9% |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $3,202 | $3,202 | $0 | $0 | 5.5% |
| Depreciation and depletion | $3,018 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.2% | |
| Fees: accounting | $525 | $0 | $525 | $0 | 0.9% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $10 | $0 | $10 | $0 | 0.0% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $6,822 | $5,572 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $58,426 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990 · $54,186 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $3,975
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All other expenses | $13,834 | $8,986 | $4,848 | $0 | 25.5% | |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $10,445 | $0 | $10,445 | $0 | 19.3% |
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $6,422 | $6,422 | $0 | $0 | 11.9% |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $6,305 | $6,305 | $0 | $0 | 11.6% |
| Insurance | $6,090 | $0 | $6,090 | $0 | 11.2% | |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $4,857 | $0 | $4,857 | $0 | 9.0% |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $3,075 | $0 | $3,075 | $0 | 5.7% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $3,018 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 5.6% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $140 | $0 | $140 | $0 | 0.3% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $2,175 | $900 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $54,186 | 100% |
2019 · Form 990 · $60,503 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $3,770
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All other expenses | $17,902 | $10,283 | $7,619 | $0 | 29.6% | |
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $9,819 | $9,819 | $0 | $0 | 16.2% |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $9,790 | $0 | $9,790 | $0 | 16.2% |
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $9,315 | $9,315 | $0 | $0 | 15.4% |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $5,664 | $0 | $5,664 | $0 | 9.4% |
| Insurance | $4,909 | $0 | $4,909 | $0 | 8.1% | |
| Fees: legal | $1,375 | $0 | $1,375 | $0 | 2.3% | |
| Depreciation and depletion | $1,189 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2.0% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $540 | $540 | $0 | $0 | 0.9% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income $8,024 | $3,770 | reported apart | |||
| Total | $60,503 | 100% |
2018 · Form 990 · $66,571 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,270 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | HALL MAINTENANCE | $17,118 | $17,118 | - | - | 25.7% |
| Other (as described) | SUPPLIES | $11,060 | $11,060 | - | - | 16.6% |
| All other expenses | $10,494 | $4,709 | $4,290 | $1,495 | 15.8% | |
| Other (as described) | REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE | $8,407 | - | $8,407 | - | 12.6% |
| Insurance | $8,156 | - | $8,156 | - | 12.3% | |
| Other (as described) | UTILITIES | $5,394 | - | $5,394 | - | 8.1% |
| Office expenses | $3,577 | - | $3,577 | - | 5.4% | |
| Grants to US individuals | $2,270 | $2,270 | - | - | 3.4% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $95 | $95 | - | - | 0.1% | |
| Total | $66,571 | 100% |
2017 · Form 990EZ · $60,875 spent · pay $0 · grants $500 · events $10,233
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $54,116 | 88.9% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $6,197 | 10.2% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $500 | 0.8% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $62 | 0.1% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $10,233 | reported apart |
| Total | $60,875 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990EZ · $79,313 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,300 · events $700
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $41,739 | 52.6% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $35,274 | 44.5% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $2,300 | 2.9% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $700 | reported apart |
| Total | $79,313 | 100% |
2015 · Form 990EZ · $67,618 spent · pay $0 · grants $100 · events $4,648
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $35,029 | 51.8% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $32,489 | 48.0% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $100 | 0.1% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $4,648 | reported apart |
| Total | $67,618 | 100% |
2014 · Form 990EZ · $52,016 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,500 · events $7,554
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $30,109 | 57.9% | |
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $20,407 | 39.2% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $1,500 | 2.9% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $7,554 | reported apart |
| Total | $52,016 | 100% |
2013 · Form 990EZ · $56,583 spent · pay $0 · grants $2,025 · events $2,000
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $40,437 | 71.5% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $14,121 | 25.0% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $2,025 | 3.6% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $2,000 | reported apart |
| Total | $56,583 | 100% |
2012 · Form 990EZ · $40,767 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,875 · events $2,000
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $25,197 | 61.8% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $12,375 | 30.4% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $1,875 | 4.6% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $1,320 | 3.2% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $2,000 | reported apart |
| Total | $40,767 | 100% |
2011 · Form 990EZ · $63,011 spent · pay $0 · grants $700 · events $8,322
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $35,384 | 56.2% | |
| Occupancy, rent, utilities, maintenance | $22,198 | 35.2% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $4,729 | 7.5% | |
| Grants and similar amounts paid | $700 | 1.1% | |
| Fundraising events Event | direct expenses; gross income - | $8,322 | reported apart |
| Total | $63,011 | 100% |