STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

SYA FOUNDATION

Cite this

Plain text SYA FOUNDATION. Strategy Studio, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2013–2025. https://strategystudio.org/org/273622326. Retrieved 2026-10-19.

APA Strategy Studio. (n.d.). SYA FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2013–2025]. Retrieved October 19, 2026, from https://strategystudio.org/org/273622326

MLA “SYA FOUNDATION.” Strategy Studio, tax years 2013–2025, https://strategystudio.org/org/273622326. Accessed 19 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-19; covers tax years 2013–2025. Data: Strategy Studio, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990 · revenue $215K · expenses $214K · assets $347K

EIN
27-3622326
Address
2892 NORTH BELLFLOWER BLVD STE 413, LONG BEACH, CA 90815-1125
Website
WWW.SYAFOUNDATION.ORG
NTEE code
S80
Subsection
501(c)(3)
Ruling year
2012
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

TO INTERVENE IN THE LIVES OF AT-RISK YOUTH; TO SUPPORT AND ENSURE PROGRAM GRADUATES EMBRACE THE VALUES, SKILLS, EDUCATION, AND SELF-DISCIPLINE NECESSARY TO SUCCEED AS ADULTS.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

2 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsLatest year payTotal pay from hereOrganizations
Jillian Scott TREASURER2024-2025 $18,000$18,000 1
Porcia Ruiz (former) DIRECTOR2017-2020 $58,423$63,223 1

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

29 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Justine Makoff PRESIDENT2016-2025 5 $0 reported 1
Marylou Vachet VICE PRESIDE2021-2025 30 $0 reported 1
Phillip Tingirides DIRECTOR2023-2025 2 $0 reported 1
Sedric Hill DIRECTOR2023-2025 5 $0 reported 1
Jullian Scott (former) TREASURER2021-2023 2 $0 reported 1
Sammy Sloan (former) DIRECTOR2022-2023 2 $0 reported 1
Phil Tingirides (former) DIRECTOR2022 2 $0 reported 1
Bobby Ameen (former) DIRECTOR2021 Not reported $0 reported 1
Richard Fernandez (former) PRESIDENT2021 Not reported $0 reported 1
Rob Nielson (former) DIRECTOR2021 Not reported $0 reported 1
Bobby Amen (former) DIRECTOR2019-2020 0 $0 reported 1
Richard Hernandez (former) PRESIDENT2018-2020 0 $0 reported 1
Eric R Nunez (former) DIRECTOR2019-2020 0 $0 reported 1
Darren Smith (former) TREASURER2016-2020 0 $0 reported 1
Rodney Cox (former) PRESIDENT2017-2019 5 $0 reported 1
Paul Garaven (former) VICE PRESIDE2019 0 $0 reported 1
Adam Moore (former) DIRECTOR2013-2019 0 $0 reported 1
Robert Woods (former) DIRECTOR2019 0 $0 reported 1
Pamela Gibbons (former) President2016-2018 6 $0 reported 1
Tai Collins (former) Vice President2016-2018 1 $0 reported 1
Nason Buchanan (former) Director2017-2018 1 $0 reported 1
Lisa Blass (former) Director2013-2017 12 $0 reported 1
Greg Phillips (former) Director2016 1 $0 reported 1
Hector Ruiz (former) Secretary2013-2015 1 $0 reported 1
Pam Gibbons (former) Vice President2013-2015 1 $0 reported 1
Rochelle Sonza (former) President2013-2015 2 $0 reported 1
Phillip J Armstrong (former) President2013-2014 2 $0 reported 1
Robert Karleskint (former) Director2013-2014 1 $0 reported 1
Ester Lim (former) Director2013 2 $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 5 people listed · 1 paid, $18K · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JILLIAN SCOTT TREASURER8 $18,000$0$0 $18,0001
SEDRIC HILL DIRECTOR5 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF PRESIDENT5 $0$0$0 $01
PHILLIP TINGIRIDES DIRECTOR2 $0$0$0 $01
MARYLOU VACHET VICE PRESIDE30 $0$0$0 $01
2024 · 5 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JUSTINE MAKOFF PRESIDENT5 $0-- $01
MARYLOU VACHET VICE PRESIDE30 $0-- $01
JILLIAN SCOTT TREASURER2 $0-- $01
PHILLIP TINGIRIDES DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
SEDRIC HILL DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
2023 · 6 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JUSTINE MAKOFF PRESIDENT5 $0-- $01
MARYLOU VACHET VICE PRESIDE30 $0-- $01
JULLIAN SCOTT TREASURER2 $0-- $01
SAMMY SLOAN DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
PHILLIP TINGIRIDES DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
SEDRIC HILL DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
2022 · 5 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
JUSTINE MAKOFF PRESIDENT5 $0-- $01
MARYLOU VACHET VICE PRESIDE2 $0-- $01
JULLIAN SCOTT TREASURER2 $0-- $01
SAMMY SLOAN DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
PHIL TINGIRIDES DIRECTOR2 $0-- $01
2021 · 6 people listed · none paid · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
BOBBY AMEEN DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
RICHARD FERNANDEZ PRESIDENT- $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF SECRETARY- $0$0$0 $01
ROB NIELSON DIRECTOR- $0$0$0 $01
JULLIAN SCOTT TREASURER- $0$0$0 $01
MARYLOU VACHET VICE PRESIDE- $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 6 people listed · 1 paid, $58K · 1 employee · 8 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
PORCIA RUIZ DIRECTOR20 $58,423$0$0 $58,4231
BOBBY AMEN DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
RICHARD HERNANDEZ PRESIDENT0 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF SECRETARY0 $0$0$0 $01
ERIC R NUNEZ DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
DARREN SMITH TREASURER0 $0$0$0 $01
2019 · 10 people listed · none paid · 2 employees · 35 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
BOBBY AMEN DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
RODNEY COX PRESIDENT5 $0$0$0 $01
PAUL GARAVEN VICE PRESIDE0 $0$0$0 $01
RICHARD HERNANDEZ DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF SECRETARY0 $0$0$0 $01
ADAM MOORE DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
ERIC R NUNEZ DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
PORCIA RUIZ DIRECTOR10 $0$0$0 $01
DARREN SMITH TREASURER0 $0$0$0 $01
ROBERT WOODS DIRECTOR0 $0$0$0 $01
2018 · 9 people listed · 1 paid, $5K · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
PORCIA RUIZ Director40 $4,800$0$0 $4,8001
PAMELA GIBBONS President6 $0$0$0 $01
TAI COLLINS Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
DARREN SMITH Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
ADAM MOORE Director1 $0$0$0 $01
RICHARD HERNANDEZ Director1 $0$0$0 $01
RODNEY COX Director1 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF Secretary1 $0$0$0 $01
NASON BUCHANAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2017 · 9 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
PAMELA GIBBONS President6 $0$0$0 $01
TAI COLLINS Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
DARREN SMITH Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
ADAM MOORE Secretary1 $0$0$0 $01
PORCIA RUIZ Director3 $0$0$0 $01
LISA BLASS Director12 $0$0$0 $01
RODNEY COX Director1 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF Director1 $0$0$0 $01
NASON BUCHANAN Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2016 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
PAMELA GIBBONS President10 $0$0$0 $01
TAI COLLINS Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
DARREN SMITH Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
ADAM MOORE Director1 $0$0$0 $01
GREG PHILLIPS Director1 $0$0$0 $01
LISA BLASS Director12 $0$0$0 $01
JUSTINE MAKOFF Director1 $0$0$0 $01
2015 · 4 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Lisa Blass Treasurer3 $0$0$0 $01
Hector Ruiz Secretary1 $0$0$0 $01
Pam Gibbons Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
Rochelle Sonza President2 $0$0$0 $01
2014 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Phillip J Armstrong President2 $0$0$0 $01
Lisa Blass Treasurer3 $0$0$0 $01
Hector Ruiz Secretary1 $0$0$0 $01
Robert Karleskint Director1 $0$0$0 $01
Pam Gibbons Director1 $0$0$0 $01
Adam moore Director1 $0$0$0 $01
Rochelle Sonza Director2 $0$0$0 $01
2013 · 8 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Phillip Joel Armstrong President10 $0$0$0 $01
Lisa Blass Treasurer10 $0$0$0 $01
Hector Ruiz Secretary5 $0$0$0 $01
Ester Lim Director2 $0$0$0 $01
Robert Karleskint Director10 $0$0$0 $01
Pam Gibbons Director2 $0$0$0 $01
Adam moore Director2 $0$0$0 $01
Rochelle Sonza Director2 $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2019 · 4 grants to organizations · $117K

Listed grants add up to $116,994; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $139,637. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.

2018 · 1 grant to organizations · $102K

Listed grants add up to $102,100; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $123,604. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990 period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$215,157$213,730 $346,939$346,939 $169,665$38,595 $18,0000-
2024 · Form 990EZ period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$194,667$149,236 $346,176$345,512 $176,678$17,399 ---
2023 · Form 990EZ period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$161,643$150,244 $300,471$300,071 $107,696$8,104 ---
2022 · Form 990EZ period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$170,382$168,760 $289,231$288,831 $126,614- ---
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$146,046$233,062 $287,692$287,692 $65,987$0 -1-
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$216,027$259,524 $371,399$371,399 $114,535$0 $58,42318
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2019-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$284,372$385,039 $414,665$414,665 $210,087$0 -235
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2018-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$181,425$264,550 $516,054$516,053 $83,246$0 $00-
2017 · Form 990 period ending 2017-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$227,206$159,677 $598,403$598,402 $136,857$0 $00-
2016 · Form 990 period ending 2016-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$406,135$332,409 $560,873$530,873 $405,346$0 $00-
2015 · Form 990 period ending 2015-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$174,273$141,392 $490,685$457,364 $173,508$0 $0020
2014 · Form 990 period ending 2014-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$320,681$160,716 $424,701$424,483 $320,562$0 $0020
2013 · Form 990 period ending 2013-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$269,377$150,838 $265,181$264,518 $269,336$0 $0020

Funders of this organization

9 grantors reported grants to this organization, $322,726 in all, tax years 2015 to 2025. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
SMIDT FAM FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SYA FOUNDATION” 2019-2022 4$125,000 2022$50,000
show
BUR OAK FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SYA FOUNDATION” 2024-2025 2$100,000 2025$50,000
show
CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor Exact 2015-2017 3$43,000 2017$6,500
show
SOCIETY OF AMERICAN MILITARY ENGINEERS Public charity Exact 2020, 2024 2$20,475 2024$15,000
show
MITSUBISHI ELECTRIC AMERICA FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SYA FOUNDATION” 2023 2$10,551 2023$10,551
show
EMPLOYEES COMMUNITY FUND OF BOEING Public charity Exact 2015 1$10,000 2015$10,000
show
NATIONAL GUARD YOUTH FOUNDATION Public charity Exact 2025 1$7,500 2025$7,500
show
RUN SEAL BEACH Public charity Fuzzy filed as “SYA Foundation” 2017 1$5,770 2017$5,770
show
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SYA FOUNDATION” 2022-2023 2$430 2023$195
show

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
SAN JUAN FOUNDATIONCAS80 $349,023$250,530 Director$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
ONOR FOUNDATION INCCAS80 $122,219$102,139 President & CEO$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
BISHOP ROTARY FOUNDATIONCAS80 $111,141$62,769 Treasurer$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
FIG GARDEN ROTARY FOUNDATIONCAS80 $137,535- President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
SANTA ANA KIWANIS CLUB FOUNDATIONCAS80 $304,664$151,221 President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ROTARY DISTRICT 5170 FOUNDATIONCAS80 $320,741$318,809 Vice President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
CHICO ROTARY CLUB FOUNDATIONCAS80 $335,899$139,516 CHAIRMAN$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
SEAL BEACH LIONS FOUNDATIONCAS80 $204,031$179,374 President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name
ROTARY CLUB OF FRESNO FOUNDATIONCAS80 $266,023$213,961 Director$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
LOS ANGELES CEDARS FOUNDATIONCAS80 $142,884$149,316 TREASURER$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
REDLANDS OPTIMIST CLUB FOUNDATION INCCAS80 $223,374$120,771 Vice President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
SAN DIEGO LIONS WELFARE FOUNDATIONCAS80 $226,672$362,760 Executive Dir.$83,394 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
THE LITERACY PROJECT FOUNDATIONCAS80 $400,656$297,204 Chairman$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
LONG BEACH ROTARY CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONCAS80 $250,705$340,601 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
KIWANIS CLUB OF CAMPBELL FOUNDATIONCAS80 $268,253$216,021 President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ROTARY CLUB OF REDONDO BEACH COMMUNITY FOUNDATIONCAS80 $236,215$137,948 President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO ROTARY CLUB FOUNDATIONCAS80 $209,447$202,209 TREASURER$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
SAN LUIS OBISPO COMMUNITY LEADERSHIP FOUNDATIONCAS80 $181,840$159,454 BOARD PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
KIWANIS CLUB OF YUCAIPA VALLEY FOUNDATION INCCAS80 $141,990$100,698 Secretary$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ROTARY CLUB OF VENTURA-EAST FOUNDATION INCCAS80 $402,974$173,533 Director$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ASSYRIAN AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIACAS80 $151,469$25,177 Director$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
KIWANIS FOUNDATION OF HUNTINGTON BEACHCAS80 $135,652$80,919 President$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
KIWANIS CLUB OF SAN BERNARDINO CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONCAS80 $144,507$63,922 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ROTARY FOUNDATION OF HERCULES RODEO AND CROCKETTCAS80 $168,486$151,080 SECRETARY$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state
ROTARY CLUB OF MENLO PARK FOUNDATIONCAS80 $232,043$198,842 Treasurer$0 Same NTEE code S80, revenue within 2x, same state

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$1,454,53529 152019–2024 GREATER CHEYENNE FOUNDATION; SAN JUAN FOUNDATION; OBODO COLLECTIVE; 100 BLACK MEN OF LOS ANGELES INC and 11 more
KITTY M PERKINS FOUNDATION Private foundation$1,117,00020 12010–2025 TRI-VALLEY MEDICAL FOUNDATION
THE ROTARY FOUNDATION OF ROTARY INTERNATIONAL DAF sponsor$1,057,40213 42010–2024 ROTARY ZONES 25 & 29 FOUNDATION; ROTARY INTERNATIONAL DISTRICT 5320 INC; NOVATO ROTARY ENDOWMENT; ROTARY DISTRICT 5170 FOUNDATION
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$817,85846 182016–2024 CHINESE CATHOLIC ASSOCIATION OF LOS ANGELES; ROTARY DISTRICT 5170 FOUNDATION; SHELTER ISLAND LIONS CLUB FOUNDATION; BERKELEY BAYIT INC and 14 more
INLAND EMPIRE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$608,66020 22017–2024 IDYLLWILD HELP CENTER; ASSISTANCE LEAGUE OF VICTOR VALLEY
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor$552,35732 122014–2024 SHELTER ISLAND LIONS CLUB FOUNDATION; COMMUNITY SERVICE AGENCY; OBODO COLLECTIVE; ROTARY DISTRICT 5170 FOUNDATION and 8 more
CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION funds this one DAF sponsor$515,35113 22010–2023 PREGNANCY COUNSELING CENTER; 100 BLACK MEN OF LOS ANGELES INC
COLUMBUS FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$232,16259 12010–2024 UPPER ARLINGTON ROTARY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION
BENITO AND FRANCES C GAGUINE FOUNDATION Private foundation$230,0009 12014–2023 ASSISTANCE LEAGUE OF FRESNO
FORGOOD INC DAF sponsor$175,34916 72011–2024 DEBRA C PARMENTOLA FOUNDATION; RISING TOGETHER FOUNDATION; NEW YORK CREDIT UNION FOUNDATION; MINERVA EDUCATION AND DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION and 3 more
ORANGE COUNTY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$166,7649 32014–2024 THE LITERACY PROJECT FOUNDATION; 100 BLACK MEN OF LOS ANGELES INC; SANTA ANA KIWANIS CLUB FOUNDATION
THE SAN DIEGO FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$157,49812 12011–2024 SAN DIEGO LIONS WELFARE FOUNDATION
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF ELKHART COUNTY INC DAF sponsor$151,48213 12011–2024 GOSHEN KIWANIS FOUNDATION INC
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$139,20012 42010–2023 ROTARY CLUB OF MENLO PARK FOUNDATION; ROTARY DISTRICT 5170 FOUNDATION; SAN JUAN FOUNDATION; BERKELEY BAYIT INC
THE CLEVELAND FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$138,90011 12010–2024 CLEVELAND ROTARY FOUNDATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990 · $213,730 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
All other expenses $55,967$45,053$4,281$6,633 26.2%
Other (as described)PURCHASED MERCH $37,100$37,100-- 17.4%
Other (as described)COGS $33,401$33,401-- 15.6%
Other (as described)CADET EXPENDITURES $29,790$29,790-- 13.9%
Other (as described)GRADUATION $23,044$23,044-- 10.8%
Fees: management $19,500$9,750$9,750- 9.1%
Fees: other services $5,627$5,627-- 2.6%
Advertising and promotion $2,500$2,500-- 1.2%
Fees: accounting $2,400$2,400-- 1.1%
Office expenses $2,103$2,103-- 1.0%
Insurance $1,908$1,336$572- 0.9%
Depreciation and depletion $390$390-- 0.2%
Total$213,730100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990EZ · $149,236 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) $137,425 92.1%
Fees to independent contractors $11,445 7.7%
Printing, publications, postage $366 0.2%
Total$149,236100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990EZ · $150,244 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) $142,672 95.0%
Fees to independent contractors $6,857 4.6%
Printing, publications, postage $715 0.5%
Total$150,244100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990EZ · $168,760 spent · pay $6,697 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) $148,353 87.9%
Fees to independent contractors $13,710 8.1%
Salaries, other pay and benefits $6,697 4.0%
Total$168,760100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $233,062 spent · pay $77,797 · grants $0 · events $1,518
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other salaries and wages $77,797$38,898$38,899- 33.4%
All other expenses $43,655$41,103$2,552- 18.7%
Other (as described)COGS $33,914$33,914-- 14.6%
Other (as described)NUTRITION & FOOD COSTS $30,770$30,770-- 13.2%
Other (as described)INTAKE FEE EXPENSES $12,313$12,313-- 5.3%
Office expenses $10,494$4,171$6,323- 4.5%
Other (as described)BEATS MUSIC AND LEADERS $9,035$9,035-- 3.9%
Insurance $5,790$1,737$4,053- 2.5%
Fees: other services $5,723$5,723-- 2.5%
Advertising and promotion $2,165$2,165-- 0.9%
Depreciation and depletion $906$906-- 0.4%
Fees: legal $500$250$250- 0.2%
Fundraising events Eventdirect expenses; gross income $13,255$1,518reported apart
Total$233,062100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $259,524 spent · pay $60,508 · grants $0 · events $17,687
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)COGS $99,855$99,855-- 38.5%
Other salaries and wages $58,423$29,211$29,212- 22.5%
All other expenses $48,886$46,870$2,016- 18.8%
Other (as described)GRADUATION $15,662$15,662-- 6.0%
Other (as described)NUTRITION & FOOD COSTS $11,441$11,441-- 4.4%
Other (as described)VISION TESTING & GLASSES $7,000$7,000-- 2.7%
Office expenses $5,404$1,527$3,877- 2.1%
Insurance $4,691$1,407$3,284- 1.8%
Payroll taxes $2,085$1,042$1,043- 0.8%
Depreciation and depletion $1,622$1,622-- 0.6%
Fees: management $1,600$800$800- 0.6%
Fees: other services $1,530$1,530-- 0.6%
Fees: professional fundraisers $1,325--$1,325 0.5%
Fundraising events Eventdirect expenses; gross income $26,370$17,687reported apart
Total$259,524100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990 · $385,039 spent · pay $1,268 · grants $139,637 · events $64,040
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Grants to US organizations and governments $116,994$116,994-- 30.4%
Fees: management $85,053$39,726$39,727$5,600 22.1%
All other expenses $73,481$69,769$3,712- 19.1%
Grants to US individuals $22,643$22,643-- 5.9%
Depreciation and depletion $21,434$21,434-- 5.6%
Other (as described)NUTRITION & FOOD COSTS $12,872$12,872-- 3.3%
Other (as described)GRADUATION $11,693$11,693-- 3.0%
Office expenses $10,656$1,706$8,950- 2.8%
Other (as described) EventRPM EVENTS $10,343$10,343-- 2.7%
Other (as described)LICE $8,296$8,296-- 2.2%
Fees: other services $6,752$6,752-- 1.8%
Insurance $2,954$886$2,068- 0.8%
Payroll taxes $1,268$634$634- 0.3%
Fees: legal $600-$600- 0.2%
Fundraising events Eventdirect expenses; gross income $127,500$53,697reported apart
Total$385,039100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990 · $264,550 spent · pay $0 · grants $123,604 · events $73,576
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Grants to US organizations and governments $102,100$102,100-- 38.6%
Fees: other services $52,717$35,041$17,676- 19.9%
All other expenses $26,690$23,322$3,368- 10.1%
Grants to US individuals $21,504$21,504-- 8.1%
Other (as described)FOOD AND CONSUMABLES $13,030$13,030-- 4.9%
Other (as described)FIELD TRIPS $12,631$12,631-- 4.8%
Other (as described)UNIFORMS $12,120$12,120-- 4.6%
Other (as described)OFFICE AND SCHOOL SUPPLIES $9,929$6,950$2,979- 3.8%
Depreciation and depletion $7,047$4,933$2,114- 2.7%
Advertising and promotion $2,338$2,338-- 0.9%
Fees: accounting $1,800-$1,800- 0.7%
Insurance $1,374-$1,374- 0.5%
Travel $1,270$1,270-- 0.5%
Fundraising events Eventdirect expenses; gross income $171,684$73,576reported apart
Total$264,550100%

View the filing

2017 · Form 990 · $159,677 spent · pay $0 · grants $49,108 · events $30,261
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Grants to US individuals $49,108$49,108-- 30.8%
All other expenses $25,578$22,003$3,575- 16.0%
Fees: other services $25,519$16,568$8,951- 16.0%
Other (as described)FIELD TRIPS $14,614$14,614-- 9.2%
Other (as described)FOOD AND CONSUMABLES $12,590$12,590-- 7.9%
Depreciation and depletion $9,746$6,822$2,924- 6.1%
Other (as described)UNIFORMS $8,085$8,085-- 5.1%
Other (as described) EventAPPRECIATION EVENTS $5,277$3,694$1,583- 3.3%
Advertising and promotion $2,621$2,621-- 1.6%
Fees: accounting $2,615-$2,615- 1.6%
Office expenses $1,509$1,509-- 0.9%
Insurance $1,350$945$405- 0.8%
Travel $1,065$1,065-- 0.7%
Fundraising events Eventdirect expenses; gross income $114,995$24,984reported apart
Total$159,677100%

View the filing

2016 · Form 990 · $332,409 spent · pay $0 · grants $36,696 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MBK YOUTH MENTORING $146,421$146,421-- 44.0%
All other expenses $37,098$35,515$1,583- 11.2%
Grants to US individuals $36,696$36,696-- 11.0%
Other (as described)FOOD AND CONSUMABLES $25,223$25,223-- 7.6%
Fees: other services $24,502$23,002$1,500- 7.4%
Other (as described)UNIFORMS $17,264$17,264-- 5.2%
Other (as described)FIELD TRIPS $16,845$16,845-- 5.1%
Depreciation and depletion $14,442$10,109$4,333- 4.3%
Fees: accounting $8,000$5,600$2,400- 2.4%
Office expenses $3,658$2,561$1,097- 1.1%
Fees: legal $1,000$700$300- 0.3%
Travel $820$574$246- 0.2%
Advertising and promotion $440$308$132- 0.1%
Total$332,409100%

View the filing

2015 · Form 990 · $141,392 spent · pay $0 · grants $20,375 · events $567
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Uniforms $33,311$33,311-- 23.6%
All other expenses $22,394$17,074$5,320- 15.8%
Grants to US individuals $20,375$20,375-- 14.4%
Other (as described)Food and consumables $16,328$16,328-- 11.5%
Depreciation and depletion $13,861$7,498$6,363- 9.8%
Other (as described)Printing and Publications $9,776$9,776-- 6.9%
Other (as described)Field trips $8,925$8,925-- 6.3%
Fees: accounting $7,670$5,369$2,301- 5.4%
Office expenses $5,938$4,157$1,781- 4.2%
Fees: legal $1,990$1,393$597- 1.4%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $567$567-- 0.4%
Advertising and promotion $257--$257 0.2%
Total$141,392100%

View the filing

2014 · Form 990 · $160,716 spent · pay $0 · grants $23,000 · events $245
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Uniforms $35,644$35,644-- 22.2%
All other expenses $25,283$19,079$6,204- 15.7%
Grants to US individuals $23,000$23,000-- 14.3%
Other (as described)Food and consumables $19,034$19,034-- 11.8%
Other (as described)Field trips $17,315$17,315-- 10.8%
Depreciation and depletion $13,591$7,309$6,282- 8.5%
Other (as described)Printing and Publications $10,269$10,269-- 6.4%
Office expenses $9,270$6,489$2,781- 5.8%
Fees: accounting $6,562$4,593$1,969- 4.1%
Travel $274$274-- 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $245$245-- 0.2%
Advertising and promotion $229--$229 0.1%
Total$160,716100%

View the filing

2013 · Form 990 · $150,838 spent · pay $0 · grants $29,213 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
All other expenses $29,596$25,862$3,734- 19.6%
Grants to US individuals $20,713$20,713-- 13.7%
Other (as described)Uniforms $18,727$18,727-- 12.4%
Other (as described)Food and consumables $17,648$17,648-- 11.7%
Other (as described)Outside Contract Services $17,263$17,263-- 11.4%
Depreciation and depletion $13,023$7,246$5,777- 8.6%
Office expenses $10,588$5,294$5,294- 7.0%
Grants to US organizations and governments $8,500$8,500-- 5.6%
Other (as described)Subscriptions and Reference $6,305-$6,305- 4.2%
Fees: accounting $5,355$2,678$2,677- 3.6%
Travel $1,668$1,668-- 1.1%
Advertising and promotion $1,389--$1,389 0.9%
Fees: legal $63-$63- 0.0%
Total$150,838100%

View the filing