GORDON SQUARE ARTS DISTRICT - CLEVELAND IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION
Cite this
Plain text GORDON SQUARE ARTS DISTRICT - CLEVELAND IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION. Strategy Studio, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2016–2024. https://strategystudio.org/org/274698642. Retrieved 2026-10-19.
APA Strategy Studio. (n.d.). GORDON SQUARE ARTS DISTRICT - CLEVELAND IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2016–2024]. Retrieved October 19, 2026, from https://strategystudio.org/org/274698642
MLA “GORDON SQUARE ARTS DISTRICT - CLEVELAND IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION.” Strategy Studio, tax years 2016–2024, https://strategystudio.org/org/274698642. Accessed 19 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-19; covers tax years 2016–2024. Data: Strategy Studio, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $201K · expenses $153K · assets $263K
- Also known as
- IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION
- EIN
- 27-4698642
- Address
- 6516 DETROIT AVE, CLEVELAND, OH 44102-3057
- NTEE code
- S20
- Subsection
- 501(c)(3)
- Ruling year
- 2014
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
TO MAINTAIN, IMPROVE, AND BUILD THE GORDON SQUARE ARTS DISTRICT.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 17 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
17 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raymond Bobgan | DIRECTOR | 2016-2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| John Carge | DIRECTOR | 2021-2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Jenny Spencer | DIRECTOR | 2016-2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Phil Kidd | DIRECTOR | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Bridget Kent-Marquez | DIRECTOR | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Phyliss Harris | DIRECTOR | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Adam Rosen | DIRECTOR | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Joe Rose | PRESIDENT | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Michael Obertacz | TREASURER | 2022-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Rick Gilliam (former) | Secretary | 2021-2022 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Adam Stalder (former) | Director | 2021-2022 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Amy Gertiser (former) | Director | 2021 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Joseph Rose (former) | Treasurer | 2016-2021 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Jeff Moreau (former) | Vice Chairman | 2016 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Matthew Zone (former) | Director | 2016 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Trevor Hunt (former) | Director | 2016 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Richard Gilliam (former) | Secretary | 2016 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 9 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 0 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RAYMOND BOBGAN | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JOHN CARGE | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JENNY SPENCER | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHIL KIDD | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| BRIDGET KENT-MARQUEZ | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PHYLISS HARRIS | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| ADAM ROSEN | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JOE ROSE | PRESIDENT | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL OBERTACZ | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 5 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOHN CARGE | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL OBERTACZ | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JENNY SPENCER | DIRECTOR | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| RAYMOND BOBGAN | CHAIRMAN | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JOE ROSE | TREASURER | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 7 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raymond Bobgan | Chairman | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| John Carge | Director | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Rick Gilliam | Secretary | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Michael Obertacz | Director | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joe Rose | Treasurer | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jenny Spencer | Director | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Adam Stalder | Director | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 7 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Raymond Bobgan | Chairman | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| John Carge | Director | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Amy Gertiser | Director | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Rick Gilliam | Secretary | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Joseph Rose | Treasurer | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Adam Stalder | Director | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Jenny Spencer | Director | 0 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2016 · 7 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jeff Moreau | Vice Chairman | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Raymond Bobgan | Chairman | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Matthew Zone | Director | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Trevor Hunt | Director | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Richard Gilliam | Secretary | 0 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Jenny Spencer | Director | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
| Joseph Rose | Treasurer | 1 | $0 | - | - | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $200,533 | $153,373 | $263,486 | $255,786 | $200,533 | $0 | $0 | 0 | 0 |
| 2023 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $181,965 | $187,971 | $219,326 | $208,626 | $181,965 | - | - | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $213,680 | $141,718 | $0 | $0 | $213,680 | $0 | - | 0 | 20 |
| 2021 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $192,088 | $95,041 | $149,959 | $142,672 | $0 | $192,088 | - | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990EZ | ||||||||
| $115,546 | $152,054 | $88,461 | $67,312 | - | $115,546 | - | - | - |
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CLEVELAND SUPERIOR ARTS IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION | OH | S20 | $200,054 | $200,054 | Treasurer | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name |
| HAMILTON CENTRAL BUSINESS SPECIAL IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT INC | OH | S20 | $190,511 | $141,918 | CHAIRMAN | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state, similar mission |
| DOWNTOWN NEWARK SPECIAL IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT INC | OH | S20 | $164,744 | $157,846 | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| BREWERY DISTRICT COMMUNITY URBAN REDEVELOPMENT CORPORATION | OH | S20 | $209,256 | $159,490 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $71,351 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT CORPORATION OF SHELBY OHIO | OH | S20 | $231,151 | $152,760 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| 1159 SOUTH COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION | OH | S20 | $200,722 | $260,447 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| GATES MILLS IMPROVEMENT SOCIETY | OH | S20 | $205,112 | $108,477 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ALLIANCE AREA DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION | OH | S20 | $184,748 | $225,371 | President | $81,306 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SOUTHSIDE HOPE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION INC | OH | S20 | $193,775 | $180,326 | Director | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| MAIN STREET DELAWARE INC | OH | S20 | $194,473 | $235,697 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $77,471 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ITS NOT A MOMENT BUT A MOVEMENT INC | OH | S20 | $194,667 | $221,262 | BOARD CHAIR | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| MUSKINGUM COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL | OH | S20 | $173,351 | $7,752 | EXECUTIVE DI | $6,000 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| LOVE N ACTION CDC | OH | S20 | $218,976 | $234,787 | CEO | $7,700 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| NEIGHBORHOOD CONSERVATION SERVICES OF BARBERTON INC | OH | S20 | $192,682 | $313,714 | EXEC DIR | $68,353 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| WARREN REDEVELOPMENT & PLANNING CORP | OH | S20 | $209,811 | $149,259 | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HARBOR AND BRIDGE | OH | S20 | $166,880 | $78,090 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| DOWNTOWN TIPP CITY PARTNERSHIP INC | OH | S20 | $171,998 | $168,314 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| TROY MAIN STREET INC | OH | S20 | $213,888 | $195,576 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| DESTINATION HILLIARD | OH | S20 | $220,710 | $301,949 | Executive Director | $76,125 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HOLMES COUNTY RAILS-TO-TRAILS COALITION | OH | S20 | $187,906 | $131,348 | CHAIRMAN | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| COMMUNITY HAPPENS HERE INC | OH | S20 | $230,740 | $229,650 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HEIGHTS MOVEMENT NP | OH | S20 | $177,145 | $224,108 | Executive Director | $0 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| JAMES C CALDWELL COMMUNITY CENTER | OH | S20 | $184,583 | $271,455 | PRESIDENT & | $163,850 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| INTO THE FIELD | OH | S20 | $166,593 | $139,188 | President Executive Director | $3,500 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ORGANIC CONNECTS INC | OH | S20 | $178,108 | $162,025 | Executive DIrector | $16,846 | Same NTEE code S20, revenue within 2x, same state |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $153,373 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | DOWNTOWN CLEVELAND ALLI | $55,000 | $55,000 | - | - | 35.9% |
| Other (as described) | MAINTENANCE | $51,087 | $51,087 | - | - | 33.3% |
| Office expenses | $26,650 | $26,650 | - | - | 17.4% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $16,734 | $16,734 | - | - | 10.9% | |
| Other (as described) | OVERHEAD | $2,902 | $2,902 | - | - | 1.9% |
| Other (as described) | SECURITY | $1,000 | $1,000 | - | - | 0.7% |
| Total | $153,373 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990EZ · $187,971 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $139,602 | 74.3% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $30,369 | 16.2% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $18,000 | 9.6% | |
| Total | $187,971 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990 · $141,718 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Maintenance | $55,218 | $55,218 | $0 | $0 | 39.0% |
| Other (as described) | Downtown Cleveland Alliance | $40,963 | $40,963 | $0 | $0 | 28.9% |
| Office expenses | $20,189 | $20,189 | $0 | $0 | 14.2% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $20,089 | $20,089 | $0 | $0 | 14.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Overhead | $2,714 | $2,714 | $0 | $0 | 1.9% |
| Other (as described) | Security | $2,545 | $2,545 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% |
| Total | $141,718 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990EZ · $95,041 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $95,041 | 100.0% | |
| Total | $95,041 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990EZ · $152,054 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Other expenses (detail on Schedule O) | $151,120 | 99.4% | |
| Fees to independent contractors | $888 | 0.6% | |
| Printing, publications, postage | $46 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $152,054 | 100% |