ARTS SCIENCES & CULTURAL COUNCIL OF CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG INC
Cite this
Plain text ARTS SCIENCES & CULTURAL COUNCIL OF CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG INC. Strategy Studio, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2024. https://strategystudio.org/org/994002299. Retrieved 2026-10-19.
APA Strategy Studio. (n.d.). ARTS SCIENCES & CULTURAL COUNCIL OF CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2024]. Retrieved October 19, 2026, from https://strategystudio.org/org/994002299
MLA “ARTS SCIENCES & CULTURAL COUNCIL OF CHARLOTTE-MECKLENBURG INC.” Strategy Studio, tax years 2024, https://strategystudio.org/org/994002299. Accessed 19 Oct. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-10-19; covers tax years 2024. Data: Strategy Studio, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990 · revenue $14.4M · expenses $9.0M · assets $5.4M
- Also known as
- OF CHARLOTTE MECKLENBURG INC
- EIN
- 99-4002299
- Address
- 220 N TRYON ST, CHARLOTTE, NC 28202-2137
- Website
- HTTPS://ARTSANDSCIENCE.ORG
- NTEE code
- A26
- Subsection
- 501(c)(3)
- Ruling year
- 2025
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
FOSTER AN INCLUSIVE, SUSTAINABLE, CULTURALLY RICH AND ENGAGED COMMUNITY WHERE ARTS, SCIENCE, AND HISTORY PLAY A PIVOTAL ROLE IN ENHANCING THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR ALL.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
2 people paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Latest year pay | Total pay from here | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Laura Yates Clark | BOARD CHAIR | 2024 | $234,479 | $234,479 | 5 |
| Adam Santalla Pierce | PRESIDENT (AS OF 10/24) | 2024 | $24,507 | $24,507 | 2 |
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
14 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Julie Eiselt | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 4 |
| Leslie Johnson | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 4 |
| Marcie Kelso | VICE CHAIR | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Charles Thomas | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 3 |
| Jenni Gaisbauer | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Allison Allen | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Patrick Diamond | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Angelia Grant | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Julia Martin | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Melissa Mcvey | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Nalan Mulder | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Sam Spencer | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Luis Tochiki | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Liliana Wendorff | MEMBER | 2024 | 0 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 16 people listed · 2 paid, $259K · 12 employees · 14 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LAURA YATES CLARK | BOARD CHAIR | 2 | $0 | $234,479 | $0 | $234,479 | 5 |
| ADAM SANTALLA PIERCE | PRESIDENT (AS OF 10/24) | 40 | $22,780 | $0 | $1,727 | $24,507 | 2 |
| MARCIE KELSO | VICE CHAIR | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| ALLISON ALLEN | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| PATRICK DIAMOND | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| JULIE EISELT | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 4 |
| JENNI GAISBAUER | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| ANGELIA GRANT | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LESLIE JOHNSON | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 4 |
| JULIA MARTIN | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MELISSA MCVEY | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| NALAN MULDER | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SAM SPENCER | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| CHARLES THOMAS | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 3 |
| LUIS TOCHIKI | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| LILIANA WENDORFF | MEMBER | 0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2024 · 92 grants to organizations · $6.0M
Listed grants add up to $5,979,695; the return's “grants paid” expense line says $6,699,324. Returns can differ here (grants paid vs. accrued, items listed elsewhere); check the filing.
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $14,351,021 | $8,977,873 | $5,388,300 | $5,373,148 | $13,544,656 | $618,747 | $107,699 | 12 | 14 |
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Similar organizations
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARTS AND HUMANITIES COUNCIL OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY IN | MD | A26 | $7,772,902 | $7,549,063 | CEO | $183,346 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| GREATER COLUMBUS ARTS COUNCIL INC | OH | A26 | $22,398,605 | $25,151,602 | FORMER PRESIDENT | $396,278 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| REGIONAL CULTURAL & PERFORMING ARTS DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION | MO | A26 | $15,000,891 | $13,483,285 | PRESIDENT & CEO | $224,905 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| ARTS UNITED OF GREATER FORT WAYNE | IN | A26 | $9,835,230 | $3,256,056 | PRESIDENT & | $141,957 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| SCOTTSDALE ARTS | AZ | A26 | $13,038,696 | $14,303,581 | PRESIDENT & CEO | $515,017 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| CULTURAL COUNCIL OF GREATER JACKSONVILLE INC | FL | A26 | $8,919,104 | $8,916,644 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $125,685 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| PERFORMING ARTS FOUNDATION INC | WI | A26 | $15,403,118 | $5,369,438 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $286,505 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| HOUSTON ARTS ALLIANCE | TX | A26 | $25,459,308 | $21,984,472 | CEO to 11/30/24 | $308,050 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| ARTSFUND | WA | A26 | $16,178,758 | $15,204,294 | PRESIDENT/CEO | $333,407 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| CREATIVE WEST | CO | A26 | $9,606,944 | $11,611,814 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $272,455 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 2x |
| DURHAM ARTS COUNCIL INC | NC | A26 | $3,063,229 | $3,367,507 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $134,445 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x, same state |
| ASHEVILLE AREA ARTS COUNCIL | NC | A26 | $3,313,764 | $2,473,239 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/SECRETARY | $85,084 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x, same state |
| ARTS COUNCIL INC | AL | A26 | $2,944,575 | $2,711,238 | Executive Directdor | $137,961 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x, similar mission |
| CULTURAL ARTS ALLIANCE OF WALTON COUNTY INC | FL | A26 | $3,590,800 | $3,906,405 | President & CEO | $139,686 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| CHAPMAN CULTURAL CENTER INC | SC | A26 | $3,941,857 | $3,377,648 | President and CEO, non voting member | $70,333 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| REGIONAL ARTS & CULTURE COUNCIL | OR | A26 | $4,884,296 | $5,305,269 | INTERIM EX DIR | $136,000 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| CULTURAL COUNCIL OF PALM BEACH COUNTY INC | FL | A26 | $7,139,640 | $7,192,662 | President and CEO | $292,741 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| BRONX COUNCIL ON THE ARTS INC | NY | A26 | $2,996,647 | $2,846,375 | EXECUTIVE DI | $148,776 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| BROOKLYN ARTS COUNCIL | NY | A26 | $3,990,995 | $4,176,377 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $177,252 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| VERMONT COUNCIL ON THE ARTS INC | VT | A26 | $3,168,915 | $3,010,985 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $159,565 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| ARTS COUNCIL OF OKLAHOMA CITY | OK | A26 | $3,717,192 | $3,803,363 | Not reported | $0 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| CENTER FOR THE ARTS OF BONITA SPRINGS INC | FL | A26 | $4,358,471 | $4,158,930 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $151,869 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| HOWARD COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL | MD | A26 | $3,592,707 | $1,897,217 | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $190,314 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| ARTSWESTCHESTER INC | NY | A26 | $6,238,559 | $6,494,660 | CEO EFFECTIVE 7/1/24 | $196,945 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
| ARTS AND CULTURE ALLIANCE OF GREATER KNOXVILLE | TN | A26 | $4,273,193 | $1,793,568 | EXECUTIVE DI | $150,000 | Same NTEE code A26, revenue within 5x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990 · $8,977,873 spent · pay $1,003,348 · grants $6,699,324 · events $2,030
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grants to US organizations and governments | $6,151,100 | $6,151,100 | - | - | 68.5% | |
| Other salaries and wages | $730,474 | $312,899 | $315,449 | $102,126 | 8.1% | |
| Other (as described) | PUBLIC ART/ARTIST SUPPO | $611,168 | $261,794 | $263,928 | $85,446 | 6.8% |
| Grants to US individuals | $548,224 | $548,224 | - | - | 6.1% | |
| Fees: other services | $292,815 | $125,427 | $126,450 | $40,938 | 3.3% | |
| Occupancy | $174,725 | $74,843 | $75,454 | $24,428 | 1.9% | |
| Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees | $107,699 | $46,133 | $46,509 | $15,057 | 1.2% | |
| Other employee benefits | $97,401 | $41,722 | $42,062 | $13,617 | 1.1% | |
| Other (as described) | DEVELOPMENT | $78,045 | $33,431 | $33,703 | $10,911 | 0.9% |
| Payroll taxes | $67,774 | $29,031 | $29,268 | $9,475 | 0.8% | |
| Information technology | $47,650 | $20,411 | $20,577 | $6,662 | 0.5% | |
| Advertising and promotion | $27,683 | $11,858 | $11,955 | $3,870 | 0.3% | |
| Fees: legal | $12,720 | $5,449 | $5,493 | $1,778 | 0.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $9,540 | - | $9,540 | - | 0.1% | |
| Travel | $8,575 | $3,673 | $3,703 | $1,199 | 0.1% | |
| All other expenses | $6,407 | $2,744 | $2,766 | $897 | 0.1% | |
| Office expenses | $2,126 | $911 | $918 | $297 | 0.0% | |
| Conferences, conventions and meetings | $2,030 | $869 | $877 | $284 | 0.0% | |
| Insurance | $1,239 | $531 | $535 | $173 | 0.0% | |
| Other (as described) | DUES | $478 | $205 | $206 | $67 | 0.0% |
| Total | $8,977,873 | 100% |