HEART FAILURE SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- HEART FAILURE SOCIETY OF AMERICA INC (EIN 06-1416238)
- Tax period
- 2023-01-01 to 2023-12-31
- Filed
- 2024-09-26
- IRS object ID
- 202402709349300930
- Schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2024-09-26T09:15:05-07:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2023-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 521185156 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Lydon Fetterolf Corydon PA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 9401 Key West Avenue | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Rockville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20850 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 061416238 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Heart Failure Society of America Inc | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | HEAR | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3013128635 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 N Washington St 10009 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20849 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | John Barnes | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CEO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Signature | 2024-09-26 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (true) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Jeff Corydon IV CPA CFP | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00297218 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3019484400 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2024-08-08 14:25:15Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | John Barnes | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 N Washington St 10009 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20849 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $7,783,706 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | HFSA.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1995 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | CT | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Provide a platform to improve and expand heart failure care through collaboration, education, innovation, research and advocacy. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 11 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 11 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 21 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 166 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $22,600 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $752,248 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $541,088 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $6,467,074 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $6,292,102 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $215,334 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $261,789 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $192,927 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $7,434,656 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $7,287,906 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,577,542 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $2,947,022 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $154,290 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $4,127,866 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $3,583,763 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $6,705,408 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $6,530,785 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $729,248 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $757,121 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $8,901,645 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $9,488,919 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $1,916,853 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $1,142,063 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $6,984,792 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $8,346,856 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | Provide a platform to improve and expand heart failure care through collaboration, education, innovation, research and advocacy. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $2,687,687 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $2,500 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $4,101,854 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Annual Scientific Meeting:Professionals gather annually to present and discuss cutting edge research, gain advanced education, and discuss new treatments. The 2023 Annual Scientific meeting featured three plenary sessions, 32 sessions, three kick off sessions, four how to sessions, one pre-meeting workshop, seven Professionals in Training talks, six Research Hub Talks, two JCF sessions, nine satellite programs, six forums, eight industry expert theaters, and over 480 abstracts and attracted 2,309 attendees. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,146,338 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | Education and Programs: Programs aimed at education for the entire heart failure team, including cardiologists, nurses, pharmacists, physician assistants, etc. Initiatives include the Heart Failure Seminars, Optimal Medical Therapy (OMT) in Heart Failure Certificate Program, Heart Failure Certification program (HF-Cert), and a new program of CardioBites.In 2023, Heart Failure Seminars included Focus on Sleep- Failure to Sleep and Focus on Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy.HFSA launched CardioBites in 2023. CardioBites is a Micro-learning program that is targeted to the busy heart failure care team to provide information on one topic in a two-three-minute video. Two series were launched- Amyloidosis and HFpEF. The Amyloidosis nine-part series had four modules released in 2023- What Is Amyloidosis, What are the Signs and Symptoms of Amyloidosis, What are the most common types of Amyloidosis, and What do we know about the genetics of Amyloidosis. The HFpEF series has four modules and three were launched in 2023. They are What is heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) and who does it impact, What is the clinical workup for diagnosing HFpEF, and What are the phenotypes of HFpEF. In addition to HF-CERT, HFSA offered three 90-minute webinars as a HF-Cert Bootcamp. These three seminars offered a comprehensive study tool for the HF-Cert examination. 64 people signed up for the bootcamp program. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $654,837 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $1,948,507 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Heart Failure Research Network (HFRN):HFRN is a network of academic institutions, health systems and community practices actively engaged in heart failure clinical research. HFRN is comprised of HFSA members conducting clinical research at over 100 institutions across the United States. HFRN connects these members with public and private sector sponsors seeking clinical researchers to meet their heart failure research needs.HFSA scientific statements provide critical insights into the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of heart failure. These statements serve as an invaluable resource for healthcare providers, researchers, policymakers, and othe stakeholders involved in delivering high-quality, evidence-based care to heart failure patients. Their value lies in their ability to disseminate best practices, promote uniformity in clicical approaches, and drive advancements in heart care. Ultimately,these efforts lead to improved patient outcomes and a deeper understanding of heart failure.The HF stats Annual report, developed by the Heart Failure Society of America (HFSA), addresses the current lack of comprehensive data and statistical analysis on heart failure in the United States. By providing essential heart failure data to clinicians, researchers, policymakers, and patients, the initiative aims to overcome significant barriers to understanding the condition's full scope and its impact on the healthcare system. The 2023 HF stats report, examined the epidemiology and outcomes of heart failure. This initiative is crucial for advancing knowledge, informing policy, and improving patient care and outcomes in the field of heart failure.The REIMAGINE-HF initiative, spearheaded by the Heart Failure Society of America, seeks to address critical gaps in the diagnosis and management of genetic cardiomyopathies including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and dilated cardiomyopathy through the utilization of the Heart Failure Research Network (HFRN). The REIMAGINE-HF pilot study aims to enhance the diagnosis rates, improve understanding and implementation of management guidelines among healthcare providers, and explore the feasibility and acceptability of clinical trials as a treatment option for patients' post diagnosis. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $605,709 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue | $452,944 | TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $5,094,571 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | false | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 39 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 21 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | Yes (true) | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Form990 T Filed | Yes (true) | Form990TFiledInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Form8282 Filed | 0 | Form8282FiledCnt |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Form8899 Filedind | false | Form8899Filedind |
| Form1098 C Filed | false | Form1098CFiledInd |
| DAF Excess Business Holdings | false | DAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd |
| Taxable Distributions | false | TaxableDistributionsInd |
| Distribution To Donor | false | DistributionToDonorInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 11 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 11 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | CT | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MD | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | JOORI JEON | PersonNm |
| Phone | 3013128635 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 N Washington St 10009 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ROCKVILLE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | MD | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20849 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| John Barnes | |||||||
| CEO | 40.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $457,520 | $0 | $41,634 | |
| Joori Jeon | |||||||
| COO | 40.00 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $274,873 | $0 | $31,453 | |
| Kristine Fridgen | |||||||
| VP-Meetings and Education | 40.00 | 0.00 | $183,444 | $0 | $17,546 | ||
| Deborah Zeldow | |||||||
| Dir.-Scie/Research | 40.00 | 0.00 | $152,024 | $0 | $9,627 | ||
| Kelly Ventura | |||||||
| Dir. of Membership | 40.00 | 0.00 | $144,100 | $0 | $9,132 | ||
| Michelle Poinelli | |||||||
| Director of Dev't | 40.00 | 0.00 | $121,929 | $0 | $27,090 | ||
| Meredith Hurt | |||||||
| Dir.-Journal Pub | 40.00 | 0.00 | $130,695 | $0 | $452 | ||
| Laura Posnock | |||||||
| Director of Mkting | 40.00 | 0.00 | $114,809 | $0 | $16,063 | ||
| Michael Givertz | |||||||
| Treasurer | 1.20 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Anekwe Onwuanyi | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Michelle Kittleson | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Colleen McLlvennan | |||||||
| Secretary | 1.20 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Ken Margulies | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Natalie Pierson | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Nancy Sweitzer | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| Orly Vardeny | |||||||
| Director | 1.20 | 0.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |
| John Teerlink | |||||||
| Past President | 1.20 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| James Fang | |||||||
| President | 1.20 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Michael Felker | |||||||
| President-Elect | 1.20 | 0.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,579,394 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $152,997 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 8 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Freeman | |||||
| PO Box 734596 | Dallas | TX | 75373 | ASM Exhibits/Auto Visual | $730,177 |
| Elsevier Inc-ARGI | |||||
| PO Box 7247-7682 | Philadelphia | PA | 19170 | Publishing | $274,371 |
| Gaylord National resort and Convention Center | |||||
| 201 Waterfront St | Oxon Hill | MD | 20745 | Conf.Serv/Cater/AV/Hotel | $262,133 |
| SMGCleveland Convention Center | |||||
| 1 St Clair Ave NE | Cleveland | OH | 44114 | Hotel/AV/Exhibit Hall | $246,827 |
| Levy Restaurants | |||||
| 980 North Michigan Ave | Chicago | IL | 60611 | Catering | $238,587 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 8 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| All Other Contributions | $541,088 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $541,088 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt | Unrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Meeting | 541900 | $4,104,354 | $4,104,354 | |
| Member Dues | 541900 | $1,734,804 | $1,734,804 | |
| Publications | 541900 | $452,944 | $430,344 | $22,600 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $6,292,102 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $257,589 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $257,589 | ExclusionAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $42,099 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $42,099 | RealAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $42,099 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $42,099 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $500,000 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $495,800 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $4,200 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $4,200 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $4,200 | ExclusionAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Other Income | Desc |
| Business | 900099 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $150,828 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $150,828 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $150,828 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $7,287,906 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $6,420,330 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $22,600 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $303,888 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,038,310 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $808,536 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $171,033 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $58,741 | FundraisingAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,577,466 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,160,471 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $369,797 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $47,198 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $61,636 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $46,254 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,727 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,655 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $105,821 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $79,066 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $23,046 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,709 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $163,789 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $123,501 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $33,432 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,856 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,134 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,988 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,146 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $129,742 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $129,742 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $27,801 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $27,801 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $12,973 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $576 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $12,397 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $81,294 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $81,294 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $59,178 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $59,178 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $600,213 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $496,291 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $74,590 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $29,332 | FundraisingAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,465,419 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,445,316 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $14,017 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $6,086 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $21,538 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $21,538 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,123 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $13,123 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contract Services | $650,718 | $513,944 | $136,774 | |
| Journal and Publications | $210,118 | $210,118 | ||
| Miscellaneous | $127,017 | $112,476 | $13,828 | $713 |
| Bank fees | $75,177 | $38,168 | $37,009 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $100,318 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $57,866 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $42,452 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $6,530,785 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $5,094,571 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,281,924 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $154,290 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,770,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,082,596 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $350,365 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $356,420 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $419,620 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $308,942 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $50,341 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $149,105 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $202,692 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $152,448 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $31,821 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $50,244 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,139,435 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $6,454,676 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $140,063 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $86,936 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,901,645 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,488,919 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,007,912 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $424,204 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $752,297 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $621,438 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $156,644 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $96,421 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,916,853 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,142,063 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,984,792 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,339,856 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $7,000 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,984,792 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $8,346,856 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,901,645 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,488,919 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $757,121 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $604,943 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Publicly Supported Org509a2 | Yes (X) | PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind |
Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $1,352,864 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $1,595,709 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $1,622,958 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $2,249,179 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $2,275,892 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $9,096,602 | TotalAmt |
Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $4,188,125 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $2,256,302 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $3,849,322 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $4,970,143 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $4,534,698 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $19,798,590 | TotalAmt |
Gross Receipts Non Unrlt Bus GrossReceiptsNonUnrltBusGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft509 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl509 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Total509 Total509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,540,989 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,852,011 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $5,472,280 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $7,219,322 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $6,810,590 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $28,895,192 | TotalAmt |
Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $689,268 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $572,834 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $88,934 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $51,265 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Total | $1,402,301 | TotalAmt |
Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $689,268 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $572,834 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $88,934 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $51,265 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Total | $1,402,301 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support Total509 | $27,492,891 | PublicSupportTotal509Amt |
Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $172,231 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $101,119 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $134,318 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $154,157 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $257,589 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $819,414 | TotalAmt |
Post1975 UBTI Post1975UBTIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year | $22,600 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $22,600 | TotalAmt |
Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $172,231 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $101,119 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $134,318 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $154,157 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $280,189 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $842,014 | TotalAmt |
Net Income From Other UBI NetIncomeFromOtherUBIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year | $148,267 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $148,267 | TotalAmt |
Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $5,713,220 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $3,953,130 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $5,606,598 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $7,373,479 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $7,239,046 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $29,885,473 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Support CY509 | 0.91990 | PublicSupportCY509Pct |
| Public Support PY509 | 0.90610 | PublicSupportPY509Pct |
| Investment Income CY | 0.02820 | InvestmentIncomeCYPct |
| Investment Income PY | 0.02630 | InvestmentIncomePYPct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $31,737 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $8,452 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $23,285 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $170,955 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $143,996 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $26,959 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $50,244 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Lease Liability | Desc |
| Amt | $96,421 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $96,421 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $7,865,048 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $604,943 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $604,943 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $7,260,105 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $27,801 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $27,801 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $7,287,906 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $6,502,984 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $6,502,984 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $27,801 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $27,801 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $6,530,785 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part X : FIN48 Footnote | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The Society follows the accounting standard on accounting for uncertainty in income taxes, which addresses the determination of whether tax benefits claimed or expected to be claimed on a tax return should be recorded in the financial statements. Under this guidance, the Society may recognize the tax benefit from an uncertain tax position only if it is more likely than not that the tax position will be sustained on examination by taxing authorities, based on the technical merits of the position. The tax benefits recognized in the financial statements from such a position are measured based on the largest benefit that has a greater than 50% likelihood of being realized upon ultimate settlement. The guidance on accounting for uncertainty in income taxes also addresses de-recognition, classification, interest and penalties on income taxes, and accounting in interim periods.Management evaluated the Society tax positions and concluded that the Society had taken no uncertain tax positions that require adjustment to the financial statements to comply with the provisions of this guidance. Currently, the tax years open and subject to examination by the Internal Revenue Service are 2020, 2021, and 2022 tax years. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Written Employment Contract | Yes (X) | WrittenEmploymentContractInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (true) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (5 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Deborah Zeldow | |||||
| Dir.-Scie/Research | $151,424 | $600 | $9,121 | $506 | $161,651 |
| John Barnes | |||||
| CEO | $416,190 | $41,330 | $22,087 | $19,547 | $499,154 |
| Joori Jeon | |||||
| COO | $274,273 | $600 | $16,798 | $14,655 | $306,326 |
| Kelly Ventura | |||||
| Dir. of Membership | $143,500 | $600 | $8,646 | $486 | $153,232 |
| Kristine Fridgen | |||||
| VP-Meetings and Education | $182,844 | $600 | $8,269 | $9,277 | $200,990 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 7: Non-Fixed payments not listed above | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | The salaried officers of the Organization can earn an annual performance bonus based on predetermined metrics established by the board of directors. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part III, Line 4d | OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES 4: OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES 5: The Journal of Cardiac Failure (JCF):JCF publishes the highest quality science in the field of heart failure with a focus on diversity , equity, and inclusion, mentorship, multidisciplinary partnerships, and patient-centeredness. Published papers span original investigator-initiated work to state-of-the-art reviews, guidelines and scientific statements, expert perspectives, early career and trainee spotlight pieces, patient and patient-partner narratives. JCF also emphasizes the power of language and prioritizes innovative approaches to dissemination of published work to reach and impact the broader heart failure community.In addition to publishing the highest quality of scientific papers, JCF also conducts a year-long peer reviewer mentorship program and,in partnership with the Association of Black Cardiologists, a writing fellowship program. It's JCF Engage weekly newsletter reaches almost 10,000 recipients globally, while its active social media presence often gains impressions in the hundreds of thousands. OTHER PROGRAM SERVICES 6: Heart Failure Research Network (HFRN):HFRN is a network of academic institutions, health systems and community practices actively engaged in heart failure clinical research. HFRN is comprised of HFSA members conducting clinical research at over 100 institutions across the United States. HFRN connects these members with public and private sector sponsors seeking clinical researchers to meet their heart failure research needs.HFSA scientific statements provide critical insights into the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of heart failure. These statements serve as an invaluable resource for healthcare providers, researchers, policymakers, and othe stakeholders involved in delivering high-quality, evidence-based care to heart failure patients. Their value lies in their ability to disseminate best practices, promote uniformity in clicical approaches, and drive advancements in heart care. Ultimately,these efforts lead to improved patient outcomes and a deeper understanding of heart failure.The HF stats Annual report, developed by the Heart Failure Society of America (HFSA), addresses the current lack of comprehensive data and statistical analysis on heart failure in the United States. By providing essential heart failure data to clinicians, researchers, policymakers, and patients, the initiative aims to overcome significant barriers to understanding the condition's full scope and its impact on the healthcare system. The 2023 HF stats report, examined the epidemiology and outcomes of heart failure. This initiative is crucial for advancing knowledge, informing policy, and improving patient care and outcomes in the field of heart failure.The REIMAGINE-HF initiative, spearheaded by the Heart Failure Society of America, seeks to address critical gaps in the diagnosis and management of genetic cardiomyopathies including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and dilated cardiomyopathy through the utilization of the Heart Failure Research Network (HFRN). The REIMAGINE-HF pilot study aims to enhance the diagnosis rates, improve understanding and implementation of management guidelines among healthcare providers, and explore the feasibility and acceptability of clinical trials as a treatment option for patients' post diagnosis. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 6 | members consist of professionals connected with the field of cardiovascular disease or failure. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11b | the CEO and coo reviews the 990 and distributes copies to the audit committee for approval prior to filing. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12c | all council members disclose potential conflicts on an annual basis. this information is reviewed and monitored by the cme director. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15a | the process for determining the compensation of the ceo involves review and approval by the executive committee, comparability data (guidestar compensation and benefits study), and contemporaneous substantiation of the approval via amendment of the employment agreement. the performance bonus is determined based on evaluations from the leaders of the society that interact with the ceo. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15b | Other officer salaries are established by the ceo and president, and are commensurate with market value and experience. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19 | copies of the Form 990, and other documents are made available upon request. Audited financials and the form 990 are also available on the HFSA website. |