STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES HEALTH ASSOCIATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES HEALTH ASSOCIATION INC (EIN 44-0545275)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2023-10-30
IRS object ID
202313039349300836
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-10-30T10:06:52-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FORVIS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11201 Walnut Suite 1700AddressLine1Txt
CityKANSAS CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP641062246ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN440545275EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES HEALTH ASSOCIATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% JOSEPH STASIInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlGOVEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8162575500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1310 NE MULBERRY STAddressLine1Txt
CityLEES SUMMITCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP640865861ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOSEPH STASIPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8162575500PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJosephPersonFirstNm
Person LastStasiPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSNXXX-XX-XXXXSSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichael J EnglePreparerPersonNm
PTINP00482834PTIN
Phone8162216300PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Amended ReturnYes (X)AmendedReturnInd
Principal OfficerJOSEPH STASIPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1310 NE MULBERRY STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityLEES SUMMITCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP640865861ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$5,223,524,673GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.GEHA.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE COVERAGE TO FEDERAL EMPLOYEES AND ANNUITANTS PURSUANT TO THE FEDERAL EMPLOYEES HEALTH BENEFIT ACT OF 1959, AS AMENDED, AND REGULATIONS ISSUED THEREUNDER.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1889TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$15,581,680TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$727,925NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$4,329,294,856PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$5,035,869,282CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$53,130,224PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$69,894,448CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$239PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$4,382,424,841PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$5,105,763,730CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,029,387PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$701,862CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$3,917,019,805PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$4,708,832,238CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$136,855,112PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$153,400,283CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$181,185,257PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$213,462,872CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,236,089,561PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$5,076,397,255CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$146,335,280PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$29,366,475CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$2,751,173,135TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$2,663,253,287TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,590,456,722TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$1,405,262,104TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$1,160,716,413NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$1,257,991,183NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionGEHA EMPOWERS OUR MEMBERS TO BE HEALTHY AND WELL.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDE MEDICAL AND DENTAL COVERAGE TO APPROXIMATELY 1,968,000 FEDERAL EMPLOYEES AND ANNUITANTS AND THEIR DEPENDENTS PURSUANT TO THE FEDERAL EMPLOYEES HEALTH BENEFIT ACT OF 1959 (FEHBP), AS AMENDED, THE FEDERAL EMPLOYEES DENTAL AND VISION INSURANCE PROGRAM AND OTHER HEALTH AND DENTAL PROGRAMS.Desc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document102323IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1889EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (true)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJOSEPH STASIPersonNm
Phone8162575500PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1310 NE MULBERRY STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityLEES SUMMITCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP640865861ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
PAUL AITKEN
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$1,007,347$0$56,994
RICHARD BIERMAN
SECRETARY/CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER40.01.0$777,110$0$181,669Yes (X)
SHANNON HORGAN
CHIEF GROWTH OFFICER40.01.0Yes (X)$703,779$0$64,245
SARAH OSBORNE
CHIEF A&A 0FFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$703,049$0$47,531
DARREN TAYLOR
CEO/PRESIDENT ENDING 02/202140.01.0$667,172$0$3,170Yes (X)Yes (X)
JOSEPH STASI
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.01.0Yes (X)$530,762$0$136,243
DAVID KOENIG
CHIEF MEMBER&OPERATION OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$516,814$0$137,672
ARTHUR NIZZA
CEO/PRESIDENT STARTING 08/202140.01.0$497,008$0$131,990Yes (X)Yes (X)
GERARD PAUL
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$552,256$0$65,411
SUSIE OLIVER
CHIEF BUSINESS PARTNERSHIP OFF40.00.0Yes (X)$440,048$0$140,225
AILEEN WILKINS
CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$389,008$0$55,055
JARED DIRKS
MEDICAL DIRECTOR40.00.0$367,070$0$63,358Yes (X)
MATTHEW LATHROM
VP TECH AND SECURITY SERVICES40.00.0Yes (X)$337,234$0$58,092
JOHN PATRICK
VP NATIONAL SALES40.01.0Yes (X)$312,864$0$79,803
MICHAEL SHUSKO
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER40.00.0Yes (X)$314,604$0$50,260
LISA SKEENS INTFEN
VP PARTNER DEVELOPMENT40.00.0Yes (X)$289,842$0$54,981
SCOTT ROBIDOUX
VP ACTUARIAL AND ANALYTICS40.00.0Yes (X)$263,274$0$73,185
CAROLYN WALTERS
VP HUMAN RESOURCES40.00.0Yes (X)$273,713$0$51,104
LORI WILES
VP MARKETING40.00.0Yes (X)$258,872$0$62,895
ANGELA LESLIE
VP INTERNAL AUDIT AND SPL INVE40.00.0Yes (X)$247,872$0$70,100
SHANNON REYNOLDS
VP DENTAL NETWORK AND PLANS40.01.0Yes (X)$252,616$0$61,077
CYNTHIA ANDERSON
VP PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT40.00.0Yes (X)$254,834$0$53,661
JOHN NOLEN
VP DIGITAL ENABLEMENT40.00.0Yes (X)$236,919$0$66,565
BELINDA AGUILAR THOMPSON
SECRETARY/VP DEPUTY GENERAL40.00.0$255,044$0$41,819Yes (X)
GINGER WILLIAMS
VP CUSTOMER CARE40.00.0$225,822$0$70,030Yes (X)
CANDICE MCGEE
VP OPERATIONS40.00.0Yes (X)$236,756$0$58,498
BRIAN SCHATZ
DIRECTOR - COMPLIANCE40.00.0$221,599$0$65,731Yes (X)
NICOLE JEFFRIES
VP ENTERPRISE BUSINESS SOLUTIO40.00.0$232,149$0$50,717Yes (X)
NINAD JOSHI
DIRECTOR - VENDOR MANAGEMENT40.00.0$234,318$0$40,011Yes (X)
STEVEN A WEBER
DIRECTOR/CHAIRPERSON6.730.0$150,000$0$0Yes (X)
KURT J HARMS
DIRECTOR/COMMITTEE CHAIR8.380.0$135,000$0$0Yes (X)
MARY BETH VITALE
DIRECTOR/COMMITTEE CHAIR11.130.0$130,000$0$0Yes (X)
MARK J VAN DYKE
DIRECTOR/COMMITTEE CHAIR4.260.51$127,167$0$0Yes (X)
AMY M CARPENTER
DIRECTOR3.870.0$123,583$0$0Yes (X)
PHILIP D NICOTRA
DIRECTOR7.270.0$120,000$0$0Yes (X)
ISAAC OPOLE
DIRECTOR1.960.0$110,000$0$0Yes (X)
EMMA METCALF
DIRECTOR/COMMITTEE CHAIR3.260.0$95,000$0$0Yes (X)
MIKE FORTUNE
DIRECTOR2.040.0$90,000$0$0Yes (X)
JERRY L PHILLIPS
FORMER DIRECTOR0.00.0$75,000$0$0Yes (X)
CHERYL AUSTEIN CASNOFF
DIRECTOR1.060.0$63,750$0$0Yes (X)
YASMINE WINKLER
DIRECTOR1.220.0$63,750$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD CORDOVA
DIRECTOR0.650.0$30,000$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$10,674,933TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,877,135TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K202IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
UNITED HEALTHCARE INSURANCE COMPANY
9900 BREN ROAD EASTMINNETONKAMN55343PPO NETWORK$26,867,235
LIVONGO HEALTH INC
444 N MICHIGAN AVE SUITE 3400CHICAGOIL60611OTHER CLAIMS$16,121,092
HY CONNECT
PO BOX 7044CAROL STREAMIL601977044ADVERTISING$14,625,990
AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
151 FARMINGTON AVENUEHARTFORDCT06156PPO NETWORK$13,946,054
CHANGE HEALTHCARE SOLUTIONS LLC
PO BOX 572490MURRAYUT841572490tech & consulting$11,622,249
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K130CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
MEMBER PREMIUMS524114$5,020,287,660$5,020,287,660
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE FEE REVENUE900099$15,568,385$15,568,385
OTHER524298$13,237$13,237
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$5,035,869,282TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$28,381,409TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$28,368,114RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$13,295UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$159,273,982SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$117,545,808SecuritiesAmt
Other$215,135OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$41,728,174SecuritiesAmt
Other-$215,135OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,513,039TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$41,513,039RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,105,763,730TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$5,090,182,050RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$15,581,680UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$701,862TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,708,832,238TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,423,304TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,870,104TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,795,783TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,807,428TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,503,664TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,019,566TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$462,676TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,158,021TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,393,099TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,243,942TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,061,594TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,896,633TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,672,531TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$939,938TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$527,261TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,916TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,276,382TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,455,923TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
MANAGED CARE$83,775,800
ASA EXPENSES$14,741,617
SERVICE PROVIDER EXPENSES$12,984,491
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$1,941,677

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,853,805TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,076,397,255TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,140,431BOYAmt
EOY$157,601,398EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,490,426,813BOYAmt
EOY$1,223,727,314EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,808,889BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,441,675BOYAmt
EOY$14,579,817EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$73,424,710LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$27,886,995LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,360,577BOYAmt
EOY$45,537,715EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$732,909,267BOYAmt
EOY$771,007,961EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$359,042,564BOYAmt
EOY$444,039,041EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,768,143BOYAmt
EOY$4,165,493EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,274,776BOYAmt
EOY$2,594,548EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,751,173,135BOYAmt
EOY$2,663,253,287EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$171,649,695BOYAmt
EOY$151,225,582EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$18,902,983EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,418,807,027BOYAmt
EOY$1,235,133,539EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,590,456,722BOYAmt
EOY$1,405,262,104EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,160,716,413BOYAmt
EOY$1,257,991,183EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,160,716,413BOYAmt
EOY$1,257,991,183EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,751,173,135BOYAmt
EOY$2,663,253,287EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$29,366,475ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$59,496,035NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$8,412,260OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,387,691OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$7,387,691BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$36,873,053OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,181,263DepreciationAmt
Book Value$27,691,790BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$29,098,238OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,665,277DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,432,961BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$65,728OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$40,455DepreciationAmt
Book Value$25,273BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$45,537,715TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTS$385,731,391F
INVESTMENT IN SUBSIDIARIES$58,307,650C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$444,039,041TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Special Reserve$649,320,899
Claim Reserve$552,388,000
Accrued Postretirement Benefits$4,650,200
LONG-TERM INTERCOMPANY PAYABLE$9,756,101
PREMIUM DEFICIENCY RESERVE$19,018,339
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,235,133,539TotalLiabilityAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NOT IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TO BE RECORDED OR DISCLOSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (3 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN00PASSIVE INVESTMENTS$176,814,931
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA00PASSIVE INVESTMENTS$34,739,598
EUROPE (INCLUDING ICELAND AND GREENLAND)00PASSIVE INVESTMENTS$5,281,072
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$216,835,601SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$216,835,601TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (true)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (true)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (true)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE F, PART I, LINE 3PASSIVE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS ARE MONITORED ON A REGULAR BASIS BY GEHA'S INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT FIRM. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEWS THE PASSIVE INVESTMENT HOLDINGS ON A REGULAR BASIS AND REPORTS ANY SUBSTANTIAL ACTIVITY TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
SCHEDULE F, PART 1, LINE 3, COLUMN FTHE ACCRUAL METHOD OF ACCOUNTING IS USED TO REPORT THE AMOUNT OF PASSIVE FOREIGN INVESTMENTS IN COLUMN F.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (24 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY LOS ANGELES FOUNDATION
5151 STATE UNIVERSITY DR ADM NOLOS ANGELESCA90032954044252501(C)(3)$100,000ADVANCE EDUCATION AND CSU'S ROLE OF COMMUNITY SERV
AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION
7272 GREENVILLE AVEDALLASTX75231135613797501(C)(3)$60,000FOCUS ON PREVENTING & TREATING HEART DISEASE
SAINT LUKES FOUNDATION
377 NORTH WILTON ROADNEW CANAANCT06840237099149501(C)(3)$50,000FUND INNOVATIVE HEALTH CARE SOLUTIONS
15 AND THE MAHOMIES FOUNDATION
1701 DIRECTORS BOULEVARD SUITE 370AUSTINTX78744834134118501(C)(3)$35,000IMPROVING THE LIVES OF CHILDREN
UNITED WAY
4727 LOGAN AVENUEKANSAS CITYMO64136440545812501(C)(3)$30,000TO SUPPORT MISSION TO IMPROVE LIVES
THE LEUKEMIA & LYMPHOMA SOCIETY
3 INTERNATIONAL DRIVERYE BROOKNY10573135644916501(C)(3)$27,500IMPROVE QUALITY OF LIFE OF PATIENTS/RESEARCH
BLUFORD HEALTHCARE LEADERSHIP INSTITUTE
7900 LEES SUMMIT ROADKANSAS CITYMO64139463328194501(C)(3)$25,000DEVELOP POTENTIAL OF UNDERGRADS FOR LEADERSHIP
FOLDS OF HONOR KANSAS CITY
PO BOX 8246PRAIRIE VILLAGEKS66208452803323501(C)(3)$25,000SCHOLARSHIPS TO SPOUSES & CHILDREN OF VETERANS
FEDERAL EMPLOYEE EDUCATION & ASSISTANCE FUND
1641 PRINCE STREETALEXANDRIAVA22314521465583501(C)(3)$22,500EDUCATIONAL FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO FED EMPLOYEES
BOYS & GIRLS CLUB OF GREATER KANSAS CITY
6301 ROCKHILL ROAD SUITE 303KANSAS CITYMO64131436072065501(C)(3)$20,400PROMOTE PERSONAL DEV OF BOYS AND GIRLS
PHOENIX FAMILY HOUSING CORPORATION
3908 WASHINGTON STREETKANSAS CITYMO64111510231573501(C)(3)$20,000TO EMPOWER PEOPLE IN LOW INCOME HOUSING
VETERANS COMMUNITY PROJECT
8900 TROOST AVEKANSAS CITYMO64131474960735501(C)(3)$19,439PROVIDE HOUSING FOR VETERANS
HOPE HOUSE INC
PO BOX 520409INDEPENDENCEMO64052431265685501(C)(3)$13,500PROVIDING A SAFE REFUGE
HARVESTERS - THE COMMUNITY FOOD NETWORK
3801 TOPPING AVEKANSAS CITYMO64129431208665501(C)(3)$11,957FEED HUNGRY PEOPLE TODAY& END HUNGER TOMORROW
AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY
250 WILLIAMS STREET NWATLANTAGA30303131788491501(C)(3)$10,300SUPPORT DETECTION AND TREATMENT SVCS
CHILDREN'S MERCY HOSPITAL
2401 GILLHAM ROADKANSAS CITYMO64108440605373501(C)(3)$10,000SUPPORT TO PROVIDE EXCELLENT HEALTHCARE TO CHILDRE
TRUMAN HEARTLAND COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
4200 LITTLE BLUE PARKWAY SUITE 340INDEPENDENCEMO64057431482136501(C)(3)$10,000IMPROVE LIVES OF PEOPLE IN JA CO
TURNER HOUSE CLINIC INC
21 N 12TH STREETKANSAS CITYKS66102481151382501(C)(3)$10,000PROVIDE HEALTHCARE TO UNDERSERVED IN KC METRO
REDISCOVER
901 NE INDEPENDENCE AVEKANSAS CITYMO64105237169417501(C)(3)$8,000MENTAL HEALTH AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SVCS
ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AND RELATED DISORDERS ASSOCIAT
225 N MICHIGAN AVECHICAGOIL60601133039601501(C)(3)$7,600SUPPORT ALZHEIMERS RESEARCH, DETECTION, CARE
CITY YEAR
287 COLUMBUS AVENUEBOSTONMA021165114222882549501(C)(3)$7,500UNITE YOUNG PEOPLE FOR A YEAR OF FULL-TIME SERVICE
BRA COUTURE KC
4504 NE DE LA MAR CTLEES SUMMITMO64064463659903501(C)(3)$5,500PROVIDE SUPPORT FOR THOSE AFFECTED BY CANCER
UPLIFT ORGANIZATION
PO BOX 27015KANSAS CITYMO64127431571915501(C)(3)$5,500PROVIDE FOOD AND CLOTHING TO THE HOMELESS
HUNT FAMILY FOUNDATION
1 ARROWHEAD DRIVEKANSAS CITYMO64129431299453501(C)(3)$5,602SUPPORT YOUTH EDUCATION
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org24Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGEHA'S PHILANTHROPIC GIVING POLICY ENSURES THAT GEHA'S DONATIONS, SPONSORSHIPS, COMPANY VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES AND IN-KIND SERVICES ARE PERMISSIBLE UNDER SECTION 501(C)(9), COORDINATED AND ALIGNED WITH OUR CORPORATE VALUES, AND ADMINISTERED BY THE GEHA PHILANTHROPIC GIVING COMMITTEE. THE COMMITTEE IS COMPRISED OF NOT FEWER THAN FIVE MEMBERS, TO CONSIST OF; THREE MEMBERS OF THE EXECUTIVE TEAM INCLUDING GEHA'S PRESIDENT AND CEO AND THE GENERAL COUNSEL; A MEMBER OF THE MANAGEMENT TEAM; A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY PROGRAM AND OTHER APPOINTED REPRESENTATIVES AS NEEDED. GEHA'S VICE PRESIDENT OF PEOPLE & CULTURE SHALL SERVE AS AN EX-OFFICIO MEMBER. THE COMMITTEE MEMBERS SHALL BE ON A ROTATING BASIS, EXCLUDING THE GEHA PRESIDENT AND CEO, THE GENERAL COUNSEL, AND THE CORPORATE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY PROGRAM REPRESENTATIVE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (30 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
JERRY L PHILLIPS
FORMER DIRECTOR$75,000$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$75,000$0$0$0
DARREN TAYLOR
CEO/PRESIDENT ENDING 02/2021$70,514$0$0$0$596,658$0$54$0$3,116$0$670,342$0$0$0
BELINDA AGUILAR THOMPSON
SECRETARY/VP DEPUTY GENERAL$193,586$0$53,009$0$8,449$0$41,329$0$490$0$296,863$0$0$0
ARTHUR NIZZA
CEO/PRESIDENT STARTING 08/2021$394,883$0$0$0$102,125$0$117,103$0$14,887$0$628,998$0$0$0
RICHARD BIERMAN
SECRETARY/CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER$455,592$0$251,088$0$70,430$0$150,383$0$31,286$0$958,779$0$68,043$0
NICOLE JEFFRIES
VP ENTERPRISE BUSINESS SOLUTIO$183,484$0$47,765$0$900$0$38,976$0$11,741$0$282,866$0$0$0
GINGER WILLIAMS
VP CUSTOMER CARE$176,871$0$47,792$0$1,159$0$36,865$0$33,165$0$295,852$0$0$0
NINAD JOSHI
DIRECTOR - VENDOR MANAGEMENT$199,209$0$34,200$0$909$0$39,815$0$196$0$274,329$0$0$0
BRIAN SCHATZ
DIRECTOR - COMPLIANCE$176,753$0$43,797$0$1,049$0$36,433$0$29,298$0$287,330$0$0$0
JARED DIRKS
MEDICAL DIRECTOR$317,433$0$48,245$0$1,392$0$33,375$0$29,983$0$430,428$0$0$0
AILEEN WILKINS
CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER$213,431$0$108,880$0$66,697$0$38,299$0$16,756$0$444,063$0$57,079$0
SUSIE OLIVER
CHIEF BUSINESS PARTNERSHIP OFF$282,568$0$93,233$0$64,247$0$110,099$0$30,126$0$580,273$0$50,560$0
SARAH OSBORNE
CHIEF A&A 0FFICER$206,882$0$92,527$0$403,640$0$46,080$0$1,451$0$750,580$0$49,161$0
SHANNON HORGAN
CHIEF GROWTH OFFICER$221,709$0$92,048$0$390,022$0$39,512$0$24,733$0$768,024$0$51,882$0
DAVID KOENIG
CHIEF MEMBER&OPERATION OFFICER$348,761$0$99,075$0$68,978$0$125,139$0$12,533$0$654,486$0$51,939$0
PAUL AITKEN
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER$331,340$0$129,227$0$546,780$0$34,083$0$22,911$0$1,064,341$0$69,838$0
MATTHEW LATHROM
VP TECH AND SECURITY SERVICES$241,024$0$85,053$0$11,157$0$48,526$0$9,566$0$395,326$0$0$0
LISA SKEENS INTFEN
VP PARTNER DEVELOPMENT$227,566$0$51,449$0$10,827$0$45,284$0$9,697$0$344,823$0$0$0
GERARD PAUL
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER$352,880$0$120,083$0$79,293$0$45,614$0$19,797$0$617,667$0$63,374$0
CYNTHIA ANDERSON
VP PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT$194,607$0$50,519$0$9,708$0$39,808$0$13,853$0$308,495$0$0$0
CAROLYN WALTERS
VP HUMAN RESOURCES$198,634$0$73,583$0$1,496$0$41,327$0$9,777$0$324,817$0$0$0
ANGELA LESLIE
VP INTERNAL AUDIT AND SPL INVE$191,955$0$54,927$0$990$0$40,054$0$30,046$0$317,972$0$0$0
SCOTT ROBIDOUX
VP ACTUARIAL AND ANALYTICS$201,607$0$60,632$0$1,035$0$44,952$0$28,233$0$336,459$0$0$0
JOHN PATRICK
VP NATIONAL SALES$197,418$0$113,976$0$1,470$0$46,898$0$32,905$0$392,667$0$0$0
SHANNON REYNOLDS
VP DENTAL NETWORK AND PLANS$195,861$0$50,926$0$5,829$0$42,948$0$18,129$0$313,693$0$0$0
JOHN NOLEN
VP DIGITAL ENABLEMENT$185,656$0$49,826$0$1,437$0$40,432$0$26,133$0$303,484$0$0$0
JOSEPH STASI
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$358,079$0$108,615$0$64,068$0$104,467$0$31,776$0$667,005$0$60,785$0
MICHAEL SHUSKO
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER$278,994$0$33,615$0$1,995$0$49,386$0$874$0$364,864$0$0$0
LORI WILES
VP MARKETING$220,179$0$34,986$0$3,707$0$41,459$0$21,436$0$321,767$0$0$0
CANDICE MCGEE
VP OPERATIONS$182,700$0$49,439$0$4,617$0$38,883$0$19,615$0$295,254$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE FOLLOWING OFFICER AND KEY EMPLOYEES RECEIVED A SEVERANCE PAYMENT IN 2021: DARREN TAYLOR $ 546,430 SHANNON HORGAN $ 281,089 PAUL AITKEN $ 434,096 SARAH OSBORNE $ 305,606ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2ARTHUR NIZZA, DARREN TAYLOR, MARK J. VAN DYKE, JOSEPH STASI, SHANNON REYNOLDS, RICHARD BIERMAN, JOHN PATRICK AND SHANNON HORGAN HAVE A BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP BECAUSE THEY ARE DIRECTORS OR OFFICERS OF RELATED FOR-PROFIT ENTITIES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 3SINCE 2017, GEHA HAS CONTRACTED WITH THE COLONY GROUP (formerly known as new providence asset management) AND VANGUARD TO ACT AS THE INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT FIRMS FOR GEHA'S INVESTMENT PORTFOLIO.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 4THE BYLAWS OF THE ORGANIZATION WERE AMENDED TO CHANGE THE FOLLOWING: A) DIRECTOR MEETING REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO NOTICE AND TIMING OF MEETINGS B) MEMBER MEETING REQUIREMENTS RELATING TO NOTICE AND TIMING OF MEETINGS C) EXPANSION OF METHODS UTILIZED FOR MATTERS BROUGHT BEFORE THE MEMBERSHIP FOR A VOTE D) COMPOSITION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE E) ELIMINATE REDUNDANCY AND INCREASE FLEXIBILITY WITHIN THE BYLAWS AND OTHER GOVERNING DOCUMENTS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6MEMBERSHIP IN THE ASSOCIATION SHALL BE OPEN TO EMPLOYEES AND ANNUITANTS OF THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT. SUCH PERSONS SHALL BECOME REGULAR MEMBERS BY ENROLLING IN A BENEFIT PLAN SPONSORED BY THE ASSOCIATION. REGULAR MEMBERSHIP SHALL TERMINATE WHEN A PERSON IS NO LONGER ENROLLED IN A BENEFIT PLAN SPONSORED BY THE ASSOCIATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS ELECT THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FROM PERSONS NOMINATED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE MEMBERS APPROVE AMENDMENTS TO THE BY-LAWS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BAN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM PREPARES AND REVIEWS THE 990. THE 990 IS PRESENTED AND DISTRIBUTED TO THE AUDIT COMMITTEE BY THE INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM. QUESTIONS AND CONCERNS OF THE ORGANIZATION'S AUDIT COMMITTEE ARE ADDRESSED AND ANY CORRECTIONS OR CLARIFICATIONS THAT NEED TO BE MADE ARE MADE. A FINAL COPY OF THE 990 IS PROVIDED TO BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FINAL FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CALL EMPLOYEES AND DIRECTORS RECEIVE ANNUAL CONFLICT OF INTEREST TRAINING AND COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST QUESTIONNAIRE AT THE END OF TRAINING. FOR EMPLOYEES, THEY MAY ALSO REPORT POTENTIAL CONFLICTS AT ANY TIME DIRECTLY TO THE COMPLIANCE OFFICER. THE RESULTS FOR EMPLOYEES ARE REVIEWED BY THE COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND GENERAL COUNSEL. FOR DIRECTORS, THE RESULTS ARE ALSO REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE ADDRESSED ON AN INDIVIDUAL BASIS WITH EDUCATION AND, IF POSSIBLE, CONTROLS TO RESTRICT ACCESS TO SPECIFIC INFORMATION AND DUTIES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A & 15BCOMPENSATION FOR GEHA PRESIDENT, OFFICERS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES WAS REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE IN 2021. MARKET DATA WAS PROVIDED BY SULLIVAN COTTER, AN OUTSIDE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION CONSULTANT. THESE ACTIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD MINUTES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9INVESTMENT RETURN ON SUBSIDIARIES $ 7,602,883 CHANGE IN POSTRETIREMENT BENEFIT OBLIGATION $ 503,377 CLAIMS INCURRED BUT NOT REPORTED $ 306,000 -------------- $ 8,412,260
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CGEHA'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS AN AUDIT COMMITTEE. THIS COMMITTEE MEETS QUARTERLY WITH THE EXTERNAL AUDITORS. ANNUALLY, THE EXTERNAL AUDITORS PRESENT THE RESULTS OF THE CONSOLIDATED AUDIT TO THE COMMITTEE.
REASONS FOR AMENDINGForm 990, Part VII and Schedule J The 2021 tax return is being amended to report bonuses that were accrued at December 31, 2021 and paid after March 15, 2022 and to report 2020 bonuses accrued at December 31, 2020 and paid after March 15, 2021 which were inadvertently not reported on the original tax return.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndEINEIN
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT
1900 E STREET NWWASHINGTONDC20415GOVERNMENTDCGOVERNMENTN/ANAfalse
GEHA INC VOLUNTARY WELFARE BENEFIT FUND
310 NE MULBERRY STREETLEES SUMMITMO64086BENEFIT PLANMO501(C)(9)N/AGEHA INCYes (true)825057516
FEDERAL EMPLOYEES HEALTH ASSOCIATION
310 NE MULBERRY STLEES SUMMITMO640865861VEBAMO501(C)(9)N/AGEHA INCYes (true)874019519

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
GEHA HOLDINGS INC
310 NE MULBERRYLEES SUMMITMO640865861454255250HOLDING COMPANYMOGEHA INCC CORP$49$58,885,4731.00000Yes (true)
GEHA SOLUTIONS INC
310 NE MULBERRYLEES SUMMITMO640865861364722027SUBSIDIARYMOGEHA HLDGS INCC CORP$26,685,408$14,646,7121.00000Yes (true)
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
310 NE MULBERRYLEES SUMMITMO640865861870198108SUBSIDIARYNEGEHA HLDGS INCC CORP$1,833,470$29,461,8301.00000Yes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgYes (true)AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (10 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
GEHA HOLDINGS INC
A(i)$13,295MID-TERM RATE
GEHA SOLUTIONS INC
E$9,750,000COST
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
H$23,753BOOK VALUE
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
K$58,555BOOK VALUE
GEHA SOLUTIONS INC
L$14,682,540TRANSFER PRICE
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
L$885,845TRANSFER PRICE
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
M$443,497COST
GEHA INC VOLUNTARY WELFARE BENEFIT FUND
P$8,977,660COST
SURETY LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
Q$975,714COST
GEHA SOLUTIONS INC
Q$14,042,691COST

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE R, PART II, LINE 1THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT IS LISTED AS A RELATED ORGANIZATION BECAUSE IT IS THE SPONSORING ORGANIZATION OF THE GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES HEALTH ASSOCATION UNDER THE FEDERAL EMPLOYEES HEALTH BENEFIT ACT OF 1959.
SCHEDULE R, PART V, LINES 2(4) & 2(5)THE AMOUNTS FOR SHARING OF FACILITIES, EQUIPMENT, MAILING LISTS OR OTHER ASSETS AND THE AMOUNTS FOR SHARING OF PAID EMPLOYEES ARE INCLUDED AS PART OF THE PERFORMANCE OF SERVICES AMOUNTS DISCLOSED ABOVE.