COOPERATIVE LEAGUE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Form 990, tax year 2021
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- COOPERATIVE LEAGUE OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (EIN 36-2007481)
- Tax period
- 2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
- Filed
- 2022-05-04
- IRS object ID
- 202221249349300442
- Schema version
- 2021v4.2
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-05-04T09:10:49-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 111986323 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARCUM LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1899 L STREET NW SUITE 850 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20036 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2021-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 362007481 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | COOPERATIVE LEAGUE OF THE UNITED STATES | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Business Name Line2 | OF AMERICA | BusinessNameLine2Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | COOP | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2026386222 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1775 EYE STREET NW 8TH FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | VALERIA R ROACH | PersonNm |
| Person Title | EVP & CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2026386222 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2022-05-03 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | VALERIA | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | ROACH | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | FRANK H SMITH | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00639053 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2022274000 | PhoneNum |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 3 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2021 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | NATIONAL COOPERATIVE BUSINESS ASSOCIATION | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DOUGLAS O'BRIEN | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1775 EYE STREET NW 8TH FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $28,881,759 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.NCBACLUSA.COOP | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1916 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | DC | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | NCBA CLUSA IS A PROFESSIONAL TRADE ASSOCIATION SERVING THE NEEDS OF ITS MEMBERS FOR DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONAL COOPERATIVE DEVELOPMENT, GOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS, COMMUNICATIONS, AND EDUCATION. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 26 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 26 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 96 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 53 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $35,198,577 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $27,967,501 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $871,429 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $881,757 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $82,981 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $32,501 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $2,154 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $36,155,141 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $28,881,759 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $2,593,631 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $735,564 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $14,092,829 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $13,119,779 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $19,220,439 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $15,083,070 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $35,906,899 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $28,938,413 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $248,242 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | -$56,654 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $36,345,270 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $35,943,233 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $17,882,192 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $17,438,322 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $18,463,078 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $18,504,911 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | NCBA CLUSA IS THE PRIMARY AMERICAN VOICE FOR PEOPLE WHO USE COOPERATIVES TO BUILD A BETTER WORLD AND BUILD MORE INCLUSIVE ECONOMY. WE ARE THE APEX TRADE ASSOCIATION FOR COOPERATIVES IN THE US, WITH MORE THAN A CENTURY OF PROMOTING THE COOPERATIVE MODEL, AND A COOPERATIVE DEVELOPMENT ORGANIZATION OVERSEAS, BOASTING 65+ YEARS OF SUCCESSFUL INTERNATIONAL WORK. WE CURRENTLY MANAGE A PORTFOLIO OF PROGRAMS IN 20 COUNTRIES OUTSIDE THE US, AND HAVE WORKED IN MORE THAN 80 COUNTRIES.WE ACT AS A CATALYST TO BUILD AND SUSTAIN PARTNERSHIPS AMONG COOPERATIVES, ORGANIZATIONS AND INSTITUTIONS WHO ARE COOPERATIVE PRINCIPLES AND VALUES, AND WHO PROMOTE ECONOMIC AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT IN THE UNITED STATES AND OVERSEAS. WE ORGANIZE, PRESENT, AND SPONSOR EDUCATION SEMINARS AND CONFERENCES FOR MEMBER ORGANIZATIONS TO IMPROVE THE MANAGEMENT AND LEADERSHIP CAPABILITIES WITHIN THE COOPERATIVE SECTOR. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | 0 | SignificantChangeInd |
| Desc | SENEGAL - USAID FEED THE FUTURE KAWOLOR:THIS USAID PROJECT CONTRIBUTES TO THE SENEGALESE GOVERNMENT'S STRATEGY IN THE FIGHT AGAINST MALNUTRITION, FOOD INSECURITY AND POVERTY. KAWOLOR IS INSPIRED BY LESSONS LEARNED FROM USAID'S YAAJEENDE, IMPLEMENTED BY NCBA CLUSA FROM 2010-17. THE PROJECT AIMS TO CURB MALNUTRITION BY EMPOWERING ORGANIZATIONS AND REGIONAL RESOURCES PARTNERS TO SCALE UP NUTRITION LED AGRICULTURE AND USE MARKET OPPORTUNITIES FOR SUSTAINABILITY. THE OVERALL OBJECTIVE IS TO INCREASE THE PRODUCTION, CONSUMPTION AND MARKETING OF SAFE AND NUTRITIOUS FOODS WHILE ENCOURAGING HOUSEHOLD LEVEL CONSUMPTION OF DIVERSE DIETS, FOCUSED PRIMARILY ON WOMEN OF REPRODUCTIVE AGE AND CHILDREN UNDER TWO YEARS OF AGE. NCBA CLUSA TRAINS AND SUPPORTS LOCAL INSTITUTIONS, SUCH AS COMMUNITY-BASED ORGANIZATIONS, WOMEN'S GROUPS, CITIZEN WORKING GROUPS, COMMUNITY BASED SOLUTION PROVIDERS (CBSPS) AND PRIVATE FIRMS, TO LEAD THEIR OWN COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT. A KEY PLATFORM IS DEBBO GALLE GROUPS (WOMEN'S GROUPS) THAT ARE TARGETED FOR INTERNAL SAVINGS AND LOANS, HORTICULTURE, SMALL ENTERPRISE DEVELOPMENT, AND NUTRITION EDUCATION. IN ITS FINAL YEARS, KAWOLOR IS FOCUSED ON LINKING ACTIVITIES TO MARKETS AND SUPPORTING PARTNERS TO DEVELOP MARKET RELATIONSHIPS. THIS FOCUS SUPPORTS BUILDING AND EXPANDING THE NETWORK OF CBSPS, ORGANIZED IN INDEPENDENT NETWORK CALLED CULTIVERT. KAWOLOR ALSO ENGAGES THE PRIVATE SECTOR, SUCH AS FIRMS OFFERING SOLUTIONS IN IMPROVED AGGREGATION, TRANSPORTATION AND STORAGE OF PERISHABLE FOOD. THIS PROGRAM ALLOWS COMMUNITIES TO INCREASE CONSUMPTION OF NUTRITIOUS AND SAFE DIETS SUSTAINABLY, INCREASE ON-FARM AVAILABILITY AND MARKET SUPPLY OF DIVERSE, MICRO-NUTRIENT RICH FOODS, INCREASE RESILIENCE AND INCOME, INCREASE ADOPTION OF NUTRITION AND CARE PRACTICES, AND IMPROVE THE GOVERNANCE OF FOOD SYSTEMS. THE PROJECT INTERVENES IN 3,500 VILLAGES ACROSS 129 COMMUNES IN 8 REGIONSREACHING 150,000 HOUSEHOLDS, 500,000 CHILDREN AND 1.5 MILLION PEOPLE OVER FIVE YEARS. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | MOZAMBIQUE - PROMAC II:PROMAC II IS A 5-YEAR PROJECT (DECEMBER 2017 TO DECEMBER 2022) FUNDED BY THE ROYAL NORWEGIAN EMBASSY. ITS GOAL IS TO INCREASE FOOD SECURITY AND FARMER INCOMES THROUGH THE ADOPTION OF CLIMATE SMART AGRICULTURE (CSA) PRACTICES, GREATER ACCESS TO LAND, IMPROVED FUNCTIONAL LITERACY AND INCREASED ACCESS AND USE OF AGRICULTURAL INPUTS AND MARKET PARTICIPATION. BY WORKING TOWARD THIS GOAL, THE PROJECT IS CONTRIBUTING TO MOZAMBICAN GOVERNMENT'S STRATEGIC PLAN FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF AGRICULTURAL SECTOR (PEDSA 2010 -2019), WHICH AIMS TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE FOOD SECURITY AND INCOME OF FARMERS IN A COMPETITIVE AND SUSTAINABLE MANNER AND ENSURING SOCIAL AND GENDER EQUITY. PROMAC II SEEKS TO ENGAGE AND SUPPORT THE PRIVATE SECTOR TO ADOPT AND PROMOTE CLIMATE SMART AGRICULTURE PRACTICES, AS WELL SO TO INCREASE LINKAGES BETWEEN FARMING COMMUNITIES AND INPUT AND OUTPUT BUYERS THROUGH THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A NETWORK OF DISTRICT LEVEL COMMUNITY BASED SERVICE PROVIDERS (CBSP) AND OTHER MARKET CHANNELS TO MOVE THE PROGRAM TOWARD A MORE SUSTAINABLE PATH.THE OBJECTIVES OF PROMAC II ARE TO (1) EXPAND CLIMATE SMART AGRICULTURE (CSA) PRACTICES BY PROVIDING ADVANCED TRAINING TO 900 LEAD FARMERS WHO IN TURN WILL TRAIN AND SUPPORT 31,500 FARMERS, (2) INCREASE FARMERS' ACCESS TO INPUT AND OUTPUT MARKETS BY ESTABLISHING LAST MILE ENTREPRENEUR (LME) NETWORKS AND OTHER MARKET CHANNELS, (3) INCREASE AND SECURE LAND TENURE RIGHTS FOR 1,890 FAMILIES TO SUPPORT LOCAL PRODUCTIVE INVESTMENTS IN AGRICULTURE , AND (4) INCREASE ADULT EDUCATION AND GENDER EQUITY THROUGH THE PROVISION OF FUNCTIONAL ADULT LITERACY EDUCATION FOR 5,400 FARMERS. GIVEN THE PROGRESS MADE UNDER PROMAC I, PROMAC II IS NOT ONLY CONTINUING TO PROMOTE CSA BUT HAS ALSO INTENTIONALLY INCREASED ITS FOCUS ON ACCELERATING MARKET LINKAGES AND BUSINESS PLANNING THROUGH THE ESTABLISHMENT OF A NETWORK OF LMES AND OTHER MARKET CHANNELS TO MOVE THE PROGRAM TOWARD A MORE SUSTAINABLE TRAJECTORY. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | EAST TIMOR - CROP DIVERSIFICATION IN TIMOR-LESTE:THROUGH THIS PROJECT, THE GOVERNMENT OF NEW ZEALAND IS SUPPORTING INCOME-GENERATION OPPORTUNITIES AMONGST RURAL TIMORESE FARM HOUSEHOLDS THROUGH INCREASED DIVERSIFICATION OF EXPORT-ORIENTED CROPS. THE PROJECT REPRESENTS NEW ZEALAND'S CONTRIBUTION TO THE 'RISE (RAISING INCOMES THROUGH SUSTAINABLE EXPORT-AGRICULTURE) PROJECT' IN TIMOR-LESTE. NCBA CLUSA WORKS IN FIVE TECHNICAL AREAS THROUGH THE PROJECT: COFFEE FARM REHABILITATION; COCOA EXPANSION; SPICES EXPANSION; STRENGTHENING RESILIENCE TO CLIMATE CHALLENGES; AND EMERGENCY RESPONSE TO NATURAL DISASTER AND PANDEMIC MITIGATION MEASURES. THE PROJECT WILL REACH 10,000 COFFEE FARMERS ACROSS 5 MUNICIPALITIES, 5,500 COCOA FARMERS, AND 1,100 FARMERS ENGAGED IN SPICE PRODUCTION. ONE MAIN OVERARCHING GOAL IS TO SUPPORT IMPROVED CONDITIONS FOR PROJECT BENEFICIARIES AND STAFF TO ENGAGE IN A SAFE MANNER, GIVEN THE CHALLENGES OF COVID-19 AND NATURAL DISASTERS IN TIMOR-LESTE. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Described In Section501c3 | 0 | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | Yes (1) | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | 0 | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | 0 | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | 0 | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | Yes (1) | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (1) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | 0 | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | Yes (1) | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (1) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | Yes (1) | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | 0 | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Loan Outstanding | 0 | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | 0 | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part V | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVInd |
| IRP Document | 27 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 96 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | Yes (1) | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Foreign Country | TT | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | ID | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | KE | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | NG | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | EC | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | SG | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | UV | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | MZ | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | MA | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | GT | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | MI | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | DR | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | CG | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | GT | ForeignCountryCd |
| Foreign Country | HO | ForeignCountryCd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Nondeductible Contri Discl | Yes (1) | NondeductibleContriDisclInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 26 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 26 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (1) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (1) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | VALERIA R ROACH | PersonNm |
| Phone | 2026386222 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1775 EYE STREET NW 8TH FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WASHINGTON | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | DC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 20006 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (39 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOUGLAS O'BRIEN | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $323,200 | $0 | $38,053 | |||
| VALERIA ROACH | ||||||||
| EVP & CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | 40.00 | Yes (X) | $330,250 | $0 | $30,734 | |||
| SAMUEL FILIACI | ||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR. OF SOUTH EAST ASIA | 40.00 | $324,780 | $0 | $27,432 | Yes (X) | |||
| KARL ROSENBERG | ||||||||
| CHIEF OF PARTY | 40.00 | $288,390 | $0 | $30,316 | Yes (X) | |||
| MANUEL SERRANO | ||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | 40.00 | $245,737 | $0 | $29,019 | Yes (X) | |||
| GLENNYS REYNOSO-PIETERS | ||||||||
| COUNTRY DIRECTOR | 40.00 | $218,462 | $0 | $29,203 | Yes (X) | |||
| AISSATA WANE | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR, FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION | 40.00 | $237,207 | $0 | $8,083 | Yes (X) | |||
| INA SCHONBERG | ||||||||
| TECHNICAL INTEGRATION LEAD | 40.00 | $181,834 | $0 | $31,648 | Yes (X) | |||
| MATT BUZBY | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, INT'L OPERATIONS | 40.00 | $186,609 | $0 | $19,250 | Yes (X) | |||
| LARRY THOMAS CHIEF HR | ||||||||
| & ADMIN. OFFICER - UNTIL 9/2021 | 32.00 | $187,445 | $0 | $15,249 | Yes (X) | |||
| TAMELA BLALOCK | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, COOPER. RELATIONS | 40.00 | $168,227 | $0 | $17,876 | Yes (X) | |||
| JACQUELINE BASS | ||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT | 40.00 | $168,118 | $0 | $13,181 | Yes (X) | |||
| CARLA DECKER | ||||||||
| CHAIR - AS OF 6/2021 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| ERBIN CROWELL | ||||||||
| CHAIR - UNTIL 6/2021, BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| ESTEBAN KELLY | ||||||||
| 1ST VICE PRESIDENT | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| KAREN ZIMBELMAN | ||||||||
| 2ND VICE CHAIR | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| DEVIN FUHRMAN | ||||||||
| TREASURER - AS OF 6/2021 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| GREGORY STARHEIM | ||||||||
| TREASURER - UNTIL 6/2021 | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| JILL TOMALIN | ||||||||
| SECRETARY | 2.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | ||
| CORNELIUS BLANDING | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| PAUL BRADLEY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| HOWARD BRODSKY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRAD CAPTAIN | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| ELLIS CARR | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| BRIAN CAVEY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| PATRICK CONNEALY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JEFFERY CONNOR | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JUAN FERNANDEZ | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| KIM GARMANY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| DIANE GASAWAY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| EMMA LINDBERG | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JEANNE MATSON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JERRY MCGEORGE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| CHRISTOPHER ROE | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| LADONNA SANDERS REDMOND | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| MICHELLE SCHRY | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVE SWANSON | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| DEBORAH TROCHA | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| JAMES ZAPPA | ||||||||
| BOARD MEMBER | 2.00 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,860,259 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $290,044 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 32 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMERICAN TECHNOLOGY SERVICES | |||||
| 2751 PROSPERTY AVENUE FL 6 | FAIRFAX | VA | 22031 | NETWORK SERVICES | $275,672 |
| JUST RESULTS LLC | |||||
| 5009 WORTHINGTON DRIVE | BETHESDA | MD | 20816 | USDA PROJECT EVALUATION | $179,259 |
| COOPR8 CONSULTING LLC | |||||
| 1310 BRIDGEWATER WALK | SNELLVILLE | GA | 30078 | GRANT CONSULTING | $122,198 |
| MARCUM LLP | |||||
| 1899 L STREET NW SUITE 850 | WASHINGTON | DC | 20036 | TAX, ASSURANCE, AND ADVISORY SERVICES | $110,819 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $21,316,237 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $6,651,264 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $27,967,501 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| MEMBERSHIP DUES | 900099 | $692,073 | $692,073 |
| REGISTRATIONS AND SPONSORSHIPS | 900099 | $168,942 | $168,942 |
| OTHER FEES FOR SERVICE | 900099 | $20,742 | $20,742 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $881,757 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $32,501 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $32,501 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $28,881,759 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $881,757 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $32,501 | ExclusionAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $735,564 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,076,464 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,663,853 | TotalAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $386,129 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,389,851 | TotalAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $603,482 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $55,336 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $111,085 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,340 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,674,099 | TotalAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,243 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,018,599 | TotalAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,622 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,311,420 | TotalAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $958,451 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $401,188 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $185,743 | TotalAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $220,025 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt |
|---|---|
| IN-COUNTRY TRAINING | $5,038,840 |
| SUBAWARDS | $2,136,107 |
| DUES, LICENSES & FEES | $438,569 |
| VEHICLES AND EQUIPMENT | $362,884 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $135,519 | TotalAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $28,938,413 | TotalAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $482,792 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $387,344 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,405,266 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $19,931,306 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,828,720 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,914,744 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $537,127 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $414,981 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,267,155 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,447,859 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $90,065 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $194,643 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $2,032,240 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $1,346,773 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $868,163 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $685,467 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $75,875 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $75,461 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,707,437 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,805,924 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $82,670 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $85,504 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,345,270 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $35,943,233 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,863,516 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,477,533 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $13,036,507 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,066,532 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,164,630 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,982,169 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,729,627 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $17,882,192 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,438,322 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,482,658 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,900,528 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,980,420 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,604,383 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,463,078 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $18,504,911 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,345,270 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $35,943,233 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | -$56,654 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $98,487 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantially All Dues Nonded | Yes (1) | SubstantiallyAllDuesNondedInd |
| Only In House Lobbying | 0 | OnlyInHouseLobbyingInd |
| Agree Carryover Prior Year | 0 | AgreeCarryoverPriorYearInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,572,427 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $904,182 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $668,245 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $324,076 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $321,917 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $2,159 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $135,737 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $120,674 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $15,063 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $685,467 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| INVESTMENT IN CBI | $2,390,510 | C |
| INVESTMENT IN DOTCOOPERATION, LLC | $415,414 | C |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Securities | $2,805,924 | TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | DEFERRED RENT AND LEASE INCENTIVE | Desc |
| Amt | $1,729,627 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $1,729,627 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $28,980,246 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $98,487 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $98,487 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $28,881,759 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $28,881,759 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $28,938,413 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $28,938,413 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $28,938,413 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART X, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MANAGEMENT OF NCBA CLUSA EVALUATED ITS UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2021, AND DETERMINED THAT THERE WERE NO MATTERS THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OR THAT MAY HAVE ANY EFFECT ON ITS TAX-EXEMPT STATUS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (7 entries)
| RegionRegionTxt | OfficesOfficesCnt | EmployeeEmployeeCnt | Type Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt | Specific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxt | Region Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SOUTH AMERICA | 1 | 14 | PROGRAM SERVICES | COOPERATIVE DEVELOPMENT, GENERATE ECONOMIC GROWTH IN AGRICULTURE SECTOR, INCREASE UNDERSTANDING OF US | $501,317 |
| EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC | 2 | 253 | PROGRAM SERVICES | IMPROVE FARMER PRODUCTIVITY, FARM MANAGEMENT, COOPEREATIVE MANAGEMENT, NATURAL RESOURCE MANAGEMENT, INCREASED EXPORTS | $2,959,881 |
| CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | 2 | 16 | PROGRAM SERVICES | COOPERATIVE DEVELOPMENT, GENERATE ECONOMIC GROWTH IN AGRICULTURE SECTOR, INCREASE UNDERSTANDING OF US, AND SANITARY PRACTICES, EXPORT AND MARKETING OF AGRICULTURAL | $1,244,821 |
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | 11 | 240 | PROGRAM SERVICES | COOPERATIVE DEVELOPMENT, GENERATE ECONOMIC GROWTH IN AGRICULTURE SECTOR, IMPROVED NUTRITION, NATURAL RESORUCE MANAGEMENT, CLIMATE CHANGE. | $16,017,571 |
| EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC | 0 | 0 | GRANTMAKING | $191,755 | |
| CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | 0 | 0 | GRANTMAKING | $30,591 | |
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | 0 | 0 | GRANTMAKING | $513,218 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 16 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 523 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continuation Total Office | 0 | ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continuation Total Employee | 0 | ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 16 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 523 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $21,459,154 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $21,459,154 | TotalSpentAmt |
Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp (15 entries)
| RegionRegionTxt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Description Of Non Cash AsstDescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxt | Valuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc | Manner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | PROCUREMENT OF CHEMICAL RESIDUE AND MICROBIOLOGICAL TESTING EQUIPMENT TO STRENGTHEN FOOD SAFETY LABORATORY | $0 | $8,833 | LABORATORY EQUIPMENT | BOOK VALUE | |
| CENTRAL AMERICA AND THE CARIBBEAN | PROCUREMENT OF PROGRAMMING SERVICES TO DEVELOP A DOCUMENT MANAGEMENT SYSTEM TO STRENGTHEN THE MEAT INSPECTION SYSTEM OF THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC | $0 | $10,333 | PAYMENT OF PROGRAMMING SERVICES | BOOK VALUE | |
| EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC | FARMER ASSISTANCE (COFFEE FARMERS) | $63,206 | $0 | CHECK | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | TOOLS FOR LOCAL REFUGEE CENTERS TO CLEAN FIELDS | $0 | $7,278 | TOOLS FOR LOCAL REFUGEE CENTERS TO CLEAN FIELDS | BOOK VALUE | |
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $6,993 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | ONION MARKETING PLATFORM | $9,525 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | CULTIVERT OPERATION | $163,597 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $12,287 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $9,247 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $5,276 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | NURSERY GRANT | $20,105 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $6,442 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $12,372 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | APN PROMOTIONAL ACTIVITIES GRANT | $33,835 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER | ||
| SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | $9,501 | $0 | WIRE TRANSFER |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 15 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (5 entries)
| Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxt | RegionRegionTxt | RecipientRecipientCnt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Description Of Non Cash AsstDescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxt | Valuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Manner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FARMER ASSISTANCE (COFFEE & COCOA) | EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC | 25214 | $66,618 | TRAINING AND BASIC AGRICULTURAL INPUTS(SEEDLINGS AND TOOLS) | BOOK VALUE | ||
| ESTABLISHMENT OF BENEFICIARY FARMER DEMONSTRATION FARMS | EAST ASIA AND THE PACIFIC | 2282 | $39,147 | TRAINING AND BASIC AGRICULTURAL INPUTS | BOOK VALUE | ||
| BOREHOLE REHABILITATION | SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | 1 | $34,846 | CHECK | |||
| SHEET SHED CONFECTION | SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | 1 | $20,457 | CHECK | |||
| WATER, SANITATION AND HYGIENE | SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA | 1 | $6,331 | MATERIALS FOR IMPROVING IRRIGATION SYSTEME & ACCESS TO DRINKING WATER | BOOK VALUE |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | 0 | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | 0 | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | 0 | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | 0 | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | 0 | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | 0 | BoycottCountriesInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 2: | NCBA CLUSA HAS FIELD OFFICES IN EACH COUNTRY WHICH CONDUCT SITE VISITS TO GRANT RECIPIENTS: MEASUREMENT OF PROGRESS IN ACHIEVING GRANT OBJECTIVES THROUGH MILESTONES; REIMBURSEMENT OF COSTS BASED ON SUBMISSION OF FISCAL REPORTS WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION (RECEIPTS, TIMESHEETS, ETC.). |
| PART I, LINE 3: | EXPENDITURES WERE ACCOUNTED FOR USING THE ACCRUAL BASIS OF ACCOUNTING. |
| PART III, COL (C): | THE NUMBER OF RECIPIENTS IS AN ACTUAL TOTAL, NOT AN ESTIMATED TOTAL. |
| PART II, LINE 1 ACCOUNTING METHOD: | EXPENDITURES WERE ACCOUNTED FOR USING THE ACCRUAL BASIS OF ACCOUNTING. |
| PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD: | EXPENDITURES WERE ACCOUNTED FOR USING THE ACCRUAL BASIS OF ACCOUNTING. |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Housing Allowance Or Residence | Yes (X) | HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd |
| Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd |
| Substantiation Required | Yes (1) | SubstantiationRequiredInd |
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOUGLAS O'BRIEN | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT & CEO | $323,200 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,400 | $0 | $20,653 | $0 | $361,253 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| VALERIA ROACH | ||||||||||||||
| EVP & CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $286,609 | $0 | $43,641 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $17,400 | $0 | $13,334 | $0 | $360,984 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SAMUEL FILIACI | ||||||||||||||
| REGIONAL DIR. OF SOUTH EAST ASIA | $257,877 | $0 | $6,645 | $0 | $60,258 | $0 | $12,073 | $0 | $15,359 | $0 | $352,212 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| KARL ROSENBERG | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OF PARTY | $211,385 | $0 | $4,336 | $0 | $72,669 | $0 | $8,640 | $0 | $21,676 | $0 | $318,706 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MANUEL SERRANO | ||||||||||||||
| SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT | $224,935 | $0 | $20,802 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,868 | $0 | $15,151 | $0 | $274,756 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GLENNYS REYNOSO-PIETERS | ||||||||||||||
| COUNTRY DIRECTOR | $167,813 | $0 | $3,716 | $0 | $46,933 | $0 | $7,582 | $0 | $21,621 | $0 | $247,665 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| AISSATA WANE | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR, FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION | $175,462 | $0 | $3,528 | $0 | $58,217 | $0 | $7,029 | $0 | $1,054 | $0 | $245,290 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| INA SCHONBERG | ||||||||||||||
| TECHNICAL INTEGRATION LEAD | $175,960 | $0 | $5,874 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,995 | $0 | $20,653 | $0 | $213,482 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MATT BUZBY | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, INT'L OPERATIONS | $177,644 | $0 | $8,965 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,879 | $0 | $8,371 | $0 | $205,859 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| LARRY THOMAS CHIEF HR | ||||||||||||||
| & ADMIN. OFFICER - UNTIL 9/2021 | $156,712 | $0 | $30,733 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $8,928 | $0 | $6,321 | $0 | $202,694 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TAMELA BLALOCK | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, COOPER. RELATIONS | $160,227 | $0 | $8,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,708 | $0 | $8,168 | $0 | $186,103 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JACQUELINE BASS | ||||||||||||||
| VICE PRESIDENT, BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT | $168,118 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $10,387 | $0 | $2,794 | $0 | $181,299 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 1A | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | HOUSING ALLOWANCE IS INCLUDED IN TAXABLE WAGES FOR THE FOLLOWING OFFICER, KEY EMPLOYEE, OR HIGHEST COMPENSATED EMPLOYEE: KARL ROSENBERG - $18,623 GLENNYS REYNOSO-PIETERS - $13,759 AISSATA WANE - $15,069 | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6 | NCBA CLUSA OFFERS THREE TYPES OF MEMBERSHIP: INDIVIDUAL, ORGANIZATIONAL, AND ASSOCIATE. MEMBERS HAVE THE RIGHT TO PROVIDE A REPRESENTATIVE TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7A | THERE IS AN ANNUAL ELECTION BY THE MEMBERS FOR THE OFFICERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE PRESIDENT AND CEO, EVP AND CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, AND FINANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEW THE FEDERAL FORM 990 BEFORE FILING WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | WHEN NEW MEMBERS ARE BROUGHT ON THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, AND DURING THE ANNUAL MEETING, THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND STATEMENT IS EXPLAINED AND DISTRIBUTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR THEIR SIGNATURE. THE BOARD MONITORS WHISTLEBLOWER HOTLINE NOTIFICATIONS AND REVIEW FOR COMPLIANCE WITH CODE OF ETHICS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICIES. THE BOARD MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ANY INCIDENCE OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST AS THEY OCCUR. THE SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM IS REQUIRED TO SIGN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT ON AN ANNUAL BASIS AND REPORT ANY INCIDENCE OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST AS IT OCCURS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE PRESIDENT AND CEO'S SALARY IS SET BY A BOARD OF DIRECTORS COMMITTEE, ON THE BASIS OF HIS/HER ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REVIEW, AND A COMPARISON OF CURRENT SALARIES FOR SIMILAR POSITIONS WITHIN THE WASHINGTON, DC METROPOLITAN AREA. FOR THE PRESIDENT AND CEO AS WELL AS ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES, AN EXTERNAL COMPENSATION CONSULTANT WAS RETAINED TO CONDUCT A COMPREHENSIVE ASSESSMENT OF THE NCBA CLUSA'S COMPENSATION STRUCTURE IN COMPARISON TO ESTABLISH A BASELINE FOR COMPENSATION ACROSS ALL POSITION GRADE LEVELS. ON AN ANNUAL BASIS, THE CONSULTING FIRM PROVIDES AN ANALYSIS OF THE RECOMMENDED ACROSS-THE-BOARD PERCENTAGE INCREASE FOR ALL POSITIONS BASED ON SALARY SURVEY DATA OBTAINED FROM VARIOUS RECOGNIZED INDUSTRY SOURCES. THE EMPLOYEE'S SALARY IS DETERMINED USING THIS INFORMATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | NCBA CLUSA MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. THE NCBA CLUSA WEBSITE INCLUDES THE CODE OF BUSINESS ETHICS AND CONDUCT POLICY GUIDELINES TO THE PUBLIC AND REPORTABLE METHODS TO PROMOTE GOOD BEHAVIORAL STANDARDS FOR ALL WORKING WITH NCBA CLUSA. |