STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UNIVERSITY CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY CREDIT UNION (EIN 01-6028792)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-06-16
IRS object ID
202221679349300742
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-06-16T12:58:16-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010448006PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ALBIN RANDALL & BENNETTBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 445 130 MIDDLE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityPORTLANDCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP041120445ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN016028792EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNIVERSITY CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2078898600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line115 MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityORONOCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04473ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBOB WILLIAMSPersonNm
Person TitleCHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICERPersonTitleTxt
Phone2078898600PhoneNum
Signature2022-06-16SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstBOBPersonFirstNm
Person LastWILLIAMSPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonROBIN L CYRPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01261639PTIN
Phone2077721981PhoneNum
Preparation2022-06-16PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRENEE OUELLETTEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line115 MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityORONOCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04473ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$41,376,141GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.UCUMAINE.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1967FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionUNIVERSITY CREDIT UNION ADVANCES YOUR FINANCIAL WELL-BEING IN EVERY STAGE OF LIFE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee95TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$114,129TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$18,159,825PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$19,082,321CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,645,334PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,573,502CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$53,202PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$52,343CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$19,858,361PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$20,708,166CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$34,575PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$110,926CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$993,073PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$724,283CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,343,571PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,782,671CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,100,063PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,511,245CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$16,471,282PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$16,129,125CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,387,079PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,579,041CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$385,646,309TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$424,608,395TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$349,834,373TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$385,484,095TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$35,811,936NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$39,124,300NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE PURPOSE OF UNIVERSITY CREDIT UNION IS TO ACTIVELY ADVANCE MEMBERS' FINANCIAL WELL-BEING IN EVERY STAGE OF THEIR LIVES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescTHE CREDIT UNION HAS 27,959 MEMBERS AS OF 12/31/2021. MEMBERS HAVE ACCESS TO A WIDE VARIETY OF LOW COST, HIGH QUALITY SERVICES.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document8610IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee95EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns Filed0EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBOB WILLIAMSPersonNm
Phone2078898600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line115 MAIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityORONOCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04473ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
BORGMAN RICHARD
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHENEY CAROLYN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
UHUAD BETSY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HENDERSON JON
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
REID PETER
CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
WHITEHILL ENCY
VICE CHAIRPERSON1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MORRISON HUGH
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
OUELLETTE RENEE D
PRESIDENT & CEO40.00$259,146$0$47,062Yes (X)
WHITE-RIDEOUT DEB
EXEC VICE PRESIDENT40.00$171,983$0$41,174Yes (X)
GLEASON APRIL
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER40.00$135,974$0$38,061Yes (X)
BYRAM EILEEN
CHIEF RISK OFFICER40.00$124,701$0$39,815Yes (X)
WILLIAMS ROBERT
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER40.00$123,486$0$32,663Yes (X)
RUCKER KYLE
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$176,074$0$28,633Yes (X)
BRONIARCZYK CORY E
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$163,629$0$20,926Yes (X)
FALOON CODY A
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$140,276$0$35,672Yes (X)
CARLISLE C JASON
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR40.00$134,190$0$27,865Yes (X)
YOUNG STACEY
VP OF MEMBER SERVICES40.00$101,315$0$24,033Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,530,774TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$335,904TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SYNERGENT
2 LEDGEVIEW DRWESTBROOKME04092DATA PROCESSING$1,345,151
PORTLAND SAFE CONSULTING & DESIGN INC
3 MALLISON FALLS RDWINDHAMME04062EQUIPMENT & SERVICE SUPPORT$267,817
PROPERTY VALUATION SERVICES INC
PO BOX 343SOUTH FREEPORTME04078APPRAISALS$209,385
ST CLAIR MEDIA GROUP
KAREN ST CLAIRPORTLANDME04110MARKETING$164,400
DOCUSIGN INC
221 MAIN ST SUITE 1000SAN FRANCISCOCA94105SOFTWARE SUPPORT$152,935
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
LOAN INCOME FROM MEMBERS522100$15,199,593$15,199,593
CHECK CARD522100$2,145,596$2,145,596
OVERDRAFT FEES522100$1,301,053$1,301,053
OTHER INCOME522100$291,214$291,214
ATM FEES522100$144,865$83,079$61,786
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$19,082,321TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,229,729TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,229,729ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,795,869SecuritiesAmt
Other$14,215,879OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,759,093SecuritiesAmt
Other$13,908,882OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$36,776SecuritiesAmt
Other$306,997OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$343,773TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$343,773RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
OTHER INCOME522100$26,494$26,494
COMMISSION522100$25,849$25,849
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$52,343OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$20,708,166TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$19,364,308RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$114,129UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,229,729ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$110,926TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$724,283TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,013,074TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,904,823TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$509,354TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$917,365TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$438,055TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,078TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$38,477TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$364,233TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$577,596TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$608,378TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,853TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,127TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$872,813TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,986TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
OPERATIONS EXPENSE$3,987,992
LOAN SERVICE EXPENSE$472,207
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$256,938
TRAINING AND OTHER G&A$179,567

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,129,125TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,494,134BOYAmt
EOY$12,127,884EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$794,260BOYAmt
EOY$1,165,005EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$313,326,434BOYAmt
EOY$351,335,862EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$14,742,640LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$8,057,216LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,141,761BOYAmt
EOY$6,685,424EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,974,845BOYAmt
EOY$43,896,105EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,914,875BOYAmt
EOY$9,398,115EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$385,646,309BOYAmt
EOY$424,608,395EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,890,851BOYAmt
EOY$2,498,373EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,806,131BOYAmt
EOY$1,953,932EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,184,267BOYAmt
EOY$6,500,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$321,953,124BOYAmt
EOY$374,531,790EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$349,834,373BOYAmt
EOY$385,484,095EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,811,936BOYAmt
EOY$39,124,300EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,811,936BOYAmt
EOY$39,124,300EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$385,646,309BOYAmt
EOY$424,608,395EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,579,041ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,266,677NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting CashYes (X)MethodOfAccountingCashInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcYes (1)AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Beginning Balance$338,208BeginningBalanceAmt
Additions During Year$1,166,926AdditionsDuringYearAmt
Distributions During Year$1,171,637DistributionsDuringYearAmt
Ending Balance$333,497EndingBalanceAmt
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,578,333OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,578,333BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,924,713OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,043,443DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,881,270BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$747,863OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$624,317DepreciationAmt
Book Value$123,546BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,191,193OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,341,149DepreciationAmt
Book Value$850,044BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$300,538OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$48,307DepreciationAmt
Book Value$252,231BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$6,685,424TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
INVESTMENTS SECURITIES AVAILABLE FOR SALE$39,679,369F
INVESTMENT SECURITIES HELD TO MATURITY$3,206,887F
FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK OF BOSTON STOCK$601,700F
INVESTMENTS - EQUITY SECURITIES$408,149F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$43,896,105TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARE AND SAVINGS ACCOUNTDesc
Amt$374,531,790Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$374,531,790TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$19,442,148TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,266,677NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,266,677RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$20,708,825RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$659OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$659RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$20,708,166TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$16,129,784TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Losses Reported$659LossesReportedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$659ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$16,129,125ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$16,129,125TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 1B:UCU SELLS MORTGAGES TO FANNIE MAE (FNMA) AND THE FEDERAL HOME LOAN BANK (FHLB)I BUT RETAINS THE SERVICING. UCU ACCEPTS THE MORTGAGE PAYMENTS ON BEHALF OF FNMA AND FHLB AND REMITS THE P&I PORTIONS OF THOSE TO THE RESPECTIVE ENTITY ON A DAILY BASIS. THE T&I (OR ESCROW) PORTION OF THE PAYMENTS IS RETAINED IN A CUSTODIAL ACCOUNT AT UCU. UCU DISBURSES PAYMENTS TO THE RESPECTIVE CITY/TOWN AND INSURANCE COMPANIES AS PER THE MORTGAGE ESCROW AGREEMENTS OUT OF THE CUSTODIAL ACCOUNT. CUSTODIAL ACCOUNTS ARE RECONCILED AND REPORTED TO THE FNMA AND FHLB MONTHLY.
PART IV, LINE 2B:ESCROW ACCOUNTS FOR MORTGAGES
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON SALE OF PROPERTY/EQUIPMENT -659.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
UNIVERSITY OF MAINE FOUNDATION
TWO ALUMNI PLACE ORONO ME04469-5792ORONOME044695792016011501501(C)(3)$16,750$0CASHCHARITABLE SUPPORT
UNIVERSITY OF MAINE AT PRESQUE ISLE
181 MAIN STREETPRESQUE ISLEME04769501(C)(3)$14,076$0CASHCHARITABLE SUPPORT
UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN MAINE FOUNDATION
P O BOX 9300 PORTLAND ME 04104-9300PORTLANDME041049300016000769501(C)(3)$30,100$0CASHCHARITABLE SUPPORT
FHLB CONDUIT GRANTS - 9 GRANTEES
$50,000$0JNE RECOVERY GRANTS FROM BOSTON'S FHLB
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org3Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org9TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE ORGANIZATION ENSURES THAT THE RECIPIENT ORGANIZATION IS A QUALIFIED SECTION 501(C)(3) PUBLIC CHARITY. CONTRIBUTIONS ARE UNRESTRICTED AND TO BE USED FOR THE DONEE'S EXEMPT PURPOSE. NO GRANT MONITORING IS DEEMED NECESSARY. THE ORGANIZATION HAS RECEIVED RECEIPTS OF ACKNOWLEDGEMENT AS SUBSTANTIATION FOR THESE CONTRIBUTIONS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
OUELLETTE RENEE D
PRESIDENT & CEO$232,824$0$11,319$0$15,003$0$19,619$0$27,443$0$306,208$0$0$0
WHITE-RIDEOUT DEB
EXEC VICE PRESIDENT$162,570$0$7,974$0$1,439$0$13,731$0$27,443$0$213,157$0$0$0
RUCKER KYLE
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$44,148$0$131,889$0$37$0$14,180$0$14,453$0$204,707$0$0$0
BRONIARCZYK CORY E
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$29,906$0$133,713$0$10$0$13,086$0$7,840$0$184,555$0$0$0
FALOON CODY A
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$29,529$0$110,737$0$10$0$11,448$0$24,224$0$175,948$0$0$0
GLEASON APRIL
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER$129,008$0$6,213$0$753$0$10,865$0$27,196$0$174,035$0$0$0
BYRAM EILEEN
CHIEF RISK OFFICER$118,099$0$5,806$0$796$0$10,172$0$29,643$0$164,516$0$0$0
CARLISLE C JASON
MORTGAGE LOAN ORIGINATOR$24,218$0$109,944$0$28$0$11,295$0$16,570$0$162,055$0$0$0
WILLIAMS ROBERT
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER$118,779$0$4,457$0$250$0$5,220$0$27,443$0$156,149$0$0$0

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (5 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
DEB WHITE-RIDEOUT
OFFICERSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE AGREEMENT LOANYes (X)$445,000$518,8280Yes (1)Yes (1)
DEB WHITE-RIDEOUT
OFFICERSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE AGREEMENT LOANYes (X)$91,500$91,8590Yes (1)Yes (1)
RENEE OUELLETTE
OFFICERSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE AGREEMENT LOANYes (X)$315,000$337,5000Yes (1)Yes (1)
RENEE OUELLETTE
OFFICERSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE AGREEMENT LOANYes (X)$124,000$124,3030Yes (1)Yes (1)
EILEEN BYRAM
OFFICERSPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE AGREEMENT LOANYes (X)$90,000$92,5150Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$1,165,005TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION IS IN BUSINESS TO SERVE ITS MEMBERS, WHICH IS MADE UP OF THE STUDENTS, EMPLOYEES AND ALUMNI OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MAINE SYSTEM, MAINE MARITIME ACADEMY, PENOBSCOT COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICTS, NORTHEAST TECHNICAL INSTITUTE, THE LANDING SCHOOL, COSMOTECH, PRINT MAIL OF MAINE, USA UNION STREET ATHLETICS, GENERAL ELECTRIC POWER SYSTEMS OF BANGOR, AND THE MAINE CONSUMER COUNCIL. MEMBERSHIP IS ALSO AVAILABLE TO THE FAMILIES OF THESE GROUPS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AMEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY ARE NOMINATED AND WHEN APPLICABLE VOTED IN BY MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BCERTAIN DECISIONS ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE ORGANIZATION, SUCH AS THE DECISION TO MERGE WITH ANOTHER ENTITY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BA COPY OF THE 990 WAS PROVIDED TO THE GOVERNING BODY WITH AVAILABLE TIME FOR REVIEW AND DISCUSSION BEFORE FILING. THE RETURN WAS REVIEWED BY THE ACCOUNTING MANAGER AND CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CA CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENT IS SIGNED AND ISSUES ARE ADDRESSED AS THEY ARISE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15COMPENSATION FOR THE ORGANIZATION'S PRESIDENT/CEO AND ALL OTHER EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED WITH COMPARABILITY DATA SUCH AS A COMPENSATION SURVEY OR STUDY. THE PRESIDENT/CEO COMPENSATION IS SUBJECT TO APPROVAL OF THE BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE POSTED ONSITE AT ALL PUBLIC LOCATIONS. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.