STRATEGY STUDIO / NONPROFIT PEOPLE SEARCH

UTICA UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UTICA UNIVERSITY (EIN 16-1476258)
Tax period
2021-06-01 to 2022-05-31
Filed
2022-10-13
IRS object ID
202242869349301109
Schema version
2021v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-10-13T08:13:40-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN161476258EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Utica UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUTICBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3157923011PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityUticaCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13502ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPamela SalmonPersonNm
Person TitleVP of Financial Affairs & TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone3157923011PhoneNum
Signature2022-10-13SignatureDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer1TrustedCustomerCd
OOB Security Verification11OOBSecurityVerificationCd
Last Submission Rqr OOB0LastSubmissionRqrOOBCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL2AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name ChangeYes (X)NameChangeInd
Principal OfficerPamela SalmonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityUticaCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13502ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$142,992,916GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.utica.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionWe empower learners to achieve their career and life goals through personally enriching experiences and outstanding educational pathways.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body29VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent28VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1709TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers75TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$35,000TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$36,399NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$13,860,306PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$18,314,752CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$85,014,179PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$83,374,001CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$16,042,962PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,363,955CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$497,302PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,090,073CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$115,414,749PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$105,142,781CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$17,156,038PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$19,985,889CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$46,045,419PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$50,532,066CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,946,584CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$31,837,267PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$34,335,851CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$95,038,724PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$104,853,806CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$20,376,025PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$288,975CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$162,972,224TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$156,931,603TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$84,303,263TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$82,613,316TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$78,668,961NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$74,318,287NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionWe empower learners to achieve their career and life goals through personally enriching experiences and outstanding educational pathways.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$52,431,746ExpenseAmt
Grant$16,118,939GrantAmt
Revenue$72,537,456RevenueAmt
DescInstruction and research to educate undergraduate & graduate students preparing them to achieve distinction in their chosen professions and inspiring them to become citizens committed to their community. Institutional Support for central and executive-level activities concerned with management and long-range planning for the entire institution.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$20,609,414ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,866,950GrantAmt
Revenue$1,055,075RevenueAmt
DescStudent Services provides support to instructional programs with an emphasis on student life outside the classroom. it includes areas such as athletics, student activities, career counseling and placement, etc.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,312,232ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescAcademic support encompasses the areas of faculty and program development as well as resource centers including the library and various institutes designed to support the learning experience.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$10,159,669ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$10,836,543RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary Enterprises Expenses $10,159,669 Revenue $10,871,544Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$10,159,669TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$10,836,543TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$89,513,061TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document314IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1709EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members29GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member28IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPamela SalmonPersonNm
Phone3157923011PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11600 Burrstone RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityUticaCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP13502ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Laura Casamento
President37.50Yes (X)$470,922$0$44,198
Jeffrey Gates
Senior Vice President of Student Life and Enrollment37.50Yes (X)$202,823$0$33,979
Todd Pfannestiel
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs37.50Yes (X)$215,043$0$18,141
Ahmed Radwan
Dean for Health and Professions37.50$162,863$0$45,023Yes (X)
Polly Smith
Senior Vice President for Market Innovation & New Ventures/Associtae Provost for OES37.50$186,622$0$18,542Yes (X)
Pamela Salmon
Vice President of Financial Affairs37.50Yes (X)$166,839$0$35,794
George Nehme
Vice President for Advancement37.50$179,053$0$16,096Yes (X)
Robert Halliday
Associate Provost, Online Learning and Vice President of Online and Extended Studies37.50$155,439$0$34,335Yes (X)
Stephanie Nesbitt
Dean of the School of Business & Justice37.50$161,814$0$20,777Yes (X)
Andrew Beakman
Vice President of Legal Affairs & General Counsel37.50Yes (X)$155,947$0$6,824
Robert Brevenik
Chairperson00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jeremy Thurston
Vice Chairperson/Chair-Elect00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Heidi Hoeller
Vice Chairperson00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Christian Meyer III
Vice Chairperson00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Kenneth Bell
Secretary00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Larry Bull
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Calabrese Sr
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Gerard Capraro
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Casellini
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bernadette Clark
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ronald Cuccaro
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Harry Cynkus
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Frederick Degen
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Krista DiBerardino
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
James DuRoss
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Forte
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Marianne Gaige
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Samuel Hester
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Andrew Hislop
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Daniel Jones
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Wester Miga
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Russell Petralia
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mark Pilipczuk
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Eugene Quadraro Jr
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Solade Rowe
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Snyder
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Treesa Salter
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Tricia Rutkowski
Trustee00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,057,365TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$273,709TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K87IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Wiley Deltak edu
1415 W 22nd StSuite 400Oak BrookIL60523Online Educational Services$5,114,940
Atalian Global Services Inc
417 Fifth AvenueNew YorkNY10016Facilities Services$4,519,248
The Hayner Hoyt Corportation
1820 LeMoyne AvenueSyracuseNY13208Construction$9,724,501
Orbis Education Services
11595 North Meridian StCarmelIN46032Educational Partner$5,031,580
Sodexo Inc & Affiliates
10 Earhart DriveWilliamsvilleNY14221Food Service$4,071,572
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K37CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$11,574,082GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$6,740,670AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$0NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$18,314,752TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Student Tuition and Fees611710$72,537,458$72,537,458$0$0
Auxiliary Enterprises611710$10,836,543$10,836,543$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$83,374,001TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$727,502TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$727,502ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$39,486,588SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$37,850,135SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,636,453SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,636,453TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,636,453ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,090,073TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,055,073RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$35,000UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,090,073OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$105,142,781TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$84,429,074RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$35,000UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,363,955ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,715,568TotalAmt
Program Services$19,715,568ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$270,321TotalAmt
Program Services$270,321ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,125,532TotalAmt
Program Services$840,920ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,029,112ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$255,500FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,324,025TotalAmt
Program Services$29,565,073ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,112,974ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,645,978FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,512,652TotalAmt
Program Services$2,065,386ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$326,522ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$120,744FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,686,658TotalAmt
Program Services$6,678,061ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$736,059ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$272,538FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,883,199TotalAmt
Program Services$2,380,288ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$367,145ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$135,766FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$139,529TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$139,529ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$120,142TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$120,142ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,500TotalAmt
Program Services$12,500ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,486,307TotalAmt
Program Services$3,540,550ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$776,368ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$169,389FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$680,291TotalAmt
Program Services$197,836ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$482,455ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,331,422TotalAmt
Program Services$2,465,405ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$772,458ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$93,559FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$785,913TotalAmt
Program Services$33,001ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$752,903ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,314TotalAmt
Program Services$1,314ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,804,910TotalAmt
Program Services$3,559,075ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$228,327ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,508FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,284,096TotalAmt
Program Services$1,053,932ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$201,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,551FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$443,604TotalAmt
Program Services$316,353ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$49,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$77,526FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,775,010TotalAmt
Program Services$1,664,721ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$109,737ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$552FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,464,483TotalAmt
Program Services$4,963,307ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$501,176ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$852,710TotalAmt
Program Services$222,197ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$630,489ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Auxiliaries' Food Service$2,944,878$2,944,878$0$0
Grounds Services$2,641,391$2,559,584$67,253$14,554
Custodial Services$2,360,067$2,289,325$58,157$12,585
Printing & Publications$448,097$376,370$19,334$52,393

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,759,187TotalAmt
Program Services$1,797,096ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$912,683ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$49,408FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$104,853,806TotalAmt
Program Services$89,513,061ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,394,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,946,584FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,150BOYAmt
EOY$7,150EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,938,150BOYAmt
EOY$16,579,558EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,293,888BOYAmt
EOY$3,184,403EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,887,455BOYAmt
EOY$10,440,761EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$305,897BOYAmt
EOY$237,841EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,636BOYAmt
EOY$1,211EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$239,303BOYAmt
EOY$335,679EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$155,648,662LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$71,933,664LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,309,107BOYAmt
EOY$83,714,998EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,060,820BOYAmt
EOY$28,864,607EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,836,088BOYAmt
EOY$6,835,827EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,057,730BOYAmt
EOY$6,729,568EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$162,972,224BOYAmt
EOY$156,931,603EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,658,849BOYAmt
EOY$10,296,526EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,002,232BOYAmt
EOY$12,210,288EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,518,080BOYAmt
EOY$42,609,033EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,124,102BOYAmt
EOY$17,497,469EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,303,263BOYAmt
EOY$82,613,316EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,239,574BOYAmt
EOY$38,826,991EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,429,387BOYAmt
EOY$35,491,296EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$78,668,961BOYAmt
EOY$74,318,287EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$162,972,224BOYAmt
EOY$156,931,603EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$288,975ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$5,632,979NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$993,330OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersYes (1)VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other Organizations0GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsYes (1)DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Direct Contact Legislators$441DirectContactLegislatorsAmt
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (1)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$15,990OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$16,431TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule C, Part II-B, Line 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University used paid lobbyists to develop additional University funding through representation with federal and state governments.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$0RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$9,847,124AssetsIncludedAmt

Held Works Art HeldWorksArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Revenues Included$0RevenuesIncludedAmt
Assets Included$0AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$36,600,490BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,347,871ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$3,116,405InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$956,285GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$324,217OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$80,495AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$35,470,959EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$27,110,269BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,567,821ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,227,652InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$822,234GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$389,894OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$93,124AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$36,600,490EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,052,831BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,373,955ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,013,233InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$867,663GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$376,357OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$85,730AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$27,110,269EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,880,260BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$418,115ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$66,624InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$856,501GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$372,004OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$83,663AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$25,052,831EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$24,642,658BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$430,065ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,097,529InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$831,579GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$369,766OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$88,647AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$25,880,260EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.12BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.62PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.26TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,246,046OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,246,046BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$123,300,166OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$50,801,796DepreciationAmt
Book Value$72,498,370BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,275,534OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,267,339DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,008,195BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$13,161,051OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,949,460DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,211,591BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,665,865OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,915,069DepreciationAmt
Book Value$750,796BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$83,714,998TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Post Retirement Liability$5,863,326
Charitable Trust Obligations$66,604
Bond Premium, Net of Amortization$4,885,260
Lease Liability$6,682,279
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$17,497,469TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$83,417,092TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$5,632,982NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$5,632,982RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$89,050,074RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$16,092,707OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$16,092,707RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$105,142,781TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$88,761,099TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$88,761,099ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$16,092,707OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$16,092,707ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$104,853,806TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part III, Line 4The University has a fine arts collection that is housed in the Barrett Art Gallery. The gallery is open to students and members of the community who share an interest in fine arts. The University offers a number of fine arts courses.
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4The University has endowment funds that are managed to provide a permanent source of income to support the teaching, research, and service missions of the institution.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bScholarship Aid $16,092,707
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bScholarship Aid $16,092,707

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Utica University prints its nondiscriminatory policy in the annual catalog and it is also on the University Website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6A majority of the University financial assistance is provided by the government to enable promising students to attend University if family and personal resources are inadequate to support a University education. Two of the main sources of financial aid are from the federal and state government.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (8 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
South America01Program ServicesInternational Student Recruitment$3,234
South America01Program ServicesVisit & Assess Study Abroad Sites$7,900
Sub-Saharan Africa01Program ServicesVisit & Assess Study Abroad Sites$15,779
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)01Program ServicesStudy Abroad$18,443
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)04Program ServicesInternational Student Recruitment$1,231
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)01Program ServicesFaculty$84,000
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)01Program ServicesAdjunct Lecturer$5,000
Central America and the Caribbean03Program ServicesAdjunct Lecturer$19,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee13TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Spent$154,587TotalSpentAmt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (9 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
ScholarshipCentral America and the Caribbean1$18,080Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipEast Asia and the Pacific6$26,339Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipEurope (including Iceland and Greenland)4$28,510Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipMiddle East and North Africa1$6,000Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipNorth America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)10$53,051Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipRussia and the newly independent States4$24,500Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipSouth America1$6,000Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipSouth Asia3$18,000Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
ScholarshipSub-Saharan Africa1$2,500Credit on Students' tuition Bill$0FMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGrants are given as scholarships and show as a credit on the student account against tuition owed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc
Scholarships3728$15,822,386$0FMV
Fellowships30$26,232$0FMVGrants are awarded to University employees or students for research projects. Grantees may elect to receive reimbursement for receipted expenses or they may elect to receive their awards as W-2 Compensation.
Higher Education Emergency Relief Fund4083$3,866,950$0FMVFunds granted to students to help provide emergency relief grants to support students dealing with financial stress from the impact of the COVID pandemic.

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationStudents receiving scholarships are evaluated by the University's assessment of academic achievement, financial need and other similar standards.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Payments For Use Of ResidenceYes (X)PaymentsForUseOfResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Jeffrey Gates
Senior Vice President of Student Life and Enrollment$198,587$0$4,200$0$36$0$7,351$0$26,628$0$236,802$0$0$0
Pamela Salmon
Vice President of Financial Affairs$163,181$0$3,500$0$158$0$8,167$0$27,627$0$202,633$0$0$0
Laura Casamento
President$349,258$0$75,000$0$46,663$0$18,667$0$25,532$0$515,120$0$0$0
Todd Pfannestiel
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs$208,239$0$4,301$0$2,503$0$7,526$0$10,615$0$233,184$0$0$0
Andrew Beakman
Vice President of Legal Affairs & General Counsel$151,810$0$3,101$0$1,036$0$5,426$0$1,397$0$162,770$0$0$0
Ahmed Radwan
Dean for Health and Professions$154,527$0$3,300$0$5,036$0$16,533$0$28,489$0$207,885$0$0$0
George Nehme
Vice President for Advancement$175,039$0$3,856$0$158$0$6,020$0$10,077$0$195,150$0$0$0
Polly Smith
Senior Vice President for Market Innovation & New Ventures/Associtae Provost for OES$183,067$0$3,500$0$55$0$8,167$0$10,375$0$205,164$0$0$0
Stephanie Nesbitt
Dean of the School of Business & Justice$158,559$0$3,200$0$55$0$10,267$0$10,511$0$182,592$0$0$0
Robert Halliday
Associate Provost, Online Learning and Vice President of Online and Extended Studies$152,276$0$3,060$0$103$0$7,140$0$27,195$0$189,774$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University president receives a housing stipend since her house now serves as a meeting place for dignitaries and community leaders, as well as for other meeting and fundraising events. The University provides travel costs for the University President's spouse on certain business travel. The University pays for the president's membership dues and initiation fees relating to membership in any clubs that the board of trustees requests that the president join.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Oneida County Local Development CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN273190422BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP682440CM2CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2019-12-18BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$49,438,503IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSee Part VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$1,135,000RetiredAmt
Bond Defeased$0BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$49,443,342TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$0InReserveFundAmt
Capitalized Interest$0CapitalizedInterestAmt
Refunding Escrow$0RefundingEscrowAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$569,147IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Credit Enhancement$0CreditEnhancementAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$0WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Capital Expenditures$13,753,312CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$35,120,883OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$0UnspentAmt
Substantial Completion2021SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.0043PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.0001PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.0044TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part I, Column f-12/18/2019 49,438,503 Oneida County Local Development CorporationThe purpose of this bond was to refund prior bonds that were issued on May 28, 2015 and March 28,2018. These bonds were used for constructing and equipping an addition to the science center.
Schedule K, Part II, Line 3-12/18/2019 49,438,503 Oneida County Local Development CorporationTotal proceeds in Part II, Line 3 include $4,839 of earnings on investment of bond proceeds prior to the expenditures of project costs.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Bernadette Clark
Wife of Harold T. Clark, Managing Agent for Adron LLC$425,850The University has a rental agreement with Adron to lease space.0
Laura Casamento
Laura Casamento, President of Utica University - son is Brian Marcantonio, head soccer coach$72,173Payroll and Benefits0
Jeremy Thurston
Board Memeber and Majority owner of The Hayner Hoyt Corporation$3,106,536The University paid for services on a construction contract0
James DuRoss
Trustee$4,864,710James DuRoss is employed by Atalian Global Services, Inc. which provides janitorial, landscape and building maintenance services to the University.0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution15ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$3,031,742NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I, Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe University uses real estate agents and coin dealers in conjunction with the sale of donated properties on occasion.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 2The University conducts business with various vendors throughout the greater Utica area. Several of the University's vendors have principals or employees currently serving on its board of trustees. In accordance with the University's bylaws, each vendor serving on the University board of trustees is required to disclose the details of transactions and other business involvements with the University. Significant related party transactions include janitorial, landscape and building maintenance service, government relations services and data processing, printing, mailing and email marketing for the development office.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe 990 is reviewed and approved by the treasurer, key employees, and appropriate trustees prior to being filed and issued. Additionally, the 990 is provided to the entire board of trustees for review and comment prior to filing. This is done by posting a draft PDF of the 990 to the University trustee website.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cOfficers and Board members are required to complete conflict of interest statements and submit them to the office of financial affairs.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The compensation of the president is determined by a compensation committee of the board of trustees in consultation with an independent consultant and approved by the executive committee. The compensation of officers and key employees is determined by the University president and approved by the compensation committee.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Governing documents are available to the public through personal requests through appropriate University officials.
Form 990, Part XI, Line 9Change in the funded status of the pension plan $990,046, change in annuity obligations $3,284.