STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 73-0375825)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-05-15
IRS object ID
201811359349312481
Schema version
2017v2.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-15T16:48:33-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN750882037PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BOLINGER SEGARS GILBERT AND MOSS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18215 NASHVILLE AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityLUBBOCKCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP79423ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN730375825EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTHWESTERN ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5802567425PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 2707AddressLine1Txt
CityWOODWARDCityNm
State AbbreviationOKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP73802ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTYSON LITTAUPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5802567425PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM M MILLERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00439459PTIN
Phone8067473806PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-14PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerTYSON LITTAUPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 2707AddressLine1Txt
CityWOODWARDCityNm
State AbbreviationOKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP73802ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$33,985,491GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.NWECOK.COOPWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1940FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateOKLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER TO RURAL AREAS AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee58TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$71,995TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$900NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$33,342,854PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$33,548,871CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$119,914PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$137,626CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$100,179PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$128,662CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$33,562,947PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$33,539,907CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$24,637PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$24,197CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$1,849,586PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$544,433CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$4,880,481PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$5,041,818CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$26,808,243PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,632,187CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,562,947PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$34,242,635CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$0PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$702,728CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$86,390,600TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$109,667,166TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$55,995,349TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$79,962,811TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$30,395,251NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$29,704,355NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE COOPERATIVE'S RESPONSIBILITY AND AIM IS TO PROVIDE EXCELLENT AND INNOVATIVE CUSTOMER SERVICE AS REFLECTED IN TOP QUALITY ELECTRIC SERVICE RELIABILITY, AFFORDABLE RATES, EMPLOYEE TEAMWORK AND THE HIGHEST DEGREE OF INTEGRITY IN ALL COOPERATIVE ENDEAVORS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS - 11,840 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END WERE PROVIDED ELECTRICITY ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document60IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee58EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$33,731,007MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$840,902OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TYSON LITTAU CEOBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5802567425PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12925 WILLIAMS AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityWOODWARDCityNm
State AbbreviationOKStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP73801ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (16 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
KENNETH KNOWLES
PRESIDENT7.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,911$0$0
RAY SMITH
VICE PRESIDENT2.60Yes (X)Yes (X)$17,911$0$0
JOHN BRUCE JR
SECRETARY/TREASURER8.40Yes (X)Yes (X)$24,043$0$0
GILBERT PERKINS
TRUSTEE5.20Yes (X)$24,211$0$0
LEE R HUCKABY JAN-APRIL
TRUSTEE3.80Yes (X)$1,650$0$0
DARLA YOUNG
TRUSTEE3.20Yes (X)$18,990$0$0
DUANE HENDERSON
TRUSTEE2.80Yes (X)$17,643$0$0
CLAIR CRAIGHEAD
TRUSTEE4.70Yes (X)$22,211$0$0
MARVIN WILKINSON
TRUSTEE5.70Yes (X)$27,267$0$0
WAYNE HALL
TRUSTEE3.70Yes (X)$7,317$0$0
TYSON LITTAU
CEO40.00Yes (X)$216,810$0$115,227
JOHN KIRKWOOD
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS40.00$121,517$0$131,514Yes (X)
JAMIE RUBLE
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ADMIN40.00$115,673$0$67,205Yes (X)
BRENT MCDOWELL
LINE FOREMAN47.00$112,833$0$66,969Yes (X)
CLINTON LEFORCE
LINE FOREMAN52.00$112,480$0$48,047Yes (X)
BRIAN SNIDER
LINE FOREMAN49.00$107,025$0$54,904Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$972,492TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$483,866TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SPARKS ENERGY INC
1370 KIRBY BRIDGE ROADDANVILLEAL35619CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$7,920,961
PIKE ELECTRIC LLC
DEPT 517 PO BOX 1000MEMPHISTN38148CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$2,502,407
R&R POWERLINE CONSTRUCTION INC
PO BOX 246SAYREOK73662CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$2,323,600
YOUNGS GEN CONTRACTING INC
5100 HWY PPPOPLAR BLUFFMO63901CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$1,252,719
MID-CON ENERGY SERVICES INC
PO BOX 2648PONCA CITYOK74602CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR$904,766
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
SALES OF ELECTRICITY221000$32,607,272$32,607,272
PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS221000$787,219$787,219
SERVICE FEES221000$85,056$85,056
DISTRIBUTION LINE LEASE221000$68,732$68,732
OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE221000$592$592
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$33,548,871TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$60,536TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$60,536ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$547TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$547ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$76,500OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$274,662OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$198,162OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$198,162TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$198,162ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$217,204GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$170,922CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,282TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,282RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
BILLING REVENUE561499$71,995$71,995
POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME221000$9,838$9,838
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$81,833OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,539,907TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$33,595,153RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$71,995UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$127,241ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,197TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,000TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$544,433TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$518,191TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,865,353TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$601,733TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$836,006TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$220,535TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,284,949TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,760,876TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$18,762,782
DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE$1,690,154
ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE$914,185
OPERATING TAXES$742,979

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$476,262TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,242,635TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,680,576BOYAmt
EOY$1,188,209EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,584,744BOYAmt
EOY$18,353,396EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$636,085BOYAmt
EOY$563,686EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$789,452BOYAmt
EOY$847,353EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,963,374BOYAmt
EOY$1,400,923EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$101,904,673LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$29,324,471LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,282,877BOYAmt
EOY$72,580,202EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,605,666BOYAmt
EOY$13,886,359EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$847,826BOYAmt
EOY$847,038EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,390,600BOYAmt
EOY$109,667,166EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,310,697BOYAmt
EOY$2,650,747EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,899,913BOYAmt
EOY$75,510,771EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,784,739BOYAmt
EOY$1,801,293EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,995,349BOYAmt
EOY$79,962,811EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,379,582BOYAmt
EOY$4,114,693EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,015,669BOYAmt
EOY$25,589,662EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,395,251BOYAmt
EOY$29,704,355EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$86,390,600BOYAmt
EOY$109,667,166EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$702,728ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$11,832OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit Committee0AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$242,921OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$242,921BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,574,122OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,657,043DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,917,079BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$88,724,355OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$27,667,428DepreciationAmt
Book Value$61,056,927BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,363,275OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$6,363,275BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$72,580,202TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (8 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - WFEC$12,376,724C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - CFC$125,173C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - AEC$204,891C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - SEDC$107,154C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - COBANK$300,675C
PATRONAGE CAPITAL - OTHER$95,282C
MEMBERSHIPS IN ASSOCIATED ORGANIZATIONS$11,700C
CAPITAL TERM CERTIFICATES - CFC$664,760C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$13,886,359TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
CONSUMER DEPOSITS$90,700
ACCUMULATED PROVISION FOR PENSIONS & BENEFITS$1,566,287
DEFERRED CREDITS - LINE EXTENSIONS$144,306
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,801,293TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,475,115TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$33,475,115RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$64,792OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$64,792RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$33,539,907TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,633,410TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$33,633,410ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$609,225OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$609,225ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$34,242,635TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:THE COOPERATIVE HAS ADOPTED THE UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS PROVISIONS OF ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES GENERALLY ACCEPTED IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. THE PRIMARY TAX POSITION OF THE COOPERATIVE IS ITS FILING STATUS AS A TAX EXEMPT ENTITY. THE COOPERATIVE DETERMINED THAT IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THAT THEIR TAX POSITIONS WILL BE SUSTAINED UPON EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS), OR OTHER STATE TAXING AUTHORITY AND THAT ALL TAX BENEFITS ARE LIKELY TO BE REALIZED UPON SETTLEMENT WITH TAXING AUTHORITIES.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 64,792.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES IN NON-OPERATING MARGINS RECLASSED TO EXPENSES 64,792. PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 544,433.
PART IX:THE AMOUNT OF OTHER ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 15 DOES NOT EQUAL OR EXCEED 5% OF THE TOTAL ASSETS ON FORM 990, PAGE 11, PART X, LINE 16, COLUMN B. CONSEQUENTLY, IN ACCORDANCE WITH IRS INSTRUCTIONS SCHEDULE D, PART IX HAS BEEN LEFT BLANK.
PART XII, LINE 4B:FOR THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID OR ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED AS AN INCREASE IN EQUITY AND NOT AS AN EXPENSE. THEREFORE, NET INCOME PER THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS IS REPORTED GROSS OF THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS THAT ARE EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED AT THE TIME THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PREPARED. HOWEVER, BECAUSE THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS IS ONE ASPECT OF HOW THE COOPERATIVE FULFILLS ITS TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE OF OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE MEMBERS IS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4 AS "BENEFITS PAID TO MEMBERS". PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE ALLOCATED ON A PATRONAGE BASIS AND DONE SO PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION AS PROVIDED FOR IN THE "NON-PROFIT OPERATION" ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
TYSON LITTAU
CEO$205,465$0$9,095$0$2,250$0$87,300$0$27,927$0$332,037$0$0$0
JOHN KIRKWOOD
DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS$107,874$0$11,715$0$1,928$0$105,792$0$25,722$0$253,031$0$0$0
JAMIE RUBLE
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & ADMIN$105,234$0$9,095$0$1,344$0$40,215$0$26,990$0$182,878$0$0$0
BRENT MCDOWELL
LINE FOREMAN$109,637$0$1,835$0$1,361$0$40,900$0$26,069$0$179,802$0$0$0
CLINTON LEFORCE
LINE FOREMAN$109,803$0$1,835$0$842$0$21,764$0$26,283$0$160,527$0$0$0
BRIAN SNIDER
LINE FOREMAN$100,918$0$1,985$0$4,122$0$29,746$0$25,158$0$161,929$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1APURSUANT TO APPLICABLE TRAVEL POLICIES, THE COOPERATIVE WILL ONLY PAY FOR REGISTRATION FEES INCURRED BY A TRUSTEES' SPOUSE. TRUSTEES MAY ONLY ATTEND ONE NATIONAL MEETING PER YEAR. ALSO PURSUANT TO THE CURRENT POLICY, THE COOPERATIVE WILL PAY FOR REGISTRATION FEES, TRAVEL AND MEALS INCURRED BY AN EMPLOYEE'S SPOUSE IF INVITED TO ATTEND AN NRECA REGIONAL OR NATIONAL MEETING. ONE INDIVIDUAL REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART VII (LITTAU) RECEIVED THIS BENEFIT DURING THE YEAR. PURSUANT TO THE EMPLOYEE WELLNESS PROGRAM, THE COOPERATIVE SHARES THE COST OF HEALTH CLUB DUES WITH EMPLOYEES OF THE COOPERATIVE.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN C:INCLUDED IN THIS AMOUNT IS THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF BENEFITS PAYABLE UNDER A DEFINED BENEFIT RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CONTRIBUTION RATE FOR PARTICIPANTS IN THE NRECA R&S DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN ARE THE SAME FOR ALL INDIVIDUALS IN THIS MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH PARTICIPANT, HOWEVER, VARIES WITH AGE, YEARS OF SERVICE AND THE CURRENT INTEREST RATE ENVIRONMENT. IN OTHER WORDS, THE OLDER A PLAN PARTICIPANT IS, THE GREATER THE INCREASE IN THAT INDIVIDUAL'S CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE, ALL OTHER THINGS BEING EQUAL. BECAUSE THIS RELATES TO A MULTI-EMPLOYER PLAN, CASH CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN IN LIEU OF THE ACTUARIAL INCREASE ARE EXPENSED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. TYSON LITTAU: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 83,062 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 4,238 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 87,300 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (83,062) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 59,137 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 63,375 JOHN KIRKWOOD: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 103,526 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K)PLAN 2,266 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 105,792 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (103,526) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 31,740 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 34,006 JAMIE RUBLE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 37,976 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 2,239 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 40,215 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (37,976) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 31,329 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 33,568 BRENT MCDOWELL: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 39,122 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,778 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 40,900 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (39,122) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 23,792 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 25,570 CLINTON LEFORCE: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 20,229 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,535 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 21,764 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (20,229) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 21,233 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 22,768 BRIAN SNIDER: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN $ 28,145 EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION TO 401(K) PLAN 1,601 TOTAL REPORTED IN COLUMN C $ 29,746 LESS: ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN (28,145) ADD: CASH CONTRIBUTED TO DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN 22,434 EXPENSE TO THE COOPERATIVE $ 24,035

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (18 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE COOPERATIVE WAS FORMED BY THE MEMBERS TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE AT COST ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE VOTE ON THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. ELECTIONS ARE DONE ON A ONE MEMBER ONE VOTE BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE FOLLOWING ACTS REQUIRE APPROVAL OF THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE: 1. DISSOLUTION/LIQUIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE 2. MERGER OR CONSOLIDATION OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH ANOTHER ORGANIZATION 3. DISPOSAL OF A SUBSTANTIAL PORTION OF THE COOPERATIVE'S ASSETS 4. AMENDMENTS TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION 5. AMENDMENTS TO THE BYLAWS
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHE COOPERATIVE HAS NO COMMITTEES WITH AUTHORITY TO ACT ON BEHALF OF THE GOVERNING BODY. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE QUESTION HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BMANAGEMENT PRESENTED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 TO THE BOARD FOR DISCUSSION AND APPROVAL PRIOR TO FILING. THE DISCUSSION AND REVIEW WAS PERFORMED AT THE BOARD MEETING IMMEDIATELY BEFORE FILING THE FORM 990.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW AND BE FAMILIAR WITH THE POLICIES OUTLINED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND OFFICERS ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANY ACTION OR SITUATION THAT MIGHT VIOLATE THE POLICY TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED AND REDISTRIBUTED TO EACH EMPLOYEE, OFFICER AND DIRECTOR AT LEAST ONCE EVERY OTHER YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES USE A COMPENSATION SURVEY WHEN DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO. THE SURVEY SHOWS COMPARATIVE SALARIES FOR CEOS FROM SIMILARLY SITUATED COOPERATIVES LOCATED IN OKLAHOMA AND THE NATION. OTHER THAN THE CEO, THE COOPERATIVE DID NOT HAVE ANY EMPLOYEES MEETING THE DEFINITION OF OFFICER OR KEY EMPLOYEE. THEREFORE, AND PURSUANT TO FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, LINE 15B HAS BEEN ANSWERED "NO".
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COOPERATIVE WILL PROVIDE A COMPLETE COPY OF ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, EXTERNAL POLICIES, AND AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS TO ANY MEMBER WHO REQUESTS A COPY OF ANY SUCH DOCUMENT. ANNUALLY THE COOPERATIVE PROVIDES THE YEAR END BALANCE SHEET AND INCOME STATEMENT TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE WITH THE ANNUAL MEETING NOTICE AND ANNUAL REPORT. ADDITIONALLY AN OPERATING REPORT, WHICH SUMMARIZES VARIOUS FINANCIAL STATISTICS, IS PUBLISHED IN AND DISTRIBUTED TO THE MEMBERS VIA MONTHLY NEWSLETTER. THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS ARE ALSO MADE AVAILABLE ON THE COOPERATIVE'S WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART VII:THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES CONSIDERS THE CEO TO BE BOTH THE TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIAL AND THE TOP FINANCIAL OFFICIAL. THEREFORE, ONLY THE CEO IS LISTED AS AN EMPLOYEE OFFICER.
FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F:IN ORDER TO PROVIDE RETIREMENT BENEFITS TO ITS EMPLOYEES, THE COOPERATIVE HAS ESTABLISHED A DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN UNDER SECTION 401(K) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN ARE MADE PURSUANT TO THE PLAN DOCUMENT. ADDITIONALLY, THE COOPERATIVE PARTICIPATES IN A MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. CONTRIBUTIONS TO THIS PLAN ARE BASED ON THE FULL FUNDING LIMITATION OF SUCH PLAN. EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS FOR BOTH PLANS ARE AVAILABLE TO PARTICIPATING EMPLOYEES, INCLUDING OFFICERS AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, MEETING THE ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS OF SUCH PLANS. THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES HEALTH, DENTAL AND LIFE INSURANCE TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES THROUGH A QUALIFIED PLAN. THE AMOUNTS REPORTED ON PART VII, COLUMN (F) FOR THE OFFICER AND HIGHLY COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES IS COMPRISED OF ACTUARIAL INCREASE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN, THE TOTAL AMOUNT CONTRIBUTED BY THE COOPERATIVE TO THE DEFINED CONTRIBUTION PLAN AND INSURANCE PAID ON BEHALF OF AND FOR THEIR BENEFIT. IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE BENEFIT PLANS, THE COOPERATIVE ALSO PROVIDES POST-RETIREMENT HEALTH INSURANCE BENEFITS THROUGH AN UNFUNDED WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN. THE VALUE OF THESE BENEFITS HAS NOT BEEN ESTIMATED.
FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 2:PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS RESULT FROM THE PURCHASE OF WHOLESALE POWER FROM A GENERATION & TRANSMISSION COOPERATIVE. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ALSO RESULT FROM THE PAYMENT OF INTEREST FROM COOPERATIVE BANKS AND THE PURCHASE OF SUPPLIES AND SERVICES FROM OTHER COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS. THE EXPENSES ASSOCIATED WITH PURCHASES FROM AND PAYMENTS TO SUCH COOPERATIVE ORGANIZATIONS ARE A DIRECT COMPONENT OF COST OF THE ELECTRIC SERVICE PROVIDED BY THE ORGANIZATION TO ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART IX:THE ACCOUNTING RECORDS OF THE COOPERATIVE ARE MAINTAINED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RURAL UTILITIES SERVICE (RUS) UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS AS PRESCRIBED RUS ELECTRIC BORROWERS. THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS DOES NOT RECORD EXPENSES IN THE GENERAL EXPENSE CATEGORIES PROVIDED ON PART IX LINES 1 - 23. THE COOPERATIVE SEPARATELY REPORTS SALARIES AND WAGES, EMPLOYEE BENEFITS AND PAYROLL TAXES THAT ARE ALLOCATED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THEIR ACCOUNTING SYSTEM, BUT OTHER EXPENSES THAT ARE DESCRIBED IN LINES 1 - 23 ARE REPORTED ON LINE 24 UNDER THE EXPENSE CATEGORIES REQUIRED BY THE UNIFORM SYSTEM OF ACCOUNTS.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 1 & 2:ALL GRANTS, DONATIONS, AND SCHOLARSHIPS ARE MADE TO NON-PROFIT, CIVIC ORGANIZATIONS, AND INDIVIDUALS THAT ARE LOCATED IN THE COOPERATIVE'S SERVICE AREA. ALL DONATIONS ARE INTENDED TO IMPROVE THE COMMUNITIES IN WHICH OUR MEMBERS RESIDE. EACH GRANT, DONATION, AND/OR SCHOLARSHIP MADE DURING THE YEAR WAS BELOW THE REPORTING THRESHOLD OF SCHEDULE I, PARTS II & III.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 4:PURSUANT TO THE FORM 990 INSTRUCTIONS, THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID TO THE MEMBERS (HEREINAFTER REFERRED TO AS "PATRONS") SHOULD BE REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4. THE PHRASE "PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS PAID" REFERS TO THE PROCESS, SUBSEQUENT TO YEAR-END, BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE ALLOCATES PATRONAGE CAPITAL TO AND, THEREFORE, OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS. THE COOPERATIVE'S TAX EXEMPT PURPOSE IS TO PROVIDE ELECTRICITY TO ITS PATRONS AND TO DO SO ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS. TAX LAW DEFINES "OPERATING ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS" AS SUBORDINATION OF CAPITAL, DEMOCRATIC CONTROL, AND OPERATION AT COST. THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS (ALSO REFERRED TO AS ALLOCATIONS OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL) TO ITS PATRONS. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE CONSIDERED PAID IF THE ALLOCATION IS MADE (1) PURSUANT TO A PRE-EXISTING OBLIGATION, (2) FROM THE MARGINS PRODUCED FROM THE TRANSACTIONS DONE WITH OR FOR PATRONS, AND (3) IN A FAIR AND EQUITABLE MANNER ON THE BASIS OF PATRONAGE (I.E. PURCHASES). ADDITIONALLY, THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS SHOULD BE MADE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME PERIOD AFTER THE CLOSE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S YEAR-END OF DECEMBER 31. EACH ONE OF THESE REQUIREMENTS FOR A TRUE PATRONAGE DIVIDEND IS PROVIDED FOR IN THE NON-PROFIT OPERATION ARTICLE OF THE COOPERATIVE'S BYLAWS. THE AMOUNT REPORTED ON PART IX, LINE 4 REPRESENTS THE AMOUNT OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL THAT IS EITHER ALLOCATED OR TO BE ALLOCATED TO THE PATRONS RESULTING FROM THEIR PURCHASE OF ELECTRICITY FROM THE COOPERATIVE FOR THE 2017 CALENDAR YEAR. BECAUSE PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE THE PROCESS BY WHICH THE COOPERATIVE OPERATES AT COST WITH ITS PATRONS AND THEREBY A KEY COMPONENT TO ACCOMPLISHING ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE, THE COOPERATIVE HAS REPORTED SUCH AMOUNTS AS AN EXPENSE FOR FORM 990 REPORTING. PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS ARE NOT AN EXPENSE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS PREPARED IN ACCORDANCE WITH GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, HOWEVER.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINES 5-7:SALARIES AND WAGES ARE ALLOCATED TO ASSET, LIABILITY, AND EXPENSE ACCOUNTS BASED ON THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM DESCRIBED ABOVE. THE FOLLOWING SCHEDULE RECONCILES AMOUNTS REPORTED ON LINES 5-7 TO TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID: TOTAL PER LINES 5-7 $ 3,383,544 LESS: TRUSTEE FEES REPORTED ON FORM 1099-MISC (186,154) LESS: EMPLOYEE OFFICER BENEFITS INCLUDED IN LINE 5 (115,227) PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED DIRECTLY TO PLANT 1,125,306 PLUS: SALARIES AND WAGES CAPITALIZED/EXPENSED INDIRECTLY THROUGH CLEARING AND OTHER ACCOUNTS 75,022 TOTAL WAGES ACCRUED AND/OR PAID $ 4,282,491
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24:ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL EXPENSE IS COMPRISED OF THE FOLLOWING: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERAL $ 1,117,410 OFFICE SUPPLIES 259,035 OUTSIDE SERVICES 116,792 EMPLOYEES 108,360 TRUSTEES 250,093 INSURANCES 93,402 DUES 96,593 DONATIONS 19,197 ANNUAL & DISTRICT MEETINGS 86,461 MISCELLANEOUS GENERAL 32,645 MAINTENANCE OF GENERAL PLANT 32,311 TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXP PER FINANCIAL STATEMENTS $ 2,212,299 LESS: RECLASS OF DONATIONS TO PART IX, LINE 1 (19,197) LESS: RECLASS OF TRUSTEES FEES TO PART IX, LINE 5 (186,154) LESS: RECLASS OF LABOR TO PART IX, LINES 5 & 7 (693,638) LESS: RECLASS OF BENEFITS TO PART IX, LINES 8-10 (399,125) TOTAL ADMIN & GENERAL EXPENSE PER FORM 990, PART IX $ 914,185
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:PATRONAGE CAPITAL ASSIGNABLE 544,433. PATRONAGE CAPITAL UNASSIGNED 16. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - TOTAL -1,380,361. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - DISCOUNT 31,346. PATRONAGE CAPITAL RETIRED - UNCLAIMED 703,766. NET CHANGE IN POST-RETIREMENT BENEFIT 112,632.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AS A WHOLE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR OVERSEEING THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDIT AND SELECTING THE INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL STATEMENT AUDITOR. PROCEDURAL CHANGES DID NOT OCCUR DURING THE YEAR.