STRATEGY STUDIO / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

RHO KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGA

Cite this

Plain text RHO KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGA. Strategy Studio, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2016–2024. https://strategystudio.org/org/371007371. Retrieved 2026-10-20.

APA Strategy Studio. (n.d.). RHO KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGA [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2016–2024]. Retrieved October 20, 2026, from https://strategystudio.org/org/371007371

MLA “RHO KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGA.” Strategy Studio, tax years 2016–2024, https://strategystudio.org/org/371007371. Accessed 20 Oct. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-10-20; covers tax years 2016–2024. Data: Strategy Studio, CC BY 4.0.

2024 · Form 990 · revenue $403K · expenses $333K · assets $599K

Also known as
CHI OMEGA
EIN
37-1007371
Address
1006 N SCHOOL ST, NORMAL, IL 61761-1256
NTEE code
-
Subsection
501(c)(7)
Ruling year
1977
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

THE RHO KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGA PROVIDES HOUSING FOR 40 MEMBERS OF THE RHO KAPPA CHAPTER OF CHI OMEGA FRATERNITY. WE ALSO PROVIDE A LOCATION FOR ALL OF OUR "LIVE-OUT" MEMBERS TO MEET FOR CHAPTER BUSINESS, SOCIAL, PHILANTHROPIC AND SCHOLARSHIP ACTIVITIES.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 12 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

12 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Melissa Kwit DIRECTOR2019-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Dawn Laffey DIRECTOR2016-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Rae Ann Ploense DIRECTOR2019-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Victoria Ketterer PRESIDENT/SECRETARY2023-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Kadie Griffin TREASURER2016-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Megan Brewer VICE PRESIDENT2023-2024 1 $0 reported 1
Kelli Heller (former) SECRETARY2016-2021 4 $0 reported 1
Sandra Wilson (former) Board Member2016-2019 1 $0 reported 1
Laura Murukas (former) Treasurer2016-2018 1 $0 reported 1
Leanna Mutchler (former) Director2016 0 $0 reported 1
Leslie Welke (former) Director2016 0 $0 reported 1
Michele Alger (former) Director2016 0 $0 reported 1

People by year

2024 · 6 people listed · none paid · 2 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MELISSA KWIT DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
DAWN LAFFEY DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
RAE ANN PLOENSE DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
VICTORIA KETTERER PRESIDENT/SECRETARY1 $0$0$0 $01
KADIE GRIFFIN TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
MEGAN BREWER VICE PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 6 people listed · none paid · 2 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
MELISSA KWIT DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
DAWN LAFFEY DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
RAE ANN PLOENSE DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
VICTORIA KETTERER SECRETARY1 $0$0$0 $01
KADIE GRIFFIN TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
MEGAN BREWER VICE PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 4 people listed · none paid · 2 employees · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
RAE ANN PLOENSE DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
MELISSA KWIT PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
KADIE GRIFFIN TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
DAWN LAFFEY VICE PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 5 people listed · none paid · 1 employee · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
RAE ANN PLOENSE DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
KELLI HELLER SECRETARY4 $0$0$0 $01
MELISSA KWIT PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
KADIE GRIFFIN TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
DAWN LAFFEY VICE PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 5 people listed · none paid · 1 employee · 0 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
RAE ANN PLOENSE DIRECTOR1 $0$0$0 $01
KELLI HELLER SECRETARY4 $0$0$0 $01
MELISSA KWIT PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
KADIE GRIFFIN TREASURER1 $0$0$0 $01
DAWN LAFFEY VICE PRESIDENT1 $0$0$0 $01
2019 · 6 people listed · none paid · 4 employees · 5 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Sandra Wilson Board Member1 $0$0$0 $01
Rae Ploense Board Member1 $0$0$0 $01
Kelli Heller Secretary1 $0$0$0 $01
Melissa Kwit President3 $0$0$0 $01
Kadie Griffin Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
Dawn Laffey Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
2018 · 4 people listed · none paid · 3 employees · 5 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Kelli Heller President4 $0$0$0 $01
Laura Murukas Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
Kadie Griffin Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
Dawn Laffey Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
2017 · 5 people listed · none paid · 3 employees · 5 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Kelli Heller President4 $0$0$0 $01
Laura Murukas Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
Sandra Wilson Secretary0 $0$0$0 $01
Kadie Griffin Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
Dawn Laffey Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
2016 · 8 people listed · none paid · 3 employees · 5 volunteers
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Leanna Mutchler Director0 $0$0$0 $01
Kelli Heller President4 $0$0$0 $01
Laura Murukas Treasurer1 $0$0$0 $01
Sandra Wilson Secretary0 $0$0$0 $01
Kadie Griffin Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
Dawn Laffey Vice President1 $0$0$0 $01
Leslie Welke Director0 $0$0$0 $01
Michele Alger Director0 $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2025-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$403,102$333,083 $599,042$501,191 $0$402,586 $020
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2024-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$299,838$247,739 $542,911$431,172 $0$298,686 $020
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2023-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$303,811$254,346 $504,085$379,073 $250$303,296 $020
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2022-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$319,379$342,451 $467,319$329,608 $380$318,956 $010
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2021-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$294,458$289,176 $501,405$352,680 $700$293,656 $010
2019 · Form 990 period ending 2020-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$223,382$271,293 $395,415$347,398 $0$223,210 $045
2018 · Form 990 period ending 2019-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$271,160$331,634 $458,466$395,309 $0$270,921 $035
2017 · Form 990 period ending 2018-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$311,544$312,803 $533,337$455,783 $0$311,226 $035
2016 · Form 990 period ending 2017-06-30 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$301,164$286,835 $457,042$457,042 $0$300,895 $035

Funders of this organization

Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).

Similar organizations

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (31)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
THE BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF OMICRON OF CHI OMEGAILB83 $585,197$660,745 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state
RHO ZETA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGANCNot reported $229,127$266,533 PRESIDENT/TR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
GAMMA MU BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF KAPPA KAPPA GAMMAORNot reported $531,095$519,975 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x, similar mission
KAPPA DELTA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF AMESIANot reported $466,858$520,341 Director$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
KAPPA KAPPA GAMMA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONCANot reported $489,765$594,219 TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
BETA BETA ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGAWAB83 $479,270$558,328 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
ALPHA CHI OMEGA KAPPA BUILDING ASSOWINot reported $285,083$119,268 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SIGMA CHI BUILDING ASSOCIATIONMNNot reported $258,797$289,187 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
CHI OMEGA HOLDING ASSOCIATIONKSNot reported $561,379$643,044 TREASURER/VP$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SIGMA CHI BUILDING ASSOCIATIONWANot reported $459,172$444,114 VICE PRESIDE$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
SIGMA BETA CHAPTER BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGAMTB83 $507,938$432,639 BOARD MEMBER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
KAPPA ALPHA THETA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONINNot reported $437,956$469,152 VICE PRESIDENT/SECRETARY$262,764 Similar name, revenue within 2x
2505 BUILDING ASSOCIATION OFFLNot reported $719,438$2,921 TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 2x
PHI KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF A LPHA CHI RHO FRATERNITYILB83 $86,508$140,263 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state
SIGMA CHI BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF PEORIAILB83 $158,004$288,253 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x, same state
CHI OMEGA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONNENot reported $1,239,725$710,734 VICE PRESIDE$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
PI DELTA BUILDING ASSOCIATION OF CHI OMEGANMNot reported $134,444$123,521 Treasurer$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
DELTA RHO OF PI KAPPA ALPHA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONWAN50 $116,999$126,873 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
Kappa Sigma Building AssociationCANot reported $103,845$71,278 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
PI KAP BUILDING ASSOCIATIONWAL82 $83,090$14,597 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
OMICRON KAPPA BUILDING CORPORATION OF CHI OMEGACANot reported $88,772$94,573 TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
Phi Epsilon Building Association of Alpha Chi Rho IncNJNot reported $887,526$498,449 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
ETA BUILDING ASSOC OF CHI OMEGAMINot reported $837,167$816,624 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
PHI ETA KAPPA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONMES47 $65,700$59,499 President$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x
GAMMA SIGMA OF KAPPA SIGMA BUILDING ASSOCIATIONORN50 $73,470$56,053 VICE-PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 31 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
DON & LORRAINE FREEBERG FOUNDATION Private foundation$1,200,2486 12017–2022 SIGMA CHI BUILDING ASSOCIATION

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2024 · Form 990 · $333,083 spent · pay $13,898 · grants $500 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: other services $181,700$181,700-- 54.6%
Occupancy $97,042$97,042-- 29.1%
Depreciation and depletion $15,499$15,499-- 4.7%
Other salaries and wages $12,229$12,229-- 3.7%
Insurance $12,070$12,070-- 3.6%
Interest $6,373$6,373-- 1.9%
Other (as described)MEAL SERVICE/FOOD $2,778$2,778-- 0.8%
Payroll taxes $1,669$1,669-- 0.5%
Office expenses $1,011$1,011-- 0.3%
Fees: legal $965-$965- 0.3%
Fees: accounting $945-$945- 0.3%
Grants to US organizations and governments $500$500-- 0.2%
Other (as described)GIFTS $150$150-- 0.0%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGES $104-$104- 0.0%
Other (as described)REPLACEMENT ITEMS $43$43-- 0.0%
All other expenses $5-$5- 0.0%
Total$333,083100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $247,739 spent · pay $11,865 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: other services $130,500$130,500-- 52.7%
Occupancy $68,305$68,305-- 27.6%
Depreciation and depletion $15,499$15,499-- 6.3%
Other salaries and wages $10,429$10,429-- 4.2%
Insurance $9,106$9,106-- 3.7%
Other (as described)MEAL SERVICE/FOOD $4,085$4,085-- 1.6%
Interest $3,878$3,878-- 1.6%
Fees: accounting $3,743-$3,743- 1.5%
Payroll taxes $1,436$1,436-- 0.6%
Other (as described)GIFTS $559$559-- 0.2%
Other (as described)TAXES AND LICENSES $70$70-- 0.0%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGES $65$65-- 0.0%
All other expenses $64$64-- 0.0%
Total$247,739100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $254,346 spent · pay $17,511 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: other services $138,687$138,687-- 54.5%
Occupancy $66,665$66,665-- 26.2%
Depreciation and depletion $13,291$13,291-- 5.2%
Other salaries and wages $12,811$12,811-- 5.0%
Insurance $6,504$6,504-- 2.6%
Payroll taxes $4,700$4,700-- 1.8%
Other (as described)MEAL SERVICE/FOOD $4,051$4,051-- 1.6%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGES $3,183$3,183-- 1.3%
Interest $2,892$2,892-- 1.1%
Fees: accounting $1,400-$1,400- 0.6%
Other (as described)MISCELLANEOUS $162$162-- 0.1%
Total$254,346100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $342,451 spent · pay $21,002 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Fees: other services $159,050$159,050-- 46.4%
Occupancy $129,444$129,444-- 37.8%
Other salaries and wages $16,036$16,036-- 4.7%
Depreciation and depletion $9,982$9,982-- 2.9%
Interest $7,689$7,689-- 2.2%
Other (as described)MEAL SERVICE/FOOD $7,307$7,307-- 2.1%
Insurance $6,465$6,465-- 1.9%
Payroll taxes $4,966$4,966-- 1.5%
Fees: accounting $1,426-$1,426- 0.4%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGES $86$86-- 0.0%
Total$342,451100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $289,176 spent · pay $14,019 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)MEAL SERVICE/FOOD $125,403$125,403-- 43.4%
Occupancy $91,997$91,997-- 31.8%
Depreciation and depletion $36,636$36,636-- 12.7%
Other salaries and wages $13,251$13,251-- 4.6%
Other (as described)CREDIT CARD INTERCHANGE $8,163$8,163-- 2.8%
Insurance $5,425$5,425-- 1.9%
Interest $5,242$5,242-- 1.8%
Fees: accounting $1,990-$1,990- 0.7%
Payroll taxes $768$768-- 0.3%
Other (as described)BILLING EXPENSES $264$264-- 0.1%
Other (as described)POSTAGE $24-$24- 0.0%
All other expenses $13-$13- 0.0%
Total$289,176100%

View the filing

2019 · Form 990 · $271,293 spent · pay $19,933 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Meal Service/Food $102,165$102,165-- 37.7%
Occupancy $97,452$97,452-- 35.9%
Depreciation and depletion $36,641$36,641-- 13.5%
Other salaries and wages $18,141$18,141-- 6.7%
Other (as described)Credit Card Interchange Fees $8,133$8,133-- 3.0%
Interest $2,860$2,860-- 1.1%
Fees: accounting $2,770-$2,770- 1.0%
Payroll taxes $1,792$1,792-- 0.7%
Insurance $915$915-- 0.3%
Other (as described)Billing expenses $264$264-- 0.1%
Other (as described)Service Fees $150-$150- 0.1%
All other expenses $10-$10- 0.0%
Total$271,293100%

View the filing

2018 · Form 990 · $331,634 spent · pay $53,991 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Meal Service/Food $130,468$130,468-- 39.3%
Occupancy $95,009$95,009-- 28.6%
Other salaries and wages $49,699$49,699-- 15.0%
Depreciation and depletion $31,645--- 9.5%
Other (as described)Credit Card Interchange Fees $6,135$6,135-- 1.8%
Insurance $5,964$5,964-- 1.8%
Payroll taxes $4,292$4,292-- 1.3%
Fees: accounting $3,640-$3,640- 1.1%
Interest $3,603$3,603-- 1.1%
Fees: legal $825-$825- 0.2%
Other (as described)Billing expenses $242$242-- 0.1%
Office expenses $52-$52- 0.0%
Other (as described)Donations $50$50-- 0.0%
All other expenses $10-$10- 0.0%
Total$331,634100%

View the filing

2017 · Form 990 · $312,803 spent · pay $49,773 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Meal Service/Food $128,328$128,328-- 41.0%
Occupancy $90,311$90,311-- 28.9%
Other salaries and wages $45,870$45,870-- 14.7%
Depreciation and depletion $26,654--- 8.5%
Other (as described)Credit Card Interchange Fees $6,190$6,190-- 2.0%
Insurance $5,724$5,724-- 1.8%
Payroll taxes $3,903$3,903-- 1.2%
Fees: accounting $2,995-$2,995- 1.0%
Other (as described)Loan Origination Costs $2,554-$2,554- 0.8%
Other (as described)Billing expenses $264$264-- 0.1%
All other expenses $10-$10- 0.0%
Total$312,803100%

View the filing

2016 · Form 990 · $286,835 spent · pay $51,483 · grants $0 · events $400
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other (as described)Meal Service/Food $123,252$123,252-- 43.0%
Occupancy $95,338$95,338-- 33.2%
Other salaries and wages $47,579$47,579-- 16.6%
Other (as described)Credit Card Interchange Fees $6,890$6,890-- 2.4%
Insurance $6,083$6,083-- 2.1%
Payroll taxes $3,904$3,904-- 1.4%
Fees: accounting $1,860-$1,860- 0.6%
Travel $650-$650- 0.2%
Other (as described)Donations $600$600-- 0.2%
Conferences, conventions and meetings $400-$400- 0.1%
Other (as described)Billing expenses $204$204-- 0.1%
All other expenses $75-$75- 0.0%
Total$286,835100%

View the filing